How does a players salary work?

hamohawk1

Feb 18, 2011
I am speaking in terms of the salary cap etc

does a player have a base contract and then a certain amount each game?

how does this fit in with the salary cap? do match payments fit in or are they only a percentage of it

have always been interested in this topic

All payments to players (and their dads) are included in the salary cap. I think the only exception is half of any amount paid to a veteran is outside the cap, and the base rookie wage (excl AFL match payments) is also outside the cap.

I think I’ve heard of some players being paid a flat amount (whether they play or not), but players’ individual contracts probably vary, there’d be a certain base wage and then match payments on top of that, and then additional incentives for some players on top of that again.

A club would have to budget to be within the cap, when doing this they may well take into account an average of games missed through injury etc.

It’s watched very closely so I’m sure they’d be very conservative when doing it. If they found they were going to be over the cap, I think they’d have to try to re-negotiate with a player (defer a % of payments to future years etc).

Match payments to rookies who are replacing injured players are excluded as well from memory.

If a player is injured during a game - they continue to receive match payments until they are fit again. This can be problematic for your TPP.

Freo as an example went over the TPP last year due to their injury list. However as they had followed the AFL's guidelines in provisioning TPP space for injuries - they were passed OK.

An extension of the question of individuals is how clubs structure their salary cap, e.g fixed contract sums + $ per game added leaves incentives for B & F/ All Aus selection.

A shame* clubs arent required to provide a level of reporting on salaries similar to public companies including future liabilities for contracted players going forward.
Fair dinkum public exposure of our footy club finances wouldnt that be a step forward.!!

* onya Derryn, you human headline you !!

Match payments to rookies who are replacing injured players are excluded as well from memory.

If a player is injured during a game - they continue to receive match payments until they are fit again. This can be problematic for your TPP.

Freo as an example went over the TPP last year due to their injury list. However as they had followed the AFL's guidelines in provisioning TPP space for injuries - they were passed OK.

Thanks, I didn't know that..

Gee, I think now we know why St. Kilda hasn't pushed too many of the younger players to get games.. Basically because of their Salary Cap Problems....
Because the young up and comings are probably on a base plus match payments, where the vets and oldies are on a fixed wage regardless if they play..

Do all AFL players get paid on the same day? Weekly, fortnightly, monthly? Do they get an equal portion of their salary throughout the year or can they negotiate to get paid (a certain amount) up front?

Silly question, just curious.

I know a bloke who used to play for Hawthorn, he was paid monthly like many other people.

Paid the base wage for that month (1/12th of the annual figure obviously), plus any match payments for that month.

I think the player contracts run from Nov to Oct, incentives were paid in the final month.

And yes, via direct credit....

Lots of the "bonuses" relate to onfield performance.

ie: their position at the end of year clubs Best and Fairest count (ie: finish top 10 receive X amount, finish top 5 receive Y).

Any different performance indicators which would probably be based on position played etc.

Do all AFL players get paid on the same day? Weekly, fortnightly, monthly? Do they get an equal portion of their salary throughout the year or can they negotiate to get paid (a certain amount) up front?

Silly question, just curious.
I've often wondered this too. If say player X is on $520,000 a year, does it mean he's paid $10,000 a week, or does he get a lump sum? Does a player get match payments on top of his sign on fee?

I imagine this must be the only reason that match payments are included under the cap? Otherwise you may end up with clubs using injuries as a method of paying their players a little bit extra (though you'd hope the club doctors would have much more integrity than that). Or do some players under the conditions of their contracts actually earn greater match payments than others? If they don't, it all seems a bit unneccessary to include match payments since every club only plays 22 players per week. :confused:

Would be paid monthly or fortnightly.

Match payments are included under cap but would be included in that fortnight/monthly payment.

So ie: player plays 3 games that month gets match payment x 3 + base salary in that pay. Gets injured and doesn't play the next month = just base salary.

Its an incentive for the guys (if playing AFL and all that isn't enough) to manage there bodies best to get the most amount of games possible etc. Some obviously think they have enough, ie: going out on the grog while injured not helping recovery.

I've often wondered this too. If say player X is on $520,000 a year, does it mean he's paid $10,000 a week, or does he get a lump sum? Does a player get match payments on top of his sign on fee?

I have audited National League Sporting teams (various football codes) and they are paid the exact same way as any employee at any business in Australia, that is fortnightly, monthly etc. Bonuses are paid when they become due (like yearly performance bonuses any of us would receive). I doubt any player would get paid a lump sum at all either in advance or in arrears. It woudl disadvantage either the club or the player.

Does anyone know if they take into consideration the delay transferring from one bank to another?

Seriously.... this thread is about as interesting as me taking a dump.

Would be paid monthly or fortnightly.

Match payments are included under cap but would be included in that fortnight/monthly payment.

So ie: player plays 3 games that month gets match payment x 3 + base salary in that pay. Gets injured and doesn't play the next month = just base salary.

Its an incentive for the guys (if playing AFL and all that isn't enough) to manage there bodies best to get the most amount of games possible etc. Some obviously think they have enough, ie: going out on the grog while injured not helping recovery.

I'm sure that injured players get match payments, but do they only get this if injured during a game, or if they were in the starting 22 the prior week and injured themselves at training, or if they drop a safe on their foot?

Does anyone know if they take into consideration the delay transferring from one bank to another?

Seriously.... this thread is about as interesting as me taking a dump.

do you wipe forwards or backwards?
is your preferred reading material a book, the paper or picture magazine? or do you worry about poo mist and not have reading material next to the dunny?

How does a players salary work?