How do you solve a problem like Danny Meyer?

• Thread starter Thread starter astro_toby

Cant agree with meyer.......the kid has no heart for the club, send him to the rock apes (port adelaide)

i have heard this so so many times about danny - and frankly, i want th club to react to it. i have posted the below in another thread, but i'm going to repost it - because the issue with danny really irks me - because we used such a good pick to get him. what do you guys think we should do with him?

well, i honestly can't say i have seen him do anything to say that isn't true. he doesn't show much emotion out there.

basically we invested a prized pick for him - we can either let him walk out to adelaide, (and we know either port or the crows will get the most out of him), get next to nothing for him - let him avoid ever having to put his name on the line in front of the media and thebig crowds, the humiliation of being a passenger in front of 40, 50, 60,000people.

or we can tell him

"like it or not, we believe in you as a player, we used a valuable assest to take you, so much is our faith in you as a player - so we are going to select you to play the remainder of the season in the richmond seniors.

If you want to put in sub standard, unspirited performance's for our club, and walk out on us - then we aren't going to help you one iota. we are NOT going to let you hide out in the suburbs playing for coburg, we are NOT going to trade you to a south australian side...

instead, we are going to make you play senior afl football -

you are going to play against players who really do give a stuff. players who will murder a player who is playing for the opposition to earn a win for their teammates.

you are going to be representing the richmond football club.

you are also going to be representing yourself, and your family

if you want to stink out there - you can do it where everyone can see, your family, your mates back home,& among everyone else - the thousand's sitting in the stands - we are NOT going to hide your performance away any longer.

if you go out there, and play like you don't care - then we'll let the supporters who really do give a shit about this club let you know how they feel about that - and you can look your teammates in the eye, and try and explain your performance after every game - because they give a ****.

Or you can go out there, and play like you do give a stuff - and re-pay the faith that this club had in your ability as a player and a person - and do the best you bloody can for us

take it or leave it Danny, but it could be an awfully long 13 weeks till this season ends"

no more free rides. no more hiding from responsibility. if its true he is tanking so he can go home - thenn don't do him any favours by hiding him at coburg - let him be humiliated for his performances - send a clear message out there that we dont take crap from our players.

port did it with stevens , carlton did the same last year with thornton and jordan russell - they refused to trade either of them, and threatened to pick them both up in the psd if they walked. stevens missed out in playing in a grand final side - both of thornton and russell stayed. thornton is playing fantastic footy - and russell is having to play his arse off to get a game - and is definitely not home in adelaide.

i don't necessarily believe danny is doing that to us - but many people do - and if thats the case then screw him - crash and burn.

if not - well, keep on trying mate :p[/quote]
i didnt read ur whole post as it was too long lol but from the first couple of lines i think i caught ur drift
and i agree i think it is all a confidence thing with meyer, he has exceptional skill (not yet seen at afl level) but if we persist with him im sure he will pull through.
it is silly to swap him for a draft pick because i doubt we would get a pick 12 (or what ever he went at) for him and then we arent gaining anything.
hopefully he shows something, in my eyes he has something special about him

If we lose/get rid of Danny then I see it as a huge failure of the RFC. He is only 2 1/2 years in and I have to say that a lot of people are far to impatient with our kids.

We are desperate for these kids to do well but you have to have people(Miller-Wallace) making the early & tough calls on players that dont have what it takes before its too late.

Meyer is one such player. Terry at dp12 got this one wrong.:thumbsd:

- Too small.
- Doesnt get enough of the footy.
- Fails to make an impact.
- Attitude problems?

Trade him now whilst he still has some perceived value.

Meesen will do just fine if Adelaide will go for it.

We are desperate for these kids to do well but you have to have people(Miller-Wallace) making the early & tough calls on players that dont have what it takes before its too late.

Meyer is one such player. Terry at dp12 got this one wrong.:thumbsd:

- Too small.
- Doesnt get enough of the footy.
- Fails to make an impact.
- Attitude problems?

Trade him now whilst he still has some perceived value.

Meesen will do just fine if Adelaide will go for it.

Sorry but I don't believe that Meyer is the problem but it is our specialized coaching that is the problem. Cool no worries lets get Meesan, we should be able to f*&k him up pretty quickly as well.

Fact we invested in Meyer so lets not throw him away before we have let/helped him develop.

Isn't there like only a 50-60% strike rate for finding players in the top 20?

We found 4/5 players who are very likely to play a lot of games with us and only Meyer is a worry, so overall we have faired better than most clubs.

Isn't there like only a 50-60% strike rate for finding players in the top 20?

We found 4/5 players who are very likely to play a lot of games with us and only Meyer is a worry, so overall we have faired better than most clubs.
sheesh benny thats a nice spin on that draft. deledio at 1 was a monty. taking tambling at 4 also, even though i believe franklin was the way to go. so some will argue we got that one wrong but if both go on to have long careers you would have to say we got it right. pick 12 on meyer.pick 16 on pattison. lets put it this way i would say 16 of the top 20 picks from 2004 will give good service to their clubs. patto and meyer along with meeson i have grave doubts about. pick 20 polo. hes been good but his kicking is terrible. a team can carry only so many poor kicks polo is one i would carry atm. pattison i just dont rate when we get a skillful genuine young ruckman in our system im sure he will be bypassed. meyer well already 5 of 8 players taken after him have gone past him. the other 3 are talls wood pattison and willits and you could make a case that all 3 of them have gone past meyer as well.

imo 16 of 20 in 2004. 15 of 20 in 2005 look like long term players 2 miss out because of long term injury. and 3 of them a talls who take longer. one of the 5 yet to make an impact is our very own jon. 2006 just a tad early yet to make assumptions but already 6 or 7 out of the top 20 look the goods.

based on 04 and 05 it looks like 75% plus of the top 20 picks should make long term players. and at this stage i would say of the 5 early picks we had only 2 look certainties of playing lots of games for us with another close to certain. thats 60% not real bad not real good either.

in 2004 and 2005 drafts i believe our real failure was in not targeting our poor list structure and in 05 not delisting duds and useing just 3 nd picks. the club has put itself in the position of where it MUST trade for specific types because we have continually ignored gaping holes in the list over the last 4 or 5 yrs.an example of this is the polak deal. and if people think thursfield and polak have fixed our key defensive posts what happens when they both cop injuries we have to have players in the system who are capable of doing their job and doing it well. we dont have those players in the system atm.

big bodied ball winning onballers are a must who have good kicking skills and who have pace. along with 2 kpds and a couple of young ruckmen. a couple of hard at it falnkers in the chick archer or hamill mould wouldnt go astray either.

sheesh benny thats a nice spin on that draft. deledio at 1 was a monty. taking tambling at 4 also, even though i believe franklin was the way to go. so some will argue we got that one wrong but if both go on to have long careers you would have to say we got it right. pick 12 on meyer.pick 16 on pattison. lets put it this way i would say 16 of the top 20 picks from 2004 will give good service to their clubs. patto and meyer along with meeson i have grave doubts about. pick 20 polo. hes been good but his kicking is terrible. a team can carry only so many poor kicks polo is one i would carry atm. pattison i just dont rate when we get a skillful genuine young ruckman in our system im sure he will be bypassed. meyer well already 5 of 8 players taken after him have gone past him. the other 3 are talls wood pattison and willits and you could make a case that all 3 of them have gone past meyer as well.

imo 16 of 20 in 2004. 15 of 20 in 2005 look like long term players 2 miss out because of long term injury. and 3 of them a talls who take longer. one of the 5 yet to make an impact is our very own jon. 2006 just a tad early yet to make assumptions but already 6 or 7 out of the top 20 look the goods.

based on 04 and 05 it looks like 75% plus of the top 20 picks should make long term players. and at this stage i would say of the 5 early picks we had only 2 look certainties of playing lots of games for us with another close to certain. thats 60% not real bad not real good either.

in 2004 and 2005 drafts i believe our real failure was in not targeting our poor list structure and in 05 not delisting duds and useing just 3 nd picks. the club has put itself in the position of where it MUST trade for specific types because we have continually ignored gaping holes in the list over the last 4 or 5 yrs.an example of this is the polak deal. and if people think thursfield and polak have fixed our key defensive posts what happens when they both cop injuries we have to have players in the system who are capable of doing their job and doing it well. we dont have those players in the system atm.

big bodied ball winning onballers are a must who have good kicking skills and who have pace. along with 2 kpds and a couple of young ruckmen. a couple of hard at it falnkers in the chick archer or hamill mould wouldnt go astray either.
jees ur asking alot there, those types of players dont grow on trees. the first player that comes to mind with all those atributes is judd and players like that dont come around that often.
it would take a top 3 pick to get a players like that and if we took a player like that everyone would rip into richmond for not taking a ruckman with our first pick

jees ur asking alot there, those types of players dont grow on trees. the first player that comes to mind with all those atributes is judd and players like that dont come around that often.
it would take a top 3 pick to get a players like that and if we took a player like that everyone would rip into richmond for not taking a ruckman with our first pick[/QUOTE ] its not written in stone. look at tambling not big bodied but can find his own ball has pace and good skills.he also looks like he can get his frame to a half decent size.

jordan lewis one of my favorite junior players big bodied great skills but percieved to be slow which hes not by the way. he makes up for the so called lack of pace with smarts and a big motor he gets himself to lots of contests and he uses the ball when he gets it.

both tambling and lewis have good skills they both have a background of winning their own ball and they both have the supplementary attributes to overcome percieved weaknesses this applies to lots of kids.

the only kids i would totally ignore in a draft is one who cant kick theres no place in the game at top level for unskilled players they cause to much havoc when they turn it over.you only have to look at the rfc to realise this. also if a kid can kick but has serious other weaknesses theres no way i would be useing first round draft picks on him. something we are guilty of. if i were to advocate a kid who cant kick he would have to be exceptional in most other areas and would have to be very much inside.i would also say it is rare for players to truely turn around poor kicking skills tecniques after they turn 18. under pressure their skills just fall apart.if they arent a good kick by 18 mostly they will never be a good kick.
compare meyer to the two mentioned very skinny frame the type that is hard to put size on. has never been a ball winner lacks a motor and doesnt have the means to overcome these deficiencies. he has skill and pace but these two assets by themselves is not enough.this being the case we should not have risked a first round pick on him there were other more rounded better credentialled kids available to us.

lewis, hurn, selwood etc are the type we need more of

they dont need time they just walk into the senior side in round 1 and play unlike meyer, casserly, jon who have upside but also question marks

Cant agree with meyer.......the kid has no heart for the club, send him to the rock apes (port adelaide)

i have heard this so so many times about danny - and frankly, i want th club to react to it. i have posted the below in another thread, but i'm going to repost it - because the issue with danny really irks me - because we used such a good pick to get him. what do you guys think we should do with him?

well, i honestly can't say i have seen him do anything to say that isn't true. he doesn't show much emotion out there.

basically we invested a prized pick for him - we can either let him walk out to adelaide, (and we know either port or the crows will get the most out of him), get next to nothing for him - let him avoid ever having to put his name on the line in front of the media and thebig crowds, the humiliation of being a passenger in front of 40, 50, 60,000people.

or we can tell him

"like it or not, we believe in you as a player, we used a valuable assest to take you, so much is our faith in you as a player - so we are going to select you to play the remainder of the season in the richmond seniors.

If you want to put in sub standard, unspirited performance's for our club, and walk out on us - then we aren't going to help you one iota. we are NOT going to let you hide out in the suburbs playing for coburg, we are NOT going to trade you to a south australian side...

instead, we are going to make you play senior afl football -

you are going to play against players who really do give a stuff. players who will murder a player who is playing for the opposition to earn a win for their teammates.

you are going to be representing the richmond football club.

you are also going to be representing yourself, and your family

if you want to stink out there - you can do it where everyone can see, your family, your mates back home,& among everyone else - the thousand's sitting in the stands - we are NOT going to hide your performance away any longer.

if you go out there, and play like you don't care - then we'll let the supporters who really do give a shit about this club let you know how they feel about that - and you can look your teammates in the eye, and try and explain your performance after every game - because they give a ****.

Or you can go out there, and play like you do give a stuff - and re-pay the faith that this club had in your ability as a player and a person - and do the best you bloody can for us

take it or leave it Danny, but it could be an awfully long 13 weeks till this season ends"

no more free rides. no more hiding from responsibility. if its true he is tanking so he can go home - thenn don't do him any favours by hiding him at coburg - let him be humiliated for his performances - send a clear message out there that we dont take crap from our players.

port did it with stevens , carlton did the same last year with thornton and jordan russell - they refused to trade either of them, and threatened to pick them both up in the psd if they walked. stevens missed out in playing in a grand final side - both of thornton and russell stayed. thornton is playing fantastic footy - and russell is having to play his arse off to get a game - and is definitely not home in adelaide.

i don't necessarily believe danny is doing that to us - but many people do - and if thats the case then screw him - crash and burn.

if not - well, keep on trying mate :p[/QUOTE]

Did i start something here with my comment, play him for the next 12 games.....crap... send him to shepparton