Autopsy How the flag was won

Well put - flags arent given out, you have to be consistent on the day and not show up for only a quarter. Our performance in that first half put us in a position where we probably didnt deserve to win it and it showed in the final result. I too was surprised we got that close at the end of the game after Brad Hill kicked that goal from the square in the 4th QTR, they had all the momentum. Simple facts were we just werent good enough in the first half 'when the whips were cracking' which as it turned out was the difference between the 2 sides.

I'd love a behind the scenes look at what was said at half time in the rooms for freo. Would make for compelling viewing. We were a different side in the 2nd half.
It may well have been amazing but I'd put it down as much to just finally getting over the stage fright and playing to our ability.

Honestly if you are watching the Sydney game you will see what accuracy does. Giants doing well possession wise but Sydney just don't miss. Don't even have their 3 key forwards in

Oh I think Buddy and Tippett will take care of any great goal accuracy the Swans are showing at the moment. They are both capable of a one goal seven points performance, together that just might be something to see!!!!!

Sorry for intrusion, I saw some people see it as arrogant releasing a book about the premiership but it wasn't as if the Hawks released it. The writer is a longtime Hawthorn man whose father wrote a book after the 80's which detailed our history from minnows to a regular premiership winning side.

His son has continued his dads work by writing one after the 2008 premiership and had been in the inner sanctum the past 5 years since writing and never knew if he could release the book and continuation from the last book. He mentioned halfway through the last quarter of 2012 gf that he thought he would have to write and finish the book off but wasn't the case.

So pretty much every flag we win he writes a book about the journey. It's not as if it's a whole book on 2013 and the match.

Anyway feel free to tell me to P off I just thought I would give a background to the author Michael Gordon.

Good luck for the coming season! I have always said if Hawks can't win it this year then I hope Freo do. Had a great time with your supporters pre, during and post grand final. Lots of class.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Sorry for intrusion, I saw some people see it as arrogant releasing a book about the premiership but it wasn't as if the Hawks released it. The writer is a longtime Hawthorn man whose father wrote a book after the 80's which detailed our history from minnows to a regular premiership winning side.

His son has continued his dads work by writing one after the 2008 premiership and had been in the inner sanctum the past 5 years since writing and never knew if he could release the book and continuation from the last book. He mentioned halfway through the last quarter of 2012 gf that he thought he would have to write and finish the book off but wasn't the case.

So pretty much every flag we win he writes a book about the journey. It's not as if it's a whole book on 2013 and the match.

Anyway feel free to tell me to P off I just thought I would give a background to the author Michael Gordon.

Good luck for the coming season! I have always said if Hawks can't win it this year then I hope Freo do. Had a great time with your supporters pre, during and post grand final. Lots of class.

Fair enough I think. It's not like many of these musicians write their own books. Someone always does it for them.

Thanks for the insight mate

No worries Hawkas, I think the point was how wrong he is not the fact that he wrote the book. As long as we know we can pick up a copy in the fiction section of Angus & Robertson.

Autopsy thread?
Shouldn't this be a Preview Thread for 2014?

That description of Mitchell is the most hilarious bit of revisionism for a bad game I think I've ever seen.

Very odd they'd do something to detract from the performances of guys like Lake and Gunston who were the blokes who really stood up and proved the difference on the day.
I have a lot of respect for Hawthorn. Their fans are fine people and probably the least scummy of all the groups. I like guys like Roughy, Hodge, and Mitchell – Hodge's speech showed him to be a gracious winner and a pretty decent person.

But Lake and Gunston are the two biggest pricks on their side. Lake is apparently the weirdest unit in the AFL. His filthy late-collision in the Grand Final had intent, and for him to win the Norm Smith was gutting. Gunston completely dogged Adelaide to come to the best club in the competition. Fair enough if you're 30 and it's mutual between clubs and you want a flag, but I thought it was a bit of a poor move from Gunston. But the thing about Gunston is that he only thrived in the Granny because he had two solid defenders take care of two of the best key forwards in the comp. If he had Lukey on him, he'd barely get 10 touches – if he had Dawson, I doubt he'd have kicked a goal. Gunston ain't all that. Watch him do bupkis this year now that Buddy leaves a good defender, not some awkwardly sized third defender, for him.

We were lucky to get within 15 points, we were poor for more than half the game
The big question is were we poor because we got stage fright and lost our structures/game plan, or did they out think us?

If Clarkson's plan to out-think us was to let us have more shots at goal and hope we kicked poorly, then he's a compulsive gambler.

I have a lot of respect for Hawthorn. Their fans are fine people and probably the least scummy of all the groups. I like guys like Roughy, Hodge, and Mitchell – Hodge's speech showed him to be a gracious winner and a pretty decent person.

But Lake and Gunston are the two biggest pricks on their side. Lake is apparently the weirdest unit in the AFL. His filthy late-collision in the Grand Final had intent, and for him to win the Norm Smith was gutting. Gunston completely dogged Adelaide to come to the best club in the competition. Fair enough if you're 30 and it's mutual between clubs and you want a flag, but I thought it was a bit of a poor move from Gunston. But the thing about Gunston is that he only thrived in the Granny because he had two solid defenders take care of two of the best key forwards in the comp. If he had Lukey on him, he'd barely get 10 touches – if he had Dawson, I doubt he'd have kicked a goal. Gunston ain't all that. Watch him do bupkis this year now that Buddy leaves a good defender, not some awkwardly sized defender, for him.

Didn't Gunston kick one or two goals when Dawson was standing him?

Good young player in my opinion, who rode his luck on the day. Personally, I couldn't give a shit what he did to Adelaide, it had no bearing on the game.

I went to the game, and I cant bring myself to rewatch it, but has it been mentioned that most of our shots were from distance, while every mark/free kick they had on goal seemed to be 30 out directly in front!

Some were closer .
One was Rioli and another of his chicken wing tackles and the 50 to franklin against Luke was pathetic to be paid in a grand final.

IMO very contentious grand final. It really does become so contentious when there is a mere question mark over the umpiring which should be a good quality and mistakes should be seen happening to both sides.

That is not speaking personally. Everyone watching from all supporter base except Hawthorn thought we got a really raw deal on umpiring. If you look around the condolences even on BF every second mention is on bad luck, rather than you lost because you were outplayed.

Yes. I think at the end of the day when you factor in the champion data position, it comes down to umpiring. We could have been more ourselves, but we should have been treated evenly..

-chicken wing
-ticky touchwood 50m penalty
-brian lake (should have been reported - wouldn't have got norm smith after being)
-incredibly hot holding the ball inside their 30m arc

Those are the major ones almost no one can rightly argue weren't bs in the context of GF umpiring which is usually notches above H&A. Move all of those to a mere neutral outcome and we come close to winning. Have them result in us benefiting from the situations, we win.

Footy gods I can stand screwing us, umpiring gaffs I cannot. And this coming from someone who has predominantly forgiven umpiring. I never call them maggots, and about the only thing I hate about umpires is when they refer to players with nicknames over professionalism.

But this was a GF, and I've never seen such a poor display on GF day. I watched most of the last 15 years of Grand Final in the off season (maybe to find solace and make a case?). Can't recall even one similarity to what happened to us.

IMO very contentious grand final. It really does become so contentious when there is a mere question mark over the umpiring which should be a good quality and mistakes should be seen happening to both sides.

That is not speaking personally. Everyone watching from all supporter base except Hawthorn thought we got a really raw deal on umpiring. If you look around the condolences even on BF every second mention is on bad luck, rather than you lost because you were outplayed.

Yes. I think at the end of the day when you factor in the champion data position, it comes down to umpiring. We could have been more ourselves, but we should have been treated evenly..

-chicken wing
-ticky touchwood 50m penalty
-brian lake (should have been reported - wouldn't have got norm smith after being)
-incredibly hot holding the ball inside their 30m arc

Those are the major ones almost no one can rightly argue weren't bs in the context of GF umpiring which is usually notches above H&A. Move all of those to a mere neutral outcome and we come close to winning. Have them result in us benefiting from the situations, we win.

Footy gods I can stand screwing us, umpiring gaffs I cannot. And this coming from someone who has predominantly forgiven umpiring. I never call them maggots, and about the only thing I hate about umpires is when they refer to players with nicknames over professionalism.

But this was a GF, and I've never seen such a poor display on GF day. I watched most of the last 15 years of Grand Final in the off season (maybe to find solace and make a case?). Can't recall even one similarity to what happened to us.

Im not sure if you're serious? It is absolutely ridiculous to suggest the umpires cost us the game. It just sounds like sour grapes.

Even if Brian Lake was reported it would have no bearing on the norm smith because that award is judged to be the best player on ground. Last time i checked winning the norm smith doesn't mean you win a grand final- just ask Chris Judd.

Champion data doesn't mean much at all. Do you mean the same data that has 1 Freo player ranked in the so called top 100 players in the league? If you watched the game without any knowledge of data, it is clear that we shot ourselves in the foot- don't blame the umpires for that.

It is plain and simple. We got stage fright and in the end didn't deserve to win. To suggest the umpires decided the result is nonsense.

If he was reported during play (should have) he would not have been judged best afield by the norm smith panel... ...and likely would have had a slightly different game.

Absolutely serious. You don't appear to have weighed in on my opinions regarding umpiring in GF's, or any instance where a number of umpiring decisions in a GF in even the past 10 years impacted the course of a game. Probably because it can't compare.

If he was reported during play (should have) he would not have been judged best afield by the norm smith panel... ...and likely would have had a slightly different game.

Absolutely serious. You don't appear to have weighed in on my opinions regarding umpiring in GF's, or any instance where a number of umpiring decisions in a GF in even the past 10 years impacted the course of a game. Probably because it can't compare.

The norm smith is awarded for best on field not the best and fairest on field. A player could hypothetically belt some guy in the face and break his nose but still kick 10 goals and win the norm. I'm not sure how can you possibly say he would have a different game from being reported.

Re umpires: Ross Lyon called - he wants to discuss the Tom Hawkins goals from the 2009 GF...

The norm smith is awarded for best on field not the best and fairest on field. A player could hypothetically belt some guy in the face and break his nose but still kick 10 goals and win the norm. I'm not sure how can you possibly say he would have a different game from being reported.

Re umpires: Ross Lyon called - he wants to discuss the Tom Hawkins goals from the 2009 GF...

Ross is too busy "owning the moment". He's our resident Zen Master.

I find it funny that when Ross said something to the effect of "Big Brother" is watching in 2012 after the end of our season, the media and the AFLPA were up in arms.

Hawthorn does it, and it's all hunky dory.

As an aside, I am kind of glad that we didn't do something similar with the guys this year; albeit they were probably given strict fitness programs and targets through the break that they needed to meet.

Everyone says our game plan is taxing physically and mentally, and the reality is that after such an intense finals campaign, the break would have done them good. I only hope that we are up to scratch by the time season begins as a good start is essential to our chances for another top 4 finish.

Don't want to have the guys peaking too soon.

As an aside, I am kind of glad that we didn't do something similar with the guys this year; albeit they were probably given strict fitness programs and targets through the break that they needed to meet.

Everyone says our game plan is taxing physically and mentally, and the reality is that after such an intense finals campaign, the break would have done them good. I only hope that we are up to scratch by the time season begins as a good start is essential to our chances for another top 4 finish.

Don't want to have the guys peaking too soon.

A good start is preferable, no doubt and our heavy training load right now is aimed at having us ripe for Rd1.
Hawthorn on the other hand may very well burn out towards the end of the season. I haven't bothered to look up their draw to see if the latter stages are soft but we do know our start to the season is tougher than the run home.

Of course Hawthorn weren't to know about the draw 3 weeks after the season.

I am all for a good break for the players to freshen up mind and body.