Roast Jealous opposition supporters

• Thread starter Thread starter betchsta

ooohhhhh the bombers fans won't like seeing that!!!
I have a mate that still SERIOUSLY thinks that the 2000 bombers side is a better team than the cats 2007-2011 based on them losing only 1 game that year... I am dead serious...
It hurts my head the stupidity of some people...

As for the OP I would suggest you steer clear of the bay if this type of thing gets to you!! :D

Lol, I'm interested & just think it's stupid, Even people claiming we only have won extra games because we only play the weaker sides at home & that's an unfair advantage as well :rolleyes:.

haha despite of course that we would spank those very teams we beat at home at the dome or the G :D

I think it goes much wider than just jealousy.

I honestly think most footy fans now are more insecure than ever. This seems to be expressed by declaring that every single thing occurring relating to football - especially their team - is the greatest ever. It's been going for at least 10 years and it's getting worse every year. The laughable amount of awards that exist now, and are mentioned like they actually mean something, is cringeworthy. The All-Australian awards have become nothing more than a media jerk-off, and the Brownlow isn't far behind.

Plus, the dick-measuring between supporters is just ridiculous now. There's only one way to measure success - premierships. That's it. Nothing else is relevant or important. You talk about a certain period of history and fans fall over themselves to whinge about draft concessions, or salary caps, or zoning restrictions, or whatever else gets them through the night.

Here's the reality - our side didn't win because they weren't good enough. The players on the field were not able to play the game as well as their opponents. Full stop. This goes for Geelong from 1989-1995, or Collingwood from 2002-2003, or St.Kilda 2009-2010. Or any other losing team. Ever. Brisbane didn't win 3 premierships because of the salary cap - as the bulk of that team was there in 1998 when the won the wooden spoon (and no one was whinging then). Geelong didn't win anything due to the father/son rule - as we were awful in 2003 when Scarlett and Ablett were playing and the same applied. Fans just want to avoid acknowledging that maybe other teams are superior at that point in time. Simple as that.

We've had North talk up their '90s side as "the team of the 90s" because they made 6 successive Prelim Finals (so?), we've had West Coast talked up as a dynasty that won precisely 1 premiership, we've had Sydney talked up as being a successful side for years, although they only won 1 flag, and that would be the luckiest premiership I can remember seeing.

Even Geelong fans like to talk up the win/loss record over the last 5 years. It's nice and everything, but ultimately means little. We were the best in 2007, 2009 and 2011. But in 2008 and especially 2010 we weren't.

Mention individual players, and every star player - or perceived star - is talked up like there have never been footballers before. The hype about Judd for instance. Jesus I've never read such horseshit before. Apparently he's one of the greatest midfielders ever. He's not even the best now (even at his club as I reckon Murphy has surpassed him), and personally I wouldn't say he's fit to lick Greg Williams' boots. The journos - who obviously can't bear to think that there have been great players before - all fall over themselves to perpetuate this garbage.

As far as I'm concerned, if you look for excuses instead of acknowledging you weren't good enough, you'll never learn from your mistakes and you'll never move forward. Luckily the current Geelong team and administration seem to realise this. Let's hope it continues.

Couldn't agree more Partridge. One of the more annoying build up is the current Foxtel ad. I have to say that Franklin kicking a goal does not change the face of football forever.
Now Lonergan keeping him quiet in the 2011 PF may be because we went on to win the GF.

Mention individual players, and every star player - or perceived star - is talked up like there have never been footballers before. The hype about Judd for instance. Jesus I've never read such horseshit before. Apparently he's one of the greatest midfielders ever. He's not even the best now (even at his club as I reckon Murphy has surpassed him), and personally I wouldn't say he's fit to lick Greg Williams' boots. The journos - who obviously can't bear to think that there have been great players before - all fall over themselves to perpetuate this garbage.

I think the final in Sydney in 2010 was an example of that. All the talk in the media was of Judd's amazing 3rd quarter, "greatest ever" etc but they glossed over the fact that he missed a couple of relatively simple shots at goal to actually WIN the game in the last quarter.

haha, yeah that's always a good one - two for the price of one - not only are they incorrect about who we play at home, but even if their statement was correct, they never stop to think that it means we play the tough teams away from home.

I think it goes much wider than just jealousy.

I honestly think most footy fans now are more insecure than ever. This seems to be expressed by declaring that every single thing occurring relating to football - especially their team - is the greatest ever. It's been going for at least 10 years and it's getting worse every year. The laughable amount of awards that exist now, and are mentioned like they actually mean something, is cringeworthy. The All-Australian awards have become nothing more than a media jerk-off, and the Brownlow isn't far behind.

Plus, the dick-measuring between supporters is just ridiculous now. There's only one way to measure success - premierships. That's it. Nothing else is relevant or important. You talk about a certain period of history and fans fall over themselves to whinge about draft concessions, or salary caps, or zoning restrictions, or whatever else gets them through the night.

Here's the reality - our side didn't win because they weren't good enough. The players on the field were not able to play the game as well as their opponents. Full stop. This goes for Geelong from 1989-1995, or Collingwood from 2002-2003, or St.Kilda 2009-2010. Or any other losing team. Ever. Brisbane didn't win 3 premierships because of the salary cap - as the bulk of that team was there in 1998 when the won the wooden spoon (and no one was whinging then). Geelong didn't win anything due to the father/son rule - as we were awful in 2003 when Scarlett and Ablett were playing and the same applied. Fans just want to avoid acknowledging that maybe other teams are superior at that point in time. Simple as that.

We've had North talk up their '90s side as "the team of the 90s" because they made 6 successive Prelim Finals (so?), we've had West Coast talked up as a dynasty that won precisely 1 premiership, we've had Sydney talked up as being a successful side for years, although they only won 1 flag, and that would be the luckiest premiership I can remember seeing.

Even Geelong fans like to talk up the win/loss record over the last 5 years. It's nice and everything, but ultimately means little. We were the best in 2007, 2009 and 2011. But in 2008 and especially 2010 we weren't.

As far as I'm concerned, if you look for excuses instead of acknowledging you weren't good enough, you'll never learn from your mistakes and you'll never move forward. Luckily the current Geelong team and administration seem to realise this. Let's hope it continues.

Now, Partridge tell us what you really think!!! Pulling punches is not on.

AFL footy is the most brutal business going around. No good pointing to profits, no good pointing to improvements, no good pointing to ground breaking technology. There is not even a secondary prize such as a conference title or FA cup to talk about.

You have to win a premiership or you have had a bad year.

We knew that when we lost in 67,89 and multiples in the nineties. Just not good enough.
[Even though in those years we did play the game as it should be played and it was fun until the reckoning came].

So no excuses, just crank it up and go hard in 2012.