jimmy bartel - 2005 mark?

anyone remember the mark? I think it was in 2005? jimmy ran back with the flight of the ball and jumped over the pack? Absolute blinder in the same vein as the riewoldt (but better) from the same year. Anyone know of any footage of this mark on you tube or anything? cheers

Remember it like it was yesterday.
Against the Bulldogs.
If you get the footage and use freeze frame, you can see that Jimmy only about a metre in front of the ball on Darcy's foot as he kicked it.
So he ran as fast or faster than the ball in flight and ran headfirst into the pack to mark the ball. Fantastic bravery or lunacy?
He was so stiff that the Riewoldt mark occurred on the same day.
Nicky boy was a real pinup boy with the media at the time (probably still is). The Saints were flying at the time and Bartel was considered a promising yet slow midfielder in a less fashionable side.
All the media attention went the way of Riewoldt and he was spoken about on the Sunday Footy Show like he was the reincarnation of William Wallace.
Jimmy's mark was mentioned but given little more than a passing interest.
It is my opinion that Riewoldt's grab was an absolute ripper but Jimmy's was not only better but should definitely have won mark of the year.

If the same circumstances happened again next week I'm sure that Jimmy would get a lot more media attention given to his grab this time around - maybe they could replay it on Brownlow night.
Saints aren't quite the flavour of the month these days.
Guess who is ? ? ?
icon7.gif
icon7.gif
icon7.gif
icon7.gif
icon7.gif
icon7.gif

Check the Geelong Weekly Highlights thread up the top.
Personally i think Jimmy's mark is better than Riewoldt's. Jimmy jumped into 3 or 4 players. Riewoldt only had to jump into that weakling Milne...
I'm probably biased though...

Check the Geelong Weekly Highlights thread up the top.
Personally i think Jimmy's mark is better than Riewoldt's. Jimmy jumped into 3 or 4 players. Riewoldt only had to jump into that weakling Milne...
I'm probably biased though...

Don't forget Jimmy also ran almost the whole length from where the ball was kicked in the first place! Theoretically he could have kicked and then marked his own ball himself... theoretically. :)

It was sooo much better than Nick's one. How his mark was ranked higher that year than the Jimmehs I'll never know.

The thing i cant comprehend about the mark, is the way he sprinted as soon as Darcy kicked it. It's like as soon as the kick went up he thought "i'm going to mark this." I mean what person in their right mind thinks like that.

It was sooo much better than Nick's one. How his mark was ranked higher that year than the Jimmehs I'll never know.

Like hoody said, Riewoldt was a bit of a pinup boy at the time and the Saints we're flying... At least we all know what the better mark was!

The thing i cant comprehend about the mark, is the way he sprinted as soon as Darcy kicked it. It's like as soon as the kick went up he thought "i'm going to mark this." I mean what person in their right mind thinks like that.

Great point. I was actually at the game and I remember watching him the whole time and as soon as he started running for it you could see his intent...
Kid's got balls, that's for sure...

I agree Jimmy's mark was great and it is probably as good as Riewoldt's. But i think that neither of them knew who and how many people they were gonna run into. look at the footage again and u will never see either of them take there eyes of the ball. i don't think there is much point comparing one to the other because they were both very very courageous and very similar. What you can say with confidence is that jimmy never got the props that rooey got and that when you compare Sampi's to both those marks, its unbelievable how many people rated that a better mark.

Chas Bartels mark = Great but i think Pretty Boy Riewoldts was just as courageous

I agree Jimmy's mark was great and it is probably as good as Riewoldt's. But i think that neither of them knew who and how many people they were gonna run into. look at the footage again and u will never see either of them take there eyes of the ball. i don't think there is much point comparing one to the other because they were both very very courageous and very similar. What you can say with confidence is that jimmy never got the props that rooey got and that when you compare Sampi's to both those marks, its unbelievable how many people rated that a better mark.

Chas Bartels mark = Great but i think Pretty Boy Riewoldts was just as courageous

Yeah your probably right young fella.
Bias does get in the way at times...
Whether or not they knew what/who was coming or not doesn't really matter when judging who's was better though. Yes, they were both wonderful marks and yes they were both courageous but the fact is Riewoldt didn't really compete with anyone for the mark (unless you count Milne & Kenelly who didn't really even fly for the ball) whereas Jimmy was up against Cooney, Scarlett and some other Bulldogs chap who all had a crack at it (Mooney was out the back too).
I too thought Sampi's mark was overrated, great, but still overrated.
Give me a pack-splitting mark in the vein of Chas Bartel's anyday of the week...

I thought Reiwoldt's was just as good as Bartel's.

imo the only reason that Riewoldts mark could be judged better is because it 'looked' better. While he was in the air he got his legs taken out, which spun him around and looked spectacular. However, he had already taken the ball well before that.
On Jimmy's though, he literally contests the mark with two-three other players, basically taking it out of the arms of one of the players who would have thought he was a shoo-in to take the grab.

Technically, Riewoldts was an uncontested mark, where Jimmys was contested. I know which deserves more credit. :thumbsu:

Roos was heaps better. Why? He smashed Milne.

Seriously though.

Roos = Chas.