Homesick Crows?

• Thread starter Thread starter PrideOf

Originally posted by dyertribe
I thought Wigs was originally a South Aussie - his brother Brad played for the SA Cricket team too.

I know he first played with Footscray before going to Sydney, which is where we picked him up from.

If I could find just one of his many fan web sites, I could have the answer by now. ;)

Originally posted by PrideOf
I know he first played with Footscray before going to Sydney, which is where we picked him up from.

If I could find just one of his many fan web sites, I could have the answer by now. ;)

They were both Victorians.

Stuart then went to Richmond and played good footy at Centre Half Back for a while.

The Advo always got them mixed up and had Stuart playing cricket and Brad playing footy.

The big question would have to be why your Victorian kids want to go home, and the Port ones don't. I tend to think that having a larger group of ex-pat players makes it easier for more to settle in, as opposed to being the odd one out among a heavily local group.

Of course Angwin is still a headcase, the Crows even drafted his best mate to come over with him.

Take Johnson out and you have:
WA - 5 players, 151 games
Vic - 19 players, 146 games

That is one hell of a stat.

No wonder KG hates Victorians.

Makes Michael Stevens look like an inspired pick! ;)

Originally posted by Porthos
The big question would have to be why your Victorian kids want to go home, and the Port ones don't. I tend to think that having a larger group of ex-pat players makes it easier for more to settle in, as opposed to being the odd one out among a heavily local group.

Of course Angwin is still a headcase, the Crows even drafted his best mate to come over with him.

It does beg the question.

I don't think Handby and Angwin were ever best mates. They played for the smae team and were mates but I think once they were draftd they were made out to be really close etc etc.

Handby could certainly play by all accounts and was not drafted just for big Laurie.

Originally posted by Port01
Makes Michael Stevens look like an inspired pick! ;)

Its only my perception - no real facts but the power seem to draft a lot of young vics -probably more than us - I'm curious as to what their success rate is - Stevens, Salopek - anyone else?

Interstaters we've traded for (not from SA originally):

Stuart Wigney (Sydney)
Matt Connell (West Coast)
Jason McCartney (C'wood)
Peter Caven (Sydney)
Barry Standfield (Footscray)
Mark Stevens (North)
Evan Hewitt (North)
Kris Massie (Carlton)
Ronnie Burns (Geelong)

More hits than misses. A club champ, 3 premiership players in there. Get them a bit older and they'll play some good footy.

We actually trade far better than we draft.

Our trading has been pretty good. I think the main reason for more sucess with these guys, is that fact that the youngest of these guys was Mark Stevens (He was 21 about to turn 22 when he was traded to us) rather than 17 0r 18 when you get drafted. The other key difference is that they were more open to going to an "interstate" club. Personally I would rather go to a well run, financially well off and superbly equipted club rather than a down and out Victorian club.

k
xx

Originally posted by dezzmo
Its only my perception - no real facts but the power seem to draft a lot of young vics -probably more than us - I'm curious as to what their success rate is - Stevens, Salopek - anyone else?
Salopek is not a star yet. Heaps of potential, but not a star just yet.
IMO there is no doubt that the Crows target SA players more than Port do, but saying that Angwin is a typical case is way off the mark.
I can think of at least one South Australian that fits in his "category" so to speak, and I'm sure there are many others.

However, Port does very very well in retaining the players it wants to keep, perhaps more than any other Club.
To me that is best judged not so much by the stars that a team manages to retain, but even more by the good fringe players with heaps of potential that are willing to stick around and work on their game rather than go "home" to bigger offers.
This year will be a big test (on this ability) for Port.