BigBadCam

Being the glory hog that he is, surely it wouldn't have been too hard to entice him to Geelong to try and win a few more premierships. Watching him last night I couldn't help but wish we had picked him up and dropped him in the forward line. Imagine the damage that him and Stevey J could do together.

I seem to remember that at the time he distinctly said that Geelong was one club he would definitely not consider due to its "culture". Can't remember the detail but I'm sure someone else will elaborate.

He was pissed of the lions didn't do a better job trading him.That sounds like he didn't want to go to the Dishlickers and wanted to go to a club that has a chance of winning [or even making] a GF.

and he didn't want to come to Geelong. Just shows what bad judgment he has to begin with.

Don't Aker and Johnson have a frosty relationship at the best of times? I can only imagine how dirty Aker would be that Johnson missed the shot to win the game in his 300th.

Would love to have heard Aker when Choker missed.He was miked up by ch7.

Some of these threads this weekend are absolute rubbish. No way, never, nada, not on your life. He is a has been now. Probably will retire soon.

Spot on CF. :thumbsu: These are the good time threads, so I shudder at the thought about what they'll be like during the bad. :(

RE: The OP..... Why would we want to throw a hand grenade like Aker into the Club?

If I remember correctly Aker didn't like the fact that he was interviewed by the players at Geelong. Didn't believe the process was professional which is fair enough but in hindsight probably not an accurate opinion.

I'm not sure he could handle living in a small city like Geelong anyway. Played an absolute ripper on the weekend for his 300th and despite having a big mouth I think he's a reasonably good bloke.

l read in the paper during that when aker was going to get his first game at the loins.he went and got he self a mo hawk and walls seen it and said your not playing this weekend son..on aker coming to geelong it would of not been a good idea bomber finally got the team playing good footy.aloud mouth aker second guessing the coach and telling people what he though not agood idea.and its not the way geelong build ateam.

Perhaps you guys need to separate his ‘mouth’ from his football ability. When he’s on, he can play.

Of course, but the whole "Aker Package" is too risky for a Club that is already laden with talent.

Leigh Matthews has said his media loudness is a calculated thing designed to get him a career in the media post football. Reckon he might be onto something.;)

Agreed & he isn't the first to go down this path. He bleaches his hair blond to cover up the sauce head just like Dermie does. ;)

I realise that Aker raised his eyebrows at the club when he was available for trade, and I'm not suggesting we should chase him in the future - all I was saying was how hard would it have been to swing him round and get him to the Cats, and how good woudl he have been? The Bulldogs have had to use him all over the ground, but if we picked him up and just sat him in the forward line for the rest of his career, with the delivery of our mids he would have dominated. I'm not sure what kind of pay package he was after though, so this could have come into play.

Some of these threads this weekend are absolute rubbish. No way, never, nada, not on your life. He is a has been now. Probably will retire soon.

Yeah sorry CF ive been busy, i will try and raise the standard now im back :D

Akermanis the player would be excellent in our team.
Akermanis the person can fornicate himself with a metal rod til he bleeds out the ears.

/thread.

And this thread proves why Geelong supporters have turned into tossers after having a bit of success. Really :rolleyes:

Ha ha, maybe. Perhaps its like Aka anyway? Does anyone know what he was like before Brisbane won so much? He certainly is a tosser now, that's why only the Dogs wanted him.

My question is measurable, therefore the only one of significance. Is the Dogs any better with him in the side? I thought recently they were good anyway, good enough to make the finals. So is he worth the effort to bring across?

Perception wise, his little spat at the club last year couldn't have helped. Ageing star calling for too much in my opinion. Will have to see where they finish to see whether he is as good as he thinks or that everyone is right and he really is an old fool.

If he came to Geelong, I'd seriously think about my membership renewal. We need leaders, not outspoken tossers whom couldn't give a crap about the team.