Jared Polec

Be careful about making presumptions on an opposition team board. You are welcome to discuss the issue sensibly here.

But you have no idea what getting Rockliff/Motlop/Watts into the club has done in relation to our salary cap. You don't know what they are paid or anything about our salary cap situation. Speculating about that is off topic and just designed to inflame opinion.

It's just the first logical reason I can find to explain why Port aren't "allegedly" giving him a better offer. I have to assume they are maxed out beyond this point. I don't raise it as a means to stir.

In his form this year he is to important to lose.

Load his contract with a bonuses and triggers to give him an auto extension to 5-6 years and increased money aswell.

Win-Win for both player and club.

Brad Ebert has come out an said port players won’t stand in Polec way and they’d understand.... not looking good.

Got it done Port - too important to lose.

on a positive side, how nice is it to hear players backing players, the club backing Polec etc.. as opposed to the way the Adelaide people and club go about it

I still don't think it has anything to do with cap space or Rockliff/Motlop/Watts. It's squarely on his injury history for mine.

An embarassing position for the club to take given we have the likes of Hartlett, Dixon, Rockliff on generous long term contracts.

That's the luck of the draw mate. Sometimes it falls your way & sometimes it doesn't.

We got Higgins for nothing as an injury basket case and look at him now.

We'll do our due diligence if a trade arises and live with the consequences.
Spot on. People keep constructing trades based on what they would like for their club and then claiming that is all they can offer and claiming it as a certainty in picks and $$ value. It's ridiculous.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

It's just the first logical reason I can find to explain why Port aren't "allegedly" giving him a better offer. I have to assume they are maxed out beyond this point. I don't raise it as a means to stir.

It will create an off topic issue and is not relevant to discussion about Polec's trade value. So don't raise it at all.

Fair enough. He's certainly worth more than a middle tier contract renewal in that case.

I reckon the Rockliff/Motlop/Watts trades have come home to bite Port on the backside here, if they can't get him re-signed..

I don't know if you place much faith in the DT/SC stuff but he's currently ranked 56th and 59th respectively.
Polec is a very good player when he decides to switch on but what North are offering him is way overs.
Port would be irresponsible to even try and match the offer.

As a port fan I want players at my club because they want to be there, not for the cash.
If and when he does come to North, Could you please send back Ken's boot that was firmly planted in Polec's arse to get a response on the footy field.
Express post with tracking thanks. :D

IMO, this is a ridiculous analogy.

Kelly was coming to North in July as admitted by his manager, and Martin was at North a week before he re-signed with Richmond according to his manager.

I'm not ashamed if my club fails at a trade, I am proud that they are out there and active.

Lol. North exist to inflate a players negotiating position with their current club. Why would Kelly or Martin want to go to North if it wasn't for a stupid amount of money? They are both elite players playing for clubs that are genuine premiership threats. Polec I grant you is a couple of rungs below these guys, which makes the silly money on offer to him difficult to refuse. North are probably just above Gold Coast in terms of desirable clubs to play for.

Kelly & Martin get "stupid amounts of money" because they are worth it.

Martin only stayed when arguably the highest contract in the competition was put in front of him by his own club.

As for Kelly's offer, I strongly believe that 9 x $1.1 million will be seen as a steal by 2026 when it would have elapsed..

An embarassing position for the club to take given we have the likes of Hartlett, Dixon, Rockliff on generous long term contracts.

I hunk they are being ultra conservative becouse of his foot, I’m not an expert in that field as everyone else on here isn’t. But he is in career best form and seems to have move past it.

We’re were to conservative with Burgoyne aswell look at how well that worked (albeit there was more to that story)

I hunk they are being ultra conservative becouse of his foot, I’m not an expert in that field as everyone else on here isn’t. But he is in career best form and seems to have move past it.

We’re were to conservative with Burgoyne aswell look at how well that worked (albeit there was more to that story)

I'm with you, given his quality and what he adds to our team, Polec is not the player to be ultra conservative with. If it comes out in the wash that Port low-balled Polec, I will be filthy.

Brad Ebert has come out an said port players won’t stand in Polec way and they’d understand.... not looking good.
Got it done Port - too important to lose.
Port players won’t stand in Polec’s way: Ebert
JARED Polec’s mooted big-money departure to North Melbourne would not cause the angst Tom Lynch’s impending move did at the Gold Coast, with senior teammate Brad Ebert suggesting the Port Adelaide players would understand his decision.
Advertiser paywall..

That’s your first logical jump? Port are maxed out and are lowballing a required player?

Not his navicular injury which has wrecked many a career? Not his track record of putting up in a contract year then tapering off when the money is in the bank?

North’s offer is borderline lunacy. Long term, high dollar amount to trot a bloke out on a concrete surface every week, just asking for his foot to blow up and a guy who doesn’t care about putting in as he is making bank regardless.

If we could put in some type of injury clause that would void the remainder of his contract if something did happen to his foot, I'd do it, but Polec wouldn't.

The best we can hope for is to give him 3 years and promise him that as long as he's fit and firing he'll end up being a Port man for the rest of his career. We know he loves the club and is a supporter like us.

What you have said is fair in a trade deal is laughable, but your logic here is very reasonable.

Our 2019 1 st round pick is going to be needed for the best young player in the comp (Kelly), so there's no chance in hell we are going to risk blowing it.

That's what you said about your 2017 1st round pick. Kelly isn't going to North Melbourne.

Snake_Baker said:
It's neither here nor there at the end of the day for us mate.

Your club missing out on a player that they rate highly enough to offer a 5 year, $3.5 million contract to is 'neither here nor there'?

B84B3D26-B40C-4AEE-9453-F5A4B372D164.gif

If we could put him some type of injury clause that would void the remainder of his contract if something did happen to his foot, I'd do it, but Polec wouldn't.

The best we can hope for is to give him 3 years and promise him that as long as he's fit and firing he'll end up being a Port man for the rest of his career. We know he loves the club and is a supporter like us.

We take the risk in his contract length but make his salery performace based. So that way we don’t lock our slefs into massive money if he can’t play. As I’ve said he seems to be past his injury and we are managing it well.

He wants to stay, and will take less money and compromises to stay, just need to meet him in the middle.

I don't think any of them have ever had career threatening injuries ala Polec's navicular. I'm not a doctor but we keep hearing whispers about him having to be managed very carefully and light training loads, etc, so clearly there's still an element of concern.

If our offer is what has been reported in the media (some doubt over that obviously) then I think it's fair and we're not low balling him at all. If he can use North's offer to leverage an extra year or a little extra cash then fair enough but their reported offer is outrageous.

Polec is a very good player when he decides to switch on but what North are offering him is way overs.
Port would be irresponsible to even try and match the offer.

As a port fan I want players at my club because they want to be there, not for the cash.
If and when he does come to North, Could you please send back Ken's boot that was firmly planted in Polec's arse to get a response on the footy field.
Express post with tracking thanks. :D

Sorry to break it to you but it's 2018, most players are here because of cash.

I don't think any of them have ever had career threatening injuries ala Polec's navicular. I'm not a doctor but we keep hearing whispers about him having to be managed very carefully and light training loads, etc, so clearly there's still an element of concern.

If our offer is what has been reported in the media (some doubt over that obviously) then I think it's fair and we're not low balling him at all. If he can use North's offer to leverage an extra year or a little extra cash then fair enough but their reported offer is outrageous.

Not so sure...Dixon came to us with glass ankles we offered him shitloads.. Rocky the same and he's still struggling to lift his arms above his head

If we could put in some type of injury clause that would void the remainder of his contract if something did happen to his foot, I'd do it, but Polec wouldn't.

What's he missed in recent times? I had a glance and estimate it's 1 game in the last 47. If that's the case I'd rate him as a fit player.

What you have said is fair in a trade deal is laughable, but your logic here is very reasonable.
Come on mate, I usually like the way you post but you haven’t had the best 24 hours in this thread. If he wants the security of a 5 year contract see you later. Would be irresponsible for the club to match that. I’m %100 sure matching the $ isn’t the issue.

Jared Polec