How Diehard Are You?

Fronted up every week in Melbourne and usually one or two interstate games a year until I moved overseas. Not sure how I put myself through it. Moving 7,000 km away was the only way to free myself I think. And despite how shithouse we are, every week just before the ball is bounced I sit there watching it on my laptop in Cambodia thinking to myself “**** I wish I was there”. That said, such thoughts are usually gone by quarter time.

At last! Somebody as diehard as I am! I’ve often thought about moving to put a stop to my misery :tongueclosed: Unfortunately it doesn’t stop there, does it?

Plenty of people? Really? We are one of the most successful clubs in the history of the game and we can barely scrape together 50,000 members. We are irrelevant

We lost a generation of supporters in the early 2000s. It will take time to rebuild that.

But yeah, let's not diminish so many interstate members who don't get to attend the games but do get to hand over their money to support the cause. I know heaps of them. I am one of them. My passion is as strong as anybody's.

We lost a generation of supporters in the early 2000s. It will take time to rebuild that.

But yeah, let's not diminish so many interstate members who don't get to attend the games but do get to hand over their money to support the cause. I know heaps of them. I am one of them. My passion is as strong as anybody's.

I’m not diminishing it but it’s not the same as going every week. If the shoes were reversed, you would agree

I’m not dimishimg it but it’s not the same as going every week. If the shoes were reversed, you would agree

No, I wouldn't. It's far too Vic centric.

I live in a non-football environment and subject my relationships to my passion, even to their detriment. It is my lifeblood. It is the thing that brings me the most pain and the most unbridled joy (my kids bring a different kind of joy). I buy my membership every year. I have moderated a Blues forum for 17 years and soak up every bit of news about the club. I organised sponsorships for years. I'm a tragic and my moods ride on our success and failure from weekend to weekend. Offseasons should be a sweet relief but I am addicted so can't wait to put myself through the wringer again.

If I moved back to Melbourne, I will never consider my support greater than others. I can't possibly get inside their head and hearts to know what Carlton means to them. I take everybody's passion at their word.

You’ll never know the difference of being there week in, week out because you haven’t been, just as I haven’t been there watching on tv or whatever other device each week.

Being there every week is a completely different feeling. I don’t care if you believe me or not but just trust me!

You’ll never know the difference of being there week in, week out because you haven’t been, just as I haven’t been there watching on tv or whatever other device each week.

Being there every week is a completely different feeling. I don’t care if you believe me or not but just trust me!

I’m not from the country and go to every home game. And I reckon you are talking absolute bullocks. Im done no more from me on this thread

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I’m not from the country and go to every home game. And I reckon you are talking absolute bullocks. Im done no more from me on this thread

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Clap clap.

I'm sure you're not intending it to come off this way, but the whole thing about needing to attend the games to understand how it feels is a bit elitist. Whether you're interstate, or decide that you'd just rather watch it on TV, it doesn't make you any less of a fan or mean that you can't be just as upset/emotional about a loss (or the struggle of the club) as anyone else.

Agree but trust me when I say it ain’t the same.

I know it hurts every Bluebagger around the country mate but it is different when you show up for all Vic games bar one in 30 years and see and feel that this club isn’t going anywhere. It breaks my heart

I just asked you a simple question & your response was ‘can’t you read’.

Enlighten me. What was the point of your question, particularly when the OP already answered your question?

Chose to barrack for Carlton roughly around the age of 5.
Didn't follow footy between 2002-2008. It wasn't because of Carlton's poor form, but more the fact that I was very young and wasn't interested in footy around that time.

Now I'm a diehard supporter and non-member (don't have the money) of the club. I'm still with them now despite their disappointing performances in recent years.

Chose to barrack for Carlton roughly around the age of 5.
Didn't follow footy between 2002-2008. It' wasn't because of Carlton's poor form, but more the fact that I wasn't interested in footy around that time.

Now I'm a diehard supporter and non-member (don't have the money) of the club. I'm still with them now despite their disappointing performances in recent years.

Good on you mate. Buckle yourself in. Unfortunately, it’s going to be a tough ride :(