Is Cogs Safe ????

eyeofthetiger

is cogs safe on our list for next season ???? i want him there but now the game has quicken up heaps and hes been out of the game for pretty much most of 2 yrs could he keep up ??
could see this easy but i seriously hope not COGS for FEV.

He just bought a new lavish home in some posho complex in Melbourne. So it would suggest he intends to stay in Victoria. Couldn't see any reason he would be shipped off unless to go interstate.

Cogs will come back a great player still, will take some games to get back to his best but will get there. Knee recos really affect turning speed, Cogs will just bulk up and bully through packs. Besides all you have to do these days is drop your head and you are bound to get a free for high contact.:rolleyes:

He'll be safe. If he ever gets back to his best, imagine him and Foley together. :eek:

Just on that, has Coughlan ever played with Foley in an AFL match?

Over-rated.
Always has been.
Trier.

He'll be safe. If he ever gets back to his best, imagine him and Foley together. :eek:

He is different to Foley. Both in and under but I much prefer the ball in Foley's hands rather than watch one of Cog's helicopter punts getting lobbed forward. Hard at it and wins it, just make sure he gives it to a Lids, Tambo or Foley when he does.

Over-rated.
Always has been.
Trier.

Right before he got OP in 2003 there were threads in the AFL forum rating him alongside a 21yo Judd (by other supporters).

He's underrated. You could call Scott West a "trier" too, we need a big strong inside mid of Coughlan's talent out there. Captain material.

Coughlan has the mental strength to get back to his best. If anyone can come back from 2 knee recos and be in the shape of his career it is Coughlan, he is a machine and is one of our few players who has been elite. He used to be as good as or better than what Sam Mitchell is now, and Mitchell is a gun even if he doesn't have awesome pace and kick long goals.

of course hes safe next season. The club will give him every opportunity to get back into it...whether he can is another story. Its not just the 2 knee recos, he also missed large chunks of footy due to OP. Its hard to pick up the pace of the game again when you miss so much footy..

he is safe but its pretty funny everybody talking about him as some sort of saviour when their are massive question marks on him getting back to any decent footy

I agree.

It's almost like looking backwards.

Would have to say it is not a question of him being safe but rather a question of whether he can get back to being the player he once was touted as being. 2 Reco's take a lot out of a player and although he may have the desire to come back and pick up where he left off it is going to be at least a season before he is even close to it.

this thread is pretty silly. delete it and stick it back in here this time next year.

yes 18 times.

First 12 rounds last year and rounds 10,17, 19 - 21 in 2005

i cant believe people are saying hes overated...

he was ranked first in 2003 for average disposals of the rising stars,

over the likes of judd & hodge.

also is the best tackler on our list by a mile

Fit he was a pretty good player.

Two knee recos, ankle problems, OP? Foley's emergence?

Unlikely to play this year and out of contract....hmmmm.

Trade him for what you can get or one year performance based contract at the absolute most.

of course hes safe next season. The club will give him every opportunity to get back into it...whether he can is another story. Its not just the 2 knee recos, he also missed large chunks of footy due to OP. Its hard to pick up the pace of the game again when you miss so much footy..

Why is he safe?
He's currently a massive liability until he proves otherwise.
One reco sure but two and his history of other injury problems?

I think we should cut our losses and free up another spot on the list or look to trade Cogs back home.
The old Cogs is history.

We must take the emotion out of these decisions.
It's extremely unlikely he'll get back to ever being close to the player that won the JDM.

Fit he was a pretty good player.

Two knee recos, ankle problems, OP? Foley's emergence?

Unlikely to play this year and out of contract....hmmmm.

Trade him for what you can get or one year performance based contract at the absolute most.

Wouldn't trade him (wouldn't get anything), but at this stage he's a year to year proposition. Love his sense of club, pretty good insider at his best (kicking lets him down), so safe for now, but chances are he will struggle to regain the level required.

Why is he safe?
He's currently a massive liability until he proves otherwise.
One reco sure but two and his history of other injury problems?

I think we should cut our losses and free up another spot on the list or look to trade Cogs back home.
The old Cogs is history.

We must take the emotion out of these decisions.
It's extremely unlikely he'll get back to ever being close to the player that won the JDM.

mate,

theres a time and place to be ruthless

this isnt one of them.....

at his age we can afford to give him another year on the list to see if he can get back. He was apparently ready to throw in the towel earlier this year but the club talked him out of it, so he goes through hellish rehab again only to be cut at seasons end? comeon..

mate,

theres a time and place to be ruthless

this isnt one of them.....

at his age we can afford to give him another year on the list to see if he can get back. He was apparently ready to throw in the towel earlier this year but the club talked him out of it, so he goes through hellish rehab again only to be cut at seasons end? comeon..

As I said in the earlier post, if that's the case 1 year maximum and then evaluate him