Is it time for another SCG upgrade or a Perth stadium like stadium built in Sydney

Stadium is fine it's lovely to see a stadium like it is. No need for an upgrade for what is it maybe 15-20 games a year when there have been constant upgrades as it is. There is no justification for a larger capacity either it would never be at capacity other than an Ashes or an Indian test, that's it

The SCG is a deformed oval shape.
IMG_1830.jpeg

It is also on the shorter and wider scale of AFL Stadiums.
IMG_1831.jpeg

Perhaps the next redevelopment of the Churchill Stand (1986) and Brewongle Stand (1980) can:
  • re-orientate the field a few degrees;
  • lengthen the playing surface;
  • divert Driver Avenue to curve around the redeveloped stand for more space;
  • provide more and better spectator facilities behind the seats, such as catering and bathrooms;
  • boost capacity to just over 50,000;
  • include a video screen on the top level in the pocket opposite the current video screen, to be seen by those opposite.
IMG_1828.jpeg

Then a future redevelopment of the O’Reily Stand (1984) can lift the existing video to the top level, lift capacity to 60,000, and again improve spectator facilities.

I don’t think you realise just how hard it is to approve any developments there kranger

First and foremost the SCG Trust and its members have a say, I know I get these things in the mail all the time usually refrain from voting only one I voted on was a few years ago when they asked about drop in wickets I voted no.

Then you want to increase capacity to up to 60,000? What matches in Sydney bar an Ashes test or and Indian series or maybe a final for the Swans is getting near that figure? The capacity is about right now maybe 5k more ideally but it’s in the ball park. The facilities have been upgraded by the way they are very good

The SCG is a deformed oval shape.
View attachment 2323211

It is also on the shorter and wider scale of AFL Stadiums.
View attachment 2323214

Perhaps the next redevelopment of the Churchill Stand (1986) and Brewongle Stand (1980) can:
  • re-orientate the field a few degrees;
  • lengthen the playing surface;
  • divert Driver Avenue to curve around the redeveloped stand for more space;
  • provide more and better spectator facilities behind the seats, such as catering and bathrooms;
  • boost capacity to just over 50,000;
  • include a video screen on the top level in the pocket opposite the current video screen, to be seen by those opposite.
View attachment 2323215

Then a future redevelopment of the O’Reily Stand (1984) can lift the existing video to the top level, lift capacity to 60,000, and again improve spectator facilities.
Exactly what needs to happen, great idea

No chance whatsoever there needs to be demand across all events for this bigger size ground- there just isn’t. Bar the Ashes test (once in 4 years) an Indian test (whatever that is once in 3 years), where are the games that require an increase, a final or two from the Swans won’t cut it.

Yeah gotta get it to 60k, allow room to grow, as long as the average attendance is over 30k which it is even in poor seasons, then it will still look decent.

Will sellout for finals and big cricket games. More people show up when they know they are guaranteed a seat.

The facilities have been upgraded by the way they are very good

Interesting, the experts seem to say otherwise…
SCG Masterplan confirmed for 2025

”The O’Reilly, Brewongle, and Clive Churchill Stands at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG), built in the early 1980s, have been identified as outdated and struggling to meet modern safety and amenity standards. This reality was starkly highlighted on 17 January 2025, when a piece of the O’Reilly Stand roof dislodged during a storm, forcing an evacuation. have exposed congestion in concourses, long queues for food and beverages, and insufficient amenities.”

If there is going to be a Masterplan, then upgrades should consider all things.

Interesting, the experts seem to say otherwise…

If there is going to be a Masterplan, then upgrades should consider all things.

What experts there is no way that you are getting more than 10k extra not a hope

Yeah gotta get it to 60k, allow room to grow, as long as the average attendance is over 30k which it is even in poor seasons, then it will still look decent.

Will sellout for finals and big cricket games. More people show up when they know they are guaranteed a seat.

Tell us what cricket games are 50k plus it is completely unrealistic

First day of the test, maybe a big one day game against India. Once those stands are redone there is nowhere further to go, so it needs to hit 60 for growth. Plus you don't need to sellout often. Like I said the more capacity often it encourages more attendees to show up on the day.

Not going to happen, only match is an Ashes or an India series. I e aren’t spending millions on an upgrade

The swans have the capability of pulling in on average an extra 10k. New flash upgrades will help. The have done it in the past with anz

Might but won’t. The capacity is fine that’s the one thing that doesn’t need to change and the members won’t vote for a waste of money. All for improvement in the faculties inside though but that’s been done recently. They aren’t scheduling a rebuild for a Hail Mary on “they might need the capacity”. There needs to be certainty and there isn’t it’s not like it’s Collingwood playing there every weekend

It's the worst state capital stadium in Australia. It's a miss mash of stands, all different to the other.
The issue is the heritage listed stands which can't be replaced or upgraded.
Not sure they can do anything with it at this point.

It's the worst state capital stadium in Australia. It's a miss mash of stands, all different to the other.
The issue is the heritage listed stands which can't be replaced or upgraded.
Not sure they can do anything with it at this point.

There's no demand for it being changed, when there's demand maybe. Lets put it this way over or under how many games would get 50k plus at the SCG (if it's more than 1-2 per year I'd be shocked)? Bar a Pies game and the India/England cricket I'm not seeing this 50k demand. I'm a member of the stadium and I can could on two hands the times we may have needed more seats. We compare that to Parramatta Stadium where there was a massive demand and as a resyult there was a rebuild done.

We compare that to Parramatta Stadium where there was a massive demand and as a resyult there was a rebuild done.

A massive demand for Parramatta stadium which sits half empty for most nrl games, similar to the Sydney football stadium. The scg is near full each time, yet doesn't demand an upgrade?

The plan is for all those sides to start using Parra they have already started to, just quite a few have obligations, and Parra stadium is multi purpose. That was half the point in doing that rebuild

Near full is pushing it, I'm a member I sort of know what capacity is. As I said the cricket tests especially England/India yep but they are every two years so they aren't every year. The Pies game yeah, possibly a derby. That's it. Literally full is not 40K, its 48k.

Go on tell me what games you can GUARANTEE get more than a 45k figure, that's what they would be basing it off and members having to foot the bill yeah good luck we aint gunna agree on that one, already paid for the renos lately

There's no demand for it being changed, when there's demand maybe. Lets put it this way over or under how many games would get 50k plus at the SCG (if it's more than 1-2 per year I'd be shocked)? Bar a Pies game and the India/England cricket I'm not seeing this 50k demand. I'm a member of the stadium and I can could on two hands the times we may have needed more seats. We compare that to Parramatta Stadium where there was a massive demand and as a resyult there was a rebuild done.
That's a flawed logic. In the last year of football at AAMI stadium the average crowd was only 30,000, compared to its capacity of over 51,000.
If you were just going on the attendance number to judge wether there was a need for a new stadium, AO would never have got built.

Prior to Optus being built in WA, the average crowd to a WC or Freo home games was in the mid 30s, while it had a capacity of over 40k.

Building a new stadium always results in an uptick of supporters, as the amenities are way better, the viewing angles are better, and its a more enjoyable time.

Build it and they will come.

The plan is for all those sides to start using Parra they have already started to, just quite a few have obligations, and Parra stadium is multi purpose. That was half the point in doing that rebuild

Near full is pushing it, I'm a member I sort of know what capacity is. As I said the cricket tests especially England/India yep but they are every two years so they aren't every year. The Pies game yeah, possibly a derby. That's it. Literally full is not 40K, its 48k.

Go on tell me what games you can GUARANTEE get more than a 45k figure, that's what they would be basing it off and members having to foot the bill yeah good luck we aint gunna agree on that one, already paid for the renos lately

You know marvel is regularly sold out and doesn't get more than 40 to 45k yeah? It's called reserved seat memberships. My mate is an scg member and had plenty of games where he couldn't get in during footy season or had to sit up the back, very top row.

I don't get how a swans fan wouldn't want their own old and run down stadium redeveloped, but then is more than happy for Parramatta and sfs to be built with barely any crowds attending.

You know marvel is regularly sold out and doesn't get more than 40 to 45k yeah? It's called reserved seat memberships. My mate is an scg member and had plenty of games where he couldn't get in during footy season or had to sit up the back, very top row.

I don't get how a swans fan wouldn't want their own old and run down stadium redeveloped, but then is more than happy for Parramatta and sfs to be built with barely any crowds attending.

The name of the stadium says it all there is no point changing it, and especially not when members have to pay for it we copped increases last time and fine the actual facilities needed an upgrade. What we do not need is more capacity bar the two cricket series that I’ve said there’s zero demand. There’s no way Sydney are going to suddenly average near 50k in the Sydney market. If the afl want to PAY for it then I’d be open (didn’t say agree) for it but members won’t cop it we already cop near $1200 a year why would we pay more. They have an amazing ability to charge us for more despite it not being needed.

That's a flawed logic. In the last year of football at AAMI stadium the average crowd was only 30,000, compared to its capacity of over 51,000.
If you were just going on the attendance number to judge wether there was a need for a new stadium, AO would never have got built.

Prior to Optus being built in WA, the average crowd to a WC or Freo home games was in the mid 30s, while it had a capacity of over 40k.

Building a new stadium always results in an uptick of supporters, as the amenities are way better, the viewing angles are better, and its a more enjoyable time.

Build it and they will come.

You are comparing apples and oranges especially Perth there was a need for it there the membership waiting list alone there it was worth it. Adelaide at least were developing it for two sides that needed it and could demand it.

There’s no need for it in NSW when the primary sport isn’t AFL it’s just not whether we like to say it or not and won’t be in our lifetime. So you are wanting to upgrade a stadium which by the way I know what you want- the rubbish drop in wickets that members do not want. This is just a back door way to getting that if you guarantee this is not going to wreck the wickets maybe.

The name of the stadium says it all there is no point changing it, and especially not when members have to pay for it we copped increases last time and fine the actual facilities needed an upgrade. What we do not need is more capacity bar the two cricket series that I’ve said there’s zero demand. There’s no way Sydney are going to suddenly average near 50k in the Sydney market. If the afl want to PAY for it then I’d be open (didn’t say agree) for it but members won’t cop it we already cop near $1200 a year why would we pay more. They have an amazing ability to charge us for more despite it not being needed.

The government should fully fund it like they did all the NRL stadiums. Sorry I'm just staggered you don't want an upgraded stadium your club can grow into with amazing facilities and a better veiwing experience that would help grow the swans and the game in Sydney. Boggles the mind. You're like these tassie footy fans that don't want the Macquarie point stadium and can't figure out why it's needed, to have a viable club and to have a club at all!

There it is let’s just upgrade it for the sake of it, what’s to bet you want some absolutely putrid drop in wickets that are woeful too. Heritage means something for the SCG whether you like it or not. Why do I need it to be upgraded the Pavilion and members area gets constant upkeep and Reno’s. That’s enough.

The viewing experience is fantastic right now, there’s more bars there’s more food facilities not that I eat when I’m there.

There hasn’t to be Demand for this upgrade maybe there will in a decade but right now. There’s more important things in NSW funding stadiums that don’t need to be upgraded in the first place…and if you think the money that the government “spend” don’t come back to members somehow..

When it comes to upgrades for the SCG, what about a big screen in the southwestern corner, for all the fans in the northern and eastern stands…

Is it time for another SCG upgrade or a Perth stadium like stadium built in Sydney