How many??

Blues_Girl

Sturt, Adelaide Crows
I've just been reading all of the messages regarding sanfl footy and how many of you w***ers actually attend the footy week in week out for more than a season?!

all my life......hate the AFl and especially the Crows. By the way this is a rich question coming from a Sturt fan, the biggest bunch of bandwagon fans in the league. From crowds under 1000 to 5000 in 2 years, how supremely loyal they are. Where we you when you were shit....at Footy Park watching the Crows, thats where.

Oh wanna talk about bangwagoners hey?! Where the hell should I start?? How many do you regularly see at Elizabeth Oval?? Not as many as there was at the grand final!!! Ports another side they all come out at finals time. Every side has their bandwagon supporters and when they are doing well they come out. These comments weren't meant for either of you. I don't doubt a majority of people do go all the time. Infact i've never missed a game in the last 10 years and have only missed about 10 in the 10 years before that.

Blues Girl!

I will continue to reply to any of your topics because this is Australia and the great thing about this country is that we have freedom of speech, I will not be told by you or anyone that I cannot reply to posts on this site.

I didn't see you write anywhere that this topic was excluding me.

Don't you go on about Port Adelaide supporters jumping on the bandwagon. I never have and never will and yes you are right all clubs have these but the Port Adelaide and Norwoods of this world have held this competition for long enough, its about time some other clubs brought more supporters to the competition.

I congratulate you for going to all the games over the last 20 years but don't think you can slag us that easily without getting a little back.

------------------
Port Adelaide Forever

Not get a little shit back?? I'm use to it, I get it every weekend that I go to footy because i'm female and as a female i'm not suppose to know anything about footy.

Blues Girl!

Just keep on fighting back! Because you are a women doesn't mean you know nothing about footy.

Some of the best people I know are women and they know heaps about footy, we don't always agree with each other but that is the great thing about footy, its rivalry.

Im sure you know heaps.

------------------
Port Adelaide Forever

Originally posted by CDFCLad:
all my life......hate the AFl and especially the Crows. By the way this is a rich question coming from a Sturt fan, the biggest bunch of bandwagon fans in the league. From crowds under 1000 to 5000 in 2 years, how supremely loyal they are. Where we you when you were shit....at Footy Park watching the Crows, thats where.

I actually know 'Blues_Girl' IRL, so I think I'm qualified to post this information.

Where was she when Sturt were shit? At every Sturt game, home and away, that's where. She is one of the most dedicated football fans I know, and turns up to every game, rain, hail or shine, no matter where the venue is, or how Sturt are performing...

Yes, she's a Crows supporter too. So what? She has managed to make almost every Sturt game, and most Crows home games for years, so before you blast her, get your facts straight.

Sticking with a team after years of finishing bottom is not an easy thing to do... I'd like to see you turn up to every Centrals game, after they've finished bottom for about 9 years in a row.

------------------
'...and we won't give up, till the premiership cup is safely in our hands...'

Originally posted by Go South:

Sticking with a team after years of finishing bottom is not an easy thing to do... I'd like to see you turn up to every Centrals game, after they've finished bottom for about 9 years in a row.

Yeh i'd like to see that too Go South!

Well yes, we are in the same situation basically, so I guess we can sympathise.

Our last finals appearance was about 8 years ago, winning wooden spoons and JUST missing the finals on several occasions is not much fun.

------------------
'...and we won't give up, till the premiership cup is safely in our hands...'

Well yes, we are in the same situation basically, so I guess we can sympathise.

Our last finals appearance was about 8 years ago, winning wooden spoons and JUST missing the finals on several occasions is not much fun.

Yes us rising ladder teams must stick together
biggrin.gif

Originally posted by Scott:
Blues Girl!

Just keep on fighting back! Because you are a women doesn't mean you know nothing about footy.

Some of the best people I know are women and they know heaps about footy, we don't always agree with each other but that is the great thing about footy, its rivalry.

Im sure you know heaps.

YES!!!!!!!! My Nan has been following footy for 25 years and in the 99 Grand Final some little norwood shit head who was no older than 17 tried to tell her she knew nothing about footy! She had the greatest pleasure in telling him she knew more about it than he did. He knew absolutely nothing, he didn't even know a 1/3 of the Norwood players. I knew more than he did!

LONG LIVE WOMEN IN FOOTY!

er.....Centrals fans have had to put up with more shit than any other club in this league. Considering our pathetic record until last season I'd say yeah we're pretty loyal.

And I'd go no matter what. I've been going every week since I was 6, and you see the major difference between us and other fans is that we don't care where we finish. 9th, 7th or 1st so what. Success is not something we're used to, and boy didn't the other clubs love throwing it in our face each week. Many of us have been brought up in the English Soccer mentality where you follow your local club thru thick and thin, no matter what division.

and I don't know the girl, don't care how many games she's been to and don't particulary give a toss about her life story. She started this thread by calling everyone here w***ers...and basically insinuating that we don't go ourselves. How do you expect us to react? Oh lada da my lady.........

I don't go every week - my life is not so devoid of excitement that I don't sometimes have other things to do of a Saturday arvo - but I make a point of going to all the home games I can. In the last 10 years I've only missed 3 home games; each time I was out of Adelaide.

I go to about half of the remaining games, making about 13-14 total in a season.

Originally posted by Blues_Girl:
I've just been reading all of the messages regarding sanfl footy and how many of you w***ers actually attend the footy week in week out for more than a season?!

Im a Port fan, 19 years old (born in 81), and have regularly gone to the footy since 1987 aged 5. Over the course of the last 13/14 years i have been to approximatly 320/330 Magpies games i would think...ive only missed a handful of magpies games since i started going to the football in 1987.
So yeah...i can proudly say i support my club to the death

Originally posted by Blues_Girl:
Oh wanna talk about bangwagoners hey?! Where the hell should I start?? How many do you regularly see at Elizabeth Oval?? Not as many as there was at the grand final!!! Ports another side they all come out at finals time. Every side has their bandwagon supporters and when they are doing well they come out. These comments weren't meant for either of you. I don't doubt a majority of people do go all the time. Infact i've never missed a game in the last 10 years and have only missed about 10 in the 10 years before that.

Port have consistently had the biggest attendances year in year out for as long as i can remember, so i wouldnt talk about port supporters being bandwagoners. Sturt, a team in the mid 90s who used to get about 500 people to their home games (450 of which were oppsition supporters) and now who seem to get a couple of thousand...i wonder where they all went??? Sturt seemed to have a lot of support at the 98 grand final hey...i bet most of those werent even sturt supporters!!! Sturt - the definition of bandwagon

I actually know 'Blues_Girl' IRL, so I think I'm qualified to post this information.

Where was she when Sturt were shit? At every Sturt game, home and away, that's where. She is one of the most dedicated football fans I know, and turns up to every game, rain, hail or shine, no matter where the venue is, or how Sturt are performing...

Yes, she's a Crows supporter too. So what? She has managed to make almost every Sturt game, and most Crows home games for years, so before you blast her, get your facts straight.

*sniff sniff* what a touching story...really....who gives a shit, i dont give a shit....good on you for knowing a lot about footy, maybe me and you can exchange ancedotes one time...but your social mentality is up shit creek when you keep abusing people here...you give the impression you know **** all about anything by abusing people here. Learn some sort of netiquette then come back here

Originally posted by Macca19:
Port have consistently had the biggest attendances year in year out for as long as i can remember, so i wouldnt talk about port supporters being bandwagoners. Sturt, a team in the mid 90s who used to get about 500 people to their home games (450 of which were oppsition supporters) and now who seem to get a couple of thousand...i wonder where they all went??? Sturt seemed to have a lot of support at the 98 grand final hey...i bet most of those werent even sturt supporters!!! Sturt - the definition of bandwagon

Macca, you poor deluded soul:

Throughout the 80s Port had arguably the highest crowd - but it was very much on par with Norwood and Glenelgs.

Throughout the 90s Port got around 7000 to Alberton home games when other clubs were getting 3 or 4000 - but these fans were only sticking around for the entry of Port Power into the big league. For evidence just look at the crowd figures for Alberton home matches in 1997 onwards - about par with every other SANFL club, and actually less than some. It has even been recorded that the Alberton clubrooms have had a bigger crowd watching the Port Power lose in Melbourne than the Port Magpies playing just outside.

You want to see a bandwagon supporter? Look no further than Alberton oval. Sure they were there when times were good, but where have they been now the Power has gone to the AFL?

Maybe you personally go to every SANFL match, and good for you if tyou do - but the typical Port fan is as bandwagon as they come. The crowd figures prove this beyond doubt. Have some respect for those who did follow their team when they spent years at the bottom of the ladder. Very few of the Port fans would do the same - again the crowd figures are proof.