Collingwood VFL
My mate that lives in tassie will not be renewing his membership this year. For the past 2 years that he has lived in Tassie he has never recieved a copy of any edition of the In Black and White magazine. he has called the club on numerous occasions with NO RESULT AT ALL. He has emailed the club and in fact got so jack of not recieving his magazines that he sent a detailed email to Gary Pert as no one else had got back to him... to which he has still not seen a magazine.

Last year members were also promised a scalf of which he never saw???

If you run a membership drive like this there is no way Collingwood will have the biggest membership numbers. If you went to the Bar and paid for 4 beers but were only given 2 would you go back to that Bar?

the membership drive says "side by side we stick together"... should it say "side by side... we take your money and run".

Absolutely pathetic.

I get the interstate membership every year along with my brother and sister. Never have had any problem. have contacted the club on a number of times and they have always been willing to help. My cousin has the Thommos Team membership for young kids. She didnt recieve her birthday card. When the club was contacted she recieved a christmas card signed by heaps of the players. Just my experiences..

Oh and pretty sure that scarf was an extra payment on top of the $130 - similar to the Members polo

I get the interstate membership every year along with my brother and sister. Never have had any problem. have contacted the club on a number of times and they have always been willing to help. My cousin has the Thommos Team membership for young kids. She didnt recieve her birthday card. When the club was contacted she recieved a christmas card signed by heaps of the players. Just my experiences..

Oh and pretty sure that scarf was an extra payment on top of the $130 - similar to the Members polo

I just rang to clarify with him what he paid for... he did not pay for the scalf and did actually recieve 1 magazine last year, but when he emailed the club last year he did not even recieve a responce. The year before he didnt recieve any magazines.

It was my dad who paid for a scalf (along with my mum) but never recieved them. I believe he was told they ran out and were waiting for them to come back in. he was not contacted again about it... he will be a 50 year Social Club member this year - but not worthy of a scalf he paid for?

i think its a collingwood tradition to send interstate members a defective cap.For the past 3 years i have been sent a cap with either a buckle missing or the wrong years cap.

Each time i have rang up the club and they have sent a new one,but why dont they just get it right the first time.....

i think its a collingwood tradition to send interstate members a defective cap.For the past 3 years i have been sent a cap with either a buckle missing or the wrong years cap.

Each time i have rang up the club and they have sent a new one,but why dont they just get it right the first time.....

Its fairly obvious how much the interstate memberships are considered in importance to the CFC... or honouring their agreement with these members.

They wont be getting my money, they wont get my sons and they definately won't be getting my mates. I'll just keep my MCC membership thankyou.

Its fairly obvious how much the interstate memberships are considered in importance to the CFC... or honouring their agreement with these members.

They wont be getting my money, they wont get my sons and they definately won't be getting my mates. I'll just keep my MCC membership thankyou.

I would probably have the same opinion if I were treated the same - must be lucky I guess. I like to know that I have my tix for the Subi game every year cos its not too often I can see them over here!

Hopefully someone at the club reads this and the interstate memberships are given a little more attention. Perhaps the new members advisory things can help out the situation

Horrible, horrible supporter.

Or just someone who doesnt like seeing people get ripped off repeatedly?

That doesnt make me a horrible supporter, it makes the membership department of the Collingwood Football club unprofessional. Obviously my mates interstate membership is not that important to the club, if it was they at least would have responded to his email and sent him what he paid for. By not doing so they have decided they dont want his membership and in hand wont get mine.

I will happily buy hundreds of dollars worth of stuff from the shop at the Lexus centre every time Im in Melbourne (and wont buy from anywhere else), pay for top notch tickets at the Copeland as I do every year and if it ever came to this again I would donate my piggy bank again when the club was fundraising for its survival (like back in the 80's), buy tickets to whatever club functions I can go to... but obviously when the club has 40,000 odd members it has decided that not all need to renew.

I'd be another piss weak supporter - just dont see the value in it if your not in Melbourne. Also I have relatives that get the MCC membership for the games rather than the Pies membership because they thought it better value. I tried the international thing with the afl one year when in NZ which was OK but interstate is pretty much about merchandise and news - which is readily available anyway. .....sigh..... At least I'll get to see them play Brisbane early next year - that's always entertaining

Or just someone who doesnt like seeing people get ripped off repeatedly?

That doesnt make me a horrible supporter, it makes the membership department of the Collingwood Football club unprofessional. Obviously my mates interstate membership is not that important to the club, if it was they at least would have responded to his email and sent him what he paid for. By not doing so they have decided they dont want his membership and in hand wont get mine.

I will happily buy hundreds of dollars worth of stuff from the shop at the Lexus centre every time Im in Melbourne (and wont buy from anywhere else), pay for top notch tickets at the Copeland as I do every year and if it ever came to this again I would donate my piggy bank again when the club was fundraising for its survival (like back in the 80's), buy tickets to whatever club functions I can go to... but obviously when the club has 40,000 odd members it has decided that not all need to renew.

Sorry, I think I'll learn to separate from BigFooty any bad moods from my life I have form here on.

It's just a shame to see people turning their backs on the club to get a MCC membership, when all MCC do is throw their money at teams like Melbourne.

Sorry, I think I'll learn to separate from BigFooty any bad moods from my life I have form here on.

It's just a shame to see people turning their backs on the club to get a MCC membership, when all MCC do is throw their money at teams like Melbourne.

Oh... Im sorry precious. This is a forum for Collingwood supporters throughout the world - not just somewhere that everyone has to think the sun shines out of the Collingwoods admins ar*e like you have obviously been blinded by.

If you dont like my comments try and tell me where Im wrong with giving money to our club that gets spent on something else but what they promised the member.

MCC membership only throws money at Melbourne Football club? WTF?

Oh... Im sorry precious. This is a forum for Collingwood supporters throughout the world - not just somewhere that everyone has to think the sun shines out of the Collingwoods admins ar*e like you have obviously been blinded by.

If you dont like my comments try and tell me where Im wrong with giving money to our club that gets spent on something else but what they promised the member.

MCC membership only throws money at Melbourne Football club? WTF?

My apologies for misunderstanding the meaning of the word 'supporters,' then.

In all seriousness, does the MCC membership give you your beloved scarf and magazines? Does your MCC membership make you feel as though the club you love, the Collingwood Football club, is benefiting adequately?

As a Collingwood Football Club member for 2009, I for one won't be throwing a tanty if nothing comes in the mail. At least I know I'm supporting my football club, even if that money is spent on the club itself, instead of me.

Sure, it's a damn shame that they sometimes make mistakes. But I thought that was the reason behind a recently appointed change in the Collingwood Membership department? Do correct me if I'm wrong.

Admittedly, I over exaggerated the way in which MCC spends its funding. But to throw $2 million at a dieing football club without members being initially aware wouldn't quite sit very well with me.

I guess people in this world are different though, so I apologise for stating my opinion, sugar dumpling.

not to sound contrite but if the pies weren't ok with losing members to the MCC maybe they should have kept Vic Park running.
I miss Vic park - Last time I went to the MCG I paid for a premium seat and got a rubbish spot behind the point post. Telstra dome was far better

Buddy, I've experienced the EXACT same thing, I'm also from Tassie.

I e-mailed the club asking for an explanation and a guarantee that it will not happen again, as at the time I was unemployed and under 18 years old, and I had to make sacrifices to be able to afford a membership for the club, all of which I made.

I waited a bit over a week for a reply, before I got sick of waiting. I e-mailed them again explaining that I didn't receive a reply to my previous e-mail and asking for one. I received no reply, yet again. I said if I didn't get a reply I wouldn't be renewing my membership, but you guessed it, no reply.

Eventually I e-mailed the club, attentioning Gary Pert, explaining that since the club ignored my multiple e-mails, and didn't appear to care that I was considering not renewing my membership, and also didn't care that I didn't receive was I was entitled to, that I wouldn't be renewing my membership.

I finally got a reply from them saying how they are sad to lose me as a member, and some crap like that. Complete bullshit, if they honestly gave a crap they would have bothered with a small e-mail apologising for what happened and telling me it wont happen again. Apparently that was too much effort.

Pathetic to be honest. I was proud to be a member and I really enjoyed it and I want to renew, but I honestly believe the club couldn't care less, and it isn't worth my money if that's how they'll treat their members.

I hope Eddie reads this thread.

My apologies for misunderstanding the meaning of the word 'supporters,' then.

In all seriousness, does the MCC membership give you your beloved scarf and magazines? Does your MCC membership make you feel as though the club you love, the Collingwood Football club, is benefiting adequately?

As a Collingwood Football Club member for 2009, I for one won't be throwing a tanty if nothing comes in the mail. At least I know I'm supporting my football club, even if that money is spent on the club itself, instead of me.

Sure, it's a damn shame that they sometimes make mistakes. But I thought that was the reason behind a recently appointed change in the Collingwood Membership department? Do correct me if I'm wrong.

Admittedly, I over exaggerated the way in which MCC spends its funding. But to throw $2 million at a dieing football club without members being initially aware wouldn't quite sit very well with me.

I guess people in this world are different though, so I apologise for stating my opinion, sugar dumpling.

As you live in Victoria... and use your membership to watch multiples of games you obviously get something for your Buck... this thread is about "Interstate memberships" to which most interstate members on this thread have agreed how pathetic it is.

Didnt the membership guy leave with Arrocca over 12 months ago?

If you paid for your Collingwood membership and didnt get your seasons ticket... would you (in your words) throw a tanty? Interstate members dont really need a Season ticket FYI.

Buddy, I've experienced the EXACT same thing, I'm also from Tassie.

I e-mailed the club asking for an explanation and a guarantee that it will not happen again, as at the time I was unemployed and under 18 years old, and I had to make sacrifices to be able to afford a membership for the club, all of which I made.

I waited a bit over a week for a reply, before I got sick of waiting. I e-mailed them again explaining that I didn't receive a reply to my previous e-mail and asking for one. I received no reply, yet again. I said if I didn't get a reply I wouldn't be renewing my membership, but you guessed it, no reply.

Eventually I e-mailed the club, attentioning Gary Pert, explaining that since the club ignored my multiple e-mails, and didn't appear to care that I was considering not renewing my membership, and also didn't care that I didn't receive was I was entitled to, that I wouldn't be renewing my membership.

I finally got a reply from them saying how they are sad to lose me as a member, and some crap like that. Complete bullshit, if they honestly gave a crap they would have bothered with a small e-mail apologising for what happened and telling me it wont happen again. Apparently that was too much effort.

Pathetic to be honest. I was proud to be a member and I really enjoyed it and I want to renew, but I honestly believe the club couldn't care less, and it isn't worth my money if that's how they'll treat their members.

I hope Eddie reads this thread.

Is there any Interstate members who live in Tassie that recieved all their magazines last year... or the year before... or any magazines over the past 2 years?

As you live in Victoria... and use your membership to watch multiples of games you obviously get something for your Buck... this thread is about "Interstate memberships" to which most interstate members on this thread have agreed how pathetic it is.

Didnt the membership guy leave with Arrocca over 12 months ago?

If you paid for your Collingwood membership and didnt get your seasons ticket... would you (in your words) throw a tanty? Interstate members dont really need a Season ticket FYI.

I may as well be interstate where I live though. I wouldn't throw a tanty, I'd be a bit concerned, yes, but as I don't live in Melbourne it wouldn't be quite as frustrating.

I'm sure I read somewhere that our membership administration was going to improve with the appointment of a new manager or something? I can't really recall, but I'm sure it was after some mix-ups the year just gone though. Someone may be able to give some more information or let me know if I'm imagining things ;(

Was a little disappointed this year.
My son and I didn't receive our membership caps till the week before the Sydney v Collingwood in Sydney.
We had been wanting to wear them for this game.
However one of the caps was defective and therefore both us were not able to proudly display our caps on the night.
I emailed membership about the defective cap and received no return email nor was I sent a replacement.

I'm the only Collingwood fan I know down here haha, so I can't say for sure.

Who's your other head go for then? Not Carlton I hope.

Sorry, I couldn't resist.

Probably swamped by those growing bands of Tassie Hawks supporters are you?

Who's your other head go for then? Not Carlton I hope.

Sorry, I couldn't resist.

Probably swamped by those growing bands of Tassie Hawks supporters are you?
Yeh man, it's laughable. The day after the grand final win people were wearing the stuff everywhere you looked, and you see heaps of little kids with a Hawthorn jumper on.

The flag has helped their drive down here massively imo.

Can anyone tell me the breakup of how many of our membership numbers are actually made up by Interstate members?

It seem there are more and more type of memberships each year - the Bulldogs had a $25 pet membership last year are these numbers counted in the membership count?

I must admit in all my dealings with the club, the membership department and team store online can never seem to get it right. After a couple of calls and maybe a few e-mails they always fix it up, but getting it right the first time should be priority - shouldnt put people off joining. I know being from Perth, its great that the club can/does provide you a ticket to the game here, as the stadium only holds 44K - the Eagles memberships are sold out year after year and Dockers are coming up fast so a guaranteed ticket to the games in Perth alone is worth the 100 odd bucks for a membership in my opinion....