matt decat

has been made a legend in the hall of fame. congrats to him. well deserved after all the years of good footy he played for us (wish i was 20 years older so that i could have seen him in full flight)

Great news - not before time though! :rolleyes:

Nomination was held up due to cheesy, flavoured-milk promotions Jezza made in the 70's. Drank a fair whack of Yoohoo in my time.

Nomination was held up due to cheesy flavoured milk promotions Jezza made in the 70's. Drank a fair whack of Yoohoo in my time.

Can have some of what you're enjoying Thy? :p

There really was a Yahoo flavoured milk, mate. I only remember the vanilla one. Came in a little glass bottle with a steel cap. Pre-dated Big M and everything. True dinks.

I believe you mate! Hey, seriously though, can i still have some of what you're on though? ;):p

Careful what you wish for.........................

Haha, don't worry about me mate - my heart and my spirit can take anything my imagination might conjure. ;):eek:

Nomination was held up due to cheesy, flavoured-milk promotions Jezza made in the 70's. Drank a fair whack of Yoohoo in my time.

A little Yoohoo Thy whilst relaxing in a Rheem hot shower??

On topic, Congratulations Jezza. I idolised him in the 70's as a prepubescent with the number 25 (made out of a bed sheet) on a knitted Carlton jumper (thanks Nana). Absolute superstar.:thumbsu:

Here are a few of Jezza's marks for your enjoyment (I'd forgotten the one against Richmond, that was a ripper):

[YOUTUBE]HtQleNxjsdo[/YOUTUBE]
[YOUTUBE]4Sc86yqwPi8[/YOUTUBE]
[YOUTUBE]VyiLBkwSeK4[/YOUTUBE]
[YOUTUBE]IIgiHSyluqU[/YOUTUBE]

And of course, his most recent effort (:D) :

[YOUTUBE]zqjDS9ksbRk[/YOUTUBE]

Great news - not before time though! :rolleyes:
My first thoughts too. It is a disgrace that it has taken this long. He almost should have been one of the original legends IMO.

Congratulations to my childhood hero!! Ah, those were the days kicking the footy and proudly wearing the number 25 on my back.

Jezza would have still dominated in todays footy, read the play like nobody else...except for the Flying Doormat of course.

Good on ya Jezza!!!!!

Jezza you (now really are a) LEGEND.:)

Alex Jesaulenko is an out-and-out superstar and thoroughly deserving of Legend status. A true household name. Quadruple-premiership hero of the Carlton Football Club. Wish I was old enough to have seen him play live.

I remember trying to jump all over my mates back while yelling Jezza.
Mates who barracked for other clubs yelled it all the time.

Had 25 on the duffle coat for many years, Jezza was a freakish player and Football LEGEND.

Congratulations Jezza well deserved.

Fantastic news ..

The next player from Carlton who should be elevated to legend status is Bruce Doull, just the greatest defender in the history of the AFL...

Congratulations to Jezza, but it comes down to the magical four words, 'It's about bloody time!' It's a joke that it's taken this long for Jezza to be inducted.

Fantastic news ..

The next player from Carlton who should be elevated to legend status is Bruce Doull, just the greatest defender in the history of the AFL...

Finding it difficult to fault this suggestion.

Deserved recognition for the great man. He, more than any other Carlton player drew me to the Navy Blues. I'm not sure my parents were such a big fan of him because of the 'speckies' I would take on my bed, or the couch, my dad's cars in the driveway, in fact anything you could jump on. I always took the opportunity, when walking through the schoolyard with my mates, to drop back a little bit & then get a run up to take a 'speckie' over one of them, while calling out 'Jezzaaaaa'.

Seriously, though, Alex Jesaulenko is the best player I have seen at Carlton. With apologies to Doull, 'Swan' McKay, Fitzpatrick, Ashman, Hunter, Kernahan, Bradley, SOS, Kouta, Andrew McKay & Ratts, Jesaulenko was in a class of his own. Whether it was the marks, the freakish goals, the balance, the vice-like tackles, or generally the ability to make the difficult seem so easy, Jesaulenko had it all.

I have no hesitation in stating that Jesaulenko was a far more complete footballer than Gary Ablett or Wayne Carey. The fact that he was able to be a star as a HFF, FF, Centreman & HBF just demonstrates the all-round ability of Jesaulenko. His elevation to legend status is long overdue. Certainly in my mind he was always a legend & he brought something to the game that many players have produced in flashes, but have not been able to do consistently like Jesaulenko did. I feel privileged that I lived through the Jesaulenko era & I am so grateful that he ended up at Carlton, rather than North Melbourne.

Alex Jesaulenko, you are a legend.

Have said it previous,
His name transcended the game.

Utterly astonishing.

You young blokes missed something,
when he (and Nick, and Doormat),
were in the big show.

i get drunk, and roll back on this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A3WDa96XYog

Played everywhere, and did everything
Never showed a hint of emotion,
and beat everyone put near him.