Jarred McVeigh

• Thread starter Thread starter RUNVS

I know McVeigh is the player that alot of Swans fans like to blame when things arnt going well but am i the only one who thinks he shows alot of potential. In 2007 he was averaging nearly 14 Disposals per game which isnt that bad and then when i was looking at his match by match statistics and i noticed 1 game in particular, Round 16 vs West Coast where Paul Roos put 3 seperate people on Cousins and McVeigh was the most successful at stopping him. In that game he made 19 Kicks and 26 Desposals as well as scoring a goal. These are statistics that Goodes would be happy with.

People must remember that McVeigh isnt even 23 yet and if you compare his 2007 stats to his 2006 stats you will see a very big improvement across the board. Does anyone else think im afew years McVeigh could be a valued member of our team?

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pg-sydney-swans--jarrad-mcveigh

I know McVeigh is the player that alot of Swans fans like to blame when things arnt going well but am i the only one who thinks he shows alot of potential. In 2007 he was averaging nearly 14 Disposals per game which isnt that bad and then when i was looking at his match by match statistics and i noticed 1 game in particular, Round 16 vs West Coast where Paul Roos put 3 seperate people on Cousins and McVeigh was the most successful at stopping him. In that game he made 19 Kicks and 26 Desposals as well as scoring a goal. These are statistics that Goodes would be happy with.

People must remember that McVeigh isnt even 23 yet and if you compare his 2007 stats to his 2006 stats you will see a very big improvement across the board. Does anyone else think im afew years McVeigh could be a valued member of our team?

fck the stats, it's the peaheart that has bothered me more and more the past two season
yes, he has talent, but it's more often than not obscured by his refusal to go hard at it
that's why he's been mentioned so many times by swans fans on the main board thread of "softest players"
it's seriously disappointing, specially when you consider his dckhead brother is basically a niggly thug who prefers to go hard at the man rather than the ball
if only little brother had just a touch of that same mongrel, we might not be constantly on his case
but he's a big, BIG disappointment, who's had many more chances than several other players at the club who would kill to get the time he's had on the field in the seniors

IMO he is a victim of the teams lack of midfield pace. He was forced to do the tagging on the speedster Judds or Cousins etc and that is obviously not his forte. Hopefully someone can step up into that role as he showed in 2006 he is better suited as crumbing forward.

Matthews is another who cops heaps of criticism but he had to sacrifice his game and run his old body into the ground last year and took on some big midfield names and broke even as a tagger. (Killed Peter Bell)

Kirky would not have been as effective without those two!

IMO he is a victim of the teams lack of midfield pace. He was forced to do the tagging on the speedster Judds or Cousins etc and that is obviously not his forte. Hopefully someone can step up into that role as he showed in 2006 he is better suited as crumbing forward.

Matthews is another who cops heaps of criticism but he had to sacrifice his game and run his old body into the ground last year and took on some big midfield names and broke even as a tagger. (Killed Peter Bell)

Kirky would not have been as effective without those two!

you talk about mcveigh's abailities as a crumbing forward, but he's another of that type in our team who seem to miss more often than not....he had one game in 07 where he kicked 3 goals, but he, schneider, buchanan, bevan and crouch at times, and j bolton have been guilty of terrible misses in front of goals in the past few years, and in mcvague's case that just makes his other flaws more intolerable

RUNVS; said:

Although he's done some useful run-with work, he's never been convincing as an out-and-out midfielder. The times when he's really stood out to me have always been as a rover in the forward 50. He is amazingly fast off the mark, and also gets boot to ball very quickly. I'm wondering if the reason Schneider was shown the door is because McVeigh is going to get the crumbing forward role for 2008?

I think he cops a bit because he is a top ten pick and didn't he also set a beep test record at the draft camp?

Hopefully Dempster and Schneider leaving will shake some 'toughness' into him for 2008.

It's about time someone stood up for our most in-house targetted Swan (and scapegoat).
Rather than disrespect, he should be shown encouragement. Otherwise, where's our team spirit?

I think its envy more than finger pointing.

I do not blame mcveigh for our lukewarm season. My issue is that he gets so many chances to prove himself while other promising players get the cold shoulder.

When you are given so many chances you expect his performances to improve two fold, but so far his developement has been minimal. One good game a season cannot justify selection.

That said I hope he does improve, but something tells me we'll be better off waiting for the cows to come home.

It's about time someone stood up for our most in-house targetted Swan (and scapegoat).
Rather than disrespect, he should be shown encouragement. Otherwise, where's our team spirit?

I got money on him kicking 30 goals, 10 Brownlow votes, all Australian, 2nd in tackles, 4th in the clubs Best and Fairest ,and wait for it 1st in hard ball gets.. Go Jarred!!

Although he's done some useful run-with work, he's never been convincing as an out-and-out midfielder. The times when he's really stood out to me have always been as a rover in the forward 50. He is amazingly fast off the mark, and also gets boot to ball very quickly. I'm wondering if the reason Schneider was shown the door is because McVeigh is going to get the crumbing forward role for 2008?

Not sure about the Schneider theory (to my mind he had a lot to offer as a speedy back pocket player as well as a small forward and I'm still bemused and disappointed he won't be in the R&W next season).

But agree with you Cliff on where McVeigh has played his most promising football. He spent a large portion of 2006 in that kind of role and had a pretty decent season all up (which many have forgotten after his lacklustre 2007).

It is somewhat of a shame, however, since he'd be more valuable - IMO - if he could work as a play maker further up the ground. We already have Dicky N playing that kind of mid-sized forward role and while I'd love to see Davis also further up the ground, I doubt he'll ever develop the endurance for it. McVeigh, on the other hand, shouldn't have that problem.

I also think that the mid-sized forward role is an ideal one for some of the newbies to start out in. It looks like an ideal starting role for DOK, and I wonder whether the Vez will also make his initial impact in such a role. Sadly I don't think a team can afford 3 or 4 mid-sized forwards in the same team. Someone has to run further up the ground and actually win the damn ball...

Not sure about the Schneider theory (to my mind he had a lot to offer as a speedy back pocket player as well as a small forward and I'm still bemused and disappointed he won't be in the R&W next season).

But agree with you Cliff on where McVeigh has played his most promising football. He spent a large portion of 2006 in that kind of role and had a pretty decent season all up (which many have forgotten after his lacklustre 2007).

It is somewhat of a shame, however, since he'd be more valuable - IMO - if he could work as a play maker further up the ground. We already have Dicky N playing that kind of mid-sized forward role and while I'd love to see Davis also further up the ground, I doubt he'll ever develop the endurance for it. McVeigh, on the other hand, shouldn't have that problem.

I also think that the mid-sized forward role is an ideal one for some of the newbies to start out in. It looks like an ideal starting role for DOK, and I wonder whether the Vez will also make his initial impact in such a role. Sadly I don't think a team can afford 3 or 4 mid-sized forwards in the same team. Someone has to run further up the ground and actually win the damn ball...

McVeigh is a better footballer than I was or ever will be and he must have shown not only talent but also heart, to have made it as far as he has.

Whilst on the subject I have to agree with Liz (again), who continues to impress me as the most consistantly articulate and knowledgable "poster" that I've come across on Big Footy.

I don't always agree with her but I always see the logic in her point of view.

Any one know the Liz story, how does she come to have such a great insight into our club?

I challenge any McVeigh critic out there who claims to know better than Roosy!

Humans sometimes make poor judgements and Roosy have made some terrible blunders in the past like the exclusion of Buchanan from the finals, and the selection of an unfit Hall,

Most fans do not have a grudge against Mcveigh the person. By all accounts he seems like a nice fellow but the criticisms of Mcveigh are in the main, rational, football-related, and are ultimately evidenced by his performances.

The majority of swans supporters on this board I believe are logical and independent and when the majority of these supporters shake their heads at the continual selection of Mcveigh when there are better candidates, then it certainly does appear to be another blunder

he is a dud

Hopefully he is taking a little bit longer to develop into a quality AFL player than some other low draft picks.

His stats are comparable to what Bret Kirk's and his bother's were after four years on an AFL list. Of the 2003 draft he has played the 6th most games. His stats look OK compared to other 2003 draft picks.

Frustrating in that he produced some great touches in his first year. Seems to have become confused on the field - not knowing whether to go for the ball or stay with his man. I watched a couple of this year's games over the Xmas break. He played better than my memories of him in the games - his clangers stick in your mind rather than the good work he does.

Does anyone know how long he has left on his contract. We cant trade him because no one will have him, so we will have to wait till his contract runs out before we see the end of this heartless rat

top ten draft pick....]
gee am i happy that we got the good brother

he playes a different role 2 his bro but he will take time 2 develop

otherwise he's stats are what u should expect....average......not a top ten draft pick....not with those stats

Come on Liz, you know I'm too old to remember all these nicknames . . . what's a Vez??

Anyhow, I don't see McVeigh playing a role anything like Davis or O'Keefe . . . definitely only a speedy crumbing forward, maybe like Bartlett? I feel that playing in the midfield he'll always be just a one-trick pony like Mathews . . . he'll get the job done, but he'll always cop the ire of the fans because his mistakes will stand out like beacons. The Swans haven't had a genuine forward-pocket since O'Brien, and I'd love to see McVeigh given a real shot at it.

As for ball-winners . . . I reckon we've got enough of them . . . it's what they do with the ball once they've won it that makes me shudder.

Does anyone know how long he has left on his contract. We cant trade him because no one will have him, so we will have to wait till his contract runs out before we see the end of this heartless rat
I,ve bagged him as much as anyone on here and yes he does lack intensity,and he is a hack,and he has been perservered with for far too long and swans should get rid of him Blah Blah Blah !!!!!!!!! But a heartless rat is harsh.Fair go,the blokes not Sudam Hussein or Osama Bin Laden.Yeah he will continue to frustrate the sh--it out of Swans supporters until Roos sees the mistake of the club wasting a valuable draft pick on a very good athlete but ordinary AFL player and hopefully start playing one of the young guys like Schmidt or Moore instead of him.For the moment though he is still a Swans listed player who runs out every week in that Red and White gurnsey so yeah get pi ss ed off with him and bag his footy abilty and even call him a squib,but dont attack the bloke personally because when you work it out its not his fault that he is not up to it and Roos and co keep perservering with him in the hope he will cover up their lack of judgement in wasting such a valuable pick.