Is it time for another SCG upgrade or a Perth stadium like stadium built in Sydney

When it comes to upgrades for the SCG, what about a big screen in the southwestern corner, for all the fans in the northern and eastern stands…

And put it where? You are taking out seats that you can see too. Don’t need more restricted view seats

The SCG sucks, the worst located AFL ground in the country getting regular use for public transport users. It has so many poor viewing angles for AFL and it’s a mish mash of shit buildings and upgrades. Every game I have been to there I want to punch my eyeballs out either on the way in, or on the way home.

The government should fully fund it like they did all the NRL stadiums. Sorry I'm just staggered you don't want an upgraded stadium your club can grow into with amazing facilities and a better veiwing experience that would help grow the swans and the game in Sydney. Boggles the mind. You're like these tassie footy fans that don't want the Macquarie point stadium and can't figure out why it's needed, to have a viable club and to have a club at all!

He is not a Swans supporter, he is one of your own.

And put it where? You are taking out seats that you can see too. Don’t need more restricted view seats

Losing seats in the Brewongle and Churchill stands for a video screen is just one reason to redevelop the O’Reilly Stand with a larger capacity.

The O’Reilly Stand is in the prime viewing position on the wing for Aussie Rules games. As is the Ladies Pavillion. And yet these stands have so few seating.

The SCG has the majority of seating behind the goals, which is not the preferred viewing position for Aussie Rules.

I note that the location of the majority of seating is the prime location for Cricket, and the SCG originated as a cricket field.

But Aussie Rules is the largest tenant at the SCG, and more seating in the prime viewing position should be contemplated. More seating in the prime viewing position that can be sold at a higher price than elsewhere at the SCG, increases revenue to the Swans.

If you don’t see the need to replace the Brewongle and Churchill stands anytime soon, that’s cool, put the focus on the O’Reilly Stand.

Brewongle is where the media is located, and they are starting to complain loudly about the facilities, so don't see how it's not part of the next stage of redevelopment.

i don't see the cost/benefit in doing that but the capacity of the SCG should/could being increased modestly.
Unfortunately NSW governments balk at Perth-style multi-purpose stadium which would have been
perfect for Homebush and Parramatta.

The ground surface is a disgrace and needs major immediate fixing. … and most of the stands are antiquated and should be bulldozed.

The SCG was once a grand ground back in the day but has mostly failed to develop and progress with the times. As a result, without major redevelopment by 2032, when the new Brisbane stadium comes on line, it will surely lose the right to host the top drawing Ashes and India Test matches to interstate and be relegated to minor tests status.

The ground surface is a disgrace and needs major immediate fixing. … and most of the stands are antiquated and should be bulldozed.

Add to the fact that all the stands are different design and don't flow with viewing restrictions because they were added add hoc.

The SCG was once a grand ground back in the day

It may have been a grand cricket ground but never a grand football stadium much like the WACA.
but has mostly failed to develop and progress with the times.

That was because Australian Football was banned from enclosed stadiums and the synergy with cricket didn't develop.
When that ban was removed Australian Football developed their own ground at Erskineville.
The Olympics torpedoed SCG development to "protect" the Olympic stadium.
At the same time, politics intervened to waste $billions on insignificant rectangular stadiums.

As a result, without major redevelopment by 2032, when the new Brisbane stadium comes on line, it will surely lose the right to host the top drawing Ashes and India Test matches to interstate and be relegated to minor tests status.

Has cricket lost it's attraction as New Zealand doesn't have a decent cricket stadium as well ?

For the major capital city in the country to have one of the worse AFL, and Cricket, stadiums is silly.

The problem is half of it is heritage listed stands that they can't tear down, and they have hodge podged new stands here and there around them.

SCG can be upgraded to a 55-60k capacity. Playing anywhere else for the swans would be a step backwards.

Depending on the demolition schedule as the last two stands built started works after the cricket season, the Swans would have to relocate some games to Accor (max 3 depending on the fixture) to give the workers time to bulldoze either the Brewongle-Churchill or O'Reilly Stands. Plus some finals might have to be moved due to reduced capacity. The former of the stands would make a temporary relocation necessary for some games as the Brewongle-Churchill is home to the main media facilities and Swans change rooms (they can set up temporary rooms behind the Member's Pavilion and use the rooms there too)

SCG can be upgraded to a 55-60k capacity.

The trouble with the SCG was it developed add hoc with no plan for the future as the ground capacity
was limited to 38k so as not to overshadow Olympic stadium.
I really really hate the latest rendition.
WTF would the next stadium look like to remotely fit in.
Playing anywhere else for the Swans would be a step backwards.

Swans did play at Homebush because of the higher capacity.
I reckon a decent stadium at North Sydney would be good but it's never going to happen.

The trouble with the SCG was it developed add hoc with no plan for the future as the ground capacity
was limited to 38k so as not to overshadow Olympic stadium.
I really really hate the latest rendition.
WTF would the next stadium look like to remotely fit in.

Swans did play at Homebush because of the higher capacity.
I reckon a decent stadium at North Sydney would be good but it's never going to happen.
when we last played at accor the crowds dwindled and we stopped playing there. It’s a terrible venue to get to. People complaining that the scg is hard to get to.. it’s a dream location compared to Accor.

Not only that it’s not a great ground for afl, and even worse ground for rectangular sports. Multipurpose venues like that are the way of the dinosaur.

The scg is a great located ground on the fringe of the cbd with bars nearby.

It has a classic charm to it and history. Not every ground has to be a whiz bang futuristic venue like Optus.

Just upgrade it. Have a travelling year while it gets the upgrade - move games to Accor, Showgrounds, Canberra, other regional locations, MCG.

Best outcome.

when we last played at accor the crowds dwindled and we stopped playing there.

I said "Swans did play at Homebush because of the higher capacity."
Eventually fans came to learn of it's inherent poor design.

It’s a terrible venue to get to.

For most of Sydney, Homebush is very simple to get to by train.

People complaining that the scg is hard to get to.

Much harder than Homebush to get to.

it’s a dream location compared to Accor.

For alcoholics ?

Not only that it’s not a great ground for afl, and even worse ground for rectangular sports.

Homebush, as a single bank stadium doesn't have much good viewing.

Multipurpose venues like that are the way of the dinosaur.

The rectangular sports seem to love Optus Oval.

The scg is a great located ground on the fringe of the cbd with bars nearby.

You have a strange idea of CBD fringe.

It has a classic charm to it and history.

Yes, it belongs in museum.

Not every ground has to be a whiz bang futuristic venue like Optus.

Yes, but it would extremely nice to have a whiz bang futuristic venue like Optus.
Just upgrade it.

The SCG should have been left for cricket and a decent AFL stadium built

Have a travelling year while it gets the upgrade

Return it to a cricket backwater after building something decent in the mean time.

- move games to Accor,

Not possible.now.
Showgrounds,

Would have to have immense upgrades

Canberra, other regional locations, MCG.

You realise the team is Sydney
Best outcome.

The best outcome would be that the NSW government recognise the popularity of AFL in Sydney.

The SCG just needs to redo some of their stands. It has a charm to it which most grounds have now lost in Australia.

Upgrade the Brewongle and Churchill Stands to be similar to the Bradman Stand and it will go a long way. Media can move to the corporate boxes/Steve Waugh room for a while.

3-5 games at Accor for a season isn't the worst thing in the world.

The SCG just needs to redo some of their stands.

All the SCG stands are different.
The cost benefit ratio is totally unsatisfactory.

It has a charm to it which most grounds have now lost in Australia.

The charm is in two stands only which should join their brothers at North Sydney.

Upgrade the Brewongle and Churchill Stands to be similar to the Bradman Stand and it will go a long way.

For what benefit ?

3-5 games at Accor for a season isn't the worst thing in the world.

You have absolutely NO idea of demolition and construction times.
and you have absolutely NO idea of cost/benefit ratios.

I said "Swans did play at Homebush because of the higher capacity."
Eventually fans came to learn of it's inherent poor design.

For most of Sydney, Homebush is very simple to get to by train.

Much harder than Homebush to get to.

For alcoholics ?

Homebush, as a single bank stadium doesn't have much good viewing.

The rectangular sports seem to love Optus Oval.

You have a strange idea of CBD fringe.

Yes, it belongs in museum.

Yes, but it would extremely nice to have a whiz bang futuristic venue like Optus.

The SCG should have been left for cricket and a decent AFL stadium built

Return it to a cricket backwater after building something decent in the mean time.

Not possible.now.

Would have to have immense upgrades

You realise the team is Sydney

The best outcome would be that the NSW government recognise the popularity of AFL in Sydney.
I guess everyone has their opinion but to me everything you’ve said is like from a bizarro alternate reality universe.

Most of swans supporters are east and north which the scg is perfectly located among the supporter base, unlike accor.

Rectangular sports don’t ‘love’ round stadiums, they will play there if it’s the largest available capacity venue and deal with it. Like it is in a number of states.

Do you really think the nsw government is going to build a purpose built 60k Sydney swans stadium? What about accor, Allianz, scg, CommBank, Showgrounds plus the myriad of other stadium infrastructure - they’re going to support that in perpetuity?

it’s just crazy talking. The afl is popular in Sydney but not popular enough for its own dedicated stadium, even Melbourne shares its major stadium with cricket.

I guess everyone has their opinion but to me everything you’ve said is like from a bizarro alternate reality universe.

Most of your logic is from a cricket point of view.
AFL doesn't need a quaint stadium but more over a functional stadium.
The SCG is a circle NOT an oval.

Most of swans supporters are east and north which the scg is perfectly located among the supporter base, unlike accor.

The perfect location would be Sydney CBD in that case.
Homebush stadium is in the geographical heart of heart of Sydney and is easy to get to by train.
The SCG still requires people to drive there and hence is a nightmare.
You noticed that I said the Swans played at Homebush but you didn't notice that I didn't suggest playing there.
I suggested a new stadium would be ideal. I didn't say Homebush.

Rectangular sports don’t ‘love’ round stadiums, they will play there if it’s the largest available capacity venue and deal with it. Like it is in a number of states.

I agree so there is nothing wrong will using an oval for AFL and large rectangular games.
Sydney would be much better off with a Perth style stadium than the present Olympic stadium.

Do you really think the nsw government is going to build a purpose built 60k Sydney swans stadium?

No and I don't really think the NSW government is going to build any purpose built for Australian Football.
and I don't really think the NSW government is going to build any efficient multi-purpose stadium.
I do believe the NSW government is going to do as little as possible for Australian Football..

What about accor, Allianz, scg, CommBank, Showgrounds plus the myriad of other stadium infrastructure - they’re going to support that in perpetuity?

I do believe the NSW government is going to do as little as possible for Australian Football..
and continue wasting money on various stadiums instead of consolidating like in other states.

The AFL is popular in Sydney but not popular enough for its own dedicated stadium

Well I'd argue that point as other states have dedicated stadiums dedicated to minor sports.
The AFL attracts crowds in Sydney that can be proportionally significant compared to NRL.
I am Not talking about a dedicated stadium but rather an elite stadium like Perth Stadium
that can be used for AFL, NRL, cricket, rugby and soccer.
even Melbourne shares its major stadium with cricket.

The AFL was forced to the MCG in a deal that saw the AFL owned stadium disappear.
The same as what happened in W.A. and S.A.
Regardless
I am Not talking about a dedicated stadium but rather an elite stadium like Perth Stadium
That is an efficient use of taxpayers money.

Most of your logic is from a cricket point of view.
AFL doesn't need a quaint stadium but more over a functional stadium.
The SCG is a circle NOT an oval.

The perfect location would be Sydney CBD in that case.
Homebush stadium is in the geographical heart of heart of Sydney and is easy to get to by train.
The SCG still requires people to drive there and hence is a nightmare.
You noticed that I said the Swans played at Homebush but you didn't notice that I didn't suggest playing there.
I suggested a new stadium would be ideal. I didn't say Homebush.

I agree so there is nothing wrong will using an oval for AFL and large rectangular games.
Sydney would be much better off with a Perth style stadium than the present Olympic stadium.

No and I don't really think the NSW government is going to build any purpose built for Australian Football.
and I don't really think the NSW government is going to build any efficient multi-purpose stadium.

and continue wasting money on various stadiums instead of consolidating like in other states.

Well I'd argue that point as other states have dedicated stadiums dedicated to minor sports.
The AFL attracts crowds in Sydney that can be proportionally significant compared to NRL.

The AFL was forced to the MCG in a deal that saw the AFL owned stadium disappear.
The same as what happened in W.A. and S.A.
Regardless
That is an efficient use of taxpayers money.
Yeah it will be super easy and cheap to find open land to build a 60,000 stadium in sydney CBD. Good luck with that.

Do a survey of Swans members and see if they agree with your sentiments that Homebush would be a better location to get to than the SCG. You absolutely do not need to drive to SCG, it's so convenient to get a train to Central and then hop on the light rail. It's one of the big advantages of the SCG over homebush having it closer to the city with all train lines going to Central and then immediate entertainment options in the close vicinity. People can get to it easily after work on Friday, or have a nice day/night out experience on the weekend.

There is no way that Accor will be rebuilt into another oval stadium and if it was then that would be a big FU to league and other rectangular sports that have been complaining about that for the last 20 years. it doesn't need it if the SCG is getting upgraded to 60k. You gotta remember Sydney is a diversified sport city, it can't all just cater to AFL like a Perth or Adelaide.

The best outcome for Sydney would be:
  • An upgraded 60k SCG for AFL and Cricket
  • A rebuilt rectangular Accor for League, Soccer, Union, big events at 70-80k capacity
  • Showgrounds upgrade, later down the track when GWS actually get some crowds.

Yeah it will be super easy and cheap to find open land to build a 60,000 stadium in sydney CBD. Good luck with that.

There are options and who said it would be easy.

Do a survey of Swans members and see if they agree with your sentiments that Homebush would be a better location to get to than the SCG.

Homebush is the geographical centre of Sydney and well served by trains. It's quicker for me to get to Homebush from the Eastern Suburbs than Joondalup to Perth stadium.

You absolutely do not need to drive to SCG, it's so convenient to get a train to Central and then hop on the light rail.

In theory but that light rail is the biggest disappointment ever..

It's one of the big advantages of the SCG over homebush having it closer to the city with all train lines going to Central and then immediate entertainment options in the close vicinity.

There are no advantages in that regard and as both are one link from the CBD
and who stops off at the CBD after a game.

People can get to it easily after work on Friday, or have a nice day/night out experience on the weekend.

People can just as easily get to Homebush.

There is no way that Accor will be rebuilt into another oval stadium

well that's the NSW government for you.

and if it was then that would be a big FU to league and other rectangular sports that have been complaining about that for the last 20 years.

Why ? Everybody loves the new Perth stadium and it's built to cater for all sports.
it doesn't need it if the SCG is getting upgraded to 60k.

Sydney would absolutely benefit by having a new multi-purpose stadium suitable for all sports,
but obviously the NSW government will cheap out yet again.
You gotta remember Sydney is a diversified sport city, it can't all just cater to AFL

You gotta remember Sydney is a diversified sport city, it can't all just cater to NRL.

it can't all just cater to AFL like a Perth or Adelaide.

Perth not only has the new stadium for big games they also have a big rectangular stadium.
pretty sure that Adelaide has the same.
It's totally ridiculous to expect Perth or Adelaide.to provide a sizeable rectangular stadium when they don't have NRL

The best outcome for Sydney would be:

The best outcome for Sydney sport would be:

1. Leave the SCG for cricket.
2. Build a Perth stadium style stadium for all sports.
3. Leave Accor as it is.
4. Upgrade the showgrounds.
5. Leave the showgrounds and build a multi-purpose stadium to replace Accor.
6. You to stop trolling.

As a swans fan I don’t want to be going out west where gws play to watch the swans. I’d rather go watch a game and then hop on the light rail with my friends and hit up a pub afterwards.

Maybe you just go to a swans game and then go home, but I can assure you not everyone has that ‘lifestyle’. I also personally love the history and charm of the SCG, it does need an upgrade though - but its in nowhere near as bad of a state as the WACA was or Gabba currently is.

Let’s just agree to disagree.

I’m not even sure I understand your argument as you flip flop between turning accor into a round stadium for all sports or making a new round stadium in the cbd (never ever going to happen).

As a swans fan I don’t want to be going out west where gws play to watch the swans.

As a Swans fan I don’t want to be going out West unless there is a neccessity for a larger stadium
regardless of where GWS play.
That's the only reason the Swans have played at Homebush and if you read my post
I have never said that Homebush is an option for the Swans but rather
Homebush could be considered an option fpr GWS or football generally.

I’d rather go watch a game and then hop on the light rail with my friends and hit up a pub afterwards.

The light rail is a major disappointment and is a snail compared with usual train services.
I welcomed the arrival of light rail because of developments overseas but it doesn't compare .
Not only is it incredibly slow, it caused immense destruction for the installation of archaic pylons
and are obsolete by modern developments.
Maybe you just go to a swans game and then go home, but I can assure you not everyone has that ‘lifestyle’.

The nearby to the SCG is not the only option for entertainment and all stadiums allow fans to relax.

I also personally love the history and charm of the SCG,

Yes, it's great for cricket.

it does need an upgrade though

It is generally agreed that the charm of of SCG has progressively disappeared with successive developments.
The latest stand is an absolute abomination and it's situated right next to the old stands.
No future development can hope to blend in with the existing stands.

but its in nowhere near as bad of a state as the WACA

The WACA was and still is a mismatch of stands and is a poor stadium because it didn't have Australian Football to support it. Perth Stadium was built because Perth needed a stadium to host AFL as a minimum.

or Gabba currently is.

And Brisbane will have a new oval stadium because of the Olympics leaving Sydney further behind.

Let’s just agree to disagree.

No, just different wants You want a quaint SCG and spend yet more money on a rectangular stadium.
I want a decent stadium for Australian Football.

I’m not even sure I understand your argument as you flip flop between turning accor into a round stadium for all sports

i wouldn't complain if they built a world class stadium at Homebush that catered for all sports..

or making a new round stadium in the cbd

You need to reread my posts.
The SCG is round. Round is NOT Australian Football.
I would like to see a multi-purpose stadium of large capacity that is oval NOT round.
I said the CBD is the geographical centre of the Swans following I NEVER proposed that should be the target of a new stadium, but the WA government erred by not building the new stadium stadium in the CBD which would have saved about $600 million in construction cost and removed much of the ongoing costs which contribute to the stadium's high rent.
There sites around Sydney if you look hard enough. eg. North Sydney Oval. Randwick.
They really stuffed up in the development of the SCG
by not buying land or air space and extending into Drive Ave.

Of all the things you could say about this dump, "round" is not something that immediately springs to mind...

View attachment 2375455

It's not even a good shape for cricket!

Mate, you are just being a hater now.

Do you even Lords?

an-aerial-view-of-lords-cricket-ground-st-johns-wood-london-home-of-G1R7K0.jpg

Is it time for another SCG upgrade or a Perth stadium like stadium built in Sydney