SApies

Liverpool
Don't think I've started a thread before so bare with me!

My partner and I have always talked about moving from Adelaide to Melbourne.
We both really love it over there, but I have always said it'd be too hard to live there.
I'm a painter and decorator by trade so I travel a lot with work, Adelaide is so simple to go from A to B. Where as Melbourne has always been a nightmare whenever I've driven around.
The missus would be able to get a transfer with her job to Melbourne but it's a bit harder for me as a sub contractor. I'm open to even trying a completely different career path, just everything I look at requires experience/qualifications.

Anyway...
I'm just wondering if anyone has moved interstate before and how hard was it to do.

Also, for all you Melbournians can anyone rattle off some suburbs to look at rentals in? Not far out of the CBD but not overly pricey? Broad, I know but anything help!!

Thanks!

I'm in the outer east. $400pw probably gets you an OK place. A 3 b/r place on a normal house block, rather than a unit. Closer to the city the price will increase no doubt. I don't get the travel hassle about Melbourne. Maybe its just because I'm used to it. I'm in a trade as well and I find that if you're on the road early, the traffic is fine. I tend to try and stay away from the inner city/suburbs though. The freeways now are pretty good. I do a lot of work now down Frankston and the Peninsula way, where I would never have done before the Freeway went in. The East/West link would have been awesome too but it seems were are now paying for that not to happen. Obviously the travel isn't going to be the same as in Adelaide, but it's not that bad imo. I had to do work in Altona a while back which is way out of the way for me, but it still only took a tick over an hour (Leaving my place in Mooroolbark at about 6am)

I'd be looking at the volume builders, commercial sites and maybe some of the bigger property maintenance companies for subbie work. I'm sure there would be some around. Obviously it would be ideal to set it up before you left. Thats going to be the awkward part for you I suppose

Close to the CBD can be as much as a 30min drive.

Broady
Scumville
Footscray
St kilda
Murrumbeena

will all get you a decent place to live at $400pw.

Just don't mention your dog, as these days many realestates are against pet ownership.

Lots of work as painter, I'm sure you have tickets? If not, get your act together.

I did an opposite move. I left Melbourne to move to Perth because of a job transfer back in 1990. Two days after we won the flag...that's was part of the deal. Wasn't going till the season was over.

Bloody tough move to leave your family and friends behind. You don't consider these things initially, as your wrapped up in the excitement of a new challenge. I had visited Perth a dozen times before I made the move, but knowing your still going home after a period of time, I was continually in holiday mode. I loved it.

Once I made the move, it took about 6 months and the novelty wore off, and the homesickness kicked in. Your a bit more fortunate situation, in that you can drive back to Adelaide in 8 hours, so your a bit more connected than my situation. I also came over on my own, but fortunately I meet a local girl and years later married her. So you will have to monitor your missus' happiness.

Well 25 years have passed and I'm still here, I got over the homesickness and made WA home. No regrets, I've done pretty well out of this place. Don't get me wrong, I love Melbourne and I visit as often as I can, and I'm sure you'll fit in well. Rent a place near the Chadstone shopping centre, your missus will love you.

I'm in the outer east. $400pw probably gets you an OK place. A 3 b/r place on a normal house block, rather than a unit. Closer to the city the price will increase no doubt. I don't get the travel hassle about Melbourne. Maybe its just because I'm used to it. I'm in a trade as well and I find that if you're on the road early, the traffic is fine. I tend to try and stay away from the inner city/suburbs though. The freeways now are pretty good. I do a lot of work now down Frankston and the Peninsula way, where I would never have done before the Freeway went in. The East/West link would have been awesome too but it seems were are now paying for that not to happen. Obviously the travel isn't going to be the same as in Adelaide, but it's not that bad imo. I had to do work in Altona a while back which is way out of the way for me, but it still only took a tick over an hour (Leaving my place in Mooroolbark at about 6am)

I'd be looking at the volume builders, commercial sites and maybe some of the bigger property maintenance companies for subbie work. I'm sure there would be some around. Obviously it would be ideal to set it up before you left. Thats going to be the awkward part for you I suppose
Thanks mate, appreciate the time! It's such a a hard decision! I'll keep in touch with whats happening if we decide to go ahead!

Close to the CBD can be as much as a 30min drive.

Broady
Scumville
Footscray
St kilda
Murrumbeena

will all get you a decent place to live at $400pw.

Just don't mention your dog, as these days many realestates are against pet ownership.

Lots of work as painter, I'm sure you have tickets? If not, get your act together.
Cheers mate.
Yeah I've found that out. No one wants a dog in their house!
I sure do have my papers!

I did an opposite move. I left Melbourne to move to Perth because of a job transfer back in 1990. Two days after we won the flag...that's was part of the deal. Wasn't going till the season was over.

Bloody tough move to leave your family and friends behind. You don't consider these things initially, as your wrapped up in the excitement of a new challenge. I had visited Perth a dozen times before I made the move, but knowing your still going home after a period of time, I was continually in holiday mode. I loved it.

Once I made the move, it took about 6 months and the novelty wore off, and the homesickness kicked in. Your a bit more fortunate situation, in that you can drive back to Adelaide in 8 hours, so your a bit more connected than my situation. I also came over on my own, but fortunately I meet a local girl and years later married her. So you will have to monitor your missus' happiness.

Well 25 years have passed and I'm still here, I got over the homesickness and made WA home. No regrets, I've done pretty well out of this place. Don't get me wrong, I love Melbourne and I visit as often as I can, and I'm sure you'll fit in well. Rent a place near the Chadstone shopping centre, your missus will love you.
I always said I'd never leave Adelaide but now it seems theres nothing keeping me here, I lost my mum a couple years ago, my dad recently moved to Melbourne and my brother is in the process of moving to Sydney. I'd go nuts without my mates though.
Haha happy wife happy life! Thanks mate :thumbsu:

I always said I'd never leave Adelaide but now it seems theres nothing keeping me here, I lost my mum a couple years ago, my dad recently moved to Melbourne and my brother is in the process of moving to Sydney. I'd go nuts without my mates though.
Haha happy wife happy life! Thanks mate :thumbsu:

Sorry to hear you Mum Died SApies

Well You have your Dad over here. Also have a lot of Mates on here that might catch up with you

SApies A lot of it is going to depend on your personality and that of your wife. Some people like a bit of adventure others prefer the comfort and security of what is familiar to them.
Personally I have lived in Melbourne, Brisbane, Rockhampton, Townsville, Cairns, New Zealand and currently Turkey. Every few years I up and go somewhere new as I love the adventure. Yes it does mean that you leave people that you have grown close to behind but that's a choice you have to make.
As far as finding work and the financial side of things go I would say don't worry about that too much. You always end up landing on your feet. You have a trade and if you have pride in your work then I can't see how you would be out of work for long. Your wife can transfer so that is a huge bonus.

I did it. I'll never regret it. Sometimes you just need to trust your capacity to deal with shit as it comes. You might not be able to forecast all the issues that come at you, but if you trust yourself you'll deal with it irrespective. If you have sound reasons for a move, do it I say!

I've moved several times, mainly with Defence which is quiet different as you do get a lot of help both physically and financially. Also was a lot easier because essentially you are going into the same role and know people. They provide good community integration programs also which as corny as they sound really do help.

The last move however I did was from Darwin to just west of Canberra which was bloody hard work and expensive. My wife got a transfer and I was able to work from home and without influencing your decision, it was the worst decision we ever made. I had no idea how hard it would be too work from home and alone which I have been doing for nearly 4 years now. I hate it and have lost touch with the real world somewhat. What made it difficult is that I didn't have any friends or connections (very few anyway) in this area so it made it very difficult to make friends. My wifes sister is here but we have very little to do with them, certainly no where near what we thought anyway.

I think it's really important to make sure that you do or can find a social life, friends and connections because this makes it all so much easier.

I think the moving side is pretty simple, pack the house, sell and all that. It does seem daunting but you just have to get in and do it. I don't regret so much moving from Darwin it's more the destination we chose. If we had our time again we would have gone elsewhere. I really didn't know how much I would miss the coast also - just a simple thing but now I realise it was very important for me.

Only advice I would give is to sit down and look at your destination and map it out for the next couple of years. What you like doing socially, friends, family, work, transport, public transport, travel, sports, hobby's etc because when you do move it is a big commitment.

Work wise Melbourne may be a good place to start a fresh, but I think it's a pretty difficult time to be toying around in the job market. Like Otto says you have a trade which is always good to fall back onto but just be aware that there are a lot of people in the job market currently and there will be a lot of skilled up people coming into it as resources decline.

Don't want to scaremonger but just really think it through and map it out. I really wish I had of and I wouldn't be so miserable here. My wife and I were even contemplating moving back to Darwin after her old boss offered here his job a couple of weeks ago. Big money but when we looked at it on paper this time, Darwin isn't the right place for us even though I'm there every second week for work. We are on a 6 month plan to see how this pans out and then ourselves will look at moving to Melbourne where we have more family and a few friends.

Good luck with whatever path you take. Make sure that both you and your missus have the same expectations and all will work out well.

*The other thing I'll add is that it's never too hard to move if you really aren't happy where you are. I'm really only just learning how important it is to be happy with your location, your family and friends and also your work. If you spend most of your living life working, IMO no matter how much they are paying you, you just have to enjoy it.

Melbourne is easy to get around when you get used to it :) I live in Frankston on the Mornington Peninsula. Probably further out from CBD then you want but you would be able to get a very nice place for 400 and Frankston is a lot better then people say. :) Best of Luck with your decision.

I've moved several times, mainly with Defence which is quiet different as you do get a lot of help both physically and financially. Also was a lot easier because essentially you are going into the same role and know people. They provide good community integration programs also which as corny as they sound really do help.

The last move however I did was from Darwin to just west of Canberra which was bloody hard work and expensive. My wife got a transfer and I was able to work from home and without influencing your decision, it was the worst decision we ever made. I had no idea how hard it would be too work from home and alone which I have been doing for nearly 4 years now. I hate it and have lost touch with the real world somewhat. What made it difficult is that I didn't have any friends or connections (very few anyway) in this area so it made it very difficult to make friends. My wifes sister is here but we have very little to do with them, certainly no where near what we thought anyway.

I think it's really important to make sure that you do or can find a social life, friends and connections because this makes it all so much easier.

I think the moving side is pretty simple, pack the house, sell and all that. It does seem daunting but you just have to get in and do it. I don't regret so much moving from Darwin it's more the destination we chose. If we had our time again we would have gone elsewhere. I really didn't know how much I would miss the coast also - just a simple thing but now I realise it was very important for me.

Only advice I would give is to sit down and look at your destination and map it out for the next couple of years. What you like doing socially, friends, family, work, transport, public transport, travel, sports, hobby's etc because when you do move it is a big commitment.

Work wise Melbourne may be a good place to start a fresh, but I think it's a pretty difficult time to be toying around in the job market. Like Otto says you have a trade which is always good to fall back onto but just be aware that there are a lot of people in the job market currently and there will be a lot of skilled up people coming into it as resources decline.

Don't want to scaremonger but just really think it through and map it out. I really wish I had of and I wouldn't be so miserable here. My wife and I were even contemplating moving back to Darwin after her old boss offered here his job a couple of weeks ago. Big money but when we looked at it on paper this time, Darwin isn't the right place for us even though I'm there every second week for work. We are on a 6 month plan to see how this pans out and then ourselves will look at moving to Melbourne where we have more family and a few friends.

Good luck with whatever path you take. Make sure that both you and your missus have the same expectations and all will work out well.

*The other thing I'll add is that it's never too hard to move if you really aren't happy where you are. I'm really only just learning how important it is to be happy with your location, your family and friends and also your work. If you spend most of your living life working, IMO no matter how much they are paying you, you just have to enjoy it.
Cheers NT. I actually remember reading your story on another thread!
Hope it all works our for you also!
It's not even a thing with happiness here. I'm happy in Adelaide, all my mates are here. Everything just seems a little wash rinse repeat for my liking. At the age where I'm still deciding if that's just the way life is or if I can change that!
Thanks mate

It's not even a thing with happiness here. I'm happy in Adelaide, all my mates are here. Everything just seems a little wash rinse repeat for my liking. At the age where I'm still deciding if that's just the way life is or if I can change that!
Thanks mate

Can you Try a Move to Melbourne and see how it Goes?

Thanks mate
That's the thing. Sometimes you just get in a cycle and it is all a little repetitive like nothing good is happening but sometimes the grass isn't always greener on the other side.

I think though you know when it's time to move on, you just need to make sure that you're leaving for the right reasons and are going to Melbourne for the right reasons.

I love Melbourne, but it's probably different actually living and working there rather than visiting. My parents in law live in Sandrigham, nice house, close to the beach and public transport and when I go there I just jump on a train and head to town, the footy or out for dinner and it's great. I just wonder if it was at my doorstep all the time if I'd do that.

I'll move to Melbourne I reckon. I am unsettled and not happy, but with kids in school and a wife working in ACT it is difficult to just up stumps and go. My missus isn't enjoying her work too much so we've put a 6month plan in place to see what happens.

Good luck with whichever way you go. Adelaide isn't too far from Melbourne and cheap flights would make it easier to head back for a weekend.

And TradeDraft - for someone who lives on the Mornington peninsular, beats me why you go to Noosa for holidays! :D

Anyway...
I'm just wondering if anyone has moved interstate before and how hard was it to do.

Thanks!

I made the move from Melbourne to Perth 12 months ago after a transfer and promotion with work.

We came over here knowing no-one at all, but have slotted in great.

It is what you make of it. I'm a bit of an extrovert, so have no problem just going up to people and talking. We found a sports club (tennis) fairly quickly, and with kids (7 & 17) you have school friends too.

Good luck with your decision.

My partner and I have always talked about moving from Adelaide to Melbourne.
We both really love it over there, but I have always said it'd be too hard to live there.
I'm a painter and decorator by trade so I travel a lot with work, Adelaide is so simple to go from A to B. Where as Melbourne has always been a nightmare whenever I've driven around.
The missus would be able to get a transfer with her job to Melbourne but it's a bit harder for me as a sub contractor. I'm open to even trying a completely different career path, just everything I look at requires experience/qualifications.

Anyway...

Also, for all you Melbournians can anyone rattle off some suburbs to look at rentals in? Not far out of the CBD but not overly pricey? Broad, I know but anything help!!

Thanks!

I moved from Melbourne to Adelaide years ago, wasn't particularly hard to move in the physical sense........

General rule for housing, the closer to the city the more expensive. Also, the public transport system is far superior to Adelaide, trains and buses run more frequently and are further reaching and interchangeable making the CBD more accessible.

As an ex property manager, please do me and yourself a favor and list all pets you wish to house on the property you're applying for. Failure to do so can be grounds for contract termination. One thing that doesn't hurt to do is add a photo of the animal with your application, or, if you feel like going the whole nine yards do up an application from your animals perspective.

And yeah, it's a specialised world now. You either have to have the proper training and/or on the job experience or you have to know somebody.

Not sure where I heard it but he/she/it said that boredom is a good thing, it's your brain trying to tell you to get up and try/do new things. Probably speaking from their arse but it kind of rings true.