Jack Irish

Remove this Banner Ad

The show went a lot deeper then just the Fitzroy Connection for me. Back in 1995 I was working as a Production Accountant on a TV show called Ocean Girl which starred the Director of these telemovies, young Jeffrey Walker, who was a closet Royboy and was always nagging me to get him on the bench for our matches (when I was a trainer there). We had quite a good percentage of our crew who were Royboys and Roygirls and even the funny Marieke Hardy was a passionate Lion. From memory there were a few Neighbours stars at the time pretty keen on us and Brad Boyd even started seeing one of the actors.
(On a side note The "Coogee Bay Incident" happened when I was working on this show and I got in to a bit of strife when we got back to Melbourne after that weekend.)
The other thing about the show is when they talk about going in to witness protection and how they'd have to go to Deniliquin, the home of Bobby Henderson and the Home of the Toolman!

I came here to start this thread, so am glad to see it.

I didn't see the first film but the second one, Black Tide, had a running gag with a bunch of old Fitzroy Lions supporters (as mentioned above) propping up the bar at the Union Club Hotel, I think, which was pretty funny. It's well made and acted and the DVDs are out already. Guy Pearce is pretty great in it.
Watching it on telly at the moment and realised I've got this totally wrong. It's definitely the Napier, not the Union.

Ironically one of those 'props' at the bar was the Senior Sergeant to Gil Tucker in Cop Shop who was always spruiking his Roys' Guernsey whenever he could!

Excuse the bump but I am watching Jack Irish on ABC and there are a lot of Fitzroy Footy Club references throughout the series.