Introduction Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Philhawk

You hit the nail on the head HAWKS61.

The good times are easy and the bad times are tough, and you know what guys and gals?, we're all here during the tough times staying positive and remaining patient.

Congrats one and all.

C'arn the Hawks

Hi

I'll keep mine short and sweet. 24, supported since I was 5, been a member on and off over the years but haven't been for the last couple. Will be signing up next year. Grew up in Talbot, which is country central Victoria and now living in Ballarat doing IT. Hate it, but it allows me to post on here regularly. Going back to Uni next year to finish off a teaching degree. I am one of few on here that actually play the game personally by the looks of it. I am one of the ones that whinges about having AFL games on Saturday as I dont get to see them. I coach footy up here and have played for a while.
Love the Hawks and I also dont mind going to the Dome as its only a short drive up the highway from here. Went on a footy trip to Hobart on the weekend, cold, backward place.... Will not be going back and will not be going to watch the Hawks there! haha.
Loved Dunstall as a kid!

Hi all,

I am a 24 year old teacher and I currently live in Narre Warren. I love the hawks and I have done since Jim Stynes ran through the mark in 1987 and my dad (a passionate and colourful Melbourne supporter) screamed at all Hawthorn players and decided that the Hawks were the team for me.

A year later I cracked my skull in GF week and was attended to by a Melbourne doctor and argued with him about who would win the GF, probably not a wise move to antagonise the man putting your head back together.

I love the draft and watching the young kids develop and I used to think I was knowledgable on these topics, but compared to a lot of blokes on here it appears I know practically nothing, especially on the draft. Love Big Footy and reading all your opinions, even those I disagree with, keep it up.

Hi All
I’ve been a Hawks supporter since my Mum help deliver Kelvin Moore's first child at the Frankston Hospital. She was able to pickup a letter signed by the great full back on the birth of his second child. Russell Green then taught at our school for a while (John Paul College) and he use to take my brother and I to his reserve games at the Saints before he moved on play the rest of his outstanding career with the Brown & Gold. Although I did play a few games with Frankston Rovers I did not get along very well at all with Dermie.
I now live up in Darwin after travelling the world for the last 25 years and have a family full of paid up, proud & passionate supports.
Cheers everyone and looking forward to picking up the berger from the draft.

Wata

hey fellow hawkers!!

i'm a newb to this forum, but it was great to read the news as it happened during trade week, that i couldn't resist but to join up and give my thots on the situation! :)

i'm 21, working full time for an IT company. I'm working for a client at the moment, so it can get busy but i always find time to log onto BF to get my dose of Hawks news! :D Been a hawks supporter for more than i can remember, and being a asian kid in a predominately white school, one couldn't help but be drawn into footy much like the other kids!

The first and ONLY game i've been to was way back in 95' when the hawks played the bombers at the G'. I remember that game vividly! :P i remember the likes of Ray Jenke and Simon Minton-Conell in that game (don't ask me why they were the ones i remember, i just did) :P we lost tho..that was a bit of a downer, but a great experience none the less!

I rekon there will be bright times ahead for the hawks!

keep up the good work guys! :D

40yrs old happily married ,three sons ,work in the oil and gas industry down Gippsland way for the big 'E' my workplace blew up a few years back forcing you guys in Melbourne to endure cold showers for two weeks.Been a Hawk supporter since i knew what football was mainly because i was intrigued whilst watching black and white television images of this guy with a big number 26 on his back kicking all these goals.The first ever game i attended was as a 10 yr old and it happened to be the 75'GF with my older brother.We didn't have tickets but my brother who is ten years older than me managed to purchase some the morning of the game in Young and Jacksons from this rather scantily clad woman who i realised later as grew into my teens must've been a hooker given her garb at that hour of the morning.Ticket scalper/prostitute ....she must've made a fortune, regardless the tickets were seats about five rows back from the goals at Punt Rd end ,perfect.Anyway we got absolutely pumped that day by North Melb but i would've given Knightsy B.O.G for sure ,his torpedo punts clearing from CHB seemed to travel the length of the ground.Loved the eighties lived in Frankston for a while and played myself with the Bombers down there and was a Dermott Brereton clone (my mullet was better and my hair color more natural.) Anyway i'll always love the hawks and i'm looking forward to the next few seasons even though the jury's still out on this Tassie Hawks B.S as far as i'm concerned.Thanks for the opportunitie to whoever started this thread ,hope i haven't bored anybody too much. cheers.

Hello Hawk Fans.
I am 39 and started following the Hawks in the mid 70’s. My heroes were Peter Hunson, Peter Knights and Leigh Mathews. The 80’s were a great time to be a Hawks supporter (so many great players). I had many winners’ beers, and formed a dislike for Essendon and Carlton. In the 90’s I hoped year after year that our young list would mature and a premiership might be won once again. Pretty well all these players have now retired, or have moved on.
Other than Crawford winning a brownlow, the best news I heard was that Clarkson (a non-hawthorn player) was appointed coach and that he dragged with him some new support team members. Clarkson has put his neck on the block sticking to his youth policy, putting Hawthorn’s future first. I have had a lot of good times with Hawthorn, however the past decade has been very disappointing, even though I have always been loyal and optimistic. I am pretty excited, as we have drafted well and I am looking forward to happy times soon.
Soon I will be changing my name from PatientHawk to KickingAssHawks :D

Thanks guys for all the threads you post.
I do alot of reading on this site, not much posting.

Hello all

47yo Hawk fan since I can remember. Mum & Dad took us (Sis & I) to Glenferrie every week the Hawks played and all MCG games as well. We used to sit in the "free" stand. Had to get there by half time in the reserves match to guarentee our seats which some lovely old dears used to keep for us by placing blankets down on the cold hard benches.

Have been lucky to see 4 Hawthorn GFs. 71,76,89 & 91. Will be there when we win 2008,2009,2010 flags :thumbsu:

Nowdays only live about 6 kms from Waverley Park and if the boss allows me (I work for myself so usually I do or can) I like to drop down and have a look at training.

Other times I work part time at Telstra Dome & Rod Laver (why not get paid to watch the best :D ) so my weekends are usually busy.

Good reading all the other intros and well done Phil for the concept.

Cheers

G'day fellow hawkers,
I'm probably the oldest hawk on the site. My first membership was way back in 1947 and I've been fortunate to see all our grand finals - most live.

Back in the forties and fifties were our real hard times. Losing game after game. When we beat St Kilda back in the early fifties, it was the same feeling as winning a premiership as it followed something like twenty odd losses on the trot. (Don't quote me as this's from memory.) Now we only bottom out, and don't consistantly win the spoon as we did in those days.

Fond memories of the great John Kennedy, Roy Simmonds, John O'Mahoney, 'Killer" Kane and morel at my home in Swinburne Avenue. John and my late father were friends.

To name the greatest Hawk ever is almost impossible. Although Mathews is a standout, there are others who were probably just as good. My favorite to watch was Peter Knights. I can't remember the year, but he just missed out on the Brownlow after missing about seven games. One of the best individual games was that of Brendon Edwards in the '61 grand final. His thirty odd possessions in today's game would be worth forty plus. There were no cheap handball receives then. Edwards is one player who would still star in today's game. He introduced super fitness to the game.

Watching Hudson and JD kick twelve or more goals on several occassions is also something to cherish.

Sorry I guess I got carried away.

For the past nine years I've been teaching American English at Burapha University in Thailand. It's too good an occupation to contemplate retirement. In my free time I have just completed my first novel, as yet unpublished.

There is a really bright future in store for us over the next decade, but we do need a lot of our highly rated youngsters to stand tall.

I enjoy reading all I can about my club, but I must say sometimes I get a little disappointed that some of our younger fans get hooked by trolls on our board.

G'day true blue fellow Hawkers!

I'm 24, backpacking the world (so far UK, Dublin, Germany, Poland, Turkey) currently living in London see what happens with work if they offer me a promo I'll stay longer lol. Its a mobile phone call centre job (yuk!)

I have been a Hawks fan since I was big enough to speak, it is indeed a family tradition. My Aunt actually got married on a Sat arvo during a HFC game and my Grandpa protested that he wouldn't allow it on that day..eventually gave in but listened to the radio in the church (lol). Given it had been paid for and all. Dad took me in my Hawthorn gear to Auskick (Vickick back then) and when he didn't have work to do he would take me to games or atleast we would have a kick.

When I lived in Jakarta with family when I was on hols in Melbourne my Pa and Uncle used to take me. It must have been about 95 and we were playing the Blues at Waverley, my uncle was joking we shouldn't go coz we would get whipped and we ended up whipping them! Ok I've been overseas a fair bit including stints in London, Jakarta and Dublin introducing all and sundry to AFL and Hawthorn (those that will listen) and will be at the London game tomoz!

I love my Hawks like the rest of the family and have volunteered about 9yrs or so all up with them ranging from helping with membership, events to Box Hill stats. Heck I want to start up a HFC supporters group here in London lol!

I admit I have a disease called the Hawthorn flu that just won't go away and there is no known cure...but I could think of worse things to have lol.

I have a sport management and marketing degree, like cricket, tennis, actually any sport almost, love travel, photography.

Currently single and as my Dad stipulated to my Mum, I'm only going to marry you if you convert to Hawthorn, same rules apply to me lol. There won't be any doubt as to the club membership my kids get!!

Well thats about it from me....'ask what you can do for the club, not what the club can do for you' and get down to Hawthorn and help the boys out.
Go Hawks 2007!!
Cheers
Russ:thumbsu: :cool:

Thaihawk said:
G'day fellow hawkers,
My favorite to watch was Peter Knights. I can't remember the year, but he just missed out on the Brownlow after missing about seven games.

I agree ThaiHawk, Knights was an absolute star & my 4th best hawk player I have seen.

The year he first missed the brownlow was 1976. He missed by a vote to Graham Moss after missing the last 7 games with a broken collarbone.

He also came second to Blight in 78.

The pain was eased by the fact that both years he played in winning premierships.

Thaihawk said:
My favorite to watch was Peter Knights. I can't remember the year, but he just missed out on the Brownlow after missing about seven games.
It was 1976, Thai. A year after I was born, but I remember writing about it.

Thaihawk said:
For the past nine years I've been teaching American English at Burapha University in Thailand. It's too good an occupation to contemplate retirement. In my free time I have just completed my first novel, as yet unpublished.
American English? I thought they called it 'British English' in Thailand. They do pronounce the short 'z' sound as 'zed' don't they, Thai. Here in Taiwan, it's called 'Mei Yu' (Mei = American, Yu = Language) :rolleyes:, not 'Ying Yu' (Ying = England, Yu = Language) :mad:.

Thaihawk said:
I enjoy reading all I can about my club, but I must say sometimes I get a little disappointed that some of our younger fans get hooked by trolls on our board
Spot on. I was just reading a thread on the polls board and we're close to the most hated club in the league! This is due to supporters' arrogance, not players'. Wise head prevail. Take note young fellas ;)

MHDKA said:
As far as trolls go the mods should simply ban them & everyone will be happier.
Yes, I agree, MDKA. I'm a big fan of the 'One strike and you're out policy'. This forum, while improving in posting quality, still tolerates trolls a bit too willingly (IMO).

amos said:
Spot on. I was just reading a thread on the polls board and we're close to the most hated club in the league! This is due to supporters' arrogance, not players'. Wise head prevail. Take note young fellas ;)

Not just that:

- We beat North in 2 finals in the 70's

- Beat Essendon & the blues in the 80's & have a better record over the last 25 years which they hate

- Absolutely slaughtered the demons in the 88 GF - Gary Lyon still bears the scars :)

- Stopped the cats only real chance of a flag in over 40 years

- Beat WC in their first GF - some WC supporters still carn't believe they lost

- Magpies record doesn't even come near ours & we have more recent Flag

- & every team is scared of us because they can now see us starting to rise again to become a force

MHDKA said:
Not just that:

- We beat North in 2 finals in the 70's

- Beat Essendon & the blues in the 80's & have a better record over the last 25 years which they hate

- Absolutely slaughtered the demons in the 88 GF - Gary Lyon still bears the scars :)

- Stopped the cats only real chance of a flag in over 40 years

- Beat WC in their first GF - some WC supporters still carn't believe they lost

- Magpies record doesn't even come near ours & we have more recent Flag

- & every team is scared of us because they can now see us starting to rise again to become a force
No, it's supporter arrogance.

amos said:
No, it's supporter arrogance.

I dont think its aarogance but more of fans believing 100% that our rebuilding will lead to a premiership. There are many queries on our team, and I think we wont make finals this year, and we wont untill we find a decent option at full back OR Dowler, Roughie, Franklin are permanent and solid contributors in the forward line with Willow.

philhawk said:
For some bizarre reason, it seems to be solely embodied by the Hawk fans on BigFooty? Bay 13 should really be called 'Waverley Park'.
Well, that's what I was referring to, Phil (On BF I mean). Now, Bay 13, well I've never been there, but judging from what I've seen on the polls and main boards, I'm tipping we'll be being fired upon from all directions. Is that further evidence as to how we're perceived?

Roughie said:
I dont think its aarogance but more of fans believing 100% that our rebuilding will lead to a premiership. There are many queries on our team, and I think we wont make finals this year, and we wont untill we find a decent option at full back OR Dowler, Roughie, Franklin are permanent and solid contributors in the forward line with Willow.
Well I've seen very few posts on BF by Hawthorn supporters starting with, "I believe ...", Roughie. But yes, we are looked upon as a supporter group that is too far ahead of itself, but isn't that arrogance when it's written in an overly confident way? If I had time, I could find hundreds of posts on the main board talking up our prospects of a 2008/9 premiership yet at the same time laughing at Richmond for taking Tambling, and hanging it on the Roos for giving us two top twenties for Hay.

Anyway, I'm not trying to fight amongst my own, just pointing out what seems obvious to the people that want to open their eyes.

Good Evening fellow Hawks.

One of the best threads to date as it adds a bit of reality to the whole BF experience. Great reading too.

I'm a 33 yo working as a Finance/Business Analyst in the Hardware industry. Have been a Hawk member for the past 8 seasons and an MCC member for 18.

I was nominated for an MCC membership as a toddler and grew up watching Melbourne play at the G with my uncle and grandad (both mad demons and the only footy followers in the family). It wasn't until 1980 that I somehow converted to the Hawks (not sure if it was due to the fact I lived in Hawthorn or the primary school footy clinics that were held by Hawk champs).

My passion for the club ran so deep that I was awe struck when meeting Kelvin Matthews one afternoon at Dad's company function. I'll also never forget September training at Gleferrrie Oval in the 80's when Yabby would conduct end to end drills with the whole squad on that sardine-tin shaped ground. Langford would kick out to Buckenara in the centre who'd handball to a running Platten who'd only have to chip it 35m through the sticks - it just didn't look right but you knew in your heart that they were primed.

My first grand final attendance was in 1983 but I'll never forget 1989 when Dipper (god bless him) hacked out a loose ball to Dean Anderson who slotted home a goal, momentarily stemming the tide but it sent the biggest roar of pure emotion/delight/relief that I've ever heard - we were home.

Ok, enough reminiscing, those were the glory days and we were spoilt big time - no current day supporter can boast the amount of success we had in a decade.

Today we're building carefully for the future and hopefully for another dynasty similar to the 80's. The foundations are almost in place and I can see a lot of similarities in the team we have now to the team we had in 81/82.

Strap yoursleves in boys and enjoy the ride.

Go Hawkers!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thaihawk

American English? I thought they called it 'British English' in Thailand. They do pronounce the short 'z' sound as 'zed' don't they, Thai. Here in Taiwan, it's called 'Mei Yu' (Mei = American, Yu = Language) :rolleyes:, not 'Ying Yu' (Ying = England, Yu = Language) :mad:.

The system here is totally confused.
The two daily papers are British English, with some American English thrown in.
When I started teaching here I was working for a British language school, but the pay with the Americans is much better.

My late mother was an English teacher back at a state school in Hawthorn, and I hear her gringe everytime I teach 'gotten'. However, I always teach the alternative for those students working for an English company,

None of my students (they're 90% adults and uni students) leave my class without a complete understanding of:
'G'day mate. Owyagoin''

Suppose I should chip in here.

Picked the Hawks back in the mid 80s. My best friend came from a Hawk family and I wasn't really interested in following in my own families Carlton footsteps.
Didn't really take much notice of AFL growing up. I played Rugby League as a kid, and then played basketball through my teens.
Only when I turned 21 (now 25) that I really turned on my love for Hawthorn and my new girlfriend at the time and I became diehard fans and later members.
Because I'm a late comer to the diehard club, Ive never even seen Hawthorn play in a final. It's been a tough time to get on board, but I'm sure it'll pay dividends in the end.
The girl and I are no longer together, sadly... so now I'm forced to go to the football with mates who support the opposing team. I'm very passionate and very loud at the football, but I do stick to my no swearing policy as I believe that being a supporter of a family club means respecting end encouraging families to enjoy their day at the footy just as much as any beer swilling lardo.

Away from football, I work for V/Line which means I get to travel to the football for free every weekend. I live in Geelong and as such hate the Geelong Cats almost as much as I love the Hawks.
I play bass guitar in a sell-out cover band, and stole most of my rock moves from Tim Rogers of You Am I.

When summer rolls around I'm crazy for the cricket, but to break it up I also download American sports and go see the brand new South Melbourne Dragons basketball team.

Thanks for sharing, y'all.

I'm in enemy territory here!!

I've been invited in here by philhawk - Doggie fan with a grandfather who played for the poos and wees.

My pa's name was Ron Black - he played a couple of games in the mid 20's as a fullback. His career was cut short by running into a fence and injuring his knee. He made junior Victorian squads in the early 20's and was a representative along with players such as the Colliers. He formerly played with Box Hill before he went up bush in the North East (Whorouly). The folks have got some pretty cool memorabilia from way back and have received a club tie as recognition of his (albeit brief) service to the club.

I know it's nothing exciting, but philhawk thought you guys might be interested, so there it is.

Cheers
Adam.

TheWackedYak said:
I'm in enemy territory here!!

I've been invited in here by philhawk - Doggie fan with a grandfather who played for the poos and wees.

My pa's name was Ron Black - he played a couple of games in the mid 20's as a fullback. His career was cut short by running into a fence and injuring his knee. He made junior Victroian squads in the early 20's and was a representative along with players such as the Colliers. He formerly played with Box Hill before he went up bush in the North East (Whorouly). The folks have got some pretty cool memorabilia from way back and have received a club tie as recognition of his (albeit brief) service to the club.

I know it's nothing exciting, but philhawk thought you guys might be interested, so there it is.

Cheers
Adam.

Much obliged for that mate, I personally (and i'm sure other Hawks fans are the same), find that very interesting to read. Thanks for sharing the story! :) :thumbsu:

I know I am not allowed in here. But I cant help myself. All I want to say is that reading the foregoing posts has brought one helluva huge lump to my throat and, unashamedly, a tear to my eye.

It's great to know that Hawks supporters are as passionate as ever. So many unwavered as we go through thin eras after having gone through so much of the thick. What really impresses me are the youngsters who have not known the glory years but are such avid fans of our great club.

To you I say when the day comes and the premiership cup is again held aloft it is going to be all that much sweeter.

I am really moved in reading this thread. And it was one of our great young supporters who started it.