JLT Series Discussion Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter CrozaN

He spent time up forward and he'll do the same in the season. Not enough to be detrimental to his scoring. He's no schlub up forward, he's a natural and dangerous medium forward and him getting the chance for contested marks and goals bodes very well for his scoring ability.

At 600k he's not exactly bargain priced.
Crazy vossy always sent him fwd, because as you correctly assert- he's a decent forward option.
But it killed his SC scoring.

Lots of better options @ 600k in my opinion that will play fulltime mid.
Can't see rocky averaging 120+, which is what he'd need to do in order to be worth picking him over less risky options like treloar etc.

LOL I always reckon journos write AFL game reports based PURELY on stats.
From the game report from Lions Dogs JLT last night, confirms it, as I'd rather trust TheOz than a journo.
This was taken from game report from last nite, AFL website...
"They gained the ascendancy at the stoppages with veteran Lions big man Stefan Martin too strong in the ruck contest for Tim English, who tried hard in his first game. "

WTF?

If you knew what lazy slobs journos are. Robbo is the tip of the iceberg.

Space to fill. Write any shit.

Maybe not, but from a Supercoach point of view, the fact that he is a few years older helps immensely. McCluggage looked like a boy playing against men last night, and out of his depth.
No he didn't. He was natural when thrown into the midfield. His varying roles is what should put people off, not his ability or readiness for AFL football.

Barrett was good, but was making equally poor decisions and has dropped some fairly simple chest marks that have lead to opposition scores our past two games. Has some improving to do before locking down a 22 spot.

Yeah, he actually did. Was ragdolled several times and was a deer in headlights several times. 0 tackles. Go and re-watch the game.
0 tackles yet still scored 41 in varying roles? That's not bad.

I'm sure that if he played Barrett's role for the entirety of the game, you would have seen a much higher Supercoach score from him. That's the beauty of preseason games, most young mids get equal opportunity to shine. Just happened to be Barrett's time.

I don't need to re-watch the game, nor do I have to listen to what an opposition supporter has to say about someone as talented as McCluggage. Just need to look at the Lions board for equally over-the-top analysis and critique of our players. Fact is, you can't dismiss his good work in JLT1.

Will I pick him? No. But that does not mean he isn't ready for the AFL.

At 600k he's not exactly bargain priced.
Crazy vossy always sent him fwd, because as you correctly assert- he's a decent forward option.
But it killed his SC scoring.

Lots of better options @ 600k in my opinion that will play fulltime mid.
Can't see rocky averaging 120+, which is what he'd need to do in order to be worth picking him over less risky options like treloar etc.
Would only pick if Beams goes down (hope to God this doesn't ever happen). Full stop. Heck, I'm not picking Ablett (greatest of all time) because of a role change, let alone Rocky.

No
0 tackles yet still scored 41 in varying roles? That's not bad.

I'm sure that if he played Barrett's role for the entirety of the game, you would have seen a much higher Supercoach score from him. That's the beauty of preseason games, most young mids get equal opportunity to shine. Just happened to be Barrett's time.

I don't need to re-watch the game, nor do I have to listen to what an opposition supporter has to say about someone as talented as McCluggage. Just need to look at the Lions board for equally over-the-top analysis and critique of our players. Fact is, you can't dismiss his good work in JLT1.

Will I pick him? No. But that does not mean he isn't ready for the AFL.

There is no doubt in his ability. The doubt is over whether he is ready for AFL, especially as a top price rook.

TheOz, Just wondering your thoughts on Cripps this year? I remember last season you liked him but thought it was a year early. If he is injury free and looking the goods in his JLT game will you be selecting him and what can you see him averaging?

Would only pick if Beams goes down (hope to God this doesn't ever happen). Full stop. Heck, I'm not picking Ablett (greatest of all time) because of a role change, let alone Rocky.

How do you see the dynamics of a Beams/Zorko/Rocky midfield functioning mate? All three are big SC point eaters, but surely someone has to lose out there?
Don't have a huge sample space to go off - they have hardly being on the same park all together, have they?

No

There is no doubt in his ability. The doubt is over whether he is ready for AFL, especially as a top price rook.

TheOz, Just wondering your thoughts on Cripps this year? I remember last season you liked him but thought it was a year early. If he is injury free and looking the goods in his JLT game will you be selecting him and what can you see him averaging?
How does SuperCoach have any effect on whether he's AFL-ready? :tearsofjoy:

As far as I'm concerned, he's shown enough to play round one ahead of someone like Bastinac.

How do you see the dynamics of a Beams/Zorko/Rocky midfield functioning mate? All three are big SC point eaters, but surely someone has to lose out there?
Don't have a huge sample space to go off - they have hardly being on the same park all together, have they?
I think it's one of those wait and see situations. I don't even think Fagan knows just how he'll want his best mids rotated. I personally think we're trying to mould our midfield into a Dogs style setup. There'll likely be too much rotation going on to know exactly who will consistently pump out tonnes in SuperCoach. Beams is the one I'd want in there as much as possible, as it'll free up Zorko to buzz around. Big question mark over Rockliff in terms of fantasy, unless someone goes down with injury, I can't see him scoring huge every week like in the past.

Lots of rain around NSW, might see players nursed through the game tonight. Hopefully get a look at some younger players at least.

I think it's one of those wait and see situations. I don't even think Fagan knows just how he'll want his best mids rotated. I personally think we're trying to mould our midfield into a Dogs style setup. There'll likely be too much rotation going on to know exactly who will consistently pump out tonnes in SuperCoach. Beams is the one I'd want in there as much as possible, as it'll free up Zorko to buzz around. Big question mark over Rockliff in terms of fantasy, unless someone goes down with injury, I can't see him scoring huge every week like in the past.

Yeah, it'll be interesting - and hopefully highly exciting - for all to watch how your midfield chemistry evolves. Agree with your thoughts on Beams and Zorko, and unfortunately have that same query over Rocky now too.

On a non-fantasy note, I'm really looking forward to watching some of you're games this year - Hipwood looks like he could be something else going forward...

So bato, are you saying that it is in writing that Rockys role will change this year to more forward?
I thought ROcky was only a mid and he is fit as a fiddle this year? Sorry, just a bit confused.

How does SuperCoach have any effect on whether he's AFL-ready? :tearsofjoy:

As far as I'm concerned, he's shown enough to play round one ahead of someone like Bastinac.

I'll assume you have misinterpreted it since I possibly didn't word it the best.

Talented player with a **** load of potential. At AFL level he looks a bit lost IMHO and you think he fits in and will play.
You had your opinion just as I had mine and we are both right and wrong as we are only speculating at this point.
How does this relate to SC... Well if he fits in at AFL level as you believe then he could be a decent pick.
If he doesn't fit in right away as I believe (Based mainly on last night's game) then there would be better options then him for his starting price. We are in the SC section of the forum. Just keeping it relevant.
May I ask your reason for not picking him if you think He'll slot right in? Also what do you think he will average between?
Personally, I was dissapointed the way he played at a higher level of footy last night and it will only get harder and more physical in the H&A season.

So bato, are you saying that it is in writing that Rockys role will change this year to more forward?
I thought ROcky was only a mid and he is fit as a fiddle this year? Sorry, just a bit confused.
That's why Fagan said in his AFL Q&A. Backed up by last night's performance.

I'll assume you have misinterpreted it since I possibly didn't word it the best.

Talented player with a **** load of potential. At AFL level he looks a bit lost IMHO and you think he fits in and will play.
You had your opinion just as I had mine and we are both right and wrong as we are only speculating at this point.
How does this relate to SC... Well if he fits in at AFL level as you believe then he could be a decent pick.
If he doesn't fit in right away as I believe (Based mainly on last night's game) then there would be better options then him for his starting price. We are in the SC section of the forum. Just keeping it relevant.
May I ask your reason for not picking him if you think He'll slot right in? Also what do you think he will average between?
Personally, I was dissapointed the way he played at a higher level of footy last night and it will only get harder and more physical in the H&A season.
Fair enough mate. He's adjusting to quicker footy that's about it in my opinion.

My reason, that I've already stated, is that his role is similar to Keays last year where he'll likely spend a lot of minutes at half forward, while rotating into the midfield on the odd occasion. Because he's a very clean ball user, the touches he does get up forward need to be mostly effective just like his first JLT match. Think that's asking a lot from a first year player. Too expensive in SuperCoach, too.

Not sure what he'll average, my guess is around 63.

Fair enough mate. He's adjusting to quicker footy that's about it in my opinion.

My reason, that I've already stated, is that his role is similar to Keays last year where he'll likely spend a lot of minutes at half forward, while rotating into the midfield on the odd occasion. Because he's a very clean ball user, the touches he does get up forward need to be mostly effective just like his first JLT match. Think that's asking a lot from a first year player. Too expensive in SuperCoach, too.

Not sure what he'll average, my guess is around 63.

Fair call and I appreciate your answer