The Hitman

Manchester United
Big Day Out '03 Review

I once again headed to Big Day Out for my second consecutive visit with huge expectations as the set list had arguably its greatest line-up yet. Unlike last year, hot weather wasn't expected, but like last year, the heat seemed ten times what it was meant to be at the actual event.

With a friend, I started off at the main stage where Waikiki was opening. While few would argue that Waikiki don't have musical talent, their place on the Big Day Out bill has to be questioned, as they don't have the rocking sound that every other main stage band had. Cruising through a solid set, which included their hit songs New Technology and Here Comes September, Waikiki had a battle with the waiting Frenzal Rhomb fans, who let their feelings known with "Frenzal"chants and gestures to Waikiki. Eventually the set was done with some by-play between the band and the fans, before everyone rushed over to the Blue Stage to see Australian punkers Frenzal Rhomb.

A comedian walked out on stage, and proceeded to tell so many bad jokes that it was actually funny. Targets included the Red Hot Chili Peppers, Blink 182, and McDonalds. Perhaps the best of the lot was: "Why did Blink 182 cross the road? Because there was three mirrors on the other side and they needed to jack off!" Classic stuff. As the comedian reached the McDonald's jokes, Ronald McDonald came out with a tray of burgers and threw them out to the crowd, who by this stage were whipped up in a laughing frenzy. The comedian, who had carried out a glass of beer, smashed that glass on Ronald's head, before Frenzal Rhomb guitarist Lindsay came out and started beating up the comedian. When Jay came out with a television raised above his head, the place went nuts, and he ended up smashing the screen on top of Ronald, before the lads hit the stage and started thrashing out punk tunes from past and present, including old favourites Punch In The Face, We're Going Out Tonight, and Get ****ed You ****ing ****wit. They also showed off some songs of the upcoming album, including a rendition of At Least We Know That Russell Crowe's Band's A ****ing Pile Of ****, which prompted a guy dressed up as Crowe to come out and abuse both the crowd and Frenzal Rhomb, before Jay smashed him over the head with a guitar and the entire band layed into the impersonator. Undoubtedly the funniest set of the day, which also showcased why Frenzal Rhomb have been around so long and have such a large fanbase both here and abroad.

Deciding to miss Augie March and stay in front of the main stages, I saw Frankston boys 28 Days 'rip it up', and boy, can they put on a live show! While I like their albums, their live set is something else, and the mosh pit was enjoying every tune. Playing tunes from their hit albums Upstyle Down and Stealing Chairs, these Aussie hip hop/punkers really add a new dimension live, with What's The Deal? particularly good. A tribute song to deceased drummer Scott Murray was well received, and it seems the tragic loss will be influencing the music of Jay and the boys for a long, long time. However, their third drummer (Vinnie, Scott Murray's replacement, left the band before the Big Day Out) seemed right at home with the sticks.

Along with many other folks, I set up in front of the Orange Stage to right in front of the stage for Swedish rockers Millencolin, but in the meantime New Zealand rock band Pacifier hit the Blue Stage. If ever a lead singer was trying to hype up the rock star role, it was that pretentious tosspot in Jon Toogood. It's a shame, because I liked this band under it's previous name, Shihad. However, changing your name to suit American audiences is a massive sell out, and I'll give a tip to Mr. Toogood: asking the crowd before every song to go off doesn't make you a good hard rock band. Maybe if your attitude on stage wasn't so self-indulgent and matched the level of your music, they would jump around anyway. With the Millencolin fans begging Pacifier to stop so the Swedish punk heroes could get on stage, the tension and expectation on the quartet was building.

Exploding onto the stage amongst huge cheers, Millencolin played songs off all their albums, and while the set made the mosh pit move (so much so that I was almost crushed and decided to make my way more towards the back of the pit, but still close enough to get into it), the place went off when the opening chords of Penguins & Polar Bears were heard for the penultimate song. They finished off with Kemp off their last album, Home From Home. Easily the set of the day to that stage.

Needing water and food, I headed to the food stalls outside the RRR Stage. First of all, I've never payed so much for a chicken burger and bottle of lemonade. I handed over a tenner and got back a dollar coin and some silver; ridiculous pricing.

Over at the JJJ Stage, I saw Texan rockers Sparta. Going in knowing only a few of their songs off their newly released album, Wiretap Scars, this fourpiece (with three members of the now defunct At The Drive In) put out a powerful set with pounding drums, twisting guitar sounds and wailing vocals which worked perfectly in the dark, intimate surrounds of the barn-like JJJ Stage. The surprise packet of the day for mine, Sparta raced though an electrifying set that left the crowd amazed and wanting more. When Cut Your Ribbon began, a huge roar erupted, and the band and punters alike ripped through the bands hit song. If these guys can hang around for awhile, they should release some killer rock albums, and pick up more plaudits and fans; they have the sound that could catapult them into the upper echelon of bands in the genre.

Grabbing a few bottles of water, I went to line up to get in the D-Barrier for the last half of the day. I wasn't the only one. The line was huge to get in after the so-called D-Barrier evacuation, and listening to The Vines was almost torturous. While I believe their album Highly Evolved is a great album, if you can't cut it live, what's the point? Glad I wasn't in there for that set - it would have been dead.

Last year I went on a rant about the D-Barrier, and I shall again this year. There is no point have a D-Barrier if people are going to get crushed trying to get in. I can honestly say that I felt more fear lining up to get into the D-Barrier than I did inside of it. Last year I was almost crushed getting into Grinspoon, and this year it was to see the Living End and Queens of the Stone Age. Same problem, but worse this time around, because the line was on the verge of collapse. At least last year security were communicating with the people, telling us when we'd get in or if we wouldn't. This year they just blockaded the entrance. No communication, just threw a few drops of water on us. I was lucky enough to get in after the entire Living End set and half way through Queens of the Stone Age, and I always felt that if QOTSA played No One Knows before I got in, something would go horribly wrong.

Having got in for some of QOTSA, I managed to enjoy the latter part of their set, which included some jamming between Josh Homme and Nick Oliveri and the hit song that I just can't get sick of, No One Knows. Missing most of their set was the biggest disappointment of the day for me, because they were one of the main reasons I went. It seemed there was little moshing, just admiring, and while I thought the few songs I saw were great, I still think I walked over to the P.J. Harvey set a tad disappointed - I probably built my expectations from their album to unrealistic proportions, when their live set is still really good.

P.J. Harvey put in a solid set, playing classics from her earlier albums and a few from her last album, including Good Fortune and Big Exit, which received huge crowd reactions. The crowd were in a reflective mood, quite happy to stand, sing, and soak up the atmosphere. Polly Jean was her usual sexy self, donning very short shorts and groaning during her set. One of the very few women who can dress like a crack whore and get away with it.

While many, including myself, stayed at the Blue Stage to position themselves for the impending Foo Fighters set, over at the Orange Stage, Jane's Addicition were putting on a flamboyant show. I only know two of their songs, and while Dave Navarro is a champion guitarist (he played on my favourite Red Hot Chili Peppers album, One Hot Minute), their set wasn't worth sacrificing a prime spot to see the Foo Fighters. In fact, all I did was talk to the people around us, and made a few friends - one of the great things about Big Day Out is likewise minded music fans who can talk while waiting for the bands to start. However, the wait was long and the people waiting for the Fighters of Foo to hit the stage were growing restless, and thus the "you are a ****er" chants towards Jane's Addiction's ever-outfit changing frontman Perry Farrell. They finished with their signature hit Jane Says, before finally making way for the band everyone was there to see.

Dave and the boys exploded on stage to their latest hit All My Life, before playing Breakout and My Hero. At this stage there was a huge crush in the mosh pit, with people being trampled near me. I decided that if people were getting crushed during My Hero, when a song like Monkeywrench came along, I'd be dead. I decided to try my luck against the tide during the next song, which was The One - hardly their softest song - but eventually made my way from about three people in front of Dave Grohl to about halfway back, all in one song. From there I enjoyed the brilliance of Generator and raw intensity of Stacked Actors, before Dave Grohl got into his comedy routine for the night. As the people at the very front cried for water, Dave started to conduct them, before finally throwing some bottles into the crowd. The band then headed into Monkeywrench where Dave, Chris, and Nate left the stage during the song and Taylor had a full few minutes of flurry on drums. The crowd stood in total awe as he showcased the sheer talent he had in a solo that I will never forget. The crowd shouted for more water, and Dave only had one more bottle. He said how thirsty he was, took the bottle, and had a few gulps, before telling the crowd "I feel like I'm gonna puke", and "I'm too hydrated", just before throwing the bottle in the crowd. The Fooies followed this with songs off their new album Low and Disenchanted Lullabye before thanking the fans for getting them this far into their careers. The grand finale came in the form of my favourite Foo Fighters song, the beautiful Everlong, which sent the crowd into raptures and was the perfect ending to an almost perfect day. It came at the very end, and it was the Foo Fighters who took the gong of band of the day in my books. Their set of hits spanning four albums, and the ability to put those efforts live on stage with immense energy and make transition from ballad to raw rock seem effortless due to their tightness on stage made it the perfect Big Day Out set.

So it was with weary legs and a tired head that I left the Royal Melbourne Showgrounds, but a man whose senses had been fully satisfied after a bombardment of world class rock music. By far better than the 2002 Big Day Out, this years line up looked mighty formidable on paper, and it didn't disappoint.

The Hitman

Originally posted by The Hitman
Big Day Out '03 Review

I once again headed to Big Day Out for my second consecutive visit with huge expectations as the set list had arguably its greatest line-up yet.

From whos point of view?? Just about everyone ive talked to about the setlist thinks its the worst one for quite sometime. If you dont particularly like Queens or Foo Fighters then the set list is very poor. Almost no metal band to speak of and the Boiler Room lineup looks the poorest in sometime. Too much of the same style of music.

Well, having been to all ten Melbourne BDO's over the last 10 years, I'd have to agree with Hitman that this year's lineup was probably the best ever.

Maybe the 94 lineup, which had Soundgarden, Urge Overkill, Primus, Ramones, Smashing Pumpkins, The Breeders and Teenage Fanclub might also have gone close to taking the gold on paper, but being a dedicated Janes, QOTSA and Foo Fighters fan, and being blown away by all three sets by these bands on Monday, as well as the set by Sparta and, to a lesser extent Millencolin and Rocket Science, 03 was superior on the actual day.

But then again, it's all subjective isn't it. How can you seriously get a genuine response from a crowd whose only knowledge of Janes Addiction is "Been Caught Stealing" (which thankfully they didn't play to appease these Video Smash Hits watchers!!), whose legs are dog-weary from 10 hours of standing in queues, and who just want their favorite band of the moment - the Foo Fighters (whose songs they DO know from their JJJ or MMM or Channel V listening) - to come on and play so they can go home.

In a couple of years, it may be the mighty Fooies who are getting the hurry-up by the fickle, fly-by-nighter, sunny summer Sunday supporters, when they want their NEXT favorite band to hurry up and come on ...

Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
Nice review Hitters! Did u go to the Foos last night as well?

Sure did. It was better than their BDO performance, and their BDO performance knocked my socks off. Their show at Festival Hall was too good to put into words.

As for the best lineup ever, I genuinely believe this years lineup was the best for mine. Remember everything I say in this piece is my own opinion: some people might have thought The Vines were awesome (hahahaha!), or that the D-Barrier is a great system. All I know is that when I sat down and planned my day, I had no spare time. Last year I had a few hours to wonder around, and I wasn't too fussed about who I was seeing at the end of the night. This year I had to cut out some awesome bands because there were just so many bands I liked. I didn't have any time to wonder around. Bigger bands have played at BDO, but knowing the history of the festival, I think it'd be a tough argument (bar '99 maybe) to say there was a better total lineup in it's history.

The Hitman

Originally posted by The Hitman
As for the best lineup ever, I genuinely believe this years lineup was the best for mine. Remember everything I say in this piece is my own opinion: some people might have thought The Vines were awesome (hahahaha!), or that the D-Barrier is a great system. All I know is that when I sat down and planned my day, I had no spare time. Last year I had a few hours to wonder around, and I wasn't too fussed about who I was seeing at the end of the night. This year I had to cut out some awesome bands because there were just so many bands I liked. I didn't have any time to wonder around. Bigger bands have played at BDO, but knowing the history of the festival, I think it'd be a tough argument (bar '99 maybe) to say there was a better total lineup in it's history.

The Hitman

Im the exact opposite. I found it to be the most dissapointing lineup since i started going in 98. Last year i wanted to see Amen, Shihad, Grinspoon, System of a Down, Prodigy, Drowining Pool, Frankenbok, Jurassic 5, John Butler Trio, Phil K, 1200 Techniques, Infusion, Kosheen, Quinny, Crystal Method, Dave Clarke, Hilltop Hoods, Killchoir Project and Basement Jaxx. Thats 19 bands/DJs i desperately wanted to see. I ended up going twice (Melb and Ade) just so i could see them all.

This year there was Deftones, Murder Dolls, Cog, Bexta, Resin Dogs, Kid Kenobi, Luke Slater. I saw Kid Kenobi last year and i saw Resin Dogs about 3 months ago...so really 5 bands that id like to see compared to the usual 15-20. Noway known worth the $95 ticket price and in my case an extremely dissapointing lineup.

99 easily had the best 'superstar' lineup. You look at the big international names who had just made it huge (Korn, Soulfly, Hole, Manson, Fatboy Slim, Roni Size). Then youve got your Aussie bands who were either in their prime or had just made it big (Regurgitator, Jebs, Powderfinger, Living End, Superjesus, Sonic Animation)

Looking at the Melbourne lineup, this is who I wanted to see:

Foo Fighters
Jane's Addiction
P.J. Harvey
Queens of the Stone Age
Living End
The Vines
Deftones
Millencolin
Pacifier
28 Days
Frenzal Rhomb
Waikiki
You Am I
1200 Techniques
Jebediah
The Waifs
Rocket Science
Dallas Crane
The Hards Ons
Jimmy Eat World
Sparta
The Music
Augie March

I only got to see/listen to 12 of those, and there were so many I missed out on. This year was very much catered for my taste, and wasn't really for yours Craig. That said, when I went with you last year, it was more for your taste. It differs each year, and that is a good thing about the festival.

The Hitman

Originally posted by GhostofJimJess
Maybe the 94 lineup, which had Soundgarden, Urge Overkill, Primus, Ramones, Smashing Pumpkins, The Breeders and Teenage Fanclub might also have gone close to taking the gold on paper, ...

Which IMO takes Silver to the first Big Day Out line up. Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds,Iggy Pop,Sonic Youth,Mudhoney,The Beasts.... oh and IGGY POP,IGGY POP and IGGY POP!!!:D
By the way Urge Overkill didn't come to Adelaide and The Ramones suffered from a shirt stage and shirt sound in 94 unfortunately.

Well described, Hitters.

And you've succeeded in making me determined NEVER to go to one of these BDO thingies.

I mean, it just sounds like a bloody horrible way to spend a day. Getting squashed to death, ripped off, pushed and shoved from one stage to another trying to catch a few minutes of this band, a few minutes of that.

I'm pleased to say, I'm a BDO virgin and I intend to stay that way.

And I must say, I'm absolutely bloody apalled at the etiquette of the modern music fan. It seems that you get these groups of fans of a particular band who think it's kosher to abuse the band that is unfortunate enough to be playing the set before them. Whatever happened to basic good manners? If you don't like a band, fine ... but there's no need to tell em to **** off. They're there to play a set. They're playing till a certain time. Then they'll go ... and your favourite band will be on next ... simple ... Why the abuse?

Geez ... anyone one would think it was the Brisbane Lions doing their pre-game warm-up in front of the Collingwoood Cheer Squad ... I mean ... you expect that sort of crap at the footy ... but NOT at a bloody music concert.

Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
Which IMO takes Silver to the first Big Day Out line up. Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds,Iggy Pop,Sonic Youth,Mudhoney,The Beasts.... oh and IGGY POP,IGGY POP and IGGY POP!!!:D
By the way Urge Overkill didn't come to Adelaide and The Ramones suffered from a shirt stage and shirt sound in 94 unfortunately.

Leaper, I'm with you brother. As per usual, your quality taste in music has left astounded. In your list you forgot Carter USM and the Disposable Heroes of Hiphoprisy, I think the clouds were also on the list.
I was 14 when I scunged together $50 and told my parents I was going to a friend's place. It was one of the best days of my life.
However, yesterday's BDO? I went with no expectations - Id seen all the big names b4 and was just happy to go along and enjoy the ride.
Blow me if I wasn't blown away by The Music, Rocket Science and 1200 Techniques. QOTSA and FooF were also good.
The fact I had a photo pit pass which allowed me front of stage made my day sensational.
The surprise of yesterday form e however was this Adelaide band called the Circle clan who I really enjoyed. Their electro punk music reminded me a lot of Carter USM and also Insurge.

Nice review hitman. I've got to agree - I found this year's BDO to be the best ever also. Haven't been b4 this year but just looking at the line up in past years this year's takes the cake easily for mine. Anybody got any thoughts on Jimmy Eat World ??- I thought there's was easily the best performance I saw out of anyone closely followed by the Foo Fighters and Sparta.

Originally posted by Whitey
Nice review hitman. I've got to agree - I found this year's BDO to be the best ever also. Haven't been b4 this year but just looking at the line up in past years this year's takes the cake easily for mine. Anybody got any thoughts on Jimmy Eat World ??- I thought there's was easily the best performance I saw out of anyone closely followed by the Foo Fighters and Sparta.
Dunno about the best line-up ever, but it was a top day and the vibe was great all around.

J.E.W were good for the 5 or so songs i caught them for. Very tight, and great stage presence (regardless of whether you dig their tunes). But i thought 1200 Techniques and Deftones were pretty close to B.O.G IMO. 1200 Techniques were awesome on the RRR stage. Had 4 or so thousand people in the palm of their hand and had the people moving! Was like a big party and were perfect for the BDO vibe.

And the Deftones rocked very hard. Was a crime they were on so early compared to some of the poo that was on after them. Would have prefered to see them headline one of the outside stages then play for 35 minutes in broad daylight in the middle of the fricken day!

But even still, they were in very fine form and blew alot of the other main arena acts off the stage i thought.

Originally posted by AlfAndrews

And I must say, I'm absolutely bloody apalled at the etiquette of the modern music fan. It seems that you get these groups of fans of a particular band who think it's kosher to abuse the band that is unfortunate enough to be playing the set before them. Whatever happened to basic good manners? If you don't like a band, fine ... but there's no need to tell em to **** off. They're there to play a set. They're playing till a certain time. Then they'll go ... and your favourite band will be on next ... simple ... Why the abuse?

I couldn't agree with you more, Alf. Immature, pathetic crap from a whole load of trend-following, MMM listening bandwagon jumpers.

The people I know who got in the D for the main bands really enjoyed the BDO. I was trying to get into the D for the whole of QotSA and PJ Harvey, but gave up then because I didn't want to miss any of Jane's Addiction's set. As a result, I had to crane my neck to see JA and FF at all, and was way too far away to get into them properly. If that bloody barrier hadn't been there I would have been able to work my way into a good position. I don't think I'll be going again.

Originally posted by GhostofJimJess
Well, having been to all ten Melbourne BDO's over the last 10 years, I'd have to agree with Hitman that this year's lineup was probably the best ever.

Maybe the 94 lineup, which had Soundgarden, Urge Overkill, Primus, Ramones, Smashing Pumpkins, The Breeders and Teenage Fanclub might also have gone close to taking the gold on paper, but being a dedicated Janes, QOTSA and Foo Fighters fan, and being blown away by all three sets by these bands on Monday, as well as the set by Sparta and, to a lesser extent Millencolin and Rocket Science, 03 was superior on the actual day.

But then again, it's all subjective isn't it. How can you seriously get a genuine response from a crowd whose only knowledge of Janes Addiction is "Been Caught Stealing" (which thankfully they didn't play to appease these Video Smash Hits watchers!!), whose legs are dog-weary from 10 hours of standing in queues, and who just want their favorite band of the moment - the Foo Fighters (whose songs they DO know from their JJJ or MMM or Channel V listening) - to come on and play so they can go home.

In a couple of years, it may be the mighty Fooies who are getting the hurry-up by the fickle, fly-by-nighter, sunny summer Sunday supporters, when they want their NEXT favorite band to hurry up and come on ...

spot on.....

Went to 2002 & 2001.

I really enjoyed 2001, maybe it was because it was my first appearance.

In 2001 I saw Rammstein (Killer set, I was already a fan but this sealed it!) & Powderfinger (Gotta luv 'em). I spent most of the day drinking with a mate I hadn't seen in 12 months.

I loved it, it was a great finish to the day although I prob missed a bit of the earlier action.

Last years was ok.

This years line up never really excited me, I can see The Living End & 28 days any weekend (well almost). I saw QOTSA last year anyway.

Originally posted by TheMase
Did anyone see Murder Dolls? I would've loved to see them ..

I didn't get there this year, maybe next year ...
Nah didn't see them, mate of mine did and said they were awesome.
As for you sig, Ford's were invented to keep ********s off the road ;)

Originally posted by Deestroy
Nah didn't see them, mate of mine did and said they were awesome.
As for you sig, Ford's were invented to keep ********s off the road ;)

Thats a shame. I thought they'd be awesome live!

Mate, you can't change the sig around. The sig is the law :D

Re: Re: Hitman's BDO Review

Originally posted by Macca19
From whos point of view?? Just about everyone ive talked to about the setlist thinks its the worst one for quite sometime. If you dont particularly like Queens or Foo Fighters then the set list is very poor. Almost no metal band to speak of and the Boiler Room lineup looks the poorest in sometime. Too much of the same style of music.

nah, i reckon it's one of the best BDO lineups. Some quality acts in there.

Re: Re: Hitman's BDO Review

Originally posted by Macca19

I agree about the Boiler room line up, Underworld were the only decent group there! Born Slippy went off :)

I reckon it was the best lineup for a few years. In the last few years I've just laughed at the lineups.

Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
i saw em on V and reckon theyre alrite but they have got to be exact copies of Marilyn Manson even their clip is almost a duplicate!

I have heard their music, and it is nothing like Mansons?!

The drummer is the 'singer' from Slipknot IIRC

Originally posted by AlfAndrews

Hehe thats' rant of someone starting to show their age a bit Alf, whilst I agree with you to some degree I can't help feeling that you're betraying your punk roots, I mean isn't the nihilistic attitude of punk to break free of the etiquette & rules that society seeks to shackle us with?