Jack Watts

• Thread starter Thread starter shortbus

We all want to see him play AFL, but the next time I'd like him to be ready. I'm happy for him to play another month at Casey and earn his selection. They're giving him a run up the ground and getting some match fitness into him, but I'd also like to see him play the 'tall' role down at Casey.

The good news is he's bulked up considerably and is starting to look like a key forward.

I would like him to play CHF/FF at Casey, but I can understand why they are easing him into it.

I don't think we'll see him in the senior team for at least another month, unless he starts dominating and Juice plays poorly.

I would like him to play CHF/FF at Casey, but I can understand why they are easing him into it.

I don't think we'll see him in the senior team for at least another month, unless he starts dominating and Juice plays poorly

We're half way there...three quarters of the way if you consider that Watts had a good performance on the weekend.

Play him this week against Shitmond. He will dominate. There are better defenders in the VFL than what Shitmond can offer up, if there was ever a round to "ease him in" this would be it.

I disagree - he can only fail if he plays this week.

If he gets 15 touches and kicks 3 goals people will say well it was only Richmond.

If he is quiet, he will get pasted in the press - he would face huge pressure particularly if we lose.

We should play him when he's ready. Playing him dependent on who we are playing is just stupid. Haven't we already done that with him anyway. Didn't work out too well. Its gonna be frustrating, but we just have to be patient with him.

^ This. :thumbsu:

End thread

+1.

Great post mate. JW will be a player for us, he just needs time.

+1 as well. Does that make it an official /thread? :D

should play in the VFL for the rest of the year.

side note: jack watts = mitch 'FIGJAM' thorp

mate when did i sook? i didnt even
Fair enough. I think it must of been closed cos it was going in a poor direction. Regards the writing style in the thread, perhaps break up the rant into paragraphs that way people may read the whole lot rather than just (attempt to) lay into you. But come on don't talk about how your mum is an English teacher , grammar and spelling is not genetic like diabetes or heart disease.

Having met Jack down at Casey when he was still recuperating from his back injury I think it was, he struck me as someone who just wants to help Melbourne start the climb back up the ladder. I didn't detect the big head others have mentioned.

He even took the time to have a kick to kick with my nephew, who was over the moon. When asked he also signed the little fellas football as well. That footy now takes pride of place amongst his possessions, and he tells me his mates at school are "very jealous".

I think we just need to cut the guy some slack, remember his age and give him some time. I'm sure we will be rewarded in spades with years of quality football.

DL

Watched a short doco on Raul last night, the highest goal scorer for Real Madrid and Spain. The coach who played him his first game said something along the lines of ...

I was thinking of playing Raul for his first game, but I had my reservations so I went and spoke to him and said "I might play you this week, but I'm worried your going to be nervous". To which he said a 17year old Raul replied to the head coach of the biggest club in the world...'play me if you want to win, or don't play me if you don't want to win'

Arrogance should not be confused with confidence in your ability. And apart from a few posts on bigfooty, I have no reason to believe Jack is arrogant because he comes across the complete opposite in the media, and when I met him.

WatArrogance should not be confused with confidence in your ability. And apart from a few posts on bigfooty, I have no reason to believe Jack is arrogant because he comes across the complete opposite in the media, and when I met him.

I agree, arrogance is a form of confidence. If you don't believe in yourself how good you are then who else will? Wayne Carey knew he was that good, it (confidence and arrogance) is half the battle in becoming a top line footballer.

Kid should never have been played last year, but don't forget two of his three games were the worst two games we played all year. Thought he looked good in the other one.

Whatever. Good things come to those who wait.

I agree, arrogance is a form of confidence. If you don't believe in yourself how good you are then who else will? Wayne Carey knew he was that good, it (confidence and arrogance) is half the battle in becoming a top line footballer.
look what happened to him, screwed his teammates wife.. and destroyed north melbourne and the lives of everyone around him.. football is just a game, not worth all that