Ian Callinan

Streaker said:
Doesn't he play cricket for South Africa?

He spells and pronounces both his first and second names differently. But im sure its him....perhaps he will retire from international cricket if he gets drafted, or maybe he will represent South Africa in summer and play footy here in winter.

I think the one thing that turned clubs off last year was his size, but he has speed and can kick goals. Would be a handy pick up at any club.

He is an awesome player and at times this year has shown that he is a class above everyone else in the VFL. Should get drafted IMO

bsg7 said:
He is an awesome player and at times this year has shown that he is a class above everyone else in the VFL. Should get drafted IMO
Big call. I'd rather go for a Salim Hassan.

mattyc2422 said:
Big call. I'd rather go for a Salim Hassan.
Callinan for me, had probably another 30+ possies today for the Devils. Dead set freak who is having a great season in the VFL. Makes AFL listed players in the VFL look second rate and he's not soft either, great kick, and fast. Starred in the VFL v SANFL match earlier in the year.

mattyc2422 said:
I'll pay more attention next week down in the Isle then. :D
Are you going down there mate?

I can't stand the Devils much, makes me sick how many home finals etc they have, but I do admire what they do and how much passion the players and the coach have.

Pay attention to Callinan and also Sam Lonergan who was pretty handy today in his 2nd VFL match. Todd Grima I reckon he was injured with that ankle still cos he was on and off the ground and sat out the whole second half.

Yeah I'm heading down, nothing else to do. Leaving friday arvo on the same plane as the club. Should be good especially if we win!

Hope I make it back alive.

TheRedPill said:
Are you thinking of Darren Cullinan..?

Darryl, who has since retired I think otherwise just playing domestic cricket in South Africa.

I think Ian will get drafted, there was a feature on him in the current issue of Inside Football.

mattyc2422 said:
Yeah I'm heading down, nothing else to do. Leaving friday arvo on the same plane as the club. Should be good especially if we win!

Hope I make it back alive.
You'll be right. Sounds good. Hopefully your blokes have a win mate, Devils are looking for a finals spot and that worries me. If the Devils win, it might be worth you making a temporary booking for the VFL finals because I'm sure they'll get a home game and your mob are likely opposition!!

Hopefully the paper in the morning says how many touches Callinan had today, I'd be keen to know.

ben.carbonaro said:
I think Ian will get drafted, there was a feature on him in the current issue of Inside Football.
How about you write a letter about him to Inside Football Ben?

You should be on their payroll for all the plugs you give them and the letters you give them.

There was a Daniel Cullinan at Werribee last year, quit mid season playing Amateurs somewhere. That might be who someone was referring to.

footyman said:
There was a Daniel Cullinan at Werribee last year, quit mid season playing Amateurs somewhere. That might be who someone was referring to.

He is at Marcellin and still kicking 4-5 a week, is just too big. I remember he kicked 6 on debut for the 1sts whilst in Year 10.

willo said:
will Ian Callinan from the devils get picked up by an afl club any thoughts?

I would love to see ian get drafted but i don't reckon it will happen, this has happened for the last 4 years he plays an awesome year of footy they have a look at him and don't pick him up sorry willo go bac to your books!!!

He trained with Essendon last year and missed out.

Given that he is 23 by year's end is he then too old for the rookie list?
Not a lot of players of his type have been drafted in the National Draft, you would think that the Rookie draft just gone might have been his best shot.

Hard to see the Bulldogs going after another quick small.

Bulldogs don't need another quick small where as Carlton could do with a qucik small committed footballer who they dont have to wait for five years to develop rather than recycling another kid who has failed at one or more clubs.

36 possessions yesterday for Callinan, had 39 vs Geelong in their match before yesterday.

Maybe at the end of the day he's 5cm too short, but other than that what has been wrong with him?