How's Jacko going

Alot underestimate the impact this fella has when our side is playing well, he's an experienced head that takes no shit and at the same time deflects alot of heat from our emerging stars, I was absolutely filthy on him when he was out for a month last season and his absence was notable. is he going to be right for R 1 , anyone seen him train with the group yet?

I totally agree Bojangles he gives us genuine hardness at the contest. I haven't heard or seen anything from the club that tells us where he's at,but like you would like to know.:thumbsu:

...good call...:thumbsu:...

...i like his hardness at the ball..as well as his long kicking...

...possibly a future captain if he can curb his visits to the tribunal...no yeah-nahs from this guy as well...very articulate...gets his point across...

...understand he has hamstring issues at the moment..

Is currently getting over hamstring tendonitits, which is similar to what Richo suffered from towards the end of his career. Last I read he was just about to join back in with the main group.

...good call...:thumbsu:...

...i like his hardness at the ball..as well as his long kicking...

...possibly a future captain if he can curb his visits to the tribunal...no yeah-nahs from this guy as well...very articulate...gets his point across...

...understand he has hamstring issues at the moment..
Jak, can you please just post in the normal font and point size, and not the big blue stuff?
You don't have your private messages turned on, so that's why I posted it here.
Thanks in advance.

Definately is a lot better than people on here give him credit for. His disposal may be his weakness but he is definately good enough to get a spot in any team in the AFL. He's our only genuine tagger and he's as hard as .... and he can go forward take a mark and kick a goal.

Saw him out for vietnamese dinner on thursday night with Jake and Mitch Morton- seemed in good spirits and reminded me that someone once said that a football club was the only place that Val Perovic and Mike Fitzpatrick would ever have met- probably also true of Jake and Jacko :)

Hehe, good point. :)

If Grigg can perform as a tagger but with more composure and skill than Jacko then Jacko will struggle to get games. I hope Tuck struggles to get games too

...big if's and hope's there...sounds like what i do on christmas eve...:D...

To replace either of those two you need inside players with mature, strong bodies that can perform the grunt work to extract the pill and block for others all day.

Who did you have in mind?

...big if's and hope's there...sounds like what i do on christmas eve...:D...

We can have a full attacking skillful midfield of cotchin, martin, deledio, foley, conca, morton, grigg, contin :D
No need for players like Tuck skying the ball for the opposition to rebound or Jackson to spray them on the full lol

To replace either of those two you need inside players with mature, strong bodies that can perform the grunt work to extract the pill and block for others all day.

Grigg. I reckon if you have a fully skillful attacking midfield then you only need one tagger in the side at best. Have Grigg in the team and Jacko can be depth at Coburg if Grigg gets injured or struggles

precisely my point, without the likes of jacko, our young guns in cotch are right in the firing line copping all the attention...Jacko wins alot of hard earned footy and complements the likes of cotch and Foley that peel off and use the footy. and MT mate...contin needs to play himself into the side to knock out a fella that gets it 25+ times a game...takes more than earning a 6 pack over summer to do that

Grigg. I reckon if you have a fully skillful attacking midfield then you only need one tagger in the side at best. Have Grigg in the team and Jacko can be depth at Coburg if Grigg gets injured or struggles

still need a couple of big mature hardened bodies in the center to bang up the opposition's skilled players as well...
...even the doggies surround their rolls royce...cooney...with hard nuts in boyd, cross, morris and ward to name a few...
...only have to recall the 05 and 06 grannys...cousins, judd, kerr, embley all skilled players and they could only win one granny against a tough unit like sydney

its interesting of late to talk about size of players. where the hell have all those wallace advocates gone. disappeared it seems or have they just changed their tune.

one thing hardwick has done is start to address actual size not to be confused with height.
i think the other area hes tried to significantly influence is kicking and decision making.
geez ive had some debates about these issue over many yrs now.
size in relation to height and strength combined with good skills and smarts. who has them who doesnt.
take jacko in past yrs we just had to play him because of his size and aggression we has so few with the physical attributes to properly compete and we played him despite poor disposal at times and poor decision making. and we played him in a critical part of the ground.

ive said this so often now so one more time wont matter.size and adequate team structure enables you to compete. but size structure combined with very good skills and decision making makes you hard to beat. so the question again.

given good size and structure how many poor kicks and decision makers can you carry on game day.

and i will add if we are to take into a game a player who lacks one of size skills or smarts what outstanding attribute should they bring to the table to offset the deficiency.

i will give an example. nathan foley is a very ordinary kick but his in and under work and ball winning ability more than offsets this especially if he is mainly delivering by hand.he may butcher the ball now and again but he sure has footy smarts.

anyway size and what it means for the likes of jackson and tuck.
well if my premise that jacko has got games because of our lack of size is correct hes in trouble.
why because we are addressing this problem and have the numbers imo. and i have to ask if we have enough players of size what outstanding attribute does jackson have to off set his poor disposal and decision making. to be honest i cant find one.

Jacko also has the ability to run hard all day and take out an opposition playmaker. I've said it before and I'll say it again, the day he's not an automatic selection is the day we're a top four side. Even then, he'd still get a game I reckon.

precisely my point, without the likes of jacko, our young guns in cotch are right in the firing line copping all the attention...Jacko wins alot of hard earned footy and complements the likes of cotch and Foley that peel off and use the footy. and MT mate...contin needs to play himself into the side to knock out a fella that gets it 25+ times a game...takes more than earning a 6 pack over summer to do that
Spot on. Dreamers thinking of replacing Jacko with the likes of Contin are doing just that - dreaming.

Jacko also has the ability to run hard all day and take out an opposition playmaker. I've said it before and I'll say it again, the day he's not an automatic selection is the day we're a top four side. Even then, he'd still get a game I reckon.

Spot on. Dreamers thinking of replacing Jacko with the likes of Contin are doing just that - dreaming.

I agree Richo, but I certainly noticed that Dimma was very hesitant to use Jacko in stopping roles last year. I wonder if that will change this year. I think we all went to watch Rd 1 last year (with no Judd) and expected to see Jacko side by side with Murphy all night, but it just didn't eventuate. I noticed this was the case in other games also.

Jackson was used in too much of an attacking role for mine last year. I don't want the ball in hands as much as possible, I want it in guys like Lids, Cotchin, Martin, etc. In fact he would be one of the last guys you'd want racking up the disposals on the outside of the packs. He was in the top 2 or 3 for overall kicks for us last year, maybe even lead IIRC. With his big body (92kg), running capability and defensive attributes he should go back to full time tagging to play an effective role in the side IMO.

Barnzy, for once I agree with you 100%. I want to see Jacko sitting on the opposition's best on-baller, smashing him into the ground at every opportunity like was done the likes of Knights for too long. And when he gets tired of doing it, off he comes and Grigg takes over.

i have to ask if we have enough players of size what outstanding attribute does jackson have to off set his poor disposal and decision making. to be honest i cant find one.

Yeah, he's only in the top bracket of the AFL for clearances, getting the ball (i.e. possessions), tackles, hard-ball gets, 1%ers, and one of the fittest and strongest midfielders in the league.

Not one outstanding attribute, plenty...:thumbsu:

Get some new material Claude. You've embarked on a truly bizarre public assassination of the poor bugger for the last six years. Not dozens, but hundreds and quite probably into the thousands of posts putting him down, proclaiming his imminent delistment and insisting that everyone must agree with you, but the plain fact is that Wallace didn't agree with you and Hardwick doesn't either, or he wouldn't speak as highly of him as he does.

You might just have to lie low and wait until his twilight years, then renew your campaign with triple the enthusiasm, knowing you'll get satisfaction some day. ;)