Norwood
MTV diva's racial slurBy Fiona Connolly
August 16, 2007 02:00am
Article from: Font size: + -
Send this article: Print Email
THIS Californian babe just might have copped her last look at Sydney's Opera House after the reality TV star launched a racist attack on a Sydney McDonald's employee over her McFlurry order.

The 19-year-old star of the MTV hit show The Real World: Sydney, filmed late last year, has infuriated the Asian Australian community and been panned by US audiences after a recent episode showed her demanding an Asian cashier at the Bondi McDonald's "learn English".

"I'm like, well I'd take the f....n' Crunchie one but I don't know what it tastes like because you wouldn't give me a sample," Trisha Cummings said.

"I'm like, you know what, keep the money, maybe take some English lessons - I'm leaving cause you don't know how to speak English," she said.

i've told people that they need to learn English before (i admit it was in Australia to a person of simlar ethnic background) I fail to see how this is racism ?? Is it only because the person is of Asian descent or is it becuase she is American and the McDonalds Worker is Australian ?

Thoughts

If you're in a public service job, you HAVE to speak English fluently. As much as I understand that most of the Asian kiddies working at Maccas and Hungry jacks near me are International students at Usyd, that this is almost the sole form of employment they can get in their first year and I'm more patient at most, it doesn't stop me cracking the shits when they **** up my order three times, then giggle at the person on the next register and start talking to them in another language.

I've been told rather rudely in another country that I needed to fix up my French, so I fail to see why this is anything other than a 19 year old being a nasty little shit.

trisha.jpg

She sure looks like a little shit.

If you're in a public service job, you HAVE to speak English fluently. As much as I understand that most of the Asian kiddies working at Maccas and Hungry jacks near me are International students at Usyd, that this is almost the sole form of employment they can get in their first year and I'm more patient at most, it doesn't stop me cracking the shits when they **** up my order three times, then giggle at the person on the next register and start talking to them in another language.

I've been told rather rudely in another country that I needed to fix up my French, so I fail to see why this is anything other than a 19 year old being a nasty little shit.

thats right - rude but not racist

How is that racist i fail to see? i am in switzerland i get told, "why dont you learn german properly before whinning" everytime. I understand that, i can speak german but obviously not fluent like natives and they get annoyed everytime i make a mistake :o

How is that racist?

Just another case of people sitting around waiting to be offended by something.

Its not racist, its not rude, its a statement, and it is LONG overdue. People living in this country should know how to speak english, so because I think this way, then the statement is spot on.

I am tired of ME feeling bad in my own country, because someone is trying to talk to me, and I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT THEY ARE SAYING. Every time you say pardon, they get mader and mader, and it is them that speaking foreign not you. Its like we have to make all these concessions to allow these people into our country, and they have to do nothing but talk gobbly gook, and drive slowly. Is that racist, who knows, I don't even know who I am talking about in particular, but its not the english speaking society lets so eliminate, rather than point our fingers.

Hansons back I see too, so hopefully a few more listen this time, before cashing up on our nice country, that is so slowly slipping away. :eek:

Its not racist, its not rude, its a statement, and it is LONG overdue. People living in this country should know how to speak english, so because I think this way, then the statement is spot on.

I am tired of ME feeling bad in my own country, because someone is trying to talk to me, and I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT THEY ARE SAYING. Every time you say pardon, they get mader and mader, and it is them that speaking foreign not you. Its like we have to make all these concessions to allow these people into our country, and they have to do nothing but talk gobbly gook, and drive slowly. Is that racist, who knows, I don't even know who I am talking about in particular, but its not the english speaking society lets so eliminate, rather than point our fingers.

Hansons back I see too, so hopefully a few more listen this time, before cashing up on our nice country, that is so slowly slipping away. :eek:
You see... These people actually try and want to speak English properly. Problem is, some locals here (and one american ****) don't realise that its harder than you think.

How was your English when you were 8 years old??

You see... These people actually try and want to speak English properly. Problem is, some locals here (and one american ****) don't realise that its harder than you think.

How was your English when you were 8 years old??

Bullsh!t, these people don't try, "some" try, I admit but it is around 20% try to learn, and the other don't.

Umm, my English was good, how about you :confused:

It is harder than people may think, but its worth it I reckon :cool: we're not asking them into a cubby house here its our country :rolleyes:

Noice.. she got a bit of african in her ?

The questions begs though, is having a go a someone else because their language skills are poor racist? In some cases it would be a yes. I know a couple of anglo people who's language skills are poor too. Some deaf or partially deaf people may not understand what you are takling about but would you unleash a verball tirade against them ? In some cases yes.

Some people are racist, some aren't & in alot of cases, due to our mood at the time we can say things that are racict or discrimanatory because we are annoyed & we like to vent our anger toward at particular "group" or in fact, anyone.

ie: "Had a shocking day at work then went into Macca's & was starving & waited for 10 minutes only to be served by a 1/2 deaf bloke, with big ears & buck teeth who did not understand WTF i wanted".

PS for what it is worth, for the so caled "celeb" to air that in public is piss poor IMO. But hey, bad news is good news.......

Would depend if the person behind the counter could speak English or not.

I think we've all become over-sensitive to racism - I've gotten into major fights with my uni tutors over this, where she *refuses* to describe me as 'The Asian One' WHEN I AM THE ONLY ASIAN PERSON IN HER CLASS.

AND LAST TIME I CHECKED, I *WAS* ASIAN. AND BEING ASIAN IS HARDLY DEROGATORY.

She would skirt around it and try and describe me as the short girl with black hair. Gah. Then tries to give us all a moral lesson as to how this shows she's not racist.

What I *am* getting slowly more and more pissed off about is the growing number of people who ask me 'how long have you been in Australia?' when I was born here. Double Gah.

Love this statement. So true. Asian kids are amongst the worst people at customer service for this very reason. Not that they cant speak English properly, but the fact that 80% are rude little shits who are more than happy to waste your time while they chat with their friends. Not just at McDonalds, it happens everywhere.

Hmm. This has never happened to me. Maybe it's reverse racism where Asian customer service kids will always serve other Asians perfectly.

I think we've all become over-sensitive to racism - I've gotten into major fights with my uni tutors over this, where she *refuses* to describe me as 'The Asian One' WHEN I AM THE ONLY ASIAN PERSON IN HER CLASS.

She would skirt around it and try and describe me as the short girl with black hair. Gah. Then tries to give us all a moral lesson as to how this shows she's not racist.

What I *am* getting slowly more and more pissed off about is the growing number of people who ask me 'how long have you been in Australia?' when I was born here. Double Gah.

:D

I have to admit, it throws me sometimes when you talk to someone with Obvious Asian descent and they starting talking with a thick QLD accent (when they are from there of course otherwise its a normal aussie accent)

but I think people forget that Asians have been in Austrlian as long as everyone else

As bad as the jewish guy on qantas claiming the airhostes refrence to another jew was racist. Hate to say it but Jews arnt a race just another crackpot religion deserving off ridicule.

Some people are easily confused.

Good point.

I would have thought being the "asian" kid in the class is actually a compliment because asians have a reputation of achieving excellent acedmeic results.

Being the only honky in class would probably mean that person would be the dumbest :D

:D

I have to admit, it throws me sometimes when you talk to someone with Obvious Asian descent and they starting talking with a thick QLD accent (when they are from there of course otherwise its a normal aussie accent)

but I think people forget that Asians have been in Austrlian as long as everyone else

Well okay, I admit it doesn't irk me so much at uni when there are a lot of Asian international students here, (though a lot of first years from the country will ask me, and the answer will be 'longer than you, mate.') but what *really* irks me more than the 'how long have you been in Australia?' question is the 'Where do you come from?' question.

Because it confuses me. For a second, I almost answer 'Springvale' then realise it's not the question they're asking. At least the other question sort of assumes I'm Australian now, this one just sounds like I'm a straight out tourist. 'What nationality are you' is much less offensive but still likely to elicit a 'Australian. You?' from me, and 'what background are you' is the question I want to hear.

And I don't know about the Asian driver thing. All the Asian guys I know are rather good, and us Asian girls are probably terrible because we're used to Asian guys driving us around everywhere. My boyfriend used to drive two hours out of his way to pick me up, rather than let me drive / meet me wherever. Maybe it's an ego thing. Asian Guy + Asian Sports Car = ego.

Much like the bogan white guy and his souped up Commodore I suppose.

I used to work with a few asians, whose english wasn't the best. I used to constantly get told by pissed off clients to hire people who could speak english, which use to piss me off as i was only a employee, yet these same people wouldn't say anything to my boss.

Anyway back on topic, the people that used to say this where mainly annoyed about another issue or at my boss but it would only be something they said out of anger. I don't believe most of the people that said this had any deep hatred towards other races, I think its rude but not racist. There where a few who were racist, but they would walk out the door as they didn't wanna be served by foreigners.