Jim Beam or Jack Daniels

Used to be a Beam man and I still love it and wouldnt knock it back if someone offered me some. But after 4 or 5 years of drinking my hangovers off it were just out of control! So I switched to Jacks and my hangovers arent anywhere near as bad so now Im a Jacks man Im afriad.

Love them both though.

JD = over rated. Someone said it's smoother than Jim Beam? No way. Has a real hoarse texture to it.

I prefer Maker's Mark and Wild Turkey to both of these but would pick Jim Beam in front of JD any day.

bunsen burner said:
JD = over rated. Someone said it's smoother than Jim Beam? No way. Has a real hoarse texture to it.

The mellowing process involves drip filtering through charcoal, which adds the flavour I assume you refer to as 'real hoarse texture'. Bourbon will always seem smoother than JD because it goes straight from distillation into a barrel. The charcoal filtering adds a sharpness to the initial texture of JD, it still goes down smooth though. That's why JD is mean't for sippin' and Jim Beam is meant for pouring coke into.

Jabber said:
. That's why JD is mean't for sippin' and Jim Beam is meant for pouring coke into.
I don't doubt that at all, but how many people do you know who drink whiskey without a mixer?

I've tried many a whiskey on ice and still prefer all of them with a mixer. Therefore, I prefer your Maker's Marks and Wild Turkeys with a mixer rather than with just ice.

A better whiskey with mixer > a lesser whiskey with mixer.

bunsen burner said:
I don't doubt that at all, but how many people do you know who drink whiskey without a mixer?

I've tried many a whiskey on ice and still prefer all of them with a mixer. Therefore, I prefer your Maker's Marks and Wild Turkeys with a mixer rather than with just ice.

A better whiskey with mixer > a lesser whiskey with mixer.

I don't drink whiskey with mixers, hence my preference for the more flavoured JD. I agree that standard bourbons like Jim Beam are better with mixers than straight.

Jack although not a bourbon is better than Beam. Best Bourbon around is Makers mark, but nothing beats the Cougar Adds

Maker's Mark is the best in the $30-$40 price range but you have some other small-batch bourbons that blow Maker's Mark away if you want to spend up to $100 a bottle. I'm a Wild Turkey or Maker's Mark drinker mainly.

In beers, Steinlager has made regular appearances in my stubby holder for the last few months.

A little off topic but just curious

Is there any way to re train yourself to drink a certain drink after you've had a really rough night on it. I used to drink Beam, Daniels, Wild Turkey and the whole shabang all the time until one night when i was out on the town i was drinking Beam and got my drink spiked (a dude gettin his drink spiked is shonky i know)
Anyways ever since that day i haven't been able to look at the stuff and that was right at the very start of this year. Does the instant sickening feeling eventually fade or am i doomed to a life of vodka and cheap wines :(

Cougar XS. Prefer to spend a little extra to get the stronger, more flavoursome bourbon than an ordinary Beam or Cougar. Wild Turkey does the trick. I also have a bottle of Woodford Reserve which I save for special occasions.

Never tried this Maker's Mark, may do so after reading this thread.

BigFooty Boards > NFR - Non Footy Related > Bogan Topics > Bourbon and V8s > Jim Bean or Jack Daniels.

Jim Beam or Jack Daniels