Is Fitzroy dead?

• Thread starter Thread starter Old Roy

Old Roy

Draftee
I wonder if we have to accept that the club is terminated?
There seems to be a growing recognition that the VFL has a place in football, also that a promotion-relegation system could be introduced.
I'd like to see Fitzroy become a VFL side in its own right (I didn't like Coburg-Fitzroy), perhaps instead of Preston, or maybe Tasmania or the Murray Kangaroos.
The AFL should introduce a structure where the VFL premier plays the SANFL premier each year for a place in the league. The bottom AFL team should be relegated.
This should happen within 10 years or the Fitzroy memory (and barrackers) will be diminished.

Anybody who saw the Reds play on Saturday knows Fitzroy's not dead. OK, it's not the AFL, the VFL or even first grade VAFA. But it's something, and something is better than nothing. I challenge any Fitzroy person who thinks Fitzroy's dead to come to Brunswick Street on Saturday, and not be excited when you see the FFC gold monogram. Fair dinkum, it's bonza!

Cheers,
FitzroyRamone

I think you're asking two questions here, Old Roy.

Firstly, the question over whether or not Fitzroy could, or would, field its own VFL side within the next few years has been a topic of discussion on this board before.

It is certainly something worth considering - I'm sure a stand-alone Fitzroy side in the VFL would be welcomed by a large number of Fitzroy/Lions supporters, and the team would gather quite a reasonable following.

However, from what I have heard, and read (just generally mind you - I'm no press release!), the Fitzroy FC doesn't have sufficient funds at this stage to consider such a venture. I think if they did have such money, they would have bought out Coburg entirely, rather than just form a "partnership with them".

As to the question of whether Fitzroy is dead or not - the answer is certainly NO! Just the existence of boards like this prove that people, individuals, supporters, still support the Fitzroy FC. People are still interested.

The fact that the club still exists, also allows for Fitzroy teams to be formed by the same club that had our team in the VFL/AFL, for 100 seasons.

You also have the Fitzroy Foundation, which carries on a similar role.

Both the Fitzroy FC and the Foundation are about maintaining Fitzroy's heritage and history, as well as providing some scope for future involvements, and continuity of what the club is all about (not just what it 'used' to be).

Similarly, I think that we as supporters at least support the memory of Fitzroy, as well as the future of what the club can achieve.

True, perhaps Fitzroy in the way we knew it, up until 1996 is 'dead'. However, Fitzroy as a club, what I supported, certainly to me, is not dead. The 'way' in which I supported it, possibly is dead and gone (we'll never have another AFL side), but I'm sure we all supported much more than just Fitzroy as an AFL side. We supported not only the players and the team, but also the club, the history and traditions, the colours, the name, and the dreaming of our supporters. As far as I can see, these things have not died out (we can see that by this very board!). The way in which we support the Roys has certainly changed (just as the players and teams have changed), but we definitely still support them, and for those who do, Fitzroy is not dead!

CARN THE ROYS!!!

[This message has been edited by Olmy (edited 26 April 2001).]

Thanks again Olmy. I like your style. You're obviously not a lawyer or stockbroker. I reckon you're probably a tram driver or plumber. If you played footy you were probably a backman. You go straight ahead, no nonsense.
My point is that most supporters need something beyond the Amateurs to satisfy their thirst for the game. A VFL team is a step in that direction. Country and interstate fans can't get excited about the Reds.

'Country and interstate fans can't get excited about the Reds.[/B][/QUOTE]

The Redz do it for me :-) A VFL as opposed to a VAFA team makes no difference to me as an interstate fan as we don't hear about either league in any form in Adelaide, and never will. Just the fact the Reds exist is good enough for me........

Originally posted by Old Roy:
If you played footy you were probably a backman. You go straight ahead, no nonsense.

I did play CHB at times. I guess in most of the teams I played in, I was pretty much the spare parts man. Got a run in most positions on the ground. If I had a good game, everyone would be loving it, yet, if I had a shocker, I'd be one of the ones everyone blamed for getting pumped.
frown.gif

My best days were on the forward flank though. I had good skills, and could kick a goal from anywhere, but I didn't have the concentration required to win the ball as much as what I should have.

I still wouldn't mind lining up for the Reds at some time in the future (not this year though). I'm pretty fit at the moment, but need to get back into touch with the ball skills again . . .

The way they're going though, I might only get a spot in the 2's!

Right on 100% Olmy.

Fitzroy and the Lions are alive and well in the hearts of many like you and me. Proof is that I stumbled across this web-site while surfing through the web-site of the Fitzroy Reds and when I found this section on Fitzroy...WELL!!!!...it's like visiting the Brunswick Street Oval except you can't smell the grass under your feet.

So by joining and visiting this web-site, we are help to perpetuate and grow the voice of the Fitzroy faithful.

Cheers Lionhearts!!

Welcome BoneyMarooney.

My theory is that no-one & no thing ever really dies, as long as people keep thinking about them. Thoughts exist, just as physical matter exists. The more people think about Fitzroy, the more Fitzroy exists. :cool:

Fat Pizza said:
Welcome BoneyMarooney.

My theory is that no-one & no thing ever really dies, as long as people keep thinking about them. Thoughts exist, just as physical matter exists. The more people think about Fitzroy, the more Fitzroy exists. :cool:
Like "Radar Love" Fat Pizza; like "Radar Love"..."remember that forgotten song" by Golden Earring? "memories, comin' on strong"...

If you guys think fitzroy could have A VFL team than you had better start orginising it. It's not just going to happen by talking about it. Why dont you set up a meeting and get your contacts with money and annoy thrm to they give you some to make you go away. Cause like has been said if you wait much longer the memory will fade from the younger supporters and die with the older ones.

Half Back Flanker said:
the memory will fade from the younger supporters and die with the older ones.
Very true, and it's something that concerns me as the years pass. We're now 9 years into the afterlife, and children who were babies or just being born in 1996 have little idea about our club! Only what their parents tell them, or for the lucky ones, being taken along to see the Reds play and seeing first hand.

Fitzroy lives on in my mind and my heart, and in those of all of us who were privileged enough to follow the club......but once our hearts and minds give up then there isn't much left!! I've been educating the Queenslanders I've met up here, they ask who I follow in the AFL and I say Fitzroy and most have no idea about the Roys except that they are something to do with the Brissy Lions. And that's the thing, the key is sharing our memories and what's in our hearts, so that others will take the spirit into their own hearts......in a smaller way, but it still keeps the spirit alive. :)