It's over gold coast

Wouldn't be so sure about that. You've challenged a few teams this year and it will only be a matter of time before you start converting good performances to wins.
Giants, Melbourne, Brisbane and North Melbourne are all very winnable games :thumbsu:

was discussing the spoon in the car trip home. reckon we're a fair chance for it again. we're playing so much better than last year, but we can only play 3 quarters. hopefully next year we can string full games together.

we can only hope, SHP. the melbourne game will be interesting, also reckon the next gws game at home could give us another chance at a win.

was discussing the spoon in the car trip home. reckon we're a fair chance for it again. we're playing so much better than last year, but we can only play 3 quarters. hopefully next year we can string full games together.

we can only hope, SHP. the melbourne game will be interesting, also reckon the next gws game at home could give us another chance at a win.
I don't recall the Suns carrying an injury list, especially to important senior players in 2011 unlike 2012. You've been decimated in key positions with injury.

Tough to gauge where the Suns are at because of that. Good teams find it difficult to cover long injury lists let alone developing sides.

Cant see us beating anyone, Geelongs reserves beat us in the NAB cup, at the time I thought it was an aberration but after 16 straight losses it is clear we are lazy and lacking direction.

correct Iva
Defeat by GWS in the NAB was all about "rotations" wasn't it?
Well those chickens have come home to roost
At the start of the season we were supposed to be beating Melbourne, Port ,GWS ,Brisbane with the possibility of runningAdelaide Richmond StKilda and North very close and maybe even snagging a big scalp
We are so far from that it isn't funny
All I saw today was rubbish

Looks like our second spoon is near :(
Your calling for the spoon in what is it now... Round 9? A bit too soon if you ask me.

Don't get me wrong I hated the way we played in the 3rd like everyone else but for all we know like the Freo and Dons games we could come out next week and knock off the Pies.

Second Year Blues (Or Sophomore Slump as the American's call it) is a well documented thing, We just have to ride it out.

The 3rd qtr notwithstanding I saw a bunch of good things out there tonight. Day kicked 3 goals, Horse and Mini played great as did Iles and of course Stanley did well as expected - This is all going to come together but the pessimism is killing my mood.

Unfortunately the Port game was the last truly winnable game for a while. I fear you may be 0-15 going in to the next Q Clash.

Yep, tough start for you guys, you couldve used a few experienced, hard bodies this year especially for later on in the season. I do hope you dont finish at the bottom this year :)

I took a look at the AFL website to check out the stats this year against last and it is true that we have improved in most catigories but the improvement has been so minor that it can hardly be described as a step change.

I am so scared that we are going to waste another year and lose the great opportunity that has been presented to us.

I guess the thing is overall last season you were playing for half a game, and some of your opponents were so bad a half of good footy would beat them..
This year you're playing good for 3 quarters (which is a good improvement) but your opponents have also improved since last year and no-one is taking you guys lightly anymore..

Still think you will finish the season higher than the Giants and Demons..
And then you'll have O'Meara in next year, Bocky back and hopefully Browny'll have retired.

Bemused as to why we re-signed McKenna so soon. Where we afraid that Collingwood, Essendon etc would poach him? Melbourne took the wrong path with Dean bailey and look where they are now.

1. Our disposal by foot is poor.
2. Decision making when under pressure is poor.
3. Inability to stop the opposition when they get on a roll.
4. Obsession with sports science garbage.
5. Recruiting of uncontracted players disappointing.

Ablett is a star. But when we're hit hard with injuries Brennan can't get a game, Krakouer has left, Bock missed the start with suspension again, enough said about Cambell Brown, Harbrow just a player.

We'll get the top draft pick and just select the best midfielder around. Add O'Meara and use free agency to pick up players who make good decisions.

Gotta look on the bright side, Brissy are on course to look worse than the Suns this weekend.

Shrugs.

:edit- maybe not, North are rubbish.

Can't say I agree with McKenna's decision to drop a match winner in Brennan yet persist with Campbell Brown, who is clearly past it. Given it was close for quite a while it's hard not to think you need that extra quality.

You have to really go in to games like that with your best 22. Make an example of Jared when you're playing West Coast or Collingwood, don't rest a matchwinner in winnable games.

I am so scared that we are going to waste another year and lose the great opportunity that has been presented to us.

What is this opportunity you speak of? This was always going to be another development year.

It was unrealistic to ever expect a finals berth, so what other possible opportunity is there in football other than further development?

To me the shining lights this year has been Caddy, Day, Iles, Hall stepping up to the plate.

The negatives have been McKenzie, Brennan, Brown, as well as BLOODY INJURIES!

Show faith guys, McKenna has been with the club since day 1 and has a great list to work with. Another 2 years is reasonable, judge him then!

O-Meara and a top 3 pick coming in will definetly help long term. Im also open to trading Caddy for Dayne Beams.

What is this opportunity you speak of? This was always going to be another development year.

It was unrealistic to ever expect a finals berth, so what other possible opportunity is there in football other than further development?

To me the shining lights this year has been Caddy, Day, Iles, Hall stepping up to the plate.

The negatives have been McKenzie, Brennan, Brown, as well as BLOODY INJURIES!

The opportunity I am speaking of is if players start to decide that they are better off elsewere due to the culture of acceptable losses (16 in a row, 3 wins in 29 games) Caddy would be a prime example, we have a great opportunity to build a fantastic club but we may just c^&k it up if we don't start to improve at a faster rate (yes there has been improvement but no step change as you might expect from a young side).

Yeah I agree to an extent, in hindsight looking at the senior players around GWS compared to GC there is a noteable difference in hardness/never say die attitude/mental strength type stuff.

Brogan vs Fraser ? Brogan wins
McDonald vs Brown? Probably a tie both hard players
Scully vs Ablett - Ablett of course, but Scully is still a topline player.
Ward vs Rischa - Probably a tie also both hard at the footy.
Cornes vs Brennan - Cornes has been a tough competetive player for about 8 years or so - Cornes wins

Then we have Krakour, Harbrow, Stanley vs the likes of Davis, Palmer and Power?

There is a noteable edge in contested footy with GWS senior recruitments. Will be interesting if they go backwards next year if a few of those senior GWS players retire.

Need our experienced players leading by example moreso on the field. I think Rischa needs to stop playing that defensive role and start attacking again, hard at the ball clearance player he was the last couple years. We now have 2 of biggest clearance winners in Rischitelli and Brennan playing defensive roles? Not to mention Swallow being out as well.

So thats 3 out of our top 4 clearance midfield players not playing at the moment basically.

/end of rant for now

it seems like we can match it with anyone until half time. then we fade for some reason.

im sure the coach would like to know the reason.....but i recon its probably a variety of things.

if a rugby league team were to fade like that, you would question fitness first, on field leadership and where inspiration should be coming from but is lacking.

the same things can be applied here, only its such a young side, its natural they are going to get outgunned in the end.

for the last 3 seasons the broncos have been rebuilding with a heap of young players. they had an original nucleus of players to start with though. so its a bit hard to compare their progress with ours. but it was in their 3rd year that they are now true finals candidates. (cant remember if they made it last year, top 8?)

anyway. we are half way there. 18 months in and we are generally ahead by halftime. we need just a bit more time, tweak a few rthings, and some injured players to return. we also have omeara next year and an improving wrecking ball, k hunt to look forward to.

she'll be right!

I really don't think we'll get the spoon. If we win at least one game we're ahead of GWS on %. Melbourne are horrible and have a worse % then us (they've both conceded more and scored less). Port and Brisbane have pulled away to 3 games each but lots of games to go.

Generally sickened about the lack of support here. It's a fact that average # of games played directly correlates to the # of potential wins your club can get....it's fairly easy.

According to AFL stats page
Melbourne Demons 32 activeplayers, 70 games played
Adelaide Crows 29 active players 72 games played
Collingwood 35 active players, 101 games played
West Coast 31 active players, 87 games played
Gold Coast 38 active players, 44 games played

You can do this for yourself at AFLSTATS.COM or on AFL page but you get the idea. If you take any of our veteran players off the field, that 44 games played drops. If you had me remove Bock, Harbrow, and Brennan off that list because of injury and being dropped we then average 36 games.....take gaz and rischa off from injury youre now at 28 games played.

So ya....guys I know it sucks watching the boys lose. I know you expected premierships in 2011 but for ****s sake settle down with this it's over shit. With few exceptions, expansion teams in any sport take some time to get going....very rarely do teams win alot in their first years. I know you can cite the Eagles and Lions from their expansion periods, but I think that was a different era of player management and playing styles. Modern game demands alot more of players then it did then.

I come from Boston, a city where no matter how bad the team is, no matter how much shit you hang on the players for not playing hard or the coaches for being idiots, you support the team because its the representation of the people. You hang in for the tough days so that on cold, crisp fall days in 2004 you can celebrate the end of a 100+ year drought of championship joy. I was there when the Red Sox won in 2004....I'll be there when the Suns win someday. Will you?