WeninRome

Aston Villa
All I keep hearing are positives about this kid, yet I am really yet to see anything from him.

From all the ants reports I have read this year he barely gets a mention and in the senior games he has played he goes missing for 3/4.

Can someone please shine some light on this kid for me because I am yet to be impressed or understand how and why he should be in the team before Hartlett????

Hopefully, the kid can reach some sort of potential, given his pedigree. However, like you, I'm yet to see anything outstanding in the games he's played to make me think he is gonna' be a superstar or some such thing.

I'm thinking blokes like Walls haven't done the lad any favors by talking him up way too early, before he has had a chance to show us any thing.

I must admit he looks lively chasing the ball and stuff, but unfortunately he seems to do a lot of chasing and not much actually getting. Time will tell.

Pace, good hands, nice height, potential.

Needs to work on kicking and working harder, doesn't seem to push himself as much as he can.

Still, was drafted as a bottom-ager in the 2005 draft so still very young and would give him a couple more years.

All I keep hearing are positives about this kid, yet I am really yet to see anything from him.

From all the ants reports I have read this year he barely gets a mention and in the senior games he has played he goes missing for 3/4.

Can someone please shine some light on this kid for me because I am yet to be impressed or understand how and why he should be in the team before Hartlett????

That's because he is sh_t, that's why, him wiggin's and JR, they all make me sick. Because Wiggin's took one good mark against the Pie's, every one on here thought he was the next best thing to toast. I never rated him and want him out, gone, delisted for good. Apart from Fev, we have nothing in the forward line, all they do is kick behind's, and Im sick of everyone blaming fev for our loss.

Although this is a brutal rant, in the end it may end up being brutally honest.

He also took a great mark against the Tigers :confused:;)

Agree about Edwards, cant kick for shit and doesnt have anything about his game that stands out (in fact, "nothing" is what stand out the most)!

Although this is a brutal rant, in the end it may end up being brutally honest.

I don't like to beat around the bush, I say it how it is. Trust me they are no good. Till this day I don't understand how footballer's miss goal's, from 10 metre's out. JR does it all the time, it's not just a one of. Wiggin's only plays about 5 minute's a game. Fisher spend's more time on the ground, instead of in the air taking mark's. He should of stuck the knee up to protect the ball drop in that first quarter when he was in the goal square all on his own. He getts pushed around to easy and is no help to Fev.

The ball get's in our forward line enuf time's to win game's, but we have a bunch of no hoper's in the forward line, apart from Fev and Eddie, so how are we suppose to make final's when that is what we have to pin our hope's on.

If they kicked straight we would of won that game, and St.Kilda would of been chasing our tail's all day, instead everyone wants to blame Fev, I walked away from that game, and trust me it wasnt fev I was pissed off with far from it. JR should of been shipped back to SA last year like he wanted to. Now we have to see him every week handing the opposition the ball back, which usually result's in them kicking a goal. He turns it over more than anyone in that team, but to read what they write about him on here, makes me wonder if half of em know anything about footy. Edward's will never make it trust me.

have to agree with blue_chick on some fronts. We all get our hopes after a couple of good performances from wiggins, fisher and russell. The jury is well and truly out on Fisher. He along with carrots, t-bird have been there through the dark period but that certainly doesn't mean the club can't make the tough call at year's end.
Fish - falls over, can't kick over a jam tin and his tackles never stick
Russell - falls over, turns it over, gets paid good money yet couldn't kick over a jam tin. every set shot he has missed this year
Wiggy - sorry mate but not up to it. can't play 5 minutes every week and keep gettting a game. along with delulio, franchina ( i think) and thornton the worst player/s to 100 games.
Unfortunately, no one will take any of these 3.
Play hartlett and austin.
We need to get some blokes into defence who can kick distance and also we need forwards who can mark. Look at the tigers - hughes - kicks it long and straight Riewolt - ditto, Morton - ditto and they have got some good small forwards.

We may need to off load fev to get something decent in return. IT will hurt but it could mean the recruitment of two or three key forwards.

I seriously question carlton Recruiting Panel, Im a mad carlton Supporter but i get SOO frustrated to see duds like this bloke at carlton, I must sound harsh, but i Demand Success like alot of Other frustrated Carlton supporters out there.

*Jake edwards: Slow,soft,no aggression, shit skills,no Fooball smarts!!
*steven Browne:No gavin wanganeen!(Not sure if right spelling), To short,Slow.
*Hadley, Richard Other AFL clubs dont let somthing good go for nothing so WHY THE F***K do carlton think they can change DUDS!!
*Pfeiffer, Darren As ABOVE!!!

*Fish,: Slow,PISS WEAK!, Cant kick Over 35m, Never Looks intrested!!
SO WHY EXTEND HIS CONTRACT FOR ANOTHER 2 YEARS!!!!!!!

*Russell, Jordan: Shits Himself when he gets the ball then Stuffs it up,goes missing alot, disposal lets him down!!

Few More i Could mention but those where the majors'..

Does Anyone see what i see?? We have alot of weak Links on a Match day list.

Look around At all the young talent outside of carlton, not all of them where high draft picks, Yet Carlton recruiting People SEEM TO ALWAYS MISS OUT!! or Pick duds!!
Seriously the Only GOOD young talent we have is from Licking the Wooden Spoon a Few times and you dont have to be Very smart to just pick No.1.

Get Rid Of that STUPID recruiting Panel or Carlton Will Suffer for another Decade.

had to let out a bit of steam, if anyone can debate my view please do.

I seriously question carlton Recruiting Panel, Im a mad carlton Supporter but i get SOO frustrated to see duds like this bloke at carlton, I must sound harsh, but i Demand Success like alot of Other frustrated Carlton supporters out there.

*Hadley, Richard Other AFL clubs dont let somthing good go for nothing so WHY THE F***K do carlton think they can change DUDS!!

*Russell, Jordan: Shits Himself when he gets the ball then Stuffs it up,goes missing alot, disposal lets him down!!

Look around At all the young talent outside of carlton, not all of them where high draft picks, Yet Carlton recruiting People SEEM TO ALWAYS MISS OUT!! or Pick duds!!
Seriously the Only GOOD young talent we have is from Licking the Wooden Spoon a Few times and you dont have to be Very smart to just pick No.1.

Get Rid Of that STUPID recruiting Panel or Carlton Will Suffer for another Decade.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: Totally agree,

WTF??? Has this thread been invaded by 13 year olds? :confused:

Jake Edwards is in his 3rd season and is a KPP who take longer to develop. He was a bottom ager in the same draft as Josh Kennedy plus played no games in his first season anyway so is effectively a second year player.

You have to give these blokes time, you can't expect instant results from taller players as soon as they walk in the team.

.....ah I am just wasting my breath I guess, it's pretty obvious to see the intelligence level in this thread :rolleyes:

Pfeiffer was forced out of the crows because although he had heaps of talent but no interest. With the right guidance he'll be a gun. DID we forget he kicked the goal that won us the game versus freo?

Play hartlett? Maybe when he strings together a few games together before falling to injury.

Why bag fish? he's been good the last two weeks.

Jake Edwards is in his 3rd season and is a KPP who take longer to develop. He was a bottom ager in the same draft as Josh Kennedy plus played no games in his first season anyway so is effectively a second year player.

You have to give these blokes time, you can't expect instant results from taller players as soon as they walk in the team.

.....ah I am just wasting my breath I guess, it's pretty obvious to see the intelligence level in this thread :rolleyes:

I agree with you.

I started this thread to hopefully learn something about Jake as I am yet to know too much about him.

I am yet to be filled in....

Ok. Ill give it a shot.

- Quick on the lead
- Mostly clean mark
- Could play FF
- Could play HFF
- It is hard to get a kick when 80% of ball is directed to one man (Fevola) and the delivery isn't awesome either.
- Showed good signs against Freo when Fev was down by kicking 2 goals and had about 4 shots.
- Once he puts a bit of weight on and gets upper body strength he could be a very handy player.
- Needs time
-The reason he cant find much of the ball at VFL level is because the delivery is CRAP and with the type of player he is that limits his influence.
- Should definitely be given another year.

Hope i could help!

Im not a 13 year old, and know more about footy than you by the looks of things. Edwards will not make it, either will JR, and wiggin's should of been delisted last year. So I don't know what part of the previous things I said and others agreeing with me u think your so much a better judge of. Fisher has played well has he, dont know what game you where watching, he is soft, gets pushed around to easy, never stays on his feet, and if you carnt see that, then I suggest you put a pair of glasses on.

Ok. Ill give it a shot.

- Quick on the lead
- Mostly clean mark
- Could play FF
- Could play HFF
- It is hard to get a kick when 80% of ball is directed to one man (Fevola) and the delivery isn't awesome either.
- Showed good signs against Freo when Fev was down by kicking 2 goals and had about 4 shots.
- Once he puts a bit of weight on and gets upper body strength he could be a very handy player.
- Needs time
-The reason he cant find much of the ball at VFL level is because the delivery is CRAP and with the type of player he is that limits his influence.
- Should definitely be given another year.

Hope i could help!

cheers :thumbsu:

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: Totally agree,

I don't like to beat around the bush, I say it how it is. Trust me they are no good. Till this day I don't understand how footballer's miss goal's, from 10 metre's out. JR does it all the time, it's not just a one of. Wiggin's only plays about 5 minute's a game. Fisher spend's more time on the ground, instead of in the air taking mark's. He should of stuck the knee up to protect the ball drop in that first quarter when he was in the goal square all on his own. He getts pushed around to easy and is no help to Fev.

The ball get's in our forward line enuf time's to win game's, but we have a bunch of no hoper's in the forward line, apart from Fev and Eddie, so how are we suppose to make final's when that is what we have to pin our hope's on.

If they kicked straight we would of won that game, and St.Kilda would of been chasing our tail's all day, instead everyone wants to blame Fev, I walked away from that game, and trust me it wasnt fev I was pissed off with far from it. JR should of been shipped back to SA last year like he wanted to. Now we have to see him every week handing the opposition the ball back, which usually result's in them kicking a goal. He turns it over more than anyone in that team, but to read what they write about him on here, makes me wonder if half of em know anything about footy. Edward's will never make it trust me.

Edwards ran sub 3 seconds for 20 metres and is quick.

Browne is a first year player and can play.

You're opposition trolls or you're bloody stupid to question a 20 year old.

I suspect a little from column A, a little from column B is the answer.

Piss off until you show your true colours. :thumbsd:

Matthews wanted to keep Hadley.

I think Leigh knows a bit more about the player who was terrific in our first win over Collingwood this year.

This board is becoming more unreadable and unmoderated by the day with the crap threads, posts and posters that keep popping up.

Yet we need four mods. :confused:

I hope they don't get upset and leave if I criticise the moderation on Bigfooty.

It must be hard to put your hand up to be a mod, yet you get upset if someone is critical and gives their honest opinion. :rolleyes:

My precious.

I think Leigh knows a bit more about the player who was terrific in our win over Collingwood this year.

ahhh TG....:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Most of the poeple posting in this thread need to wake up to themselves. For starters, don't simply say 'we need these players gone', explain who will come in and take their place. Some guy said to get rid of about 5 guys, and said replace them with Austin and Hartlett:rolleyes:

In regards to some of the players mentioned:

Fisher - Very late draft pick. Has done more than anyone could hope to imagine. Is having a bad year, but I expect he'll bounce back next year. Would be hard being the second main target behind Fev.

Russell - Someone posted a while back the draft list from the year we got Russell, I was shocked - there isn't really any standouts. Before you start bagging him, I suggest you all go and take a look and the next 20 or so kids taken after Russell. Suddenly he doesn't seem such a bad pick after all (And yes I know some idiot will pick the 2 or 3 good players picked after him, and say we should have taken them instead :rolleyes: )

Wiggins - Not every draft pick makes it, and unfortunately this was a drafting blunder from us. High pick that never reached potential. However he is at least a good fringe player for us, and is really only in the side due to all our injuries, so lay off him. He gives it a hard crack, and isnt playing to bad.

Browne - WTF, why mention him.

Hadley & Phief - WTF, they were good pick ups for us, and still are. Both have huge potential, and if neither make it, so what, we got them cheaply.

Now as for Edwards - I don't think h will make it, however hardly a drafting blunder. All teams have trouble getting a star in the latter picks. Besides, he has never really been given an extended period to give it a real shot, and it would be very hard as an inexperienced guy to play in a forward line of a team who looks to just one guy.

I think Leigh knows a bit more about the player who was terrific in our win over Collingwood this year.
:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

I never mentioned hadley, I love hadley, was wrapped when we got him. He is a player. Browne is to small and not quick enuf for the small quicks. So I dont know where this Hadley crap came up from, because I have never bagged him. The one's that I said wont make it, I stick by it and in a couple of years time I will remind u.

Most of the poeple posting in this thread need to wake up to themselves. For starters, don't simply say 'we need these players gone', explain who will come in and take their place. Some guy said to get rid of about 5 guys, and said replace them with Austin and Hartlett:rolleyes:

In regards to some of the players mentioned:

Fisher - Very late draft pick. Has done more than anyone could hope to imagine. Is having a bad year, but I expect he'll bounce back next year. Would be hard being the second main target behind Fev.

Russell - Someone posted a while back the draft list from the year we got Russell, I was shocked - there isn't really any standouts. Before you start bagging him, I suggest you all go and take a look and the next 20 or so kids taken after Russell. Suddenly he doesn't seem such a bad pick after all (And yes I know some idiot will pick the 2 or 3 good players picked after him, and say we should have taken them instead :rolleyes: )

Wiggins - Not every draft pick makes it, and unfortunately this was a drafting blunder from us. High pick that never reached potential. However he is at least a good fringe player for us, and is really only in the side due to all our injuries, so lay off him. He gives it a hard crack, and isnt playing to bad.

Browne - WTF, why mention him.

Hadley & Phief - WTF, they were good pick ups for us, and still are. Both have huge potential, and if neither make it, so what, we got them cheaply.

Now as for Edwards - I don't think h will make it, however hardly a drafting blunder. All teams have trouble getting a star in the latter picks. Besides, he has never really been given an extended period to give it a real shot, and it would be very hard as an inexperienced guy to play in a forward line of a team who looks to just one guy.

great post. One of the more insightful on here in a while :thumbsu:

Im not a 13 year old, and know more about footy than you by the looks of things. Edwards will not make it, either will JR, and wiggin's should of been delisted last year. So I don't know what part of the previous things I said and others agreeing with me u think your so much a better judge of. Fisher has played well has he, dont know what game you where watching, he is soft, gets pushed around to easy, never stays on his feet, and if you carnt see that, then I suggest you put a pair of glasses on.
Are you ****ing for real or what? You've bagged a whole heap of players and although I agree about JR and Wiggins and a tad about Fisher (needs a spell in the twos to get his confidence back, not delisting), you've included Edwards (effectively a second year player), Browne (played about 5 games), Hadley (ditto for us) and Pffeifer.

I am glad you can see players after 5 games and conclude that they 'will not make it'. I dunno what Wayne Hughes was thinking after watching Browne for the best part of 5 years when he picked him :rolleyes:

We have many problems but Edwards isn't one of them. The guy has played around 10 games FFS! I bet you were one of those people calling for JK's head as well when he didn't step up in his first couple. What part of KPPs need time don't you understand?