How good this was :)

• Thread starter Thread starter Truetiger

I reckon they were doing some work on the Ponsford Stand as well. You're probably right. All I remember was the Punt Rd goals had netting over them because of the works going on.
Wasn't at the Mothers Day Massacre. Had a 21st that day and spent most of the arvo listening to the game on a car radio drinking free beer.

Part of the Ponsford Stand was also out of action!!!

I'm with Goldust. I reckon for a while the Western stand was OOA behind the goals. Probably the part that joined the old members stand would have been open though.

Someone said they had the game on video? Well to settle the argument we'd just need to see if there is anyone sitting behind the city end goals.

I'm with Goldust. I reckon for a while the Western stand was OOA behind the goals. Probably the part that joined the old members stand would have been open though.

Someone said they had the game on video? Well to settle the argument we'd just need to see if there is anyone sitting behind the city end goals.

I have it on video - I will report back tomorrow ladies and gentlemen!!!

Remember this as I had just put up with my best mate at the time giving me 6 months of grief because the Pies had won the flag. Was great to strut for the next few weeks, reminding him at every occassion about the hiding the Tigers had just handed the reigning premiers. Sadly though those days have not occured as often as I would have liked in the years since. Here's hoping that they are not that far away from happening again.

Yeh it would of been good to be able to give your best mate crap over it lol. Was a good day at the g that day. I am still trying to work out why the crowd was so poor.

Yes, the 'Mother's Day Massacre'.

Pretty sure Jeff Hogg kicked 10 that day.

I used to have the clippings from the newspaper headlines stuck on my door at college. I think it was 'Tigers run magpies ragged'.

They got us back a few years later when Rocca kicked 10 though.

ahhh yes the mothers day massacre, i remember it well, so does Jeff Hogg with his 10. That one day made his career for him and he went on to show the footy world why we made him captain. ;)

Knowing he was our captain. How would he been feeling when he played for Fitzroy in the final game vs us in Melbourne. lol

I remember the last game of 1991, KB`s last as coach and Clokey kicked 8 and Nathan Bowers first game plus we flogged Carlton, there was only about 25,000 at that game and we were jammed in like sardines. Great day though, just like beating Collingwood earlier in the year. Perhaps KB shouldn`t have been sacked things were just starting to happen.

:)OKAY, for those interested.

After reviewing the video tape, the old Western Stand - behind the goals - was definitely open for this game - well at least the first level!
As was the area down below behind the goals for an area stretching to about 15 metres to the left goal post.

Definitely out of action was the entire Southern Stand, including the area behind the goals.

Determining if any other areas were shut off etc. is difficult as because one side of the ground was out of action, cameras only operated from one sides of the ground.

LOL at Gerard Healy too for uttering the words "shit yeah" during the quarter time break while the camera was focused on KB addressing his players!

Andrew Underwood is the stand out I remember that day. He was sensational. Injuries got him in the end. KB reckons he was one of the best kicks he's ever seen!

I remember being their with a collingwood mate in top hat and tails, Johny mrakov went bezerk and Hoggy looked like Coleman that day.....cant believe the puny crowd, sheesh we get more to a crows game these days

Whatever happened to Johnny Mrakov?

My first year in the big smoke and took a hot girl along to the footy... she had a Pies scarf but converted mid-game. Afterwards at a party we made out. AWESOME GAME. :D

Andrew Underwood is the stand out I remember that day. He was sensational. Injuries got him in the end. KB reckons he was one of the best kicks he's ever seen!

He played some good games for us including a win against your mob at Windy Hill which we struggled to pull off when we were a power.