Jason Cloke To Blues

• Thread starter Thread starter Monkeyboy

butchyboy said:
Obviously the dud draft pick was all to do with your own recruiting department, fool!!!!!!!!

Cheers

LOL, there is no way the Pies would trade Jason Cloke to Carlton for a 4th round pick.

There isn't much on Carlton's list would trade for either.

Teague is a pussy, Stevens is too old now etc

bigbol069 said:
Boys lets not argue about Carlton and Collingwood, Hawthorn we all know will be the next team to win a premiership of those three. Now Jason Cloke, Carlton could probably use him but in an ideal world wouldn't want him. Fair to say he is a very ordinary footballer with only height, size and some experience to justify any trade value he has over dumping him. The pies are hardly blessed with quality talls yet seem happy to throw Cloke around as bait, throw Travis up and someone might get excited, but with Jason seriously who cares he's up there with Zac Dawson for us as far as quality goes, the difference being Zac will improve!;)

Lol, there is no way the Pies would trade T.Cloke, I would keep Jason Cloke and delist players like Wakelin, Walker, Hall etc first.

Malthouse has to go as far as I am concerned, the game has passed him by.

Monkeyboy said:
Have heard from a friend who has ties at Carlton that the Blues will be picking up J.Cloke to help with their weakish backline. I believe a 4th round pick was all that is needed.
Some at Carlton see him as a good prospect who was obviously not rated by Mick. A little in the Peter Dean mould. Great spoiler.

Will believe it when I see it. :rolleyes:

Barry Zuckercorn QC that rabble has won 16 flags.
You rabble of a club has won how many, let me count 1 oh 1 only hehe.
am i right in saying that trade week is next week im pretty sure it is and St.Kilda doesnt have a coach yet, its gonna be funny when i new coach comes in and sees another dud likes Barry Brooks on the list hahaha, hmmmm whos the rabble now hahahahah.

jabso said:
The next captain of the Carlton football club has become a one horse race.
Captain Cloke.

Nahh not funny. How about you stick to talking about footy and leave the jokes to other people:thumbsu:

Barry Zuckercorn QC said:
J. Cloke would be a walk in captain-coach at that rabble!

He would probebley add to your junk of a club captains rotation :rolleyes:

jason clokes just not long turned 24 back in may so i'd say they will take him
his in the bracket

he'll look better in a Navy blue Jumper :) i remember when i met Trent Hotten the year he came to carlton he said he hated Collingwood
we got a few ex pies either still at carlton or gone ;)

be interesting to see who we get next week its come around quick ;)
trade week

Monkeyboy said:
Have heard from a friend who has ties at Carlton that the Blues will be picking up J.Cloke to help with their weakish backline. I believe a 4th round pick was all that is needed.
Some at Carlton see him as a good prospect who was obviously not rated by Mick. A little in the Peter Dean mould. Great spoiler.
We need a Centre Half Back, not a Centre Half Hack.

Monkeyboy said:

A little in the Peter Dean mould??? Mate i think you better stop smokin that smelly green stuff. Peter dean was a champion. J Cloke is a hack who cant get a game in a mediocre team. Peter dean was one of the first picked players in a team of champions. (sticks, braddles, diesel, ratts, brown)

Why would we want cloke? Teauge and cloke are the same type of player.

Vinny30 said:
J Cloke is a hack who cant get a game in a mediocre team..

Oh well... he should fit right in at a crap team like carlton!

Meddler said:
Oh well... he should fit right in at a crap team like carlton!

Mate he wouldnt even make our best 22. Thats how crap he is!!

Vinny30 said:
Mate he wouldnt even make our best 22. Thats how crap he is!!

If Sultana O'hailpin can get a game, then so can Stephanie Macintosh. Jason Cloke would be your starting CHB.

c'wood-pies said:
If Sultana O'hailpin can get a game, then so can Stephanie Macintosh. Jason Cloke would be your starting CHB.

Ohh the intelligence and wit is just bursting out of you now isn't it?

Just for the slightest minute it might be worth you considering what you are saying, it would maybe save that embarrasment of looking like yet another fool who A) Is not funny & B) Is seriously over-rating their own team, whilst under-rating others.

J Cloke is not good enough to get a game at Collingwood, fair enough. But the truth is he has no value to Carlton. Obviously the Carlton list lacks in a hell of a lot of areas, but is young and has some prospects. Walker, Whitnall, O'hAilpin, Thornton (if he stays) & Bower are 5 defenders to start with, Cloke would not get a game ahead of any of them, he is going to fit into the category of McGrath, Bannister, Sporn, Livingston, Teague and others that Carlton unfortunately has a plethora of. Players such as Wiggins, Lappin, Houlihan can all play that small defender running off HB as well. This is a young team and can get overwhelmed as well at the minute, but Cloke is not going to improve the list going forward in any real way. He would be a like for like swap with a number of current Carlton players.

There is also the potential of Hartlett coming on and there are hopes he will develop into a typical FB. Again Cloke is not quality, he can play a role but he is a third string player. Never going to be that 10th-22nd player on a team list and so is in the 23-30 range. Generally these positions are going to be filled by elder players that are being phased out, or by exciting young kids you hope come on. Carlton has a number of players in this range and the only trading it should be doing is for starters and top 10 starters at that. Cloke is better suited to a team that already has it's starting core and he can be an accessory, a bit player. The truth is that he will be lucky to attract a top 50 pick in this draft, it would not surprise to see him in the PSD to be honest.

In regards to Teague being called a pussy earlier in the thread... (Stevie Wonder) How ridiculous a comment. It is not surprising that some posters consider themselves a better judge of courage the AFL footballers, but this is a player who was voted the most courageous player in the league by his peers only a couple of seasons ago. The funny thing is that Teague has enough deficiencies in his game that he would be an fairly easy target to take a shot at.... But somehow you managed to f*ck it up still. Nice call mate :rolleyes:

Of course you also followed it up with another insightful comment about Stevens being to old...

I guess you mean in comparison to...

Buckley 34
Burns 31
Clement 30
etc.
etc

Licuria was great but he seems to have the game passing him by. O'Bree is one paced and needs a midfield to be playing well around him, he cannot lift a midfield himself. Johnson can play but is erratic and prone to bad disposal (but is heaps better than a few years ago) and can certainly play...

Again Stevens is unaccountable, can be caught on the rebound and players often play off him as there is always a fair chance they can get loose on their HF line and snare a few oppurtunistic goals. Stevens penetration when shooting for goal is dubious and he has joined the rest of the Carlton squad in kicking the ball to high to leading players which gives the defenders that bit of extra time... By all means come up with a reason for not wanting him, but have you ever considered coming up with something with a bit of merit... Or are you another witty one-liner?

Jason Cloke doesn't get a game at Collingwood because they have 3 tall defenders who are better than him (Presti, Clement and Wakelin). Personally I don't think he is that bad. He dominated at Willi this year. I think he would get a game at Carlton.

azza102 said:
Jason Cloke doesn't get a game at Collingwood because they have 3 tall defenders who are better than him (Presti, Clement and Wakelin). Personally I don't think he is that bad. He dominated at Willi this year. I think he would get a game at Carlton.

Fair opinion, but I disagree. He would not displace Setanta, Whitnall or Thornton. Walker can play on talls or smalls and Bower played well against Sydney and is the future. Cloke is not accountable enough in my opinion and is about the same level as a lot of our other players as mentioned......

Whitnall is better than Wakelin, Thorton offers more than Presti, no-one in our backline comes close to Clement at the moment.

I understand why he does not make Collingwood's team, but that does not make him a starter at Carlton and certainly not someone to trade for.

Also with Wakelin and Presti both getting close to the end, if he was next in line he would be best staying, so I think he is further down the list than you suggest.

Personally I would not be giving him any consideration at all, even in the PSD. He is just not the type that helps build the Carlton Football Club. Replacing mediocrity with mediocrity would produce another 5 years like the previous 5

Yeah I would suggest Maxwell would probably be ahead of him also. However, Cloke is fairly solid and would enable you to play Whitnall across the half forward line.

westbrom said:
Whitnall is better than Wakelin, Thorton offers more than Presti, no-one in our backline comes close to Clement at the moment.

Not too sure about that. Wakelin is an outright defender and rarely gets beaten (however, getting older and not playing like he used to). Whitnall will get a few more kicked on him but is probably a lot more creative out of defence. You may call me crazy but I think Presti is a top fullback. Very underated. Thornton definately has age on his side though (I like the way he plays).