Fulham
Nothing has been mentioned about Stuv lately, so i thought id have a bit of a discussion about his form this year. Watching games i don't seem to notice him having an impact on actual games as he did last year for us. After every game i check the stat sheet and he seems to still be getting plenty of the footy it's just not as damaging a last year. His numbers aren't too much down on last year, but i guess the impact that his disposals are having with clangers increasing to almost 2 more per game are. Think he needs to lift another gear for us to have any chance of making the finals imo.

2017 v 2016
upload_2017-6-20_11-5-9.png

Riewoldt kicks well for goal unless he is hurting. The stats bear this out. He was less accurate in 2005 and 2010 than he was in 2004 or 2009.

Steven kicks better when his fitness isn't compromised. The stats bear this out. He wasn't nearly as effective in 2014 as he was in 2013, 2015 or 2016. He punctured a lung in Round 2 this year.

Having said that I am worried that he doesn't really possess the physical attributes to break a tag. When he is tagged I'd like to see him push forward like he did on Friday night.

Wow, those stats are fascinating. They suggest he's had a comprehensively better season than last year. But I agree with you that watching games it doesn't feel like he's had as much impact. I feel like he's breaking free less and so having more rushed disposals, which have less impact. His workrate is still good though, so he gets to a lot of contests.

lol think you're mixing up the years mate

Riewoldt kicks well for goal unless he is hurting. The stats bear this out. He was less accurate in 2005 and 2010 than he was in 2004 or 2009.

Steven kicks better when his fitness isn't compromised. The stats bear this out. He wasn't nearly as effective in 2014 as he was in 2013, 2015 or 2016. He punctured a lung in Round 2 this year.

Having said that I am worried that he doesn't really possess the physical attributes to break a tag. When he is tagged I'd like to see him push forward like he did on Friday night.

Yea he has had solid pre season's the last few years so fitness shouldn't really be an issue. I agree that he does not cope well with a tag. A second game managed to tag him sucessfully against north until he went forward and kicked a couple. Needs to find ways to break tags not just through work-rate.

There probably is somewhere, but i have no idea how to find it. I'd say it would be less this year.
Surprisingly it's 402.2 metres gained per game this year compared to 401.5 last year. He's only fifth at the club though, behind Roberton (488.9), Montagna (471.5), Newnes (444.2), and Ross (408.9)

Did lol at Billy's 6.9 metres gained per game

I'd like to see him spend more time forward as a dangerous small when he is out of form, burning up to the wings, and unsettling defenders when the ball goes over their last line. Have a spell from the intensity of his current role. Obviously we're already bare for potent midfielders, and he might need the midfield minutes to get that fitness/form back, but it is just a further ale to how one dimensional we are, with minimal creativity. He's not an elite player currently, and too naturally dangerous to allow to be tagged out every week.

Steven has a cluey sense of goals, timing of the crumb, can cut at angles, speed, x-factor, and would have defensive units constantly nervous. I hate seeing the opp defence grow in confidence from the the first Q to the last.

We need to throw a cat among the pigeons offensively. Membrey's confidence in front of goals has plummeted. Mav a liability and super deflating. No consistent goal kicking crumbers. No consistent threat when we've even got more numbers at the forward entry marking contest! And an extreme lack of nous and electricity on the spillage.

Still get him in the middle to take a few miles off the onballers, but I'd love to see him with more space to install danger in the minds of the opposition. He can break the flow of deflating entries and predictable rebound.

Let Dunstan, Ross, Stevens, Webster, Newnes, etc, flog themselves in the stoppage cluster from centre to half back. Have Steven playing the menace in the hot spots for the chaos kicks out.

We need to breath some life back into this team offensively. Steven brings the enthusiasm for the hunt on goal.

I'd like to see him spend more time forward as a dangerous small when he is out of form, burning up to the wings, and unsettling defenders when the ball goes over their last line. Have a spell from the intensity of his current role. Obviously we're already bare for potent midfielders, and he might need the midfield minutes to get that fitness/form back, but it is just a further ale to how one dimensional we are, with minimal creativity. He's not an elite player currently, and too naturally dangerous to allow to be tagged out every week.

Steven has a cluey sense of goals, timing of the crumb, can cut at angles, speed, x-factor, and would have defensive units constantly nervous. I hate seeing the opp defence grow in confidence from the the first Q to the last.

We need to throw a cat among the pigeons offensively. Membrey's confidence in front of goals has plummeted. Mav a liability and super deflating. No consistent goal kicking crumbers. No consistent threat when we've even got more numbers at the forward entry marking contest! And an extreme lack of nous and electricity on the spillage.

Still get him in the middle to take a few miles off the onballers, but I'd love to see him with more space to install danger in the minds of the opposition. He can break the flow of deflating entries and predictable rebound.

Let Dunstan, Ross, Stevens, Webster, Newnes, etc, flog themselves in the stoppage cluster from centre to half back. Have Steven playing the menace in the hot spots for the chaos kicks out.

We need to breath some life back into this team offensively. Steven brings the enthusiasm for the hunt on goal.

Couldn't have said it better myself.

Has been receiving a hell of a lot more attention from opposition, would hope that others around him improve a bit more though as it might potentially free him up a little, we need him in 2016 form if we're to be any chance of playing finals.

Absolute A grade player and there's no doubt about it, but his impact on games has been significantly lower than in previous years. Watch him hit some serious form in the coming weeks, would be massive for us

He's not getting the feed he was from the ruckmen he got last year . There were times last year the ball would come to him when he was at top pace or close to it and they couldn't catch him, this year he hasn't had that advantage from Hickey who lost form or Longer. So we haven't seen him bursting from the middle like last year.

Sent via HAL

Simple solution for Steven- wait until 2018 when we recruit another star mid. Sloane Selwood Dangerfield and Mitchell etc etc all fail/struggle with tags - just those other teams have better mids around them at this stage and results follow. Tick for Steven that opp coaches rate him and he cops both tag and team attention each week. Lack of support from others does not help but ultimately need more elite mids to progress further. i like Sydney's approach - great spread of damaging mids each getting 25 disposals - Steven tagged each week leaves Ross to accumulate 30 + possies but not damaging enough at this stage. We are a bit one dimensional at the moment.

definately have noticed he isn't as prolific this season. Pretty sure I've posted in game threads asking where he is, especially when we were crying out for someone to so something. Not getting opportunity to use his speed.

Will be interesting if we do pull another class player in FA, Then we can afford to get him in some more open spaces without losing too much at the contest.

Jack has really struggled to shake his taggers this year. He like most of our midfield are not naturally aggressive players and with his team mates not helping him out the taggers have just gone on their mary way. We need to add class to our mids but we also need some real mongrel and nastiness when required (dont f... with us ) attitude. Sam Pepper-Powell would have been perfect from last years draft.

Just a little off this year stuv.
Been getting battered by oppo since round 1.
When we get another bonafide midfield star the pressure will be off Jack and he Will go up another level.
Seb is our 2nd best atm. Great player. Solid. Smart kick. But not near the linebreak/game changing player that steven is. Will never be tagged.

Surprisingly it's 402.2 metres gained per game this year compared to 401.5 last year. He's only fifth at the club though, behind Roberton (488.9), Montagna (471.5), Newnes (444.2), and Ross (408.9)

Did lol at Billy's 6.9 metres gained per game
Where can we access metres gained stats?

Probably our key outside runner, but that's one of the areas where we have fallen down this year. Jack seems to get pushed off the ball a bit too easy- looks like he doesn't have good core strength to hold his ground. I would get him off the ball for a few games and play him exclusively in the forward half. Richo can work out some other solution to his outside run issues- we can't just rely on one player in this role

Yes all of sudden he has those weakenesses. Some of us are a hard lot on here. Play exclusively HF. What are we trying to do? Lose more games. He has a little on his plate at the moment and probably isnt as fit as he has been. Jack is one player that needs to be close to 100% to play at his best because speed is his huge weapon. He is a pure mid who can go forward. That is his and the sides best positions for him.