Business & Finance Job Interviews

So if you go for an interview as a merchant banker they actually ask your golf handicap?

If someone were to say "I despise golf" what would be the consequences?

Would it be impossible for them to be chosen even if they were perfect in every other aspect?

Of course not. What's important is that you're intelligent, personable and can do the job.

That said, plenty of slightly less qualified candidates are chosen for all sorts of jobs because they're a 'better culture fit'. Merchant banking, law, accounting, stockbroking... they're all basically boys' clubs. If you're cut from the right cloth - nice private school, all the right hobbies, talk a bit of sport - you've got a head start.

Merchant banking, law, accounting, stockbroking... they're all basically boys' clubs. If you're cut from the right cloth - nice private school, all the right hobbies, talk a bit of sport - you've got a head start.

I know people who work in accounting that are not even that highly paid.

Well... yeah. But I'm not really talking about anything to do with pay levels.

Also, I'm talking about public practice accounting/law, rather than accountants and lawyers who work in commercial roles within bigger companies. The organisational culture there is obviously pretty variable.

Interesting and thinks for sharing this.

So would you say that personality can sometimes be as much of a factor for getting hired as qualifications/intelligence?

Yes. Personality plays a massive part in the interview process, especially in junior or lower level roles. Everyone coming through the door for an interview is assumed to have a very similar qualification, ie Bachelor of Bus. and a post-grad. If they are fairly green in their career, there is more learning and experience to come. They are probably all capable of doing the job, some no doubt come across as more capable than others, but in general all will be able to do the work. So what then? The team I work in and the general culture of our workplace is easy going and cheerful. I come into work each day looking forward to doing my job, not only for the job itself, but who I work with. I have no problem doing that little bit extra if called upon by any of the workmates as I wouldn't want to let them down. In assistance comes back in spades. They've become mates, as well as workmates. And since this culture started to really develop 6-7 years ago, the results being achieved have been great. When interviewing for a new role we're looking for someone who would fit the company, suit the role and embrace the culture. This is just as, infact more important than the level of intelligence that the candidate may appear to have. Sure experience and ability plays a huge part, but what we're after is the most suitable candidate. That may or may not mean the most intelligent.

As a side note, years ago someone here employed a maths nerd that told us in his first week that he was probably the most intelligent person that we're ever likely to meet. His decisions were appalling, and have since found out he's been made redundant by 8 different companies. Intelligent my arse.

As an off topic, if all the people in the office are educated university graduates why are they just so fixed over things that are usually associated with blue collar people? it seems as though if you like sports, drinking and gambling then you are a good chance of getting in. I have noticed that there seems to be a bit of an anti-intellectual thing in Australia.

In my time working here in South Korea it is not uncommon to see offices with books on philosophy or history in the lobby for guests to have a look and many people like to read and talk about important things like world affairs. On the subway in Seoul I see many people reading intellectual books for fun and most recently just about every Korean owns a copy of the book "Justice" by political philosopher Michael Sandel. On the subway I always see people of all ages with that book in hand.

I even see poor old street sellers with their portable TVs tuned to education programs where tutors explain academic things like algebra. I have even seen homeless people in Seoul reading books inside their cardboard box houses.

Yet in Australia I know many well educated professional people that just have no intellectual life, they are intelligent to the extent that they do their work well but they just have no interest in intellecual pursuits like history, philosophy, political economy, religion, etc. This trend seems to be the strongest in Australia. In Korea people will respect you if you turn up to a workplace and say you like history, philosophy, computers, etc; in Australia most people will think "boring".

Our culture is work for the weekend. And it is the best ever.

Possibly because of ETDM's culture being generally what it is here in Australia? People in Australia like to wind down and be entertained, and have many options available to them on a weekend or after work to do so. I studied hard, and although it has helped my career and my general knowledge, I didn't enjoy it as such and would much rather spend a day at the footy, or beach, or golf course, or pub, or movies, or wineries, or whatever. Taking a look at the young lot here after they finish one of their post-grad studies, you never hear one of them say "I loved that, and feel intellectually stimulated now. I need more". Usually it's something like "thank **** that's over."

I don't find any of those topics you mention as entertaining, actually they'd bore the shit out of me.

Anyway, good luck to any prospective interviewees out there.

So if you go for an interview as a merchant banker they actually ask your golf handicap?

If someone were to say "I despise golf" what would be the consequences?

Would it be impossible for them to be chosen even if they were perfect in every other aspect?

Not at all. The best candidate will get the job.

Was more of the fact that a bloke stated here in his job interview that he loved golf. When asked what he played off he said 3. After his first round on a weekend with a few of the crew from here, he's never lived it down since.

And like Caeser said, unfortunately or not, the boys club thing is still in place. Here is a pretty good mix, but no doubt there's a strong male presence who are into sport, red wine and gambling. Various backgrounds are usually fine at most joints, although I know of one place that up until recently would basically only employ Scotch, Wesley or Carey old boys. They apparently chuckled at my resume when I interviewed with them way back in the day.

Just my two cents worth
- Being early ( two minutes is early) early is a good start
- Know the position you've applied for (This means actually knowing what company you have applied for)
- Dress appropriately for the interview- i.e if your applying for an office job wear office attire, if its a blue collar job (wear appropriately casual clothes)
-As for the weaknesses question- the trick is to turn it into something thats a weakness but can be turned into a positive,

Favourite Interview Story.
I was interviewing a gent for a Blue Collar position, I met him at the reception with his Asian Wife(who looked like a Ball Breaker on first impressions)
About 10 mins into the i/view I ask him why is he looking to leave his current job, His response was that "I'm actually not looking to leave my current job, Im only here as my wife wants me to leave as you guys pay more money".
I just stared at him, he followed on with "I know this means I wont get the job, but can we talk for a bit longer as if the interview ends now my wife will bust my balls".
I said sure and we talked about the footy for about 15 minutes before I sent him on his way not before telling him in front of his wife "I will be in touch shortly to let you know whether you are successful or not.
Called him a couple of days later and let him know he was unsuccessful.

Favourite Interview Story.
I was interviewing a gent for a Blue Collar position, I met him at the reception with his Asian Wife(who looked like a Ball Breaker on first impressions)
About 10 mins into the i/view I ask him why is he looking to leave his current job, His response was that "I'm actually not looking to leave my current job, Im only here as my wife wants me to leave as you guys pay more money".
I just stared at him, he followed on with "I know this means I wont get the job, but can we talk for a bit longer as if the interview ends now my wife will bust my balls".
I said sure and we talked about the footy for about 15 minutes before I sent him on his way not before telling him in front of his wife "I will be in touch shortly to let you know whether you are successful or not.
Called him a couple of days later and let him know he was unsuccessful.

Sounds like a typical Asian woman. Asian wives are obsessed with two things: controlling their families and money.

Here in Korea I often see Korean guys just completely snap in the middle of the street, often after decades of being treated like garbage by their wives.

Be confident.
Be at least 10-15 mintues early.
Dress Good.
Never interrupt.
Research the company.
Have an answer ready for (why you want to work here and where do you see yourself in few years with the company etc.)
Never lie Unless you can back it up 100%.(Actually don't lie at all)
Don't put your last company down.
Sell yourself they are looking if you would fit in the culture as much as other things.

Most importantly if its a hot chick/Guy don't say 'oh my God you hot"looool

Just be yourself i used to interview job applicants for my last job,its ok to be nervous even i was nervous when the table turned when i went for my new job but try to controll yourself if you can,if you smoke try not to smoke before the interview.

Good luck.

All the advice that others have given is spot on.

One final thing - never lie. They can tell if you are exaggerating something or telling a fib. Be honest to every question, even if you think it paints you a bad light.

I have an interview tomorrow at Bunnings. Not realy sure how I should dress. What do you guys reckon? Probably doesn't real matter.

Try to look neat, yet at the same time suited for outdoors kind of activity. Hard Yakka style clothes would be the way to go.