Nov 12, 2004
B.Celtics, FC Barcelona, Leeds Utd
For mine ...

Frustrating..

I don't know, he just seems to lack that something in his game right now that makes him an automatic starter in our best side (on paper)

I'd like him to become a depth player, I know he probably won't ever become a star or an 'elite' player, but one that is a solid and reliable and consistent player that provides solid back-up and support for some of the higher profile players in our team.
I'm not actually quite sure what his best possie is, but I think a 'tagging' role may suit him, more so then slotting him in a specific back pocket role.

The guy is a long term player IMHO, but gee whiz, I think he is going to make it as a senior player, but gee there are times when his disposal and lack of discipline (on field) annoys me, but I suspect that a lot of that was due to Denis Pagan and his very negative and harsh style of coaching, and I thought that he appeared more relaxed playing under Ratts, so I am hoping/expecting JR can have a pretty solid season in 2008.

definately isnt a tagger!!

but as most will agree found his spot on the HFF playing against the pies!!!

carved that role up that day!! i think he should still be part of the midfield rotation but most likely a HFF with short spurts in the middle such as when Murphy, Judd etc etc need a quick rest!!!

ill give him another year, but my patience on him developing is waining!!

hopefully with development coaches and ratten at the helm he may improve dramatically as i see him next year playing a consistant role!!

I rate him, and think he'll come good under Ratten. Needs to be played across half-forward and on a wing, and I hope the coach gives him the same sort of license Simmo was given a couple of years back, giving license to run and carry without worrying about getting caught. Does seem to be unsure at times, but all due to a lack of confidence. Inject some confidence into him and you'll see his ability shine.

2008 season for JR to step up.

I think he showed last year that he has the ability to get into the right positions to receive the ball as a HFF/Wingman, but let himself down with his disposal.

Still, it wasn't that long ago that Carrazzo's disposal was as bad or worse as Russell's was last year, so hopefully with further training Russell can make similar improvements. If he does, I reckon he'll be in our starting 22.

At the moment not very highly. Certainly hasn't justified a top 10 draft pick at this stage but I really hope he can get his game together and become a decent utility player (midfield, HBF, HFF) for the blues.

lets have patients with him

has terrific work ethic off the field and a good head on his shoulders but just needs the confidence in the coaching staff to set his game alight.

In ratts i trust as towards the end of last year when ratts took over he gave him the confidence to go out their and play his natural game, and not have to worry that if he stuffed up he would be dragged and the sent to the ressies to fix the problem.

give him time and he will shine.

For mine ...

Frustrating..

I don't know, he just seems to lack that something in his game right now that makes him an automatic starter in our best side (on paper)

I'd like him to become a depth player, I know he probably won't ever become a star or an 'elite' player, but one that is a solid and reliable and consistent player that provides solid back-up and support for some of the higher profile players in our team.
I'm not actually quite sure what his best possie is, but I think a 'tagging' role may suit him, more so then slotting him in a specific back pocket role.

The guy is a long term player IMHO, but gee whiz, I think he is going to make it as a senior player, but gee there are times when his disposal and lack of discipline (on field) annoys me, but I suspect that a lot of that was due to Denis Pagan and his very negative and harsh style of coaching, and I thought that he appeared more relaxed playing under Ratts, so I am hoping/expecting JR can have a pretty solid season in 2008.

Gee whiz? Pagan has more to answer for than I thought. As for JR he is not a tagger or back pockets a-hole. He has flair and some polish but he will never crash through a brick wall for the team, get us up in a tight one or stop the rot when we are sliding out of a game. Fair enough too, not many players can.

What he can do is un-nerve opposition coaches with his pace and running. I keep going back to the PA game which for mine was where he showed his real potential. I have happily bagged the crap out of him in the past - not for being a dud but for other posters virtually guaranteeing he was going to make it. The jury is still out and one would think he won't get too many more opportunities after 2008.

In concluding, I think we all might be surprised by the overall effect CJ has on the list. Some players may well be embarrassed into training and performing at a higher level.

Gee whiz? Pagan has more to answer for than I thought. As for JR he is not a tagger or back pockets a-hole. He has flair and some polish but he will never crash through a brick wall for the team, get us up in a tight one or stop the rot when we are sliding out of a game. Fair enough too, not many players can.

What he can do is un-nerve opposition coaches with his pace and running. I keep going back to the PA game which for mine was where he showed his real potential. I have happily bagged the crap out of him in the past - not for being a dud but for other posters virtually guaranteeing he was going to make it. The jury is still out and one would think he won't get too many more opportunities after 2008.

In concluding, I think we all might be surprised by the overall effect CJ has on the list. Some players may well be embarrassed into training and performing at a higher level.

Yeah that's a fair point, but I think Ratten is going to be a much more patient and positive coach, esp to the players like JR, whom IMHO has to feel confident in his game and ability IMHO.

I think Having Judd can only be a good thing, but I think a more easy going and relaxed/positive coach can only be a good thing.

Wheres my mate Mentallo!!!

We play the Benny Hill music when he was tagging Brent Harvey!

Nah, he seems to have some great aggression and pretty smart around goals at HFF. Knows what to do with it but needs to make his presence felt in the 22, not just some bit player. Will never have the silkiness of Murphy or Stevens but skills and awareness are solid. Should be in our best 22.

One player that will benefit from having a development coach at the club. Not so sure that he will become a pure midfielder, but could become a handy lead up type HFF. Played well against Collingwood in this role, and would like to see more of this in '08.

Definitely make or break for him next year though.

lets have patients with him

has terrific work ethic off the field and a good head on his shoulders but just needs the confidence in the coaching staff to set his game alight.

In ratts i trust as towards the end of last year when ratts took over he gave him the confidence to go out their and play his natural game, and not have to worry that if he stuffed up he would be dragged and the sent to the ressies to fix the problem.

give him time and he will shine.

so did callum chambers :p

russell=sporn

he's like houlihan. except nowhere near as soft.

When will people get off Houla's back! Hes one of few players who played very well consistantly this year. No matter what roll they gave him, he did well at. Most games he completely took his opponent out of the game.

For mine ...

Frustrating..

Is this groundhog day - how many times do we need to go through this..... Jordan Russells merits have been gone over many times in this forum... LEts give it a rest...........

You're obviously so annoyed by it you registered on BF last week just to get the chance to say so. Impressive.

For mine ...

but I suspect that a lot of that was due to Denis Pagan and his very negative and harsh style of coaching, and I thought that he appeared more relaxed playing under Ratts, so I am hoping/expecting JR can have a pretty solid season in 2008.

i think jordan russel came out sticking up for denis pagan when kouta was lashing out on him! i think he said pagan gave him the opportunity to play at AFL level when he didnt think he deserve the games and appreciated everything he did for him!!

Its been frustrating to say the least. I'm growing slightly impatient with Russell but only because i've seen glimpses of how much talent the kid has. I really rate him and think he can become a key play-maker in this team.

One player that will benefit from having a development coach at the club. Not so sure that he will become a pure midfielder, but could become a handy lead up type HFF. Played well against Collingwood in this role, and would like to see more of this in '08.

Definitely make or break for him next year though.
I agree HBF. Just cant see him as a midfielder unfortunately. Simply doesn't have good enough hands. Either becomes Rohan Smith or Ron Deulio from here. My only issue with him in the lead up role is that we just have a glut of guys wanting this sort of position - Fisher, Waite, Edwards. If we pick Kreuzer he will also draw the ball. Rather than any lack of form I fear they just won't kick it to him.

Personally I'd rather they try and build a bit of poise (calm with the ball) and a bit of courage (I actually think it can be taught) into him. And play him off half back. Needs to learn to read the play a bit. The development coaches will help I agree. Then he should be able to stick to a man, run off, and use his quite decent skills. Wont ever be a big ball winner but will be at least effective that way.

If he could develop there it would release Walker to the midfield. :thumbsu:

Its been frustrating to say the least. I'm growing slightly impatient with Russell but only because i've seen glimpses of how much talent the kid has. I really rate him and think he can become a key play-maker in this team.

Do you actually think he has footy talent or just athletic talent?

How do you guys rate Jordan Russell ?