Toast James Kelly

Remember that Kelly won the club's best first year player award in 2002, the same year Ablett and Bartel debuted.

I always thought that Kelly looked the best of our young midfielders, before he broke his leg. Then it took a couple of years after he came back before he started getting his old form back again.

Playing mostly defense last year has just added another string to his bow, and he really is one of the best, hard, all-round players we have in the midfield now.

He's in career best form and it's wonderful to see him finally reaching the heights he was destined for prior to his leg injury.

His strength at the contest has been the highlight for me.
Time after time this year he's ripped the ball out of someones hands at the bottom of the pack, got up and barged through as if he were a man against boys.
A game high 13 contested possessions last night bear that out.

He's on the way to becoming genuinely elite. :)

Great game from kelly, and is one that can be reled on in big pressure games.
Amazing how players come back from general soreness and then are BOG next game, ala G.Ablett a few weeks back... I'm thinking there is a fair bit of planning into this general soreness thing!!!

Kelly was fantastic last night.

I really hope he can still get a go in the midfield when Corey comes back, because Kel has been great there this year.

Agility has always been one of his greatest strengths. He just ALWAYS seems to be able to casually sidestep, shrug a tackle, sell some cundy and then spot up a target.

Has always been in my top three favourite players.
Agree, IMO, our MOST underrated player for 2-3 years. His strength and evasion of tackling have always been his "strengths". He is a beauty of a player.

I'd like to think you're right about the Tambling comparison but Kelly is way ahead of Tambling. I hadn't seen enough of the Cats, hence my surprise at Kelly's talent. You mustn't have seen enough of Richmond if you rate them the same. Sure, the confidence and support of playing in a great side like Geelong would help Richie immeasurably but he's not even close to Kelly. Tambling would be competing against Byrnes/Wojo perhaps.
Of course I'll throw in the standard BF disclaimer..."but I'd love to be proven wrong"
Byrnes and Wojo are key players for us IMO, as is Varcoe. A fit Tambling would also be a key player.

Kelly is more a Bartel like player--great overhead, creative, skilled, balanced and not quick leg speed but very quick footy brain. Very different to those elite runners you mentioned. Kelly before he broke his leg, was arguably our BEST mid, sublimely skilled, and most forget that with the emergence of Ablett, Bartel and Selwood.

I've got to say that Kel was very good, let down by his disposal at times. When it is once or twice you can say yeah ok, but three times in a row in the second all apart by about 5-8 mins is a bit much.

Like I stated on another thread, we clubbed it (more players than just Kel), but it was less than the Pies.

I agree that Kel is back to his best, but I am not carried away with his game on Friday. There was some pretty bad errors.

Our midfield depth is simply outstanding. Our greatest strength is our midfield strength. I mean physical strength, they are all monsters in there. Players like Kelly, Bartel, Ablett, Selwood, Ling, Chapman, Enright and Corey(remember him?)

We can just crush the weaker bodies of younger sides. I am a firm believer that the hallmark of a good team is the games played demographic. There are no players there that may be good one day, they are all in the 100+ game bracket (selwood is a freak).

Kelly shows real hardness around the ball, and this is our edge.

Easily Geelong and possibly the AFL's most underrated player. Enright has lost this title!

Kelly oozes class and steadies the side when it is needed. Before he broke his leg he was regarded as No.1 midfielder at Geelong by many. He is in my opinion No.3 now.

I love his attack on the ball and the man. Even in the terrible loss to Carlton, Kelly was the only player standing up with Ablett. His work around the contest should not be underestimated, he is really going in like Rooke at the footy and has quick hands out of a pack.

Other good thing about him is how adaptable he is. In the past couple of seasons he has played as a small defender and as a lead-up half forward, amonst others. Now he is playing in the guts as a clearance specialist.

There's a case to say that he's been our 2nd best performing midfielder after Ablett in 2010. Definitely in his last 3-4 games. His contested, stoppage play has really taken a step up from last year.

Bit of mayo on that mate, Chapman, Bartel and selwood have had better years, Kel has played a few average games this year.

Still an absolute gun.

Bit of mayo on that mate, Chapman, Bartel and selwood have had better years, Kel has played a few average games this year.

Still an absolute gun.

OK, I didn't really consider Chapman in that bunch.. yes he has been better in 2010. I do think Kelly's last 3-4 have been better than Bartel/Selwood though..

I think Kelly's greatest asset is his versatility. He started his career as a midfielder, went to the half forward line in 2007-2008 and played across half back last season, and is now filling in for Joel Corey in the midfield.

People talk about the likes of Goodes, Goddard and Pavlich as the best utility players in the league, but IMO, Kelly is right up there with them. True, he's not 190cm+ and he can't play as a KPP, but what he can do is just as important to Geelong than what those three players do for their respective teams.

I think Kelly's greatest asset is his versatility. He started his career as a midfielder, went to the half forward line in 2007-2008 and played across half back last season, and is now filling in for Joel Corey in the midfield.

People talk about the likes of Goodes, Goddard and Pavlich as the best utility players in the league, but IMO, Kelly is right up there with them. True, he's not 190cm+ and he can't play as a KPP, but what he can do is just as important to Geelong than what those three players do for their respective teams.

Kelly has been, and continues to be great for us, but there's no way he's as important to us as Pavlich is to Freo.

...I'm not sure even Gaz is as important to us as Pavlich is to Freo.

Very, very, very good last night. Did a bit of everything too.

I was very impressed with two things - the first was his ability to grab a ball out of a pack and get it out with two or three blokes hanging off him. It's almost uncanny and I think he'd be one of the best in the competition at it. The second was his inside 50s, I reckon every one went to the advantage of the forward.

He won't get the credit from the football public but he's right up there with Chappy in terms of our best players this year.

If he holds his form he should get AA honours and a top 3 B&F finish.