joe444

How frustrating must it have been to play for a team like Melbourne? Some brief research tells me the guy hasn't even played in two wins in a row for half-a-decade. It must sap the spirit.

I'll also admit that I've barely even noticed his work in the past few years. He struck me as a squandered talent at a hapless club.

I think though that Rivers 2013 is better than Scarlett 2012. One of the biggest indicators is his ridiculous bravery - again something I hadn't associated with him.

At least four times on Friday he simply stood in front of a metaphorical truck and copped what was coming - all in the name of preventing an opposition mark and creating a contested ball.

Doing it once is brave. Getting up and doing it again is something worth commending.

Bit early to toast the guy just yet IMO. However I reckon he could be a very good player for us. Just needs most of the season to get used to being in the side and learn how we set up and do things. Looking good so far.

Yeah agreed, too early to toast but he has been great in the two games he has played & looks like he will thrive at the cattery.

The bloke must think he hit the jackpot playing for us this season & seeing how his old team is imploding!
Has played in more wins for us(incl nab cup) than he saw in Melbourne for their entire 2012 season!

Massive fan of Rivers.
Didnt think much of him at the demons (mainly due to not seeing many of their games, bleh who wanted to!) but is really shining at the Cats.
As above will do a better job at the role than Scarlo did last year.
Still relatively young-ish and I feel has more years in him than originally thought purely due to enjoying the game again playing with a GREAT club.

He's been a great pick for the team, and slotted in nicely and follows the game plan like a club veteran. A great choice for placing the retired Scarlett

Bit early to toast the guy just yet IMO. However I reckon he could be a very good player for us. Just needs most of the season to get used to being in the side and learn how we set up and do things. Looking good so far.
In the 2 games he's played with Geelong he has won as many games as Melbourne won last year, I think

Personally I feel a little sorry for the state of the Melbourne Club, but now I know why Jared always voted high in that clubs B+F.
Doesn't take his eye off the ball and commits to the contest, he's doing himself proud as to why he was recruited, relieving the stress of the Scarlett departure.

Keep it going JR.

Still think he has a bit scarring from being at a club like Melb for so long. 2 wins in a row in 5 years? Struth , no wonder!! He still has that look that , the one where making the smallest mistake may cost the team the game. Its a learnt knowledge that too many kids are learning at these bottom clubs now. The next 4 or 5 weeks are big games for us and him. Big games V big opponents. Might be wrong but along with minimal wins , I doubt he has played in front of many big crowds and in many consecutive big games.

I have no doubt he will have a twinge of emotion , looking at the D's plight but he like Byrnes for us have given valuable service to accumulate his FA. Everyones different but its probably on natural to take a while to settle totally into a new club.Later this year , once he has played for us in 5 -10 games , once he feels free to risk a mistake to play with freedom Im sure we will see a better player. For now , he's earning his stripes and probably savoring every win.

He's a really valuable addition and we're lucky to have him. I said when we signed him I mentioned I didn't think he'll make the All Australian team but that he'll be talked about as a candidate. He's a good player that still has another gear, coming to Geelong was a brilliant move for him.

Really enjoying Rivers at our club

He complements our backline perfectly. He, Harry and Lonergan are all capable of playing on the no.1 forward, and all 3 are capable of playing forward. The flexibility of having 3 almost identical key position defenders is an unbelievable luxury.

Thought he was surprised by the intensity of the game on Friday, he just wouldn't have played a game where the ball was that hot, but like the good player he is, he adapted, steadied and was reasonable.

I think he'll improve the more games he plays. We will definitely lead the Tommy Harley trademark stat of intercept marks In defensive 50 with him and Taylor. Wonderful readers of the ball in flight.

Yeah I agree - will most likely get better as he gets more experience on the field and in the heat of battle with our backline and mid players. Also when he starts to experience and expect to win week in and week out - things will start to change mentally for him - and perhaps rejuvenate him as a player.

So my best guess is we are yet to see the best of Rivers yet and he could be a very nice inclusion. Our backline is still where we win games. The middle is getting better and the forward line should be in the top 3 in the league with the talent down there.

If Rivers can replace Scarlett and add another rock down back - we are in a very good position come finals time. Most Premiership teams have a very good to excellent backline.

He always seemed like one of those blokes who was a wasted talent playing for an uncompetitive team. I feel sure it sapped his confidence a lot so it's not really much wonder that he hasn't been highly rated for a long time now. With a good team around him I can see him blossoming now and realising his ability in a competitive side.

How frustrating must it have been to play for a team like Melbourne? Some brief research tells me the guy hasn't even played in two wins in a row for half-a-decade. It must sap the spirit.

I'll also admit that I've barely even noticed his work in the past few years. He struck me as a squandered talent at a hapless club.

I think though that Rivers 2013 is better than Scarlett 2012. One of the biggest indicators is his ridiculous bravery - again something I hadn't associated with him.

At least four times on Friday he simply stood in front of a metaphorical truck and copped what was coming - all in the name of preventing an opposition mark and creating a contested ball.

Doing it once is brave. Getting up and doing it again is something worth commending.

Probably a bit early to be shouting him a bar session. However, I cannot argue with the courage points. He has stood in the path of oncoming unpleasantries and worn it big time. Impressive ..... very impressive... ( think Darth Vader voice in Jedi)

And I also agree he is fitted in very well down there. Has also had a few whoooopsie daisy moments. Adjustment takes time but I reckon he'd be stoked to get the Gatorade shower 4 in a row. That's a season worth at the D's.....

GO Catters

I thought he was a great get from day one. though I have not seen much of the cats this year what I saw of him at the Dees he seemed a reliable and skilled defender with good decision-making skills. I am sure he will settle in well at Catland

I watched 186 last week, seeing Rivers getting absolutely caned by our guys on the quick lead was kind of difficult to watch but by the way he was cracking the shits every time it happened while many of the other guys around him were just blocks of wood was a fair indication that he wanted to win. Not surprised he put himself out there as an FA really.

Hes going ok -bit early for a toast -cant remember him actually kicking the ball once against Swans

He will be handy and reliable -but it is Jared Rivers we recruited from Melb -not Gary Hardeman

strongly agree with your OP joe444.

Rivers may have had his ups and downs at Melbourne, but he has always been brave in the air (and when in good form he can stick those contested marks), and of course he won the rising star award in '04 fwiw.

apart from his minor bit of silliness at the 'G on boxing day, I don't have a single complaint about his short stint in the hoops, in fact I reckon he's been very solid.

someone disparagingly alluded to his Demons-mentality when referring to his game last week against Sydney, but I reckon his sometimes-conservative mindset isn't a bad thing for our defensive 6; having a worrier like Rivers down back frees Enright and Mackie up a bit more to do their thing offensively.

Poor guy can't believe he wasted a decade of his life at the dees. I hope he be a big contributing part of our next flag.

[quote="meto, post: 27911258, member: 72779"]Personally I feel a little sorry for the state of the Melbourne Club, but now I know why Jared always voted high in that clubs B+F.
Doesn't take his eye off the ball and commits to the contest, he's doing himself proud as to why he was recruited, relieving the stress of the Scarlett departure.

Keep it going JR.[/quote]

Nah stuff the Dees, you lose on purpose, that in itself creates a losing mentality and must be detrimental to those at the club who passionately want to win.
I couldn't imagine what it would be like to win as a junior, try hard at every opportunity then get drafted by Melbourne and purposely lose to gain extra rewards.
Yes the AFL is complicit in proving an opportunity to do it, but many clubs have survived by not jumping all aboard the tanking bus.

But back to the thread, like having JR in the team, he just adds some poise and general footy smarts. Not a game winner, but is doing his bit. That's all we can ask.

Have been a massive fan of the decision to firstly chase him and then to sign him. Will only get better each game he plays with HT and Domsy as well..