Jarrad Waite - unfairly criticized?

• Thread starter Thread starter blues4flag

Waite has been copping a lot of crap on here for his 2006 form. Granted, he did not have the best year, but remember, he is coming back from injury and not fully fit. I feel his best position is of a HFF, letting Kennedy / Whitnall taking CHF. Can't see him playing in defense as some have suggested, might have been an option a few years ago, but it's too late to try and mold him into a defender, because we need to have him in the 22, and besides, he's just not the defensive type.

While Waite's year wasn't great, I think people are forgetting how good he was in 2005. He kicked 36 goals that year, which is a great return from a third year player. Towards the end of 2005 he kicked 15 goals in 6 games, and if he can emulate that over a whole year, than he can be looking at upwards of 40-50 goals in a season. Obviously, seeing as he missed so much time in 2006, he was never going to be at his best. He had a slow start to the year, 9 goals in 7 games but he showed the previous year that he can be a very good half forward.

One of the biggest queries over him is his goal kicking. It's not as bad as some make it out to be, IMO. He was pretty good accuracy wise in 2005, when he kicked 36 goals 23, however, for some reason was very innaccurate this year. Again, he has shown that he can be pretty accurate in previous years, and hopefully he can recapture that accuracy. One of, if not our best kicks for goal, Fev, wasn't always a great kick. Remember, in his first few seasons, Fev kicked 66 goals 65 behinds, but after that his accuracy increased heaps, having kicked 262 goals and only 162 behinds since than. Waite's career to date has seen him kick 72 goals 60 behinds, better than Fevola at the start of the career. Not saying that his accuracy is great, needs much work, but despite what people think, it is fixable as Fev has showed.

Overall, Waite has been unfairly criticized because of his mediocre (largely because of injury, IMO) on his 2006, with people going as far as to suggest playing him in defense because of his accuracy. He is a better player than people give him credit for, as seen in his at worst decent 2005 season, which people. Fine, he hasn't lived up to his potential but he is a good player, and if he can stay injury free in 2007, he will hopefully show people why he was so highly rated.

Fine, he hasn't lived up to his potential but he is a good player, and if he can stay injury free in 2007, he will hopefully show people why he was so highly rated.
With a solid pre-season, and no injuries I expect Jarrad to star this year. He must be hungry for it after a ruined 2006. He will be a headache for oppositions floating across half-forward like he did in round 1 against Melbourne.

He started as a winger, and there's no reason why he couldn't spend more time there, but it's those rangy limbs that make him such a slippery target up forward. Between stress fractures and the medial ligament, we've been deprived of the kid's best. Let's hope we see it in 2007.

Good on you both blues4flag and AlecDuncan:thumbsu:

I agree with both of you, Waite has enormous potential, and injury has set him back a lot.

He is more than an average player, and with him and Kennedy up in the attacking end of our ground, opposition players will have some difficult times ahead!

Not only did his form drop off in 2006, but IMHO, so did his attitude, and I think this is why he has copped a fair from the BF posters.

I think we also need to adjust our forward line setup, as this did not work last year having 3-4 talls there at any one time.

No more than 3 marking forwards in the F50 in 2007 and this would be a good start.

In one of posts yesterday relating to Lance Whitnall as a forward or a defender, clearly there seems to be a lot of taller options up forward however you cannot possibly play all of them up forward unless they are going to kick goals and take marks on a regular basis the defence of Carlton still looks very thin and surely by giving someone like Waite an opportunity in at the least pre-season would be a positive move for the team.

We know Jarrad has alot of talent however for Carlton to improve it really needs players like him to take a real step forward in 2007.

Not only did his form drop off in 2006, but IMHO, so did his attitude, and I think this is why he has copped a fair from the BF posters.

I think we also need to adjust our forward line setup, as this did not work last year having 3-4 talls there at any one time.

No more than 3 marking forwards in the F50 in 2007 and this would be a good start.
A forward line of Waite and Kennedy as the marking options across half forward, with Fev playing at FF is one I like. Fev doesn't seem to perform as well with another big forward next to him. I still would prefer Fisher playing in an O'keefe role, providing a target out of defense and on the wings, as well as roaming into the forward line at roles. He was playing like this towards the end of 2006 I noticed, and with a good preseason and him working hard on his fitness, I think he'll be suited to this role. Houlihan also in the forward half of the ground, much more valuable there as he tends to turn it over in defense, but is a great kick into the fifty. Also, I'd expect to see Gibbs rotating through the midfield and HFF, can't wait to see him in action.

In one of posts yesterday relating to Lance Whitnall as a forward or a defender, clearly there seems to be a lot of taller options up forward however you cannot possibly play all of them up forward unless they are going to kick goals and take marks on a regular basis the defence of Carlton still looks very thin and surely by giving someone like Waite an opportunity in at the least pre-season would be a positive move for the team.

We know Jarrad has alot of talent however for Carlton to improve it really needs players like him to take a real step forward in 2007.

I just don't think he's suited to defense. He could probably be molded into a defensive role, but it will take time and he is a naturally attacking player, not particularly defensive. We've also got a lot of yound defenders coming through, so he probably won't be needed there, what with Bower, Austin, O'Hailpin, Hartlett all young defensive prospects, not to mention Thornton and Whitnall as our cornerstones in defense at the moment.

Waite will never be a star. We have been talking about his potential for the past few years, and the fact is he has never consistently produced. Although he has suffered injuries in the past, IMO i don't think he has got the skills to be classified a "star". His kicking lets him down, and he fades in out of games on too many occasions. At best, IMO he will only be a good servicable player and will still play an important role in the improvement of the CFC.

We all hope you are wrong. He does need to get some consistency into his game. Injuries will only excuse you for so long. I just hope he hasn't got Richo syndrome.......at some point what could be becomes what might have been........

Jarrads biggest problem is he has Trent Sporn disease, every contest he goes to ground.In the modern game you have to stay on your feet to be in the contest.When he can improve that aspect of his game he may well be the star we are waiting for.

Waite definately has the potential to be a star, however, with our list gaining more depth, I think he really needs to have an uninterrupted year in 2007 to really cement his spot in the side.

I think JK is better suited to CHF and Waite on the HFF. We have a number of players who can play that role and so IMO, Waite really does need to prove himself in 2007 in order to keep it.

I rate Waite so I really hope he has the opportunity to show us all why he should be in our best 22.

Waite must play at CHB.

He struggles to read the play and constantly goes to ground.

He has to spend a few seasons and CHB learning to read the play.
Waite would be an awesome CHB.

For some reason I can see him doing very well in a forward pocket. Fev inbetween he and Eddie would make for a very interesting blend imo. It'd also cause a few matchup headaches if Kennedy goes to CHF, as it'll take the opposition a good tall to shut Waite down when fit, and he'll be getting second best tall defender most of the time, 3rd best if the best tall has to play on Fev.

As for his goalkicking, as with all athletes, injury can throw balance out a lot. Let's see him fully fit and kicking for goal again b4 we rag on him.

Waite must play at CHB.

He struggles to read the play and constantly goes to ground.

He has to spend a few seasons and CHB learning to read the play.
Waite would be an awesome CHB.

Not sure he has the defensive mindset to play CHB mate. Furthermore, with the amount of tall defenders we now have at the club, there are plenty that can cover the key defensive posts.

Yes, Jarrad Waite unfairly criticized, like half of our team is at times.

I'm the first to admit, when players dont reach their potential asap, or consistently, I'm disappointed and look to find an excuse. However, i think he is a waste of talent in CHB. Play him on the wing/HFF.

Jarrad Waite is good. He is not super, he is very good though. Injury is an unfortunate fact of AFL life, and I wonder what he would be like if he has had uninterrupted years.

I really think he is fine, and definately one of our permanent 22. He is solid, tall, aggressive at the ball. As i have said before, skills can be improved, but attitude can't. He has the right attitude. He loves this club, but let's not forget he's probably had a bit of a hard time - injuries and his dad dying would have put undue pressure on him.

Fev - FF, JoshKennedy - CHF, Waite - HFF. Three very big men, who will be able to win us games, and will prove to be a nightmare for opposition teams. Then we have Betts (Who is killing them at training by all reports!), Blackwell, Houlihan, Murphy and Gibbs who can crumb around them.

Fev, Kennedy, Waite - Talls
Betts, Blackwell, Murphy, Houlihan and Gibbs - smalls.

I think we have a happy medium judging by that.

I really think he is fine, and definately one of our permanent 22.
Agree, I've found it hard to believe that some people are actually suggesting he'll be playing some games with the Bullants next year. Fine, he didn't have a good year, but with a full and injury free preseason, he should be much better next year, and he definitely warrants a spot in the 22.

I think what you have said there blues4flag could be said about the majority of our team. :thumbsu:
Definitely, but I really think a fit Waite will prove many wrong. I don't ever expect him to be good as people were hoping for in his first couple seasons - I never expected him to be a star, but he could be a very serviceable player for Carlton - he's definitely got his fair share of potential. I know it's been said time and again about Jarrad, but hopefully he does get the opportunity (by staying injury free) to show how good he can be.

Looking forward to and expecting a much better 2007 from Jarrad Waite:thumbsu: , provided he stays injury-free.

think he is a top player with huge potential and should play at CHB. When I watch him, I feel like he wants to immediately go when he gets the ball and has to restrain himself because he is in the forward line. Seems like he is naturally suited to the backline where he can get the ball and run or kick right away.

He's a naturally attacking player, so rebounding out of defense would certainly suit him, however he hasn't got a defensive mindset, and that's my major concern with playing him in defense. His rebound and attack out of defense would be great but it's his actual defending that's a problem. Playing him on a wing would be a better option, as he still has space to run and attack with the ball, without him needing to be too defensive.

No Jarrad isnt criticised too much, Nick Stevens, houlihan, Whitnall are critisized too much and UNFAIRLY. Waite on the other hand is some sort of untouchable and at the end of the ay people need to re-evaluate his true worth. Having just re-wacthed the melbourne game Fisher just craps all over waite, in every way,and its obvious. There is no such thing as ITS TOO LATE TO MOVE HIM DOWN BACK , please, think about that for a second, have you ever heard of Lappin, houlihan, whitnal, kouta, etc, etc, et-facking-cetera.

Against melbourne waite played very wel,......for waite. But he is not good enough up there for what we need and with kennedy comming into the team, waite just dosent belong there. He will, as mentioned by Pagan and others, be moved down back. ITs where he belongs and its where he needs to go.

Waite is a big guy who has NO IDEA how to be physical, which, is ridiculous. Eddie Betts is more physical. No impact.

Myself, along with everyone else around here, for some reason just loves Waite, but we need to be honest.

Sorry for having a go at waite, i dont do that, but we really need to be honest about this guy and get the best out of him for the club and his career.

No Jarrad isnt criticised too much, Nick Stevens, houlihan, Whitnall are critisized too much and UNFAIRLY. Waite on the other hand is some sort of untouchable and at the end of the ay people need to re-evaluate his true worth. Having just re-wacthed the melbourne game Fisher just craps all over waite, in every way,and its obvious. There is no such thing as ITS TOO LATE TO MOVE HIM DOWN BACK , please, think about that for a second, have you ever heard of Lappin, houlihan, whitnal, kouta, etc, etc, et-facking-cetera.

Against melbourne waite played very wel,......for waite. But he is not good enough up there for what we need and with kennedy comming into the team, waite just dosent belong there. He will, as mentioned by Pagan and others, be moved down back. ITs where he belongs and its where he needs to go.

Waite is a big guy who has NO IDEA how to be physical, which, is ridiculous. Eddie Betts is more physical. No impact.

Myself, along with everyone else around here, for some reason just loves Waite, but we need to be honest.

Sorry for having a go at waite, i dont do that, but we really need to be honest about this guy and get the best out of him for the club and his career.
Although I agree with you he had a bad 06, I reckon the reason for his form was the fact he was recovering from injury. In 2005 he was much better, again, he wasn't great but he was very good - 36 goals in a welcome return from the secondary forward, especially considering it was only his third season. It took Pavlich until his fourth season to kick 35+ (granted he also played defence), it took Riewoldt till his fourth also to kick 35+.

Waite was much better in 2005, and people are forgetting that because of his average 2006, mainly due to injury.

We'll find out a few things about a few players this season:thumbsu:

Players such as Waite and Fish are at the stage of their careers where they should be playing consistent football, although playing in our forward line with Fev must be tough for them. Our first, second and third option seems to be kick it to Fev:D

I don't think it is a coincidence that Waite played well when Fev was struggling with an injury in 2005;) The kids playing in our future forward line are going to have to develop big voices to get a kick with Fev and Lance up there demanding the ball:D

Players such as Waite and Fish are the ones we need to step up next season for us to improve rather than the kids who haven't been in the system very long:thumbsu: They have the ability and hopefully barring injuries they will show it consistently for us:)

I am a huge Waite fan but agree with one of the other posters who felt his attitude slipped. I am not saying he meant this to happen but that his confidence and mental toughness was affected by a number of things including injury.

I believe he could play across half back but believe he is best suited for us on the wing. I remember early on how his agression and pace really caused many turnovers around the ground. Further he used to win many hard balls in the middle. I truly feel that he will utilise these qualities best upfield and may also prove an extra tall option when we are kicking out.

Overall the freedom of the midfield will imo give Jarrad back much of his confidence.