scottydeewah

New England Patriots
Most will laugh me off the board but I wouldnt mind seeing him in Geelong colours next year if he is delisted from the Tigers as many specualte he may be.

Whilst I admit that it probably wont happen, if he is delisted or put up for trade I hope that Geelong do the correct thing and have a look. As we all know Harley wont be around much longer and whilst he doesnt have the leadship qualities of Harley, Bowden is a similar type of player, is well respected, is an onfield leader, is a multiple AA and can also pinch hit in the forward line (more than once winning games with a move forward).

Why I dont think it will happen:

• Probably cant afford him.
  • May need to trade for him.
  • Has been a reluctance to trade for players.
  • He is a F/S selection and one of Richmonds favourite sons.

Why I would like to see it happen:

• Would be a good replacement for Harley who will more likely than not retire next year.
  • Has been a durable player and can still play.
  • Can play on both talls and smalls as well as the floating backman and can go forward.
  • We may be able to afford him in if Harley and others retire, or we loose players to trades.
(Any comments that he is soft and can only play the loose man will be ignored as you obviosuly have no idea)

Thoughts?

Another reason I dont think it would happen is that all the clubs will probably go for youth with the GC17 coming in and plundering the upcoming drafts.

JubJub mate, I think you secretly really value my opinion!

Yeahnah.

FWIW I think Bowden's a reasonably talented player whose worth to the Tigers is underestimated but who lets himself down through work ethic. But...there's dozens of players in the league who answer to that description. I'd much rather put in a youngster who has shown some genuine promise like Laidler or Gillies than someone who is over 30 and at this stage would be doing it for all the wrong reasons.

I don't see why not. Cats are at the stage where they should be topping up to keep at the front of the pack

Someone like Cousins would not be a good idea but I don't see why Bowden or even Richo couldn't play a season down in the Hoops if the coaching staff see a spot for them

Main problem is salary cap. We'll struggle to keep all the players we want that are currently on our list let alone get good players like Bowden

Scotty, Scotty, Scotty.

I didn't even chuckle. Hate Bowden. Hate his style of play. Too old. Comes from a losing culture etc. etc.

Yeah we could top up with a washed up self obsessed loser who has been running one of the most defunct defenses in recent history. Didn't he get dropped last year for gods sake? You want a bloke who gets dropped by Richmond as a new piece in our defense?

Jake King might be available this year too!

Bowden is ONE MONTH OLDER than Harley.

I posted a similar thread to this about Matty Richardson which got deleted.

:S

I don't see why not. Cats are at the stage where they should be topping up to keep at the front of the pack

Someone like Cousins would not be a good idea but I don't see why Bowden or even Richo couldn't play a season down in the Hoops if the coaching staff see a spot for them

Main problem is salary cap. We'll struggle to keep all the players we want that are currently on our list let alone get good players like Bowden

Sorry to troll guys, but am intrigued by your thread. I think Bowden would be good for Geelong, and I don't think it would be too expensive a move.

With Richo, there is mounting speculation he might be told this year is his last. As a passionate and long suffering Tiger supporter it would shatter me to lose him at the end of this year. He would be sensational at Geelong, the tall marking utility/forward. I'm certain he won't taste the successes that you guys did in 2007, but I'd love to see Richo get his chance. Salary Cap may be a prob with Richo, but if he's keen to play on next year he'll likely take a cut, but I am sure you might have some movement in your list as well....

Anyways, good luck Cats! :thumbsu:

deja vu? didn't someone post a thread on this recently? I don't think it is as mad as some make out, but highly unlikely given the clubs bent on developing young players. I do think Bowden is a good player.

Isn't Richo over 30yo?? Surely can't have much footy left in him?

I raised this with my Richmond supporting brother the other day. If we could land him on the cheap with the lure of a Premiership, Bowden for a 1-year fling as 4th or 5th defender may not be such a bad thing.
Bowden is a momentum killer.
Although I do hate it when Mackie does this, so maybe it's not such a good idea.

At least we'd have a designated kick-out were Hunt to ever go down again ;)

Geelong don't want to be one of those teams that 'tops up' only to find themselves languishing for years at the bottom. Keep trusting the draft I say and socialise players into the Geelong culture/style.

Kane Johnson will be available,how about we draft him next year ?
Maybe we could get Troy Simmonds if Coburg allow him to move.Polaxed will probably get boned from Richmond.Any takers for him ? No trams in Geelong,so he should be safe.
If Tenace gets axed how about we get J.O.N to take over his spot as the dud rotting away in the magoos ?

Perhaps we could talk Robert Harvey,Scott West,Shane Wakelin,Scott Burns,Gary Ablett Sr,Shaun Rehn,Wayne Carey and Tony Lockett out of retirement while we're at it.

Kane Johnson will be available,how about we draft him next year ?
Maybe we could get Troy Simmonds if Coburg allow him to move.Polaxed will probably get boned from Richmond.Any takers for him ? No trams in Geelong,so he should be safe.
If Tenace gets axed how about we get J.O.N to take over his spot as the dud rotting away in the magoos ?

Perhaps we could talk Robert Harvey,Scott West,Shane Wakelin,Scott Burns,Gary Ablett Sr,Shaun Rehn,Wayne Carey and Tony Lockett out of retirement while we're at it.

G Ayres would probably make himself available. He's got as much chance of getting a game in the back pocket as he has of getting a senior coaching gig, and he fancies himself there.

Laughable - You can't rate a player because he gets possesions... especially a defender .... I could rip right into this topic but I'll leave it at that.:confused:

Terry Wallace is available now too. Should we get him a job on the coaching staff while we're stocking up on Richmond discards?

No. We should have grabbed an NBL license. Goorjian could have coached, wallet could have spruiked, and together they could have seen how fast they could run the club into the ground.

The fact is the time is now. We have a good team

As someone else noted in the "eat your own" thread it'll never be this good again.

The only point in exclusively giong for youth and kids is if you're on the bottom now. The theory being that because it can't get any worse, you might as well find some young guns and maybe cut a coupe of your better senior players last years. Harsh but at least the media won't bag you for it

That theory doesn't suit the Cats who are at the top and need to look at ways of extending that stay

I reckon the Cats could have a great opportunity to pick up some talent in their last couple of years for a good price. They should only do this if it's going to suit the team with personality and playing style

But the option shouldn't be ruled out entirely

Our backline has been more vulnerable this year. I reckon Bowden is a great suggestion.

And what about Goose McGuire? The Saints surely owe us for King and Gardner and Leigh Tudor