Interesting Comments From Wallace

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

Reading his after match comments and there are 2 parts that got my attention.

The first one:
"I was particularly happy with our disciplines in the game – we set certain blokes certain roles after that first five or 10 minutes and most of the guys took a fair bit away from their own game to do what the team needed."

I can't recall the last time we had players (I'm not talking about the 1-2 who might be tagging) sacrifice their own games for the good of the side. Perhaps the players are starting to realise that no matter how good you might be as a player if you're not doing what is the needed for the good of the team you are effectively useless as a player.

The second one:

"The competition's become defensive pressure in the forward zone, and I would think we've been nearly the poorest side in the competition at exactly that over the last 18 months."

This one relates to our obvious lack of pressure when the ball is coming out of our forward 50. Finally it appears that we've woken up and caught up to what the other sides have had for a while now. Hopefully Nahas gets to stay in the side even when Brown (who hardly tackles) is right to come back in.

Last night I finally saw some of our midfielders trying to block the opposition taggers to release a team-mate. The Geelong midfielders are very good at doing this for each other. We need to do more of this so our play-makers like Deledio and Foley can get free. In the first few weeks Deledio was heavily tagged and had no-one trying to help him get into space. Last night he was getting a bit more help.

I thought our tackling and defensive/attacking pressure was greatly improved last night. It really does make a difference when the team does those extra 1 percenters that are vital.

The jest of what Wallace is saying,is;

"The little ***** actually did what they are told to do,instead of thinking they know what's best"

Soimeone like Morton displaying a defensive side to his game is a prime example.He chased,tackled and went deep when necessary.

Foley is a basket case though.
FOREVER dishing off to team mates under the pump or simply turning it over.
He needs to GTFU!

Jak plays better without Richo.....

My mate Joel impressed.
He should be this good every week.

The saddest thing is,it takes 4 deaths in the family for these ****ters to work out what is going on.

"The little ***** actually did what they are told to do,instead of thinking they know what's best"

Soimeone like Morton displaying a defensive side to his game is a prime example.He chased,tackled and went deep when necessary.

He needs to GTFU!

My mate Joel impressed.

The saddest thing is,it takes 4 deaths in the family for these ****ters to work out what is going on.

good post oxx ,at your most incisive and balanced best...agree with it all:thumbsu:...in particular the comments about JR...Guess who was missing when he kicked 6 v WC last year:confused:

Hopefully Nahas gets to stay in the side even when Brown (who hardly tackles) is right to come back in.
Brown's a paycheck player now. He can stay out unless we're in finals, when it might mean something to him.

He needs to GTFU!

My mate Joel impressed.

*gist. Otherwise agree. Left-field thinking should see us get a top-3 pick from GC for Foley.
good post oxx ,at your most incisive and balanced best...agree with it all:thumbsu:...in particular the comments about JR...Guess who was missing when he kicked 6 v WC last year:confused:
5*.

Brown's a paycheck player now. He can stay out unless we're in finals, when it might mean something to him.

*gist. Otherwise agree. Left-field thinking should see us get a top-3 pick from GC for Foley.

5*.

opps, didn't see that bit, dont agree wit trading good players...ref:Ottens deal , couple more examples..Judd for Josh kennedy..Nathan brown for peter street/Jade rawlings...Nup NEVER works out:thumbsd:

Yeah I also noticed that we were blocking players off the ball as well to create space for deledio and co..
Also, I think when we have time to setup our zone from opposition kick ins we are really making it hard for other teams... it is a great zone!! I watched Geelong sturuggle with it at times, so too the dogs and now the roos.....

He needs to GTFU!

WAS just having this same conversation with a work colleague a few minutes ago.
Foley's play has become alarming and to a degree hurting us.
There are plenty on here who always point the finger at guys like McMahon and Tambling re disposal and turnovers, I would suggest Foley is doing far more often than either.
And I thought his 2008 season was just abover par - certainly nowhere near his stellar 2007.

Too bad Wallace never had the stones to drop senior players before.

Browny has always been a paycheck player

opps, didn't see that bit, dont agree wit trading good players...ref:Ottens deal , couple more examples..Judd for Josh kennedy..Nathan brown for peter street/Jade rawlings...Nup NEVER works out:thumbsd:

Look at all the premierships we won because we didnt trade Gaspar and B.Holland.

Croad for Hodge; Hogg for Gale & Broderick are two that spring immediately to mind. The Dogs traded Brown for two first round picks, which I'm positive they didn't use on Street and Rawlings. Someone will look it up for me. I love Nugget Foley and I'm not saying we should definitely do it but if his disposal continues to let us down and we can get a certain gun for him, we'd be mad not to consider it.

Brad Hardy and Tony McGinnus

In retrospect Foley took that no.1 tag last night in Rawlings.

When Cotchin and Cousins come back in we will have Deledio, Foley, Cotchin and Cousins all in the one team. All will be sharing tags and players will get more releif because of it.

A midfield of Cotchin, Deleido, Cousins, Coughlan, Foley and Tuck looks pretty good. Add to that Jackson and White who both had great games last night

Croad for Hodge; Hogg for Gale & Broderick are two that spring immediately to mind. The Dogs traded Brown for two first round picks, which I'm positive they didn't use on Street and Rawlings.

yeah they did, used pick 20 on street and No 6 handed to Hawks to ensure rawlings wasnt traded to North , eventually used on danny jacobs

Lets say it rarely works in the favour of club releasing the good player...Croad example probably goes against the grain

When Cotchin and Cousins come back in we will have Deledio, Foley, Cotchin and Cousins all in the one team. All will be sharing tags and players will get more releif because of it.

A midfield of Cotchin, Deleido, Cousins, Coughlan, Foley and Tuck looks pretty good. Add to that Jackson and White who both had great games last night

Add in Raines and you got a great line-up including Richo who plays in the midfield now and again.

Foley's been in cruise mode since 2007, but even last year he was the only player who actually turned games back in our favour single handedly (Essendon & Brisbane)...still a gamebreaker when he get's it right.

yeah they did, used pick 20 on street and No 6 handed to Hawks to ensure rawlings wasnt traded to North , eventually used on danny jacobs

Lets say it rarely works in the favour of club releasing the good player...Croad example probably goes against the grain

It has top be said Hawthorn have had a charmed run with going against the grain in recent years...that trade, taking two talls in the 04 draft instead of mids getting Dew last year...all things that have contradicted traditional thinking and have paid dividends for them.

Foley's been in cruise mode since 2007, but even last year he was the only player who actually turned games back in our favour single handedly (Essendon & Brisbane)...still a gamebreaker when he get's it right.

It has top be said Hawthorn have had a charmed run with going against the grain in recent years...that trade, taking two talls in the 04 draft instead of mids getting Dew last year...all things that have contradicted traditional thinking and have paid dividends for them.

they aced that draft however , not too many diamonds since...first R pix in Thorp (could have been Joel selwood), Dowler and Muston dont compare too well elsewhere:confused:..rioli has prob helped restore some balance

I stand corrected.
Not that many other high profile players have been traded. WC was forced into the Judd trade but it won't be known for years how they did out of that. Masten, Kennedy, Notte could be half their spine in 5 years.

Agree. Except it's gets.* ;) But if by the end of 2010 he's not in our starting centre square (which he very well might not be) and he can't play anywhere else, and GC offers us a top 3 pick and the next Cotchin or Roughead is available...

Recruiting gun key position players IS traditional thinking. Midfielder obsession is a relatively recent phenomenon. See, the Hawks know what wins premierships. They remember they won lots of them with Dunstall and Dermie, remembered they were shit when they were gone, and went about replacing them. That's why the Saints have leap-forgged the Dogs - because they have a couple of big guns up forward. The Dogs won't win a flag until they find at least one. **** me, it's Footy 101.

One tall maybe , but two with both your priority picks was unusual and the lucked out with both. they also went against the grain of the majority of "expert" opinion at the time as well and I reckon most other clubs would've drafted Lids & Bling too if they were in our position. Franklin was barely mentioned in discussions of potential top 10 picks and when he was, disclaimers about his attitude were always raised.
As for needing gun forwards to win flags......Geelong didn't, though it could be argued they have been the exception rather than the rule...then again who was WC's "gun" up front in 06? Lynch? Hardly. Both teams won flags on the back of exceptional midfields. Hawthorn won last year thanks to it's mids and up forward it was more the poachers that got the crucial goals in the big one, as opposed to Buddy & Roughead... but again you could argue that Franklin's real value was keeping Scarlett occupied and nullifying the run he usually gives Geelong and had Geelong had a gun forward they pretty much would've crushed them. Six of one...

He needs to GTFU!

My mate Joel impressed.

Quality Oxx.

WAS just having this same conversation with a work colleague a few minutes ago.
Foley's play has become alarming and to a degree hurting us.
There are plenty on here who always point the finger at guys like McMahon and Tambling re disposal and turnovers, I would suggest Foley is doing far more often than either.
And I thought his 2008 season was just abover par - certainly nowhere near his stellar 2007.

I don't think he's been the same since that state of origin game. It was almost like the other coaches went "who's he? He must be good. We'll stick a tagger on him next time we play Richmond". Since he's had the pressure of a tagger, he's not been the same.