How have we rated Tyson's year so far??

The Toolman

Crows, Bays.
I love Tyson Edwards. He will be regarded as a true legend of our footy club. The most consistent player (along with Roo and Harty) over the last 10 years. However, I don't reckon he has had a great year this year. In fact a couple of games have been shockers.

Am I being too harsh on my assessment of his year. Please don't think I'm calling for his head or anything like that, but he has lacked a bit of zip and nouse this year. Perhaps a run as a permanent back pocket or back flanker may be what he needs. Or I may have misread his form completely and he is actually leading our B & F at the moment?? Thoughts?

We should just leave him in the middle. He has the motor to run all day and always plays his best footy when he's being played from the centre square. He is a victim of the rotation more than the other midfielders because he can play back or forward better than the rest, and hence spends more time there. But whenever he is just left to do his thing in the middle he plays a blinder, eg the West Coast game this year.

I think a lot of his work goes un-noticed even though, as you say Tim, his year has been down more so than last year.

Veteran is the word that comes to mind when I picture Tyson.
No fuss, courage, does the job.

Would love to see him win a yellow jacket.

Averaged exactly 20 disposals per game in 2004. Averaging 21.5 for the first 10 games this year.

His form is just as good, but he has gone a little left foot happy and occasionally holds the ball too long.

He's not far off the pace.

He's had a couple of ripper games this year and has been pretty consistent. I thought he had a very ordinary one against Carlton though.

Just feel that he hasn't been as sharp as we know he is. Decision making has been a bit off, has been caught a few times and yes, a little left foot happy.

Interesting to see his disposal average is up....he just hasn't been as damaging.

The Toolman said:
I love Tyson Edwards. He will be regarded as a true legend of our footy club. The most consistent player (along with Roo and Harty) over the last 10 years. However, I don't reckon he has had a great year this year. In fact a couple of games have been shockers.

Am I being too harsh on my assessment of his year. Please don't think I'm calling for his head or anything like that, but he has lacked a bit of zip and nouse this year. Perhaps a run as a permanent back pocket or back flanker may be what he needs. Or I may have misread his form completely and he is actually leading our B & F at the moment?? Thoughts?

No think that is a fair assesment of how 2005 has been for Tyson, he has lacked a little bit of 'zip' this year but you can still tell the desire is there and he always comes to play every week, I loved his goal on Sunday and that maybe the spark he needed to kick start 2005 for him.

Easy still in our best 22 and is very underrated.

maccas_no1 said:
No think that is a fair assesment of how 2005 has been for Tyson, he has lacked a little bit of 'zip' this year but you can still tell the desire is there and he always comes to play every week, I loved his goal on Sunday and that maybe the spark he needed to kick start 2005 for him.

Easy still in our best 22 and is very underrated.

Not by this little black duck. But your right he has not been himself this year but as they say in the classics, you cant keep a good man down for long.

The Typhoon will return to a ground near you. ;)

Has he been tagged more this year than in previous....or do the opposition still let him do his own thing?

The Toolman said:
Has he been tagged more this year than in previous....or do the opposition still let him do his own thing?

I think it has been a bit of both this year........ I also think that Tyson has improved his defensive side this year. Over the years when he has been in the middle he could be very unaccountable for his opponent, but this year he seems to be very accountable.

I think he is having a consistant year, no complaints so far, hopefully he can string a few BOG together as I would love to see him win a yellow jacket.