How good is Rioli!!

Hawkwind

Mar 24, 2009
This kid may well be on his way to becoming one of the all time great Aboriginal players the game has seen. I know it's early days but when he got any where near the ball today either one out or against multiple opponents I really just expected him to get the ball and then play it on to our advantage. I've noticed when there is little on offer up the field they have no hesitation in passing to Rioli, they know if he does'nt win it he will make sure it does'nt come back over theirs heads.:thumbsu:

What he does when he hasn't got the ball is just magic, today he laid 7 of the best tackles you could see:thumbsu:

We really struck GOLD getting this excitement machine, and he is just getting better and better. Love the way he just sums it all up and somehow out thinks his opponent and leaves them standing in his wake.

Go Cyril:)

would have liked to see him have a ping when, for example, he dished off to Roughy in the first quarter after streaming through the 50.

Best player to watch on the ground. Usually I hate small forwards but I have all the time in the world for Cyril. Beautiful player to watch.

The bit of play where he evaded a tackle spun out of trouble and handpassed to Stokes was sublime.

Even the great mark on the 50 and then the calm handpass to Franklin (allowing him to run in using his raking left foot) was great to watch - even though Franklin watched. Has so much time.

How good is he? He's amazing! I reckon he's as exciting to watch as Buddy, and that's a big call.

For a 19 yo, he hardly makes an error and plays with the experience of a 30yo. Brilliant tackler, against any size opponent and able to shrug tackles as well. Blistering pace with still the ability to run around and turn opponents inside out. Excellent decision making and disposal under pressure by hand or foot. Knows how to take a great mark. Has the footy smarts to look up and pin point a target.

He played a very good game again today and looks to have hit top form again with a solid 8 tackles. I have no doubt if he keeps this up, he will be one of the most important players in the comp. He's certainly in the top 10 at the Hawks.:thumbsu:

This kid may well be on his way to becoming one of the all time great Aboriginal players the game has seen. (emphasis added)

Why put a lid on the lad? What about simply"...one of the all time great players the game has seen..."?

I'm not trying to be PC here - but just simply stating that Cyril is a very exciting player to watch, regardless of his background.

I think it was one of his best games for the Hawks thus far. Played more in the midfield rather than as a forward. "You can't touch this" surely has to be Cyril's theme song?

Cheers :thumbsu:

This kid may well be on his way to becoming one of the all time great Aboriginal players the game has seen. (emphasis added)

Why put a lid on the lad? What about simply"...one of the all time great players the game has seen..."?

I'm not trying to be PC here - but just simply stating that Cyril is a very exciting player to watch, regardless of his background.

I think it was one of his best games for the Hawks thus far. Played more in the midfield rather than as a forward. "You can't touch this" surely has to be Cyril's theme song?

Mate have you actually seen him play? He's better than some of the other Indigeonious players going around.

not much he can't do.Great recruiting
How good is the 2007 draft panning out for us?

Rioli, Whitecross and Dew!

In regards to Rioli, they seriously treat him as a key forward in the midfield, in that they just bomb it to him in a 2-on-1 situation on the wings because they know that he'll win the footy and deliver it to the forward line. He's amazing to watch and the scary thought is if he can win more of the footy (possibly by increasing his fitness) then imagine what damage he could do with 30 possessions? He's tearing games open with 15 at the moment

We always talk about the players and how good we we are to draft them, which was good; BUT, I believe the real polish is because the teaching that they have received from Clarko and Co. They might have been OK AFL players but under the guidance and intense learning structure they will develop into even better players. I wonder what he would be like if he was developed by McManus and Harvey at the Dockers?

would have liked to see him have a ping when, for example, he dished off to Roughy in the first quarter after streaming through the 50.

Me too, but the kid just doesn't seem to have a greedy bone in his body. Always looking to give off. He's an absolute gem.

Didn't dipose of it too well yesterday, yet he only had 2 clangers for the game (1 was a free against, so only 1 disposal error).

Would like to see him have more shots for goal, didn't need to pass it to Roughead in the first quarter, etc.

Anybody have a torrent of this game?

You're dead right, I should have said "Possibley one of the best players of all time"....

No question, he's 19 and with a couple of more seasons..the mind boggles!!

Cheers

they just bomb it to him in a 2-on-1 situation on the wings because they know that he'll win the footy and deliver it to the forward line.

He lost a 2-on-1 yesterday. (on the wing) The reason I recall this is that it was such a rare event; it's ridiculous how we have come to expect him to win pretty much any loose ball contest he is involved with.

Watching him evade people is awesome; Ablett does it by wrong footing them with his hip movements and shimmies, but Cyril is just as brilliant in a different way; he knows exactly where they are coming from, and how much he needs to slow/baulk/increase speed to evade them. He doesn't spend any more energy than required to do it, which makes it incredibly graceful to watch.

It's like his perception of time and space is on a different level. Amazing peripheral vision. Just hugely exciting for us to have him, and to get him at Pick 12 is beyond belief.

One on one he is bloody amazing!

Heard a commentator say a couple of weeks ago that he is just about the best one-on-one player in the comp! Thought at the time that it was probably going a bit OTT, and possibly it is, but it's probably not the wild exaggeration you'd first think it was.

There's not many players I wouldn't back him in against in a loose-ball situation on the MCG wing, he's as good as just about anyone in that situation IMO.

How good is Rioli!!