Ins and outs for next week

Pelkanet

Feb 11, 2008
Sheppartonia
Just wondering who is going to have to give up their spot next week for some more likely inclusions, such as: Lucas, Jobe Watson, Mark McVeigh, Brent Stanton, Andrew Welsh, Alwyn Davey and Dustin Fletcher. Oviously Gumbleton and possibly Johns wont but who else? Pesonally i think we should keep the rookies in.
Thoughts?

Just wondering who is going to have to give up their spot next week for some more likely inclusions, such as: Lucas, Jobe Watson, Mark McVeigh, Brent Stanton, Andrew Welsh, Alwyn Davey and Dustin Fletcher. Oviously Gumbleton and possibly Johns wont but who else? Pesonally i think we should keep the rookies in.
Thoughts?

Very dissapointing that Welsh is considered an automatic selection. Would much rather see the likes of Myers and Pears get another game into them ahead of this over rated liability.

Im hoping for something like this:
B Slattery Mal Fletcher
HB Dempsey Ryder Nash
C Jetta Watson Myers
HF McPhee Lucas Welsh
F Davey Laycock Reimers

Ruck Hille Stanton Houli

INT Hocking, McVeigh, NLM, Monfries, Atkinson, Dyson, Magin, Lee

IN: Stanton, Watson, Davey, McVeigh, Welsh, Fletcher, Lucas, Lee
OUT: Dick, Chartes, Johns, Gumby, Lonergan, JJ, Pev, Pears

Thoughts?

Outs: Gumby (inj), smoky, mal, pev, jj(rested), dick, atkinson, chartres(omitted)
In: Jobe, Fletch, Lucas, McVeigh, Stants, Welsh, Davey, Lovett

Johns to play only if he's 100% fit, if not bring in Lee.

Very dissapointing that Welsh is considered an automatic selection. Would much rather see the likes of Myers and Pears get another game into them ahead of this over rated liability.
It's the Pre Season. It's not about automatic selections its about giving everyone fit a run in the senior set up. Our best side gets picked round 1.

Gumbleton will be a forced changed for next week’s quarter final clash with the Bulldogs but he will by no means be the only change with Knights’ forecasting wholesale changes to the line up.

“Apart from Jason Winderlich and Matthew Lloyd, I would think the 10 players that didn’t play tonight will come in next week. It isn’t about form – it is about the program we put in place to get ourselves to where we want to be come Round 1,” he said.

Those returning will include Scott Lucas, Jobe Watson, Mark McVeigh, Brent Stanton, Andrew Welsh, Alwyn Davey and Dustin Fletcher.

Look out Doggies!

i don't think we should drop both pev and JJ. The midfield is inexperienced as it is and we would really struggle against the likes of West, Cross, Griffen with kids.

And for all those idiots who put Monfries on the bench... grab a tape of the game.

Certain starting rover and part-time tagger now.

I'm starting to doubt if the reports on him during the praccie match were right.

Are you sure he was only solid?

Gumbleton will be a forced changed for next week’s quarter final clash with the Bulldogs but he will by no means be the only change with Knights’ forecasting wholesale changes to the line up.

“Apart from Jason Winderlich and Matthew Lloyd, I would think the 10 players that didn’t play tonight will come in next week. It isn’t about form – it is about the program we put in place to get ourselves to where we want to be come Round 1,” he said.

Those returning will include Scott Lucas, Jobe Watson, Mark McVeigh, Brent Stanton, Andrew Welsh, Alwyn Davey and Dustin Fletcher.

Look out Doggies!
Link?
Edit: Found it, for those that want it. http://essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5580

i don't think we should drop both pev and JJ. The midfield is inexperienced as it is and we would really struggle against the likes of West, Cross, Griffen with kids.

And for all those idiots who put Monfries on the bench... grab a tape of the game.

I'm starting to doubt if the reports on him during the praccie match were right.

Just resting them, bringing in Stanton, Watson, McVeigh into the midfield should be ok replacements

Just because someone doesn't agree with you, doesn't make them an idiot.

He was very ordinary last week, but great last night.
That's what young inexperienced players can do.

We know he is your favourite player but you need to take the rose coloured glasses off a bit as he has a long way to go yet.

I hope Lonergan gets a game again. I thought he was quite good last night. Has good hands in heavy traffic, and could release players running through the middle.

Just because someone doesn't agree with you, doesn't make them an idiot.

He was very ordinary last week, but great last night.
That's what young inexperienced players can do.

We know he is your favourite player but you need to take the rose coloured glasses off a bit as he has a long way to go yet.
One thing's for sure Merv

If he does have a long way to go, then he certainly won't be given the chance at Essendon after this year.

I reckon he;s been put on notice that this has to be his year where all the excuses of inexperienced young player are put aside or else he's up for trade

The only change should be gumbleton to be replaced with lucas. the youngsters got us into the second round, so lets give them a chance to take us even further without the help of the senior players that are being rested.

Great idea, let's go into round one without any match practice for fletch mcveigh watson welsh lovett davey stanton etc. Unless there is some freakish bad luck we won't be playing 4 rookie listed players in round 1

Nah mate that wouldnt be right. Surely you dont want all of our guns to go into Round 1 with no match practice. I say get rid of the likes of Chartres, Dick, Pears etc. Gumby is gone obviously, Johns shouldnt play if not 100%. I dont want Pev and Johnson in the same team as Stanton and Watson. Keep Houli, Reimers, Dempsey. Too be honest I really want to see Hislop get a game. Ive got huge wraps on this kid. Ive been salivating at the thought of him playing but was disappointed to see he didnt get a game yesterday. Throw Lee into the side also. We need to test out all these kids. Bbtw was Ii the only one impressed with Atkinson's and Magin's game yesterday?

B: Slattery Michael Ryder
HB: Nash Fletcher Lovett-Murray
C: Dyson Watson Monfries
HF: McPhee Lucas Lovett
F: Davey Johns Jetta
R: Hille McVeigh Stanton
INT: Laycock Welsh Dempsey Houli Peverill Johnson Hocking Reimers

B: Slattery Michael Ryder
HB: Nash Fletcher Lovett-Murray
C: Dyson Watson Monfries
HF: McPhee Lucas Lovett
F: Davey Johns Jetta
R: Hille McVeigh Stanton
INT: Laycock Welsh Dempsey Houli Peverill Johnson Hocking Reimers
Ryder at back pocket? I dont think that would do much for his development. Let him play CHB for now. Who do you think he will match up on next week? Welsh perhaps?

Not sure mate. Hopefully he isnt but I would have expected him to play if he wasnt injured. Promising young player. We need him to come through.

Yeah i reckon he could be a star..i still remember him playing for tassie in the U18 championships..he dominated with mitch thorp pretty much every game and to be picked up at No.20 in the super draft means he's got some ability.

Ryder at back pocket? I dont think that would do much for his development. Let him play CHB for now. Who do you think he will match up on next week? Welsh perhaps?
Positions! How quaint!

I would drop Mal for next week - depending on who the doggies play, as well as Pears, Myers, & Chartres. One or two others would have to go as well, bu*gered if I know who though. Gumby out obviously, not sure on CJ's status but if Lloyd/Lucas are fit then they should play

Ins and outs for next week