Toast Jake King on Open Mike

• Thread starter Thread starter johnno77

Have I missed someone else posting about this?

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...g/news-story/9993fc5f35897fd9fb0af3488e706621

Great distraction from a crap season I would have thought!? I encountered it as I try to avoid packing my bags to go to Thailand tomorrow. I'm going to hate every minute of it but what do you do. First world problems are common in an election week.

This is a must watch. I only caught it halfway through and it was a great little nugget to watch in a pretty miserable footy season. His comments about Dusty are particularly great. Some people just drag you to a premiership. The way Jake spoke, Dusty is that man. **** I hope so........

Watched this a few hours ago live, always loved push up. He is a true blue fair dinkum bloke. Would be a great man to count as a friend.

Wasn't sure what his interview was going to come out like but it's a pity the gangster side was explored so much. Take this out and he wouldn't have made the cut.

Comes across as a top bloke but unfortunately was one of the lost generation when it comes to education. Best of luck to him for whatever he chooses to do in his life.

but it's a pity the gangster side was explored so much. Take this out and he wouldn't have made the cut.

It was Mike Sheehan, what do you expect ha.

Just started watching it on YouTube. Not even a minute in and Mike's giving me the shits. Could he have just a little respect?

The questions he asked about Dusty really pissed me off.

is a good man JK, am a bit surprised that he couldn't have made a decent development coach such is the natural leadership and appetite for hard work that is trademark to him. Not interested perhaps
Probably on the outer due to his connections

Sheehan was trying desperately to get a rise out of Jakey but our boy wasn't biting. Too much class.

Handled himself like a pro and came across as a sincere bloke and a straight shooter.

More power to you, Jakey.

Love Push Up

reckon he would be a greta coach. Lots of footy smarts and knows what it takes to make it with limited talent and being closer to the ground than the average AFL player. Could deal with all types and do well.

Sorry to be a spoilsport, but ...

I've watched a lot of the Open Mike series. Say what you like about Mike Sheahan, but he doesn't shy away from asking uncomfortable questions of his guests. Just off the top of my head, he pursued an uncomfortable line of questioning of Greg Williams, Alastair Lynch, Dermott Brereton and Rod Grinter (over on-field indiscretions), Des Tuddenham (over off-field criminal activity). I'm sure he's also asked guests about brushes with drugs and alcohol addiction (Mark Eustice being one example). Glen Jakovich was grilled about West Coast's flag of 2006 being tainted. Aaron Hammill was asked about the circumstances in which he letter Carlton for St Kilda.

Jake King would have known that these questions were coming. Besides which, I don't think asking Jake King about his connections with Toby Mitchell was off-limits because at one stage Mitchell was attending Richmond games and he was invited into the rooms. Sheahan moved on to ask King about his career, his relationship with Nate Anderson, his family background, etc.

Yes I enjoyed watching Jake King play, but frankly I think cult hero worship detracts from team ethos. I also thought that the link with Toby Mitchell was an unnecessary distraction. Could you imagine Geelong, Hawthorn or Sydney allowing that bloke anywhere near the rooms?

Thanks Jake for your service to the club. But you're no more or less important than any of our other 107-game players.

is a good man JK, am a bit surprised that he couldn't have made a decent development coach such is the natural leadership and appetite for hard work that is trademark to him. Not interested perhaps
Probably not interested, was offered the job at Ringwood North I think year after he retired but decided wasn't for him.

King comes across as a hard-working, generous family man. Funny that he took a pay cut to play league footy because plumbing was paying so well.

My favourite story about him came from Talking Tigers, where Richo said Jakey got on the roof of Punt Road in his overalls to fix the air conditioning one pre-season after training. I picture the gnome shaped gentleman up on the roof every time I’m there.

Jakes comments re Dusty seem to be pretty common amongst the players and coaches etc, gets a bad rap owing to the tatts and his dads group of friends as did King, Dusty could just be the man to lead us out of the wilderness.

Well done Jake, handled that well, really well.

Great guy to have beside you in the trenches, his friends and family are lucky people.

Was I the only one watching this waiting for Mike to bring this up? One of my favourite memories of push up

Good times, always amuses me how that log Maxwell had a go at us for it because we had nothing to play for and they had finals to worry about playing the victim card even though they set it up to go after him

Theratings for this current series

Caro120k
Simon black 82k
Vander Haar 74k
Hamill 66k
Russell Geene 66k
Vandenberg 63k
King 59k
Grinter 59k
Glen Jackovich 55K
Saints 50th year premiership special 53k
Mick Conlan 52k
Ken Sheldon 50k
Barry Richardson/Peter Hudson.Sam Newman special 49k

The odd one out Denis Banks not listed in the top 20 so i don't have the numbers. Very strange that.