Jack Viney

Ok if the players association has any balls

Call a meeting ....ask the players if they want to protest by not playing for a week or two....I'm serious

Our game has changed by this decision .....this dam important ...yes its that important

Grows some balls players association and step in and see what action can be taken

Take a stand ...say right we are not happy and our members are not happy

I would fully applaud if the players went on strike for this

I would love the clubs and players to say "enough is enough" and take back the game. Go on strike, don't play. I reckon the majority of supporters would get behind this action. It's time this game was taken back from those who obviously have other agendas. Sack the entire AFL board if need be. Governments get removed if they are incompetent why not the AFL? 'Gilligan' needs to act fast on this before he loses his job in a coup.

Like this

The players are the ones we sit here

They are on the field

Protest would be powerful way to say enough is enough

See other thread I have started on this

Interesting that you say that about leaving the ground to contest the ball.. Zeibell copped a lengthy suspension for that.

I'm not sold the bump is dead.. it's still a courageous game but the uncontested possessions has really watered down the standard. Some people need to realise (read: ACCEPT) that the game is no longer the same brand of AFL/ VFL we grew up with. I walked away from watching AFL six years ago… occasionally I watch the odd game on tv but it's rarely anything that resembles what the old school classic of being the true brutal sport of days gone by. Just get over it… why> Zeibell copped 3 weeks for protecting himself last year (barely watched anything from that game…only heard about it) http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-05-27/ziebell-hit-with-bump-ban just underlined the direction with a ridiculous long suspension for 'accidental' injury.. if the player isn't hurt… nothing more happens.

That's the way it is.

Don't understand why some people are calling lynch 'soft'.. it's a freak accident…. some people that never played the game on a competitive level should STFU.

Bump is deader than Elvis

Breathe in… breathe out.. take a moment to appreciate the truth that is more about 'accidental contact' to the head that is dead.. bumps just less occurring because it's not geared to be played with so much 'bang-crash' nowadays but I've seen it occur on the odd (read: rare) occasion..

Players association are only ever interested in having more byes and longer off-season breaks. They are incredibly silent and really pi55 poor on this one. In the meantime, good young players like Viney and Fyfe are getting a black mark added to their careers for doing nothing more than what was totally legal (and expected) for the last century. And there will be plenty more of this crap coming to your club soon people! I'm just wondering how it will be handled when there is a really big name like a Pendles or Ablett or Selwood cut down by a similar decision?

Disgraceful.
Viney plays the game the way the game should be played.
Monumental mistake by the AFL. :thumbsdown:

I'm sure the AFL have botched many decisions to make fans 'consider turn away' in the last few years.. but the suckers keep coming back..

'Principal' is a box I ticked six years ago.. it's become a shits n' giggles league… don't take it serious anymore. The personalities are almost non-existent.. nobody dares challenge the league or says anything with clout… heck… I got suspended for four weeks for piping up that some C*** stole my lunch from the MCG staff fridge!!

If he had charged in and cleaned up the comets fair enough

He slowed down...in fact he stopped and braced to minimise the impact

He did everything we would want to do and would teach teenage players ......overnight the way we teach teenage players has been bought into question

That to me is the worry ...the decision we will get over

But now the bigger question ....what do we teach players ?

THATS A BIGGER CONCERN THAN THE DECISION ITSELF

Players association are only ever interested in having more byes and longer off-season breaks. They are incredibly silent and really pi55 poor on this one. In the meantime, good young players like Viney and Fyfe are getting a black mark added to their careers for doing nothing more than what was totally legal (and expected) for the last century. And there will be plenty more of this crap coming to your club soon people! I'm just wondering how it will be handled when there is a really big name like a Pendles or Ablett or Selwood cut down by a similar decision?

If Viney is smart

And players should be calling their lawyers and state we cannot play under these rules because they are unreasonable and frankly the change will actually make the players more unsafe

That's the laughable part ....it will cause more injuries not less

Can you pls reference the thread you started
It disappear I think

I'm new and have over hundred posts so not sure

Posted it in general afl thread ....maybe the combined it into this one....

what I asked was players association should consider stroke action or stand down action

Do something that will cost the all a shizen load of cash

If Viney is smart

And players should be calling their lawyers and state we cannot play under these rules because they are unreasonable and frankly the change will actually make the players more unsafe

That's the laughable part ....it will cause more injuries not less

A decent lawyer should get him off the charge on the basis of an error of law. He did not bump, he braced.
Because he didn't choose to bump, he doesn't have to consider alternatives

If he had charged in and cleaned up the comets fair enough

He slowed down...in fact he stopped and braced to minimise the impact

He did everything we would want to do and would teach teenage players ......overnight the way we teach teenage players has been bought into question

That to me is the worry ...the decision we will get over

But now the bigger question ....what do we teach players ?

THATS A BIGGER CONCERN THAN THE DECISION ITSELF
The tribunal pretty much said, don't do what Premiership coach and veteran of over 300 AFL games and many years of coaching in Paul Roos tells you to do (in fact they didn't even want to hear his evidence) and instead do what a barrister who may never have set foot on a football field says.

That's what makes the decision so puzzling from the 3 respected former players on the tribunal.

I suggest you hire a lawyer for training instead of a coach.

Thinking that he should've pirouetted out of the way when he didnt have the ball is one of the most staggering things i've ever heard watching footy.

He could of done a Jack Darling ninja flip, not doing a ninja flip clearly means he was trying to hurt Lynch

The tribunal pretty much said, don't do what Premiership coach and veteran of over 300 AFL games and many years of coaching in Paul Roos tells you to do (in fact they didn't even want to hear his evidence) and instead do what a barrister who may never have set foot on a football field says.

That's what makes the decision so puzzling from the 3 respected former players on the tribunal.

I suggest you hire a lawyer for training instead of a coach.

I staggered at this call

I repeat what mark Robinson said

Mckernan got 2 for an elbow that was thuggery

And Viney gets 2 weeks for this

Pass me the bottle of wine because I must be drunk if they are worth the same sentence ......

Try explaining to a foreign visitor that has never seen our game that they are worth the same thing

Baffled beyond belief

Yeah nah.

Ziebell vs Joseph is hard to beat. Ball in dispute, arrived at the same time, Joseph played out the quarter = 4 weeks.

Ziebell got 3 weeks for attempting to smother Jarryd Lyons last year. A legitimate smother attempt, braced for the ensuing bump, Lyons played out the game without injury. Inexplicably, Duryea had a virtually identical smother/bump waved away by Muppet Fraser 2 weeks earlier. The contradictory explanations given absolutely defy belief.

Until the rules are amended to have penalties better reflect intent, shockers like the Jack V / Z rulings will continue.
You know... maybe Gleeson just hates people with the name Jack. Could be a simple explanation for all this madness.

I think the bigger issue is they are puppets

They are afl puppets

The afl has given them a job with one simple rule

Eliminate all contact and if you don't we will not pay you and will find someone who will make these calls...I know how they work

I think deep down don't blame them blame the cronies running the game whom have instructed these people to operate this way