Is Cricket 'DEAD' Thread

I'm not suggesting our bowling attack is much chop, but apart from Anderson for the most part and Siddle and Finn during their bursts, the pitch made everyone look pedestrian.

I wouldn't be too critical of Hilf at this stage. I don't think there is anything wrong with not having a huge bag of tricks if you swing the new ball away from the right handers, straighten the odd one off the seam and can bowl a good line and length when it's not swinging. His pace in my mind is deceptive. He looks slow because of his not so fluent run up, but is actually pretty strong through the crease. Very similar bowler to Harris. My question would be who is the more consistent bowler when the ball isn't swinging.

As for Doherty. To say he was tidy on that pitch is all you can ask from any spinner. Swann was pretty much the same and he's regarded as one of the better ones going around at the moment. His true test will be how he bowls on a pitch with some faster bounce or a proper wearing pitch. If he can attack and be dangerous, then he will have proven himself to be a better option than Hauritz. (I'm really interested to see how Holland develops... he reminds me a lot of Vettori and could be our best long term prospect, but still a long way to go). I also don't think we should focus on Doherty's career stats... his current season stats are the ones to take note of... he's the best performed spinner in the country this season and was picked on merit which I applaud.

Swann is the 2nd best bowler in the world at the moment strangely enough, lets see how he goes. Doherty looked ok, but will never take a bag. Warnie should give up the microfone and tweek some spin magic.

Our key issue is our batting.

Katich is solid, but will not 'threaten' bowlers.

Watson looks ok, but not great.

Ponting has been inconsistent for a long while.

Clarke for me is also inconsistent, I believe he is so overrated.

Hussey, came up with the goods otherwise....dropped

North, should be dropped.

That is a very poor batting order.

I have not been following cricket closely of late. But, where is Phillip Hughes. He needs to be in our side for the future.

Swann is the 2nd best bowler in the world at the moment strangely enough, lets see how he goes. Doherty looked ok, but will never take a bag. Warnie should give up the microfone and tweek some spin magic.

Our key issue is our batting.

Katich is solid, but will not 'threaten' bowlers.

Watson looks ok, but not great.

Ponting has been inconsistent for a long while.

Clarke for me is also inconsistent, I believe he is so overrated.

Hussey, came up with the goods otherwise....dropped

North, should be dropped.

That is a very poor batting order.

I have not been following cricket closely of late. But, where is Phillip Hughes. He needs to be in our side for the future.

Agree the batting is a worry. The only questionable selection going into the game was North. Hussey and Clarke had both made runs in the lead up games so had done all that could be asked. Hussey carried that form which was great (albeit on a flat track), but Clarke, as stated earlier in this thread, is clearly troubled by his back. It seems that's where his inconsistency comes from which is a huge worry.

North was only saved by the failure in the tour game of Khawaja and Ferguson. Surely he has used up his final credit.

Katich - solid... yes, which isn't a bad thing for an opener. I reckon he will have a good series.

Watson needs to bat 6, but we don't have anyone knocking the door down. Hughes has been showing some form, but really needs to put together some big big scores to warrant another go. Everyone thinks he's been hard done by, but I reckon the Poms really worked him out last time to the extent that he was an easy wicket. The domestic bowlers cottoned on too last season and his stats showed that up. That's why I think he needs to show those big numbers to prove he's expanded his game.

Ponting, inconsistent by his standards, but still our best batsman by a long long long long way.

North was only saved by the failure in the tour game of Khawaja and Ferguson. Surely he has used up his final credit.

No changes to the squad of batsmen. So North gets another test - which to me, is beyond belief. His bowling must be the only thing saving him.

I'd suggest the selectors believe the experienced players are the ones most likely to win us back the Ashes, as younger players such as Khawaja, Ferguson and Smith will take time to develop into test standard players.

After the Ashes I think you will see some changes.

Watson does need to bat at 6. There's a line of thinking that it would also help his bowling too.

what's your take on Mitch, Langers? He looks like he's on Valium or something. There's no fire. Cousin Jedd was saying yesterday that he's bowled like 1300 overs in 3 years. Not sure if that has anything to do with it.

Re spinners: Holland does look promising. I agree with the tenor of your post re picking the best players, but I'm still not convinced by Doherty. I haven't seen much of him before, and yes it was a road, but his bowling looks tidy and not much more. I actually thought North bowled quite well... seriously.

Agree re batting line-up. Katich is fine opening, but I'd want Watson at 6.

A questions: what do you think of the idea (not the practicality) of Ponting p,laying at 5 or 6?

One more thing: the Muslim kid can really bat. I've seen him a couple of times, plus the guy at work reckons he's the best batting prospect since Clarke.

Watson does need to bat at 6. There's a line of thinking that it would also help his bowling too.

I think its a misconception this.

He has a body like Bruce Rude and can break down at the drop of a hat.

Moving him to the middle order will do nothing to mask this.

I think the openers are our best pairing at the moment.

Don't tinker with the only thing thats working...

Watson's physical preparation and fitness program has changed markedly in the last couple of years. Gone are the days of him being a gym rat, and building up to ridiculous proportions, he's concentrating much more on core fitness and flexibility and, fingers crossed, the results are plain to see. Much prefer they rest him from the stupid cricket, myself.

The plain fact is we don't have another opener ready to step in so they are our best pairing for now. But being a perfect world I'd shoot him to six the first chance I got. He's perfect for that position.

I think its a misconception this.

He has a body like Bruce Rude and can break down at the drop of a hat.

Moving him to the middle order will do nothing to mask this.

I think the openers are our best pairing at the moment.

Don't tinker with the only thing thats working...

They are doing well, to a degree. Lots of 50's but not enough 100's. Trouble is they often get out at a similar time.

So while 0/70 is a great start, 2/75 not long after puts alot of pressure on the middle order.

what's your take on Mitch, Langers? He looks like he's on Valium or something. There's no fire. Cousin Jedd was saying yesterday that he's bowled like 1300 overs in 3 years. Not sure if that has anything to do with it.

Re spinners: Holland does look promising. I agree with the tenor of your post re picking the best players, but I'm still not convinced by Doherty. I haven't seen much of him before, and yes it was a road, but his bowling looks tidy and not much more. I actually thought North bowled quite well... seriously.

Agree re batting line-up. Katich is fine opening, but I'd want Watson at 6.

A questions: what do you think of the idea (not the practicality) of Ponting p,laying at 5 or 6?

One more thing: the Muslim kid can really bat. I've seen him a couple of times, plus the guy at work reckons he's the best batting prospect since Clarke.

Mitchell is a hack... no seriously, that's a bit strong, but he lost me during that last Ashes debacle. We pick him because he might bowl a good spell and he might get a test hundred. That completely ignores the languid performances he puts in between time. If he is as good as they think he is, he should be taking the new pill and wreaking havoc on the first morning of a test, not waiting for a minefield to terrorise the Boars. Instead they're afraid he'll cut up the ball for the other bowlers and give the openers a sighter... go figure??

Having said that, he showed good domestic form leading in, so I wasn't up in arms over his selection, but for the most part his performance with bat and ball was well below par.

As for Ponting at 5 or 6... makes sense, but the selectors are painting themselves into a corner there. They really need to bring Khawaja and or Ferguson into the team, let them gain some confidence at test level batting at 5 and progress into the top 4. My fear is that they'll wait until the series is dead AGAIN as Rev08 alludes to.

The thing with Doherty is that I think it's just too early to form a judgement. Yes, North bowled well, but Doherty didn't bowl badly and you have to remember it was his first test. I like his combative nature and based on current form, he's the best we have to offer.

As for Ponting at 5 or 6... makes sense, but the selectors are painting themselves into a corner there. They really need to bring Khawaja and or Ferguson into the team, let them gain some confidence at test level batting at 5 and progress into the top 4. My fear is that they'll wait until the series is dead AGAIN as Rev08 alludes to.

Yes, I think you're right on both counts there. They need to blood a batsman, just don't think they have the appetite for it now. And then, yes, after the series is lost will bring in one of the young players. Khawaja is very impressive. I also like the look of how Fergusson too. Pity we don't have that elusive young opener, hey?

The thing with Doherty is that I think it's just too early to form a judgement. Yes, North bowled well, but Doherty didn't bowl badly and you have to remember it was his first test. I like his combative nature and based on current form, he's the best we have to offer.

My comment was a little disingenuous. One of the apologies about North, much like what you pointed out with Mitch, is that he gives us depth with the ball as well as being a number I'd prefer he got no wickets and just got more runs on a consistent basis.

One of the apologies about North, much like what you pointed out with Mitch, is that he gives us depth with the ball as well as being a number I'd prefer he got no wickets and just got more runs on a consistent basis.
no doubt North is inconsistent
here are his scores for the last 5 tests (against NZ, India & England):
against NZ: 112, 9, 90,
India: 0, 10, 128, 3,
England: 1

so it's a big score or nothing. but not sure if you can drop a batsman who averages 45 runs over the past 5 tests, esp when there's no walk-up start to replace him. but is def on very shaky ground.
Really need Hughes or Jacques back in form, as it'd be much better to have Watson batting down the order. Not that he's done anything wrong opening the batting, but would be a big luxury to have him come in at 6 or 7 to either save our innings or demoralise the opposition, as Gilchrist so often did.

Used to train with Hilditch and he was a selfish cricketer obsessed with how he looked and batting for time not runs. get rid of him. Ponting is an average at best captain so drop him from there but let him bat. Make Katich captain in the short term. Get rid of Clarke until fit, flick North and Doherty as we need wicket takers. Tell Johnson to get stuffed and Hilfy just is out of form or just poor

2nd test

Watson
Katich (c)
Ponting
Kuwaja
Ferguson
Smith
Tassie bloke that bowls offies that actually turn
Haddin
Bollinger
Siddle
Harris

Can't go any worse and who knows there enthusiasm might take them pretty close. Have a go at least

Used to train with Hilditch and he was a selfish cricketer obsessed with how he looked and batting for time not runs. get rid of him.
So you played at Sutherland? I used to know a few blokes who turned out for them.

Long time ago obviously and only a few lower grade games. Hilditch used to use our park cricket club nets to do extras and he was very keen for us to bowl to him but not so keen to bowl back to us or his mate from Sutherland. Mind you he was almost impossible to get out and even beating the bat was a big celebration.

The second test is starting tmw, lets see how the aussies respond, hopefully with a change in the frontline bowlers and drop north.

Now, wanted to draw your attention to a player I have been watching for 2 years and who has just made his debut.

His name is Darren Bravo, he is the step-brother of Dwayne Bravo - the WI cricketing all rounder.

Darren, is from Trinidad and plays exactly like Brian Lara, and has been touted as the next Brian Lara. He is 21 years old and just made his debut last week, his profile is below

http://www.espncricinfo.com/sri-lanka-v-west-indies-2010/content/current/player/277472.html

He could provide some much needed spice for WI cricket. I still can't believe they have not chosen Kieren Pollard to play a test match.

I know there have been many players in the WI with talent, but this guy is different, he is a superstar and will be the next Lara / Tendulkar, mark my words. If you want to see him play, swith on Fox Sports 3 this evening, he is 63 not out, you will think you are watching brian lara.

The second test is starting tmw, lets see how the aussies respond, hopefully with a change in the frontline bowlers and drop north.

Now, wanted to draw your attention to a player I have been watching for 2 years and who has just made his debut.

His name is Darren Bravo, he is the step-brother of Dwayne Bravo - the WI cricketing all rounder.

Darren, is from Trinidad and plays exactly like Brian Lara, and has been touted as the next Brian Lara. He is 21 years old and just made his debut last week, his profile is below

http://www.espncricinfo.com/sri-lanka-v-west-indies-2010/content/current/player/277472.html

He could provide some much needed spice for WI cricket. I still can't believe they have not chosen Kieren Pollard to play a test match.

I know there have been many players in the WI with talent, but this guy is different, he is a superstar and will be the next Lara / Tendulkar, mark my words. If you want to see him play, swith on Fox Sports 3 this evening, he is 63 not out, you will think you are watching brian lara.

Before I hit the hay last night I did a quick scan of the Fox Sports offerings and caught a couple of overs. I didn't see much of him, but I did do a double take thinking there was a rain delay and they had hit the archives. He carries himself very much in the way Lara did. I'll follow him closely now GH. If he's anywhere near as good as Lara was, we're in for a treat.

Haurtiz got 5... he'll be back in that side soon enough.

Anyone care to crystal ball tomorrow?

A diamond duck! you got to be effin kidding me.
only one stump to throw at too.
and now ponting's gone!
2/0!
holy crap.

Katich run out without facing a ball...now Ponting out first ball....what a bloody disaster.

Fills me with dread.

Screams of not being mentally prepared for the start of the match. Is the team too unsettled by the speculation around who was in and who was out?
can't remember a more disastrous start to a test match for us.
two of our best batsmen too.

Truly horrible.

Couldn't judge how Ricky Ponting was batting 'cause he was out too quick. But Pup looked truly crap.