Jeff Kennett's comments...

• Thread starter Thread starter hbk_aus

Re: Jeff Kennett's STUPID Arrogant comments...

The Mouth never says anything off the cuff. He is after all a Polli first pres 2nd. Kennetts comments put him in a no loss situation. If we beat the shitte out of them Friday night he will say it doesnt matter as we win the ones that matter. If we lose he will say it justifies my comments. Motivation or not thats not what it was put out there for. jeff is not associated with the Football department and mouths off each year about something. Its all one politics.

One thing pollies keep an eye on is budgets.

If our two clubs can build on the solid rivalry we do have for the naxt few years then that can bring nothing but good to both clubs. :thumbsu:

Jeff's comments were justified, and not just by examining the last five years.

Hawks have won every game that really matters between the clubs since the '63 GF.

The Hawks have had a mental edge over our club for a very long time, and anyone who pretends that Geelong '07-'08 (by beating everyone else when it mattered, except the Hawks) overcame that is deluding themselves...

Jeff will be right about this until the Cats can once more beat the Hawks on GF day.

45 years and counting,
S.

Bingo. :thumbsu:

Any Geelong supporter who thinks the Hawks do not have a mental edge over Geelong in big games is just in denial.

Ps , I think Kennett is a goose for saying it in public and I bet any money Clarkson will go off his head at him.

Bingo. :thumbsu:

Any Geelong supporter who thinks the Hawks do not have a mental edge over Geelong in big games is just in denial.

Ps , I think Kennett is a goose for saying it in public and I bet any money Clarkson will go off his head at him.

Actually, I disagree that this current list has any particular fear of Hawthorn other than a healthy respect born out of the fact that are/were the 2nd on the ladder last year with a solid game plan and a superstar forward line.
There is no way Geelong get out of bed on the day of a game against Hawthorn and think "Oh no...it's Hawthorn..we're destined to lose!!".
And any Hawthorn supporter who thinks otherwise is delusional.
Hawthorn however, treat every game against Geelong like the SA and WA teams treat the derby games. They get up for them especially.
We've just been treating Hawthorn as another opponent.
That won't happen again.
We will reserve a very special effort for Hawthorn now.
And even though Hawthorn have the "best" record against us in recent times, the last 10 games stand at 5 all. The last 2 at 1 all, and it's a flag each, although we have appeared in consecutive GFs...no mean feat in these football socialist times, as I suspect you are about to discover.

"(Geelong) hate quick, elusive forwards and we have got good ones. They hate a team that is accountable and tough and hard at the ball, and that's what we are."

Not quite, Jeff. ANY (good) team with the above attributes will always be hard to beat - IF they can sustain the effort and/or stay in range on the scoreboard.

Hawthorn's so called unsociable football perhaps toughened them mentally last year. Assuming other coaches take a leaf out of their book (ie give Hawthorn a taste of its own medicine) it will be interesting to see how the Hawks react in 09. A couple, including a key centre, look particularly vulnerable in that regard. I suspect tho that a lot of coaches/teams might be loath to take the Hawks on physically. I don't expect that Geelong will be.

Round 1 won't mean much irrespective of the result but Round 2, Sat July 25 at the G, will be the day for Bomber to release the mongrel in the Cat and watch the feathers fly. Can't wait, myself.

Actually, I disagree that this current list has any particular fear of Hawthorn other than a healthy respect born out of the fact that are/were the 2nd on the ladder last year with a solid game plan and a superstar forward line.
There is no way Geelong get out of bed on the day of a game against Hawthorn and think "Oh no...it's Hawthorn..we're destined to lose!!"

The point is not that our boys believe they're destined to lose; it's that the Hawks believe they are destined to win, and they play accordingly.

They soaked up the pressure on GF day, and then when their chances came the ball was going through the goals from anywhere.

That's self-belief. They may have constructed a myth around Geelong's fragility against them, but it doesn't really matter whether it's a myth or not. The fact is their players believe the myth and play accordingly.

If it's a myth, I'm delighted. The fact is that all the evidence at the moment suggests that it has been anything but...

You gotta love Jeff - ever the polly.

Hawthorn wins, he'll feel vindicated.

Hawthorn loses, he'll shug it off stating it was only Round 1, Hawthorn were underdone and had injuries and the Hawthorn footy club only win games when they mean something.

But if nothing else, it did grab some air time for our game this week instead of the Judd V Cousins, er, Carlton V Richmond match.

Besides, with Ford as the club's major sponsor, we clearly aren't lacking drive.

"(Geelong) hate quick, elusive forwards and we have got good ones. They hate a team that is accountable and tough and hard at the ball, and that's what we are."

Not quite, Jeff. ANY (good) team with the above attributes will always be hard to beat - IF they can sustain the effort and/or stay in range on the scoreboard.

Hawthorn's so called unsociable football perhaps toughened them mentally last year.

I believe this was taken from Clarkson on GF address not by Kennett and is only known due to a documentary by former Hawk - Rob Dickson - which will be aired pre game??

His comments have been blown a little out of proportion but may get a few more to the gates which luckily I will be at after a monster flight from the Isle of Man. Hawks ae clearly underdogs in this one and I am not 100% that it was meant as such as slur. Facts are Hawks have done well against Cats. There are better methods to do this like letting the football talk for itself but once a politician - always a politician.

I wish Jeff would keep his gob shut however, I do not believe for one second that his comments will make an iota of difference to the outcome of fri's game.
Those of you who think it does, ask yourselves if you would accept it as an excuse for a loss from a hawk fan if u win?? Not likely is it.

From the famous words of the late great E.J. lets STICK IT RITE UP EM!!

There is no way Geelong get out of bed on the day of a game against Hawthorn and think "Oh no...it's Hawthorn..we're destined to lose!!".
And any Hawthorn supporter who thinks otherwise is delusional.
Hawthorn however, treat every game against Geelong like the SA and WA teams treat the derby games. They get up for them especially.
We've just been treating Hawthorn as another opponent.
That won't happen again.
We will reserve a very special effort for Hawthorn now.
And even though Hawthorn have the "best" record against us in recent times, the last 10 games stand at 5 all. The last 2 at 1 all, and it's a flag each, although we have appeared in consecutive GFs...no mean feat in these football socialist times, as I suspect you are about to discover.

When did you flog us in a grand final:confused:

You gotta love Jeff - ever the polly.

Hawthorn wins, he'll feel vindicated.

Hawthorn loses, he'll shug it off stating it was only Round 1, Hawthorn were underdone and had injuries and the Hawthorn footy club only win games when they mean something.

But if nothing else, it did grab some air time for our game this week instead of the Judd V Cousins, er, Carlton V Richmond match.

Besides, with Ford as the club's major sponsor, we clearly aren't lacking drive.

No ya don't! He's riding on the wave of success created by Ian Dicker at Hawthorn. Just as he did with Alan Stockdale when he was Premier.

And have a look at his level of business success since leaving politics. The media love him cos he's full of it. But we shouldn't be taken in by it.

I do not believe for one second that his comments will make an iota of difference to the outcome of fri's game.
Those of you who think it does, ask yourselves if you would accept it as an excuse for a loss from a hawk fan if u win?? Not likely is it.

and if the cats lose?

does that validate the supposed "mental edge" he was talkin about?

lethal, you failed to get past the roos.

The point is not that our boys believe they're destined to lose; it's that the Hawks believe they are destined to win, and they play accordingly

That's EXACTLY my point...
We haven't been scared of them...they just think we are and it makes them play better!
What we need to do is have a special reason to dispel this myth once and for all!
Respect them for the team they are and plan accordingly but take the stance internally that we "owe" them one, to put an end to this ridiculous assumption that results from 20 years ago means we are pre-destined to lose to them!!
They match up well against us in certain areas and they have a game plan that has taken a while for most teams to figure out, but it wasn't the cluster that beat us in 2008...it was shit kicking under pressure in the forward 50 and not taking advantage of opportunities.
The GF did, as GFs do, bring to light what we all knew anyway, that our high scores were a result of MF and Defensive dominance, not how great our Forward line was. But there are plans in place. It was always Bombers last priority and many of the guys we hoped would come through in KP spots didn't deliver, particularly the loss of Nablett was a structural blow.

what arrogance .They think all they have to do is pressure us and we will break down.They beleive we are not as mentaly strong us they are.

Make no mistake they think they will win friday night as they think they have more heart and are a tougher side than us.

When did you flog us in a grand final:confused:

Where were you in 1963?

1963 VFL Grand Final - Geelong V Hawthorn
Geelong 15.13.109 defeated Hawthorn 8.12.60

These two teams have a flag each...we won in 2007 and you won in 2008. We do play other teams you know! :thumbsu:

Geelong beat Hawks 1963

Hawthorn beat Geelong 1989 and 2008

The way I see it the Hawks are still 2 to 1 up on us.

We haven't been scared of them...they just think we are and it makes them play better!
What we need to do is have a special reason to dispel this myth once and for all!
Respect them for the team they are and plan accordingly but take the stance internally that we "owe" them one, to put an end to this ridiculous assumption that results from 20 years ago means we are pre-destined to lose to them!!
They match up well against us in certain areas and they have a game plan that has taken a while for most teams to figure out, but it wasn't the cluster that beat us in 2008...it was shit kicking under pressure in the forward 50 and not taking advantage of opportunities.
The GF did, as GFs do, bring to light what we all knew anyway, that our high scores were a result of MF and Defensive dominance, not how great our Forward line was. But there are plans in place. It was always Bombers last priority and many of the guys we hoped would come through in KP spots didn't deliver, particularly the loss of Nablett was a structural blow.

I think this comment is pretty spot on. That is why Geelong need Gamble or Hawkins (or both) to become a regular fixture down forward this year. Additional forward line marking power means we do not have change the game plan that much. If this had been the case in the 08 GF - then with 63 forward 50 entries, Geelong, even with bad kicking, would have won the premiership. Not even Hodge can move a 100 kgs player or out mark or spoil an opponent who stands 197 cm and has decent hands.

Interesting, we did ours the other way round and now similar to yourselves but at the other end of the ground, our defence whilst serviceable is quite shallow. Should be really interesting between the two clubs when we both get it together.

I agree. I said somewhere a couple of months ago that games will be decided by who's weakest link matures first...our attack or your defence.
I think the reasoning behind our respective paths had as much to do with what players each team had at the beginning of the re-build TBH.
If we had Buddy and Roughead and you had Harley and Scarlett a few years ago we would have switched game plans!

and if the cats lose?

does that validate the supposed "mental edge" he was talkin about?

lethal, you failed to get past the roos.
I think its best that you answer these questions:thumbsu:

I've not commented one way or another, more to the point I think its insulting to the cats to think that it would take a big mouthed opposition president to get them motivated.

The fact is that they do have an edge on us in the games that count.
As good as we are this is a fact. There is only one way to change this and that is to perform on the big stage

His comment about them having more quality players than us annoys me

The coachs speach about the sharks was not inspirational

Jeff's comments were justified, and not just by examining the last five years.

Hawks have won every game that really matters between the clubs since the '63 GF.

The Hawks have had a mental edge over our club for a very long time, and anyone who pretends that Geelong '07-'08 (by beating everyone else when it mattered, except the Hawks) overcame that is deluding themselves...

Jeff will be right about this until the Cats can once more beat the Hawks on GF day.

45 years and counting,
S.
Agree with all of that. Wonder how many cat fans REALLY were confident about beating Haw in the 08 GF, even if we were thought to be superior. If that result could have happened against any other team, implying we had an off day, it's reality that it didn't, and we just have to beat the Hawks every time possible, for mental health, and absolutely the 09 GF. Jeff only spoke the TRUTH.