How do we really shape up

Just checked the ladder to get a grip of who we re up against for a top 8 spot. Looks to me that there are 3 spots left with

WC
Norf
Port

The likely contenders. So how have their seasons shaped up relative to ours , season to date, all BULLSHIT aside :confused:

West Coast and Carlton will continue to improve.
Collingwood will probably move up, hard to see them missing finals, but may be like Hawthorn of 2009.
Adelaide seem to be finding their feet without the big Mullé up forward.

North Melbourne are too far back.
Port's winning ways are done, they'll slip right down.

Richmond are no threat without a full strength midfield (at the moment), which is just a reality.

So that means spots 6,7,8?
Reckon they'll go to
6. West Coast
7. Collingwood
8. Adelaide.

West Coast look a new side with Nic Nat back in the team and can't see them missing now.

Collingwood are still a great side and I just can't see them not making the finals with that list.

Adelaide I thought would struggle without Tippett and Walker. But they seem to be a threat and have found multiple scoring options now and seems to be working.

Richmond can make it but as OP said we need the midfield to be firing as that is our greatest strength.

Us West Coast Adelaide Carlton Collingwood & North are the ones fight for a spot. The 4 games of footy will have a big bearing on how things will pan out.

We play - Eagles(a) Crows(h) Dogs(a) & Saints(h) win 3 and we're 8-5 and give ourselves every chance.
Eagles play - Us(h) Saints(a) Hawks(a) Bombers(h) like us a chance to win 3 and set themselves up.
Crows play - Freo(h) Swans(h) us(a) Suns(a) would need to upset either Freo or Swans to keep touch, lose 3 of the 4 and they could be gone.
Carlton play - GWS(h) Bombers(a) Hawks(h) Swans(a) after this week they will need to pull off a couple of upsets as well.
Pies play - Lions(a) Dees(a) Dogs(h) Port(a) there chance to make up some lost ground and % as they should win all 4.
North play - Saints(h) Suns(a) Freo(a) GWS(h) need to win all 4 to make up lost ground. Freo the big test given they are getting Sandi and Pav back shortly.

Looking at that if results go as we'd like it should be Us Eagles Pies in the box seat heading into the second half of the season.

After this round we have a decent 5-6 weeks, we could elevate ourselves to 9-6 after 15 games with some good footy. Don't give up just yet!

Port wont make the finals. Look at their full draw. 8-9 wins max I reckon.

North

West Coast should make it to 6th or 7th
Collingwood should make it, wish they lost to Geelong as well.
North will struggle from here
Carlton have a tough 3 games after they play the Giants
Adelaide have a tough 3-4 weeks.
We have a good month. West Coast, Adelaide, Dogs, Saints. Aim for 3/4 to go 8-5.

After this round we have a decent 5-6 weeks, we could elevate ourselves to 9-6 after 15 games with some good footy. Don't give up just yet!

Too late. Coach is already gone half way through this season and we're already on the phone to Roos.

RFC supporters: backbones of jelly. Thats it boys, stand firm when the going gets a little challenging... or.. as in your case, not.

Whenever I did my ladder predicitors I assumed no victories against Essendon, Sydney or Hawlthorn... dont understand how one (albeit very dissappointing style of) loss can send half the posters here off like 9 year old girls who are watching Blair Whitch for the first time. Weak as piss. Before the season kicked off, You were really assuming we would beat Essendon? I doubt any of you had it as a lock.. and yet if we win the ones we thought we should, you suddenly all wet your pants when we drop one we mostly expected we would!! Where's the logic in that? wheres the consistency in that? The biggest harm 30 years of frustration has done is obviously leave our supporters with concntration spans of an hard-boiled egg.... Shall we sack Dimma now? Obviously the admin has stuffed up compeltely too now, so, due the loss to Essendon we should probably have a spill at board level. Well overdue, right fellas?

Every pundit on here who is calling for Dimma to go already is dead to me. If one loss sends you over the edge you are no use to anyone. Go change your nappies.

WC
Norf
Port

I guess a good thing to note is we've only played 3 of these teams, Port, Collingwood and Carlton - and we're 2-1 against them.

WC, Adelaide and North will be tough be we can get over teams like them we'll be on our way to the 8. It will also help to beat Carlton a second time around :p

RFC supporters: backbones of jelly. Thats it boys, stand firm when the going gets a little challenging... or.. as in your case, not.

Whenever I did my ladder predicitors I assumed no victories against Essendon, Sydney or Hawlthorn... dont understand how one (albeit very dissappointing style of) loss can send half the posters here off like 9 year old girls who are watching Blair Whitch for the first time. Weak as piss. Before the season kicked off, You were really assuming we would beat Essendon? I doubt any of you had it as a lock.. and yet if we win the ones we thought we should, you suddenly all wet your pants when we drop one we mostly expected we would!! Where's the logic in that? wheres the consistency in that? The biggest harm 30 years of frustration has done is obviously leave our supporters with concntration spans of an hard-boiled egg.... Shall we sack Dimma now? Obviously the admin has stuffed up compeltely too now, so, due the loss to Essendon we should probably have a spill at board level. Well overdue, right fellas?

Every pundit on here who is calling for Dimma to go already is dead to me. If one loss sends you over the edge you are no use to anyone. Go change your nappies.

i dont think anybody would have assumed we would beat essendon,collingwood,fremantle or geelong
but i am sure they would have assumed a disiplined, hard at the contest team effort instead of the efforts that have been dished up

i dont think anybody would have assumed we would beat essendon,collingwood,fremantle or geelong
but i am sure they would have assumed a disiplined, hard at the contest team effort instead of the efforts that have been dished up
You forgot to add the bit where if we were still developing some kids in the process while we have injuries rather than playing supposive back-ups and proven duds over them but we are just about the oldest team going around. Those things you mentioned should be non-negotiable in such an experienced team. I still think we will make finals just worried that's going to be our ceiling.

thats funny, the last time i looked we were 5-4, not 8-1..;)

It is the way the losses have come that is what is causing the frustration and angst. Barely a yelp against the Bombers, blown away by Geelong & Pies and a blown opportunity against Freo. As mentioned if the side was having a red hot crack like it was last year I'd suggest that the outlook among us supporters would be a lot more upbeat than it currently is.

Mate, Angst & Frustration I can understand... Angst is what Im feeling about that loss... but several dozen posters here have gone way way beyond Angst & Frustration. Angst doesnt require the sacking of the coach - it requires a committed response from the team. Frustration doesnt mean completely dropping your bundle and giving up... at least not to anyone with a backbone and bit of charachter. A dozen supporters here are acting like we must win every single game, and we its just plain unimaginable we might put in one or two poor ones for the entire season! ...and when we do lose to a top 4 team and are made to look ordinary, the response is that of a spoiled child, rather than a man with a backbone and a belief in their own convictions.. ie the convictions they were expressing just 24 hours earlier.

and the reason I gripe... is that the pathetic over reactions make this lovely board basically unreadable until the next win.

Freo, we had a crack, Geelong, we had a crack, lost Ivan, Vick and Petterd mid game.
Collingwood, shithouse, Essendon, shithouse.

My expectations are much higher than last year so those two poor ones really hurt, but in hindsight the Freo and Cats games were good efforts, but beaten just the same.