Is Maxwell talking about GWS or Collingwood?

Head in the sand.
He didn't say he wasn't referring to us, just that he didn't sound like it, which is perfectly reasonable given Pert would play those particular cards close to his chest even though we know what is really being said. Perhaps if your head wasn't in the sand you would have got that?

Can tell you right now he's definitely talking about us.

Having said that, it's definitely a competition wide issue. No club is immune. It's inevitable when you give sheltered 17 year olds who become sheltered men too much money and too much spare time. Throw in all the standard trappings that come with being good looking, famous young athletes and it's a recipe for disaster.

They really do need to bring the drafting age up to 21. Will really reduce the amount of off field drama in the AFL in my opinion because they'll be recruiting men who have spent at least 2-3 years in the real world with real jobs before entering the sheltered bubble of an AFL club.

Trouble with this theory is that illicit drugs in that age group is almost certainly a bigger problem outside the AFL rather than inside. AFL have stuffed themselves completely by getting involved in this issue. Wish they would just back off and just test for PEDs. That's their domain and they should stop trying to be the moral police in this issue.

Exactly.

I have no moral problem with people taking illegal drugs, I've ingested them myself, but the problem remains that while it is illegal it creates problems with secrecy and cliques which is what you don't want in a club. Dean Cox wrote about it at West Coast.

From a purely selfish club POV you don't want a general culture where there are cliques around that issue or where players are at the club for a handsome paycheck and lifestyle. Train, play footy, snort some coke, go to a nightclub, pull a bird, rinse and repeat.

Maybe we should give up testing in the off-season as a practical measure and just expect no drugs during the season proper.

I disagree with anybody that says the AFL shouldn't test for this and it is for two reasons.

1. Once upon a time in my youth I partied quite hard. The "IT" Club back in the day was called the DOME. On many occasions I saw footballers there on a Saturday night before a game. The most "famous" being Ablett SNR & Chris Mainwaring. Now when this Club finished at 7.30 am we then moved down Commercial Road to VM's (Virgin Marys). This ritual lasted a few years until another IT Club came along.....and I moved onto the next phase of my life.

I have seen and done enough things in my life to know drugs have been and always will be part of life and footy. So the point of me posting the article wasn't to go on a drug crusade but it is the reason I joned Bigfooty (for advise) and it shits me that two years later nothing has changed at OUR Club.

People saying the kids of today are doing it because of all the money they make is a cop out. I have done more drugs than most footballers (maybe not Ben Cousins :oops:) and my disposable income was a pittance compared to them.

It will only become worse without any rules IMO.

2. Having done drugs I am still of the opinion that the 2006 West Coast Premiership should have an * against it. If people don't think a bump of speed or a line of Cocaine doesn't make you perform better ON THE DAY then I must have superhuman powers because I partied for two days straight.

Why I am so against our players exploiting the system is that I don't want to wait another 10 years (and counting) like West Coast for another Premiership.
I am of the firm belief that taking illegal substances will seriously inhibit your ability to get the best out of yourself and more importantly the ultimate prize a Premiership.

If they all went to Vegas and make Tony Montana look like a choir boy I wouldn't give a stuff but they aren't!

End Rant

It's Collingwood. The issue obviously isn't isolated, but his connections still run deep within our club.
He's not just talking about Collingwood. Yes, Collingwood has an issue but you'd be extremely naive to think that no other club is having the same problem. I'm pretty certain every other Melbourne club is the same, all you have to do is go to CQ a few Saturday's in a row to witness it. GWS and GC are 100% also and have been since they were started.

I know it isn't isolated to Collingwood (follow up comments from me reiterate that point). The question was whether he was referencing Collingwood players exploiting the system which is obvious to me. That doesn't mean that I don't think players from other clubs aren't doing the same thing.

Collingwood drugs scandal: Up to 11 players test positive for illicit substances
10 minutes ago
Mark RobinsonHerald Sun

news-plus.svg

05396a564e306047a303e2ac4e87d149

Up to 11 Collingwood players have tested positive for illicit substances.
A QUARTER of Collingwood’s playing list recorded positive tests to illicit drugs over summer.

The bombshell revelation is evidence the AFL and its 18 clubs are losing the fight against the use of illicit substances.

The Herald Sun has confirmed up to 11 Magpies players had tested positive to drugs over the off-season, despite two teammates — Josh Thomas and Lachie Keeffe — being rubbed out for two seasons after being caught with illicit drugs in their systems.

But the Pies — who will face Sydney on Saturday night — are not the only club with alarming hair-testing results.

Industry sources said there was at least two other clubs with higher readings than Collingwood and several clubs in the vicinity of Magpies’ results.

The AFL, Collingwood and the other clubs could not discuss the revelation this evening because of a confidentiality agreement struck between the AFL and the players.

story-fni0cx12-bb4244f6e817e34db27c96a7b44dfc7f

940050-left.gif
Three positive tests, which was recorded by one club, was considered very low by the AFL and celebrated as a successful intervention.
940141-right.gif

But sources have said several clubs have been shocked by the amount of positive results at their clubs despite strong warnings to players before they departed for holidays.

The Herald Sun has learnt that three positive tests, which was recorded by one club, was considered very low by the AFL and celebrated as a successful intervention.

The Magpies believe the drug code must change because the players’ behaviour isn’t being altered by the current policy and are in favour of a suspension after a single positive strike.

Chief executive Gary Pert has previously warned that some players were guilty of ‘volcanic behaviour” during the off-season.

Two weeks ago the Pies’ boss reiterated his concerns about drug use.

“For the last four or five years I’ve been in conversations with drug and alcohol experts, police, players and past players, and AFL about tracking what I still believe is the biggest issue in the AFL,” Pert said.

“I haven’t heard anything from the people I chat to ... that has lessened the importance or the relevance or the priority (of the issue).

‘’It is still as high a priority, if not more of a high priority, even though we have made some changes (to the AFL drugs code).”

Changes to the drugs code were made last year after Thomas and Keeffe were suspended.

The Herald Sun had previously revealed Collingwood and other clubs were exploiting a loophole in the illicit drugs code by “self-reporting” the use of drugs to avoid a strike.

940050-left.gif
Sources said there was at least two other clubs with higher readings than Collingwood and several clubs in the vicinity of Magpies’ results.
940141-right.gif

Changes to the code saw the three-strikes policy move to a two-strike policy this season, which will see players publicly named, fined and suspended if they test positive to an illegal substance a second time.

Pert said the new policy should be reviewed even further as part of the discussions surrounding the new collective bargaining agreement, which was supported by outgoing Gold Coast chairman John Witheriff.

“I know there are some people in the industry — and I must admit that I have got some pretty strong views on it, if we move to a model that is designed to stop the behaviour rather than just a medical model,” Pert said.

The hair-testing was a voluntary process by the players and the results do not count for a strike.

It is, however, the true reflection of drug use among players.

Illicit drug use in the AFL have made headlines in recent years.

Former Gold Coast players Harley Bennell and Karmichael Hunt were also linked to illicit drug use last year.

Keeffe and Thomas received their suspensions after a banned performance-enhancing substance was detected in their system, believed to have been ‘cut” into an illicit drug they had consumed.

Bennell, who was traded by the Suns to Fremantle, received an automatic strike after photographs of him with drugs in a Tasmanian hotel room were published on the Herald Sun front page in July.

Hunt pleaded guilty to charges of cocaine possession last year.

So other clubs also are in the same situation as us but they only name our club.

No offense but I don't give a f..k about the other Clubs!

I disagree with anybody that says the AFL shouldn't test for this and it is for two reasons.

1. Once upon a time in my youth I partied quite hard. The "IT" Club back in the day was called the DOME. On many occasions I saw footballers there on a Saturday night before a game. The most "famous" being Ablett SNR & Chris Mainwaring. Now when this Club finished at 7.30 am we then moved down Commercial Road to VM's (Virgin Marys). This ritual lasted a few years until another IT Club came along.....and I moved onto the next phase of my life.

I have seen and done enough things in my life to know drugs have been and always will be part of life and footy. So the point of me posting the article wasn't to go on a drug crusade but it is the reason I joned Bigfooty (for advise) and it shits me that two years later nothing has changed at OUR Club.

People saying the kids of today are doing it because of all the money they make is a cop out. I have done more drugs than most footballers (maybe not Ben Cousins :oops:) and my disposable income was a pittance compared to them.

It will only become worse without any rules IMO.

2. Having done drugs I am still of the opinion that the 2006 West Coast Premiership should have an * against it. If people don't think a bump of speed or a line of Cocaine doesn't make you perform better ON THE DAY then I must have superhuman powers because I partied for two days straight.

Why I am so against our players exploiting the system is that I don't want to wait another 10 years (and counting) like West Coast for another Premiership.
I am of the firm belief that taking illegal substances will seriously inhibit your ability to get the best out of yourself and more importantly the ultimate prize a Premiership.

If they all went to Vegas and make Tony Montana look like a choir boy I wouldn't give a stuff but they aren't!

End Rant
On point 2, I couldn't disagree more. Doing coke or speed might give you more energy and help you party on for days but you'd be running around like a headless chook, no way it'd make you a better footballer

They won by one point yeah???

If they took a hit at three quarter time it would help......it would help heaps IMO!
Better than any inspirational speech Woosha could have delivered!

They won by one point yeah???

If they took a hit at three quarter time it would help......it would help heaps IMO!
Better than any inspirational speech Woosha could have delivered!
I thought coke/speed etc are banned on match day anyway? From personal experience it would definitely provide a boost but their coordination and decision making would be all over the place

Cousins never tested positive to illicit drugs!

Just my theory re the benefit.......never had a issue with coordination on the gear but every one is different I guess.

Cousins never tested positive to illicit drugs!

Just my theory re the benefit.......never had a issue with coordination on the gear but every one is different I guess.
Have you ever played a game of footy or run 16-20kms on the gear?

Most if not all players would have been tested after the grand final for both performance enhancing and illicit drugs.

Again Cousins never tested positive!

My theory is topping up during the game not racking up 10 lines before the game and running 20 kms that won't work obviously.

It's my theory it's ok if you think I am full of shit it won't change my point on view.

Collingwood drugs scandal: Up to 11 players test positive for illicit substances
10 minutes ago
Mark RobinsonHerald Sun

news-plus.svg

05396a564e306047a303e2ac4e87d149

Up to 11 Collingwood players have tested positive for illicit substances.
A QUARTER of Collingwood’s playing list recorded positive tests to illicit drugs over summer.

The bombshell revelation is evidence the AFL and its 18 clubs are losing the fight against the use of illicit substances.

The Herald Sun has confirmed up to 11 Magpies players had tested positive to drugs over the off-season, despite two teammates — Josh Thomas and Lachie Keeffe — being rubbed out for two seasons after being caught with illicit drugs in their systems.

But the Pies — who will face Sydney on Saturday night — are not the only club with alarming hair-testing results.

Industry sources said there was at least two other clubs with higher readings than Collingwood and several clubs in the vicinity of Magpies’ results.

The AFL, Collingwood and the other clubs could not discuss the revelation this evening because of a confidentiality agreement struck between the AFL and the players.

story-fni0cx12-bb4244f6e817e34db27c96a7b44dfc7f

940050-left.gif
Three positive tests, which was recorded by one club, was considered very low by the AFL and celebrated as a successful intervention.
940141-right.gif

But sources have said several clubs have been shocked by the amount of positive results at their clubs despite strong warnings to players before they departed for holidays.

The Herald Sun has learnt that three positive tests, which was recorded by one club, was considered very low by the AFL and celebrated as a successful intervention.

The Magpies believe the drug code must change because the players’ behaviour isn’t being altered by the current policy and are in favour of a suspension after a single positive strike.

Chief executive Gary Pert has previously warned that some players were guilty of ‘volcanic behaviour” during the off-season.

Two weeks ago the Pies’ boss reiterated his concerns about drug use.

“For the last four or five years I’ve been in conversations with drug and alcohol experts, police, players and past players, and AFL about tracking what I still believe is the biggest issue in the AFL,” Pert said.

“I haven’t heard anything from the people I chat to ... that has lessened the importance or the relevance or the priority (of the issue).

‘’It is still as high a priority, if not more of a high priority, even though we have made some changes (to the AFL drugs code).”

Changes to the drugs code were made last year after Thomas and Keeffe were suspended.

The Herald Sun had previously revealed Collingwood and other clubs were exploiting a loophole in the illicit drugs code by “self-reporting” the use of drugs to avoid a strike.

940050-left.gif
Sources said there was at least two other clubs with higher readings than Collingwood and several clubs in the vicinity of Magpies’ results.
940141-right.gif

Changes to the code saw the three-strikes policy move to a two-strike policy this season, which will see players publicly named, fined and suspended if they test positive to an illegal substance a second time.

Pert said the new policy should be reviewed even further as part of the discussions surrounding the new collective bargaining agreement, which was supported by outgoing Gold Coast chairman John Witheriff.

“I know there are some people in the industry — and I must admit that I have got some pretty strong views on it, if we move to a model that is designed to stop the behaviour rather than just a medical model,” Pert said.

The hair-testing was a voluntary process by the players and the results do not count for a strike.

It is, however, the true reflection of drug use among players.

Illicit drug use in the AFL have made headlines in recent years.

Former Gold Coast players Harley Bennell and Karmichael Hunt were also linked to illicit drug use last year.

Keeffe and Thomas received their suspensions after a banned performance-enhancing substance was detected in their system, believed to have been ‘cut” into an illicit drug they had consumed.

Bennell, who was traded by the Suns to Fremantle, received an automatic strike after photographs of him with drugs in a Tasmanian hotel room were published on the Herald Sun front page in July.

Hunt pleaded guilty to charges of cocaine possession last year.

What about other Club you Fat Shit Robbo?

Just mentioned Collingwood so people not talk about the Drug Cheats you barrack for?:eek:

Fat c*nt held this over til eve of the season.

How can such a Piece of Shit be the Head of the HS Footy Department.

I would not Disrespect my Bum by Wiping it with that Crap

Again Cousins never tested positive!

My theory is topping up during the game not racking up 10 lines before the game and running 20 kms that won't work obviously.

It's my theory it's ok if you think I am full of shit it won't change my point on view.
I'm saying Cousins would have been tested after the grand final. I'm well aware Cousins never tested positive throughout his career.

I would love for the AFL to divulge the test results from the 2006 GF like they have our players today.....I won't be holding my breath :cool:

How did Cousins never test positive? It was common knowledge back in the day. I use to bag a fellow WA colleague all the time about it. He is the Lance Armstrong of the AFL IMO!

Is Maxwell talking about GWS or Collingwood?