Add to that, he is 25.

Smells like crappomundo.

mymansyd said:
Collingwood Rookie List - Delisted
Essendon VFL - Not Picked Up
Werribee VFL - Not Picked Up

Add to that, he is 25.

Smells like crappomundo.

Ignorant comment. For someone who started playing footy just before he turned 18, he has taken a while to develop. So while the facts you've pulled out could on the surface be considered what you like to call 'crappomundo', this bloke has actually been a late bloomer and has produced his best two seasons in the past two years. He was no where near what he is now when he was on the two rookie lists you mention(2000 and 2002), and I don't think he missed out by much last year.
It is true he is no spring chicken, however some coaches believe you play your best football around 26-27, and that's where he is at.
He has his weaknesses, but there are a lot worse than him out there as a KPP option. I reckon his bench press PB would be up with the best, if not the best, in the AFL/VFL/SANFL combined too.

saha said:
Ignorant comment. For someone who started playing footy just before he turned 18, he has taken a while to develop. So while the facts you've pulled out could on the surface be considered what you like to call 'crappomundo', this bloke has actually been a late bloomer and has produced his best two seasons in the past two years. He was no where near what he is now when he was on the two rookie lists you mention(2000 and 2002), and I don't think he missed out by much last year.
It is true he is no spring chicken, however some coaches believe you play your best football around 26-27, and that's where he is at.
He has his weaknesses, but there are a lot worse than him out there as a KPP option. I reckon his bench press PB would be up with the best, if not the best, in the AFL/VFL/SANFL combined too.

what utter toss.

who says he even developed, you're talking about a guy who is not even on a list - so don't talk as if he is a late bloomer. what we know right now, is that he was NOT an early bloomer. that's all.

being on 2 rookie lists, 6 and 4 years ago don't exactly fill anyone with optimism. "I don't think he missed out by much last year" - garbage. how the **** would you know?

as for a lot worse than him out there as a KPP - now that's an ignorant comment. nice :thumbsu:

Crow-mo said:
what utter toss.

who says he even developed, you're talking about a guy who is not even on a list - so don't talk as if he is a late bloomer. what we know right now, is that he was NOT an early bloomer. that's all.

being on 2 rookie lists, 6 and 4 years ago don't exactly fill anyone with optimism. "I don't think he missed out by much last year" - garbage. how the **** would you know?

as for a lot worse than him out there as a KPP - now that's an ignorant comment. nice :thumbsu:
If a bloke took up footy just before he turned 18 it's fair to say he is going to develop a lot (if he's a natural talent) between 18-26. Whether or not that makes him an AFL player is a different issue, but you can't say he hasn't developed.
Frankly, I wouldn't be looking at the fact he was rookie listed four and six years ago. It's irrelevant information as he hadn't been playing footy long at that stage.
Honestly, I've never seen the guy play but I can't believe you would write someone off, who hadn't been playing footy very long when he was on a rookie list a few years ago. Sounds like a fair achievement if you ask me.

Crow-mo said:
what utter toss.

Sounds like you are missing a few crow-mo-sones to me. What are your credentials on assessing player performance? Being a Bigfooty veteran?

Crow-mo said:
what utter toss.

Oh boy. You are even worse than mymansyd. It's good to see a passionate bunch of Crows supporters fire out the verbal diarrhoea. Come to think of it, what else do they offer at the best of times? I apologise to Vic Crow, who has offered an intelligent insight into this thread.
You might have a point about the early bloomer thing, but as far as I'm concerned, it's just like saying a glass is half empty, rather than half full.
Before you question my credibility, take a good look at yourself big guy. How the hell would you know?!
Hang on, if I remember rightly, the Crows have had Matthew Smith and Bonaddio on their list, and while they were 'crappomundo' and have rightly been shown the door, the bloke in question is so far ahead of those blokes it ain't funny. Hmm, does that equate to KPP options worse than Podsiadly?

Vic Crow said:
If a bloke took up footy just before he turned 18 it's fair to say he is going to develop a lot (if he's a natural talent) between 18-26. Whether or not that makes him an AFL player is a different issue, but you can't say he hasn't developed.

strictly speaking you're right, however if you extend the context beyond that of the current debate, then whatever you turn up is completely irrelevant. put another way, anyone will develop but that adds absolutely nothing in the context of whether he has developed into an FL player.

nothing at all.

Frankly, I wouldn't be looking at the fact he was rookie listed four and six years ago. It's irrelevant information as he hadn't been playing footy long at that stage.

rubbish. it is entirely relevant. especially seeing as you're bringing in the "oh he hadn't played very long" argument - countered by the "and this was known the time" response. unless you presume these other teams didn't know he had taken up the game recently?

Honestly, I've never seen the guy play but I can't believe you would write someone off, who hadn't been playing footy very long when he was on a rookie list a few years ago. Sounds like a fair achievement if you ask me.

old news. that's all. so freaking what, he was on a rookie list half a decade ago - him and about 500 other guys. that says NOTHING about whether he is AFL calibre. what does is that he has been in the system twice, didn't make it, and hasn't gotten a look in since.

Tim56 said:
Sounds like you are missing a few crow-mo-sones to me.
What are your credentials on assessing player performance? Being a Bigfooty veteran?

ah the beginners error, sure sign of the intellectually mediocre.

now timbo, perhaps you can share with the group, what went on in your tiny little mind that suggested my credentials matter? they don't, and I'll go through this very slow for you - because I don't put someone on or off an AFL list. the people who do put someone on or off an AFL list, people with much better credentials than YOU or ME, don't think he is up to it.

now by your own argument, the properly credentialled professionals don't think he cuts it - and yet you obviously do, what makes you think you can make a superior assessment? ;)

A friend of yours is he?

saha said:
Oh boy. You are even worse than mymansyd. It's good to see a passionate bunch of Crows supporters fire out the verbal diarrhoea. Come to think of it, what else do they offer at the best of times? I apologise to Vic Crow, who has offered an intelligent insight into this thread.

blah blah blah. not a single counter argument in that paragraph. compelling.

You might have a point about the early bloomer thing, but as far as I'm concerned, it's just like saying a glass is half empty, rather than half full.
Before you question my credibility, take a good look at yourself big guy. How the hell would you know?!

seems I pegged you about right.

Hang on, if I remember rightly, the Crows have had Matthew Smith and Bonaddio on their list, and while they were 'crappomundo' and have rightly been shown the door, the bloke in question is so far ahead of those blokes it ain't funny. Hmm, does that equate to KPP options worse than Podsiadly?

I'm sorry, I didn't see a lot of evidence in this paragraph just someone who can't construct an argument, blathering a load of toss. is that what you put forward, because I can assure you that does not equate to KPP options in the league worse than you friend! especially revealing is that you want to benchmark him against 2 guys who didn't make it? jesus.

lets cut to the chase: you bring up a complete dud, with nothing to recommend him, and wonder why you get your arse handed to you?

I'll admit, I and a few others have had our arses handed to us by all of.....crow mo :rolleyes:
But despite all your efforts to undermine me, I am not deterred. I find it bemusing that this guy is a complete dud, but blokes like Nick Gill, Alwyn Davey, and even John Hinge, cut it. They have not done any more in the SANFL than what Podsiadly has done in the VFL. In fact, they have done far less!
I must say it is very difficult to compare a bloke who isn't in the AFL system with blokes who have 'made it'. It is only really possible to weigh him up against the KPP players who are AFL-listed and are fringe players playing in the VFL or SANFL. They have hardly 'made it' either. Without a doubt there is a huge gap in standard between the AFL and state leagues, however when a player is untried and has beaten numerous others who have played AFL football, it begs you to ask the question.
Players who have tasted AFL football that he has squared up against and prevailed include Danny Jacobs, Jason Cloke, Jonothan Hay, Joel Perry, Stephen Gilham, Luke Livingston and Matthew Egan. No surprises that none of those have 'made it', but it's the best you can be up against at state league level, and you can only beat what you are up against.
You seem fascinated that we are all friends of Podsiadly. There is such a thing as watching state football and noticing the prominent players. Players like Podsiadly and Aaron Edwards (I'd like to know your opinion on him) are included in this category.

But you wanted some recommendation on Podsiadly, so I'll try to give you some facts:
- 2005: 72 goals; 2006: 70 goals
- VFL Team of the Year 2005, 2006
- 2005: Werribee Best and Fairest; 2006: Runner-up Best and Fairest
- VFL State Team member 2005
- One of the strongest around (yes it is personal opinion, but I assure you it's not far wrong)

I'm sorry, but he is not the worst going around, and is far from a complete dud.

Oh and the other player I mentioned, Aaron Edwards, kicked over 100 goals and won the VFL's Best and Fairest this year. Am I a mate of his? No, but I appreciate what he did in the VFL this year.

Crow-mo said:
A friend of yours is he?
I'd have some strong doubts about that.I can't see, with any logic anyway, how a person would need to "sell" a friend to Adelaide.The fact that he'd have to live there and intergrate with the people gives him all the bargaining power. :)

saha said:
I find it bemusing that this guy is a complete dud, but blokes like Nick Gill, Alwyn Davey, and even John Hinge, cut it. They have not done any more in the SANFL than what Podsiadly has done in the VFL. In fact, they have done far less!

So your comparing a key forward, rover/forward pocket and a utility defender to a key forward??

You can maybe compare Gill and your mate ;), but you can't compare blokes like Davey and Hinge. There different sorts of players and at the end of the day it is what clubs think they need. So if Davey gets picked up over your mate, that'll mean 16 clubs thought they had enough key forward depth and that your mate was a DUD.

saha said:
But you wanted some recommendation on Podsiadly, so I'll try to give you some facts:
- One of the strongest around (yes it is personal opinion, but I assure you it's not far wrong)

Thanks for the stats mate. At the end of the day, the guy is 25 and has been considered often and has never been put on a main list. Obviously there are 16 clubs that consider he has deficiencies, and that's pretty much that.

Also, 70 goals as a forward in the VFL (though a good effort) isn't the hugest recommendation.

On the other hand, someone like Edwards (a small forward; only 184cm; 22 yrs) who boots over a 100 seems to have more appeal. It seems the Kangaroos are certainly wooing him.

Just for the record, I'm not in favour of Nick Gill either. He's got too many rough edges for AFL, IMO.

Crow-mo said:
strictly speaking you're right, however if you extend the context beyond that of the current debate, then whatever you turn up is completely irrelevant. put another way, anyone will develop but that adds absolutely nothing in the context of whether he has developed into an FL player.
Your comments sounded far more sweeping than him not being good enough for AFL. That's the only reason I argued your stance.

Like I said, he may or may not be good enough for AFL, I have no idea. That's not exactly what I was arguing - I was slightly off topic because that's how I took your comments to be.

mark73 said:
I'd have some strong doubts about that.I can't see, with any logic anyway, how a person would need to "sell" a friend to Adelaide.The fact that he'd have to live there and intergrate with the people gives him all the bargaining power. :)

Yeh you're probably right. We're all a pretty intelligent lot over here, he might stand out a bit being a Victorian and all. You know, its that convict thingy.:)

saha said:

Daniel Schell board...

As pods is a werribee player, the doggies affiliate, he has been discussed alot on our board. The general consensus is that he would be good on our rookie list, and probably would have been rookied if he wasn't over the age limit and we had the money for it. Hes a good foward, quite strong and not slow. Very reliable shot for goal and as stated previously, has played on the best the VFL has to offer and more often than not beaten them. In my eyes his age cancels him out as hed have to come in and have an immediate impact or else be kicked out of the system. Whilst he is strong though, ther are also question marks over whether he is genuinely big enough to hold down a key foward spot.