• Thread starter Thread starter Rohan_

Rohan_

Suspended
Football or sport in general mean to you? Today I got a call from a mate who has been living in London for 3 years and has made a last minute decision (he booked the ticket 4 hours before boarding) so that he can see Collingwood play in a Grand Final. I still can't believe the length he has gone to..

What a bandwagoner. :p

Essendon means so much I'd never go overseas to live or work during mar-sept. I never work on the days we are playing, I'd never take holidays either. Even when we're **** I don't.

Originally posted by BluesBabe666
You're kidding arent you. Its just a game. Overseas i go for two years - stuff football!!

No. Not at all. I'd go overseas during the off season, that's it. There's no way I'm sitting in a hotel room at 3am watching a game from 2 weeks ago.

Went overseas for months during the football season once. You think you miss it but when you are over there, football is the furtherest thing from your mind.

Originally posted by Rohan_
Football or sport in general mean to you? Today I got a call from a mate who has been living in London for 3 years and has made a last minute decision (he booked the ticket 4 hours before boarding) so that he can see Collingwood play in a Grand Final. I still can't believe the length he has gone to..
I'd do it if my club was in a Grand Final. People wait years to see their club win a Premiership but you can't stay in your city of origin just because you'd miss going to football games if you have an offer to travel/work overseas or interstate. As your mate knows, you can always fly back for the big game.

Got a mate in London who is coming back for the SANFL Grand Final assuming we make it and I've already booked my flight to Adelaide.

Originally posted by M29
Essendon means so much I'd never go overseas to live or work during mar-sept. I never work on the days we are playing, I'd never take holidays either. Even when we're **** I don't.
I'd never go overseas during March-September. Any time off work is for trips to Victoria which happen to co-incide with major Essendon games.
And all my friends and relatives know if they're going to have a wedding or party or funeral or whatever where my presence is required they are to have it during the off-season, or at least on a day when there's no AFL - otherwise I'll be a no-show.

I remember when I was in Europe I had to find a internet cafe every wednesday morning ( ever had to find an internet cafe in Zagreb, its tough!) to check out the scores and my team! Your all lucky I was there because it was season 2000 and the eagles were doing badly and I would have been really grumpy if Id been here!

Thats craziness.... football doesnt mean that much to me. Rohan is right. Its the last thing on your mind when you're holidaying in some exotic location and meeting heaps of interesting people. Puts things in perspective.

My sister is flying in on Friday morning from Germany for the game. I don't see anything wrong with that.

When I was O/S earlier this year I'd get up at 5am to listen to Triple M through the AFL site to hear the games live. It killed me not to be here. I could never live outside of Melbourne in the Winter. Never.

Re: Re: How much does...

Originally posted by Docker_Brat
you can't stay in your city of origin just because you'd miss going to football games if you have an offer to travel/work overseas or interstate.
I will never leave Melbourne for that very reason. Couldn't miss going to Essendon games for even one year. I have spent time overseas before, it's not that great.

Re: Re: How much does...

Interstate's fine. There is football in Sydney and plenty of people to talk football with (you just have to know where to find them) - I go to all the Swans games to get my football fix and I'm only an overnight bus away from Melbourne when the Bombers are playing a big game.
But to leave the country while the football's on - couldn't do it. Any overseas travel I do will have to be during the off-season.

I will never even consider going overseas while the footy is on. I love my footy too much. Missing just one day of footy is a very big deal for me, like my Mum and friends know, so missing a year, or more is a scary thought. Aussie rules, at every level possible, is more important to me than anything else, apart from my Mum, who raised me, unlike the other person who decided to leave us, not pay child support, or keep in contact with us.

For me, footy comes before all other family members, friends, work, TAFE, and anything else.

I have little intrest in going overseas anyway. New Zealand is the only place I have any intrest in going to. And if I ever end up going, I will make sure it is during the summer.

Originally posted by carlyp
I remember when I was in Europe I had to find a internet cafe every wednesday morning ( ever had to find an internet cafe in Zagreb, its tough!) to check out the scores and my team! Your all lucky I was there because it was season 2000 and the eagles were doing badly and I would have been really grumpy if Id been here!

I was in the States during some of season 2000 and did exactly the same thing as carlyp. Every monday morning I found an internet cafe to check the scores. I remember pumping my fist in the air in excitement when I found out the Hawks had beaten the Roos (who were premiers at the time) and running onto Santa Monica Blvd in Los Angeles screaming "Yes! Go Hawks".

My partner just rolled her eyes. I was in a great mood for the rest of the week.

I remember how excited I was when I came back and went to the footy for the first time in 2 months.

Re: Re: Re: How much does...

Originally posted by Bomber Spirit
Interstate's fine. There is football in Sydney and plenty of people to talk football with (you just have to know where to find them) - I go to all the Swans games to get my football fix and I'm only an overnight bus away from Melbourne when the Bombers are playing a big game.
But to leave the country while the football's on - couldn't do it. Any overseas travel I do will have to be during the off-season.

Its not going to do you much good travelling overseas in the off season unless your into snow as if you go overseas during the off season you will be experiencing their winter which can be a lot harsher than ours and i can tell you its not much fun.
The best time to go overseas is in the months of June to August and like someone stated earlier once your overseas and having a ball everything else thats happening in your home country pales into insignificance.Theres more to life than just footy

If anyone has the Herald-Sun, scroll through to page 70 and look at the advert, "Collingwood forever". Paid for by our own Magpie Greg.

withstupid.gif

Originally posted by Rohan_
If anyone has the Herald-Sun, scroll through to page 70 and look at the advert, "Collingwood forever". Paid for by our own Magpie Greg.

So are all of those other initials his aliases?

A couple of years ago I wouldn't have been able to travel overseas during the footy season. In fact in about 98 or 99 when I was still in highschool, I absolutely refused to take on a weekend job because there was no way that I wanted to miss a footy game if I could help it. Nowadays, I'm actually planning on going overseas from June next year, and I don't really care that I'll miss out on the best part of the footy season. It's not that I don't take more than a passing interest in footy, because I love my footy, but there is more in my life now, and footy isn't anything. I guess I've also lost a little passion, and I hate to say that but it's true. Ever since about June 2000 it hasn't been quite the same. I didn't even enjoy the premiership as much as I should have.

Not saying I don't love footy, I do, I still try to get to as many games as possible, and experience the highs and lows. And when I'm overseas, you can bet I'll be getting someone to tape it for me. But if I can't get to the internet until halfway through the week of whatever, so I don't know the scores, I'm not going to be too upset.

Having said that, would I fly back to Melbourne if my team was playing in the Grand Final? I'm not sure, still wondering what I'd do in that position. It's quite possible I would if I could afford it.